Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

True Value Company

Phone: (773) 695-5000 8600 W. Bryn Mawr Ave., Chicago, IL 60631 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that True Value Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on True Value Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1948 Business started locally: 01/01/1948 Business incorporated 02/10/1953 in DE
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Susan Radde, Assistant General Counsel Mr. Brent Burger, Chairman of the Board Mr. John Hartmann, President/CEO Ms. Chris Taylor, Director-Corp. Comm.
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Susan Radde, Assistant General Counsel
Business Category

Hardware - Retail Hardware Stores (NAICS: 444130)

Products & Services

This company offers supplies to True Value Hardware stores.

Additional Locations

  • 8600 W. Bryn Mawr Ave.

    Chicago, IL 60631


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In addition to having a refund/exchange issue, I experienced a product issue and customer service issues. I purchased a snowman solar lantern on 12/2/13 and attempted to return the item with my receipt on 12/26/13. The lantern worked inconsistently for the entire time I had it displayed. I liked the lantern very much and planned to keep it out winters for years to come. The light worked only a handful of times despite being out in the sunlight every day. I followed the instructions the came with the product. While I was packing the lantern to return, the light came on when the lantern was upside down, and then turned off when turned right-side up. I did not want to keep a product that worked inconsistently. **** (who refused to divulge his last name) proceeded to put his hand over the top of the lantern, and the light turned on. Then, he stormed outside to prove that the light worked outside. Upon his return, he called me a liar and said he didn't know what I "was trying to pull". To reiterate, the light worked some of the time while I had it outside, but not the majority of the time. It is my prerogative as a consumer to return a product that I deem inferior, not performing up to my expectations, and not fulfilling what is outlined by the manufacturer. ****** unprofessional approach and inability to communicate respectfully are unacceptable. My request for a refund with a receipt is a reasonable expectation. Please note that I did not put the lantern until 10 days after the purchase. Product_Or_Service: ***** ******* Lantern ------------------------------------------------ Transferred from **** ***** **** E. **** Road ********* ******** ** XXXXX URL: Phone: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want to return the snowman lantern and have my credit card refunded the price (plus tax) that I paid for the merchandise.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/10) */ Thank you for contacting True Value Company. By way of background, True Value Company is a cooperative made up of independently owned and operated retail stores. Each store is free to set its own policies and procedures for refunds and returns. We are sorry you had a bad experience in your attempt to return the product. However, any return or refund must be made at the independent store. We hope that your experience does not deter you from shopping at your local independent True Value retail stores in the future. Best Regards, ***** ***** Assistant General Counsel True Value Company Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2014/02/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the proposed resolution because it is a fair compromise. I was treated unfairly and disrespected by ****, the manager/owner of True Value in ********* **** *** However, True Value's Customer Service department sought to rectify the issue professionally while offering an acceptable alternative. **** should receive counseling/training to ensure he does not treat other consumers disrespectfully and unprofessionally. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/02/18) */ We are glad that we were able to offer a resolution to the situation and hope that the consumer considers shopping at a local True Value hardware store in the future. Consumer Response /* (450, 25, 2014/02/20) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Corporate True Value sent me a gift card to compensate for the defective snowman lantern. I indicated that Corporate True Value responded to the complaint to my satisfaction. Please edit your records to accurately reflect the outcome of my complaint.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on True Value Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)