Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mr. Handyman of Northern Chicago

Phone: (773) 799-9090 5618 W Montrose Ave, Chicago, IL 60634 http://www.mrhandyman.com/local-handyman-service/il/northern-chicago.aspx View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Mr. Handyman of Northern Chicago is a handyman services company which provides general home maintenance services in several areas of home repair, including power washing, painting, gutter cleaning, and home d├ęcor. Located in Chicago, IL, this company serves downtown Chicago and surrounding areas, including the communities of Edgewater, Rogers Park, Greektown, Little Italy, University Village, Bridgeport, Pilsen, Ravenswood, Albany Park, North Park, West Town, Ashburn, West Lawn, Hyde Park, Jackson Park, Belmont Cragin, Auburn Gresham, Chatham, Dunning, Roseland, West Pullman, Avondale, Norwood Park, Logan Square, Lincoln Park, Chinatown, Lincolnwood, Evanston, Des Plaines, Elk Grove Village, Harwood Heights, Jefferson Park, Niles, Norridge, Park Ridge, Rosemont, and Schiller Park. The company has been in business since 2012 and is locally owned and operated, part of the Mr. Handyman franchise.

This company provides handyman services in several different specialist areas, allowing customers to simply call one company to have all of their various home renovation and repair needs done rather than having to call several contractors. Services available include bathroom repair, carpentry, drywall, electrical repair and service, fence repair, flooring refinishing and maintenance, gutter cleaning and maintenance, plumbing, remodeling, siding installation and repair, window installation and repair, ceiling placement and repair, painting, power washing, tile installation and replacement, furniture assembly, deck cleaning and sealing, caulking and grout sealing, dryer vent cleaning, wall and shelving unit installation, and custom carpentry. The company also provides some services for commercial customers.

Visit the website for Mr. Handyman of Northern Chicago to learn more about the company, view the full list of services available, and contact the company to set up an appointment and request services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr. Handyman of Northern Chicago meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mr. Handyman of Northern Chicago include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mr. Handyman of Northern Chicago
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 18, 2013 Business started: 03/21/2012 Business started locally: 03/21/2012 Business incorporated 03/21/2013 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeremiah Preece, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeremiah Preece, Partner
Business Category

Handyman Services Hardwood Floor Maintenance Cabinet Refacing Fence Contractors Mirrors Storm Windows & Doors Floor Waxing, Polishing & Cleaning Storm Windows & Doors - Repair Dryer Vent Cleaning Deck Cleaning and Treatment Soffit & Fascia Tile & Grout Cleaning Grout Resurfacing & Repair Tile Restoration Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing Deck Cleaning & Sealing Contractors-Drywall / Plastering Carpenters Contractors - Ceiling Basement - Contractors Contractor - Remodel & Repair Doors - Repair Drywall Contractors Floor Refinishing Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Cleaning Gutter Leaf Guards Contractors - Gutters Contractor - Insulation Painting Contractors Deck - Repair Cabinet Refinishers Kitchen Cabinet Refacing Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)


Additional Locations

  • 5618 W Montrose Ave

    Chicago, IL 60634

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern: I hired Mr. ******** of Northern Chicago thru their receptionist *****; this franchise owned by Jerimah Preese. The contractor they sent, ***** Carter. I was moved into a hospice facility. this month after living in my home for 40 yrs. I requested specific services. Services provided were paid for and what was completed, shablily and other items not completed and left in a state of disrepair. Phone calls go unanswered. The uncompleted work is posing a threat to my well being and is due to breakage by this company. and ineffective installation and sub level replacements. This is just shy of elder abuse and disrespectful to seniors or anyone. This is my first complaint to BBB. Consumers need to know with whom they are dealing. Contractors cant take advantage of seniors, especially ones confronting terminal situations and not expect to deal with comment as to their ineffective, disrespectful and cruel behavior. Thank you BBB for providing a platform for consumers to speak these issues. S. Saltz

Desired Settlement: A resolution to this would have benn a phone conversation to resolve and now a refund of my money or complete the job correctly. However I am dubious about having them back to my home. I am in contact with my bank as to returing the check to the bank of Mr Handyman as I paid for work to be completed which has not. I acted in good faith. Their methods are unethical; their treatment cruel. I am contacting Mr. Handyman corporate offices and the Attorney General for the State of Illinois as this constitutes as elder abuse; mentally and fraudulently. S. *****

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/06/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***************@mrhandyman.com We are extremely regretful to know you have had an unsatisfying experience. We felt that we gave you the same great effort we give every client and maybe beyond in offering free estimates and service from all three managers. Therefore, to show our earnest desire to make the satisfy each client. We are willing to refund all money paid for services without any arguments since you feel the whole experience was without value. Please let us know if you find this satisfactory and we will be sure to oblige to our offer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2015/06/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mr. Handyman of Northern Chicago
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)