Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Access Flooring Co. Inc.

Phone: (847) 781-0100 Fax: (847) 781-8992 680 Alhambra Lane, Hoffman Estates, IL 60169


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Access Flooring Co. Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Access Flooring Co. Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Access Flooring Co. Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 02, 2002 Business started: 06/01/1992 Business started locally: 06/01/1992
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Peter Dudzik, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter Dudzik, President
Business Category

Hardwood Floor Contractors Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Flooring Contractors (NAICS: 238330)


Additional Locations

  • 680 Alhambra Lane

    Hoffman Estates, IL 60169 (847) 781-0100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was originlly told it would be 4-1/2 to 5 days. They finished in 3 days. I had existing hardwood in my foyer and kitchen and had new hardwood installed in my living room, dining room and office. You can see where they sanded the floor unevenly in my living room and hallway. There are big waves in the floor. There are little pieces of hardwood sticking up and dents in the floor. I cannot remove two vents that I was always able to open to vacuum. They covered up one vent and the floor now sinks down in that area. First Peter said they did not cover up any vents. Then he told me I did not need 3 vents in my dining room. He yelled at me that he has been doing this for 22 years. Then he said it was just a hole. When I asked why they did not tell me what they were doing he told me they do not tell people when they are covering vents. I found pieces of padding in some of the vents I was able to remove along with a plastic tie from the hardwood. There are gaps all over where there is no sealer between the hardwood pieces. They cracked the ceramic tile edges in my bathroom. Two of them were screaming at me that there was a strip there. I went upstairs and took pictures of two other bathroom/bedroom areas and showed them there were no strips. They broke a handle on the pantry door. There are actual holes in the hardwood and when they sealed the hardwood they did not fill the holes. Two vents stick up because the nails were not pounded all the way in. There are literally about 100 splinters of wood in my basement below the installation. The smell is still there and I cannot get the smell out of my laundry room. I think they must have poured the sealer down the sink. I was bullied into spending $800 additional by Peter for 30 minutes work and a can of sealer that cost $52 at Home Depot. I was told it was very expensive and toxic. It was not expensive and I did not smell it throughout th house. I also paid for 7 vents but he only bought 6 and that is why he covered up an existing vent. There was a lot of hardwood left over that I paid for but they took it and that could have been used instead of the bad pieces of hardwood. When I called about the terrible job Peter told me he would call me the following week and I could show him the problems. A few days later 3 of them were pounding on my sliding glass door. They did not call ahead of time. They were all yelling at me and he said they would be back the following week to repair the problems. I have never heard from then.

Desired Settlement: My floors are uneven and I am concerned that they will just make them worse. I need someone who will complete the work correctly. I also feel this has been a big inconvenience and I have put out way too much money already.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/02) */ Contact Name and Title: Peter ****** Owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********@gmail.com Last week Peter called the client and set up an appointment to resolve the problem. Along with his crew Peter spent almost half a day to go over some imperfections of the existing and the new floor that was just installed. There were minor holes naturally existing in the wood and also a few gaps that were filled with the wood putty. Peter also installed the vent in the dining room even though there is no duct work underneath (that is the reason why the vent was not installed there originally). The handle of the closet door needed to be tighed and it was not broken. The charge of $800.00 was for subfloor fastening and treating it with a sealer. The price was agreed upon by the client before the work has started. The extra bundle of wood was brought to the client plus $200.00 in cash for the inconvenience. The client was present the entire time during the project and didn't have any issues then. Also after the project was completed the client was satisfied with results and paid the remaining balance in full. The complaint came as a surprise especially since Access Flooring had to remove all the furnitures, take apart desks and shelves and put back everything afterwards, even though it was not included in the contract. Usually homeowners hire movers to take care of the contents. The client was not charged for any of it. After the last visit the client was very satisfied and promised to contact BBB to remove the complaint. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not agree with the response from Access Floorings. There are holes in the new hardwood and many were not filled. I have learned that holes should have been filled with the finish. Access used a putty that does not patch the stain. There are gaps throughout. Peter said hardwood expands in winter. My research says that hardwood expands in summer. Now that the vent is reinstalled when the air conditioner is on cold air is coming in the vent. I did not see any fastening being done. They put the seal down as soon as they tore out the carpeting. There was 1 gallon of seal. I have learned that they should have used 3 gallons minimum and there is no way that 1 gallon would seal 3 rooms. The first time Peter came to give me a quote it was agreed upon that Access Flooring would remove the furniture. Also there was only 1 desks not "desks". They did not take down any shelves nor put any shelves up. I personally removed the shelves from the 2 bookcases & have not put them back yet. I do not have much furniture since I am ordering new furniture when the house is completed so there was no couch to remove. My desk and bookcases were all scratched up but I did not complain about that. The statement: "After the last visit the client was very satisfied and promised to contact BBB to remove the complaint" is not true. I told Peter twice I would review the floor after they left. Access flooring patched with a shiny finish when the original finish was a satin finish. Peter said "the shine will go away" and it has not. I had a person come over who was a home builder and now works with investors in buying, rehabbing and selling properties. He looked at the floor and said he would not recommend Access Flooring. He pointed out 2 more areas where the sander created waves in the new hardwood. Peter did correct the 2 original waves. Peter had originally told me that it would be 3 hours between each coat but then proceeded to put down all 3 coats in a 4 hour time frame on July 22. When I questioned why they were already walking on the floor and putting in the quarter round as soon as they were finished putting down the stain, I was told that it was dry. Then as soon as the quarter round was done they put down the first coat of finish and then immediately put down the 2nd coat of finish. I have done extensive research and found out that there needs to be at least 3 hours between each coat of stain and finish just like Peter originally told me and that putting down stain and finish without a curing time will result in the stain and finish not lasting and peeling could occur in about a year. Peter originally said it take 4-1/2 to 5 days for completion but completed the job in 3 days by not allowing the hardwood to cure between coats. I am very disappointed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/09/17) */ Contact Name and Title: Peter ****** President Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@gmail.com On Tuesday September 15th, we serviced the client by removing some of the furnitures and rebuffing the floor, repatching the cracks in the floor again, and we applied one additional coat of the swedish finish. After the finish was dry we brought back the content on the floor. The client was really happy with the end result. The client promised she would write back to the BBB to close the case. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/09/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Access Flooring came back and refinished the hardwood floors. I am very happy with the final result.

8/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Access Wood Flooring to sand all of the existing floors in the house and stain with a dark color. We also needed to have new flooring installed in the kitchen and at the front door foyer. The job was done so poorly that even the owner, *****, said it had to be redone. The whole job. When installing the new floor in the kitchen, they were aware of radiant heat water tubing between the sleepers where the floor was supposed to be nailed. The flexible water tubing was exposed and clearly visible (bright orange). Sure enough, they nailed one of the floor pieces directly into the radiant water pipe, causing a slow leak that did not surface until the job was completed. This section of the floor had to be cut out and replaced. And now it is warped again. As they worked in the kitchen, they did not pull out any of the appliances. Instead, they just stained around the refrigerator, dish washer, and oven. As a result, when you looked at the dark finished floor, you could see the light untouched wood under the appliances. If the dish washer were to ever leak, there would have been no protection (Swedish finish, polyurethane, etc.) Other issues: You could see visible foot prints all over the house, from the workers stepping on the finish as they worked on it. There were also brush marks from when they were applying the finish. There were unsmooth sections in areas that felt rough if you were in your bare feet. They did not use wood filler to patch holes left by closet doors. Instead, they just stained and finished over the holes. The sanding was inconsistent. There was a noticeable dip in one area that was obviously oversanded. That was eventually fixed when they redid the entire job. Our kitchen cabinets are off-white. They got stain on multiple parts of the panels where the dish washer and refrigerator go. They did not bother using masking tape where the floor met the cabinet panels. They got stain on one of our new widow's handle. When I pointed this out to *****, he told me the name of a chemical I could buy to remove it, but did not offer to have it cleaned. They left a full hand print of stain on my newly primed wall in the bedroom. Very little care or concern was given while working. Other things: After pointing out the flaws to *****, he apologized and said his crew was very busy and HIS workers did not do the job. The young (inexperienced) crew he sent were people he said he hires when his crew is busy. So I hired him to do the work and he used the money to pay amateurs to do a lousy job instead. To his credit, he agreed to resand and finish the entire house, using "his people". This was nice, but that meant we had to once again move all of the furniture out and make other arrangements while the house was tied up with this work. The cleaning service we hired to vacuum and dust the house would have to be called again. There was no mention of credit or reimbursement for this tremendous inconvenience. The floor we ended up with was nowhere near as dark as we wanted. It was very dark the first time they did it, but the second time it was much lighter. Not what we requested or paid for. The contract we signed said that two coats of Swedish finish would be used. When I came home from work, I noticed the workers were still there and they had opened cans of polyurethane. When I asked ***** about this, he said not to pay attention to what the contract said. He said most other contractors simply refer to "finish". He said the first coat they used was Swedish finish and they put polyurethane over the top. The contract we signed said two coats of Swedish finish. It had no mention at all about less expensive polyurethane. So in addition to being deceptive about the workers, he was also dishonest about the contract. My kitchen floor has started warping after two months because of the damage by his workers. My phone call has not been returned.

Desired Settlement: Replace the warped floor caused by water damage after worker nailed into radiant heat. Acknowledge that polyurethane was used as the finish, even though Swedish finish was specified in the contract and there was NO mention of polyurethane whatsoever. Stop claiming specific material (like Swedish Finish) in future contracts when it is not used. Clean the stain off my new window handle. Reimburse $200 for whole house cleaning that had to be done a second time after the entire job had to be redone.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/06) */ Hello. After receiving the email from BBB with the complaint I immediately called Mr. ***** trying to resolve the issue. That day we made an appointment with Mr. ***** to go over the floor issue together. In the meantime Mr. ***** sent me a text message saying that he and his wife decided to let it go and they are going to call BBB to drop the case against my company. Please call Mr. ***** ***** to confirm that at: XXX-XXX-XXXX Thank you. Best Regards. ***** ****** Access Flooring Inc.

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last summer we hired this business to repair and refinish the hardwood floor in our kitchen. There was a spot that needed to be replaced due to dog urine. ***** assured us the repairs would last. If this were not the case, we would have waited to have the work done as we have an old dog who sometimes has accidents. ***** told us needed to make sure the floor remained dry for 30 days to ensure the seal held. We did this. We kept the dog out of the kitchen and did not wash the floor the first month. ***** told us he was using Swedish gymnasium finish and it is the best and strongest coverage. He assured us the floor would not be ruined again. Within a few months we noticed the same problem we had before, the wood was turning and it looked moldy. We called ***** and left messages. When he did not return our calls. We emailed. Our final email stated if we did not hear from ***** by the end of the business day yesterday we would file a complaint with the BBB

Desired Settlement: We want the floor repaired, we want it to last this time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Owner Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@gmail.com First of all, the customer did not leave any messages or e-mails. I have found out about the problem from BBB. I have contacted the home owner that same day and the following day the problem was resolved. Even though the product used for the floor is the strongest on the market, it wii not prevent damage from dog's urine nor the customer was ever told that it would. I have replaced the boards that were damaged for no charge even though it was not our fault. The home owner was instructed not to let his dog urinate on the hardwood floor as there is no product on the market that is resistant to it.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Access Flooring Co. Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)