Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Gutter Glove of Chicagoland

Phone: (847) 436-3990 Fax: (847) 895-3134 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 338, Elk Grove Village, IL 60009 http://www.guttergloveofchicagoland.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gutter Glove of Chicagoland meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Gutter Glove of Chicagoland include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gutter Glove of Chicagoland
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 20, 2010 Business started: 04/01/1993 in IL Business started locally: 04/01/1993 Business incorporated 08/11/1993 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David G. Hoffman, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David G. Hoffman, President/Owner
Business Category

Gutters & Downspouts Painting Contractors Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Siding Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Drywall Contractors Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Alternate Business Names
5 Star Remodeling Inc Five Star Remodeling and Construction Company, Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers Gutter protection systems


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 338

    Elk Grove Village, IL 60009 (847) 436-3990 (847) 895-3988

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gutter Guard/Gutter Glove installed in Spring of 2014. System leaked and clogged with pine needles shortly afterward. Repeated calls to remedy finally resulted in one failed attempt to fix leaks. Also, water pours over roof valley in a steady stream in heavy rain. Baffle added by installer had only minimal - if any - effect. No resolution to pine needle clogging. Product manufacturer claims - from photos furnished - that it was improperly installed, claiming no warranty. Installer (5-Star Remodeling) is unresponsive.

Desired Settlement: In June of 2015, we requested that this system be removed by the installer - with implied refund, since they did not perform as advertised ("Eliminate Gutter Cleaning Forever (TM)") so we could pursue installation of an alternate system. Manufacturer apparently stands by his "improper installation" defense; installer remains unresponsive.

Business Response:

Our gutter guards keep leaves and other debris out of the gutters. Occasionally sap or other sticky substances will accumulate on top of our product causing leaves or needles to stick.  You just need to take a brush to that area. We have the brushes in stock.

We try to seal the gutters as best we can, but sometimes the gutters are in such bad shape that it becomes very difficult. The gutters are not our product.

Valleys at times do have overflow problems. We try to make adjustments to alleviate this. We have a new inside corner to greatly reduce this problem.

Addressing this issue, we would give a free bush, try to seal the gutters once again and install a new inside corner.

 

Sincerely,

 

David *******

Gutterglove of Chicagoland

Business Response:

All our products are designed to keep leaves and debris out of your gutters and downspouts. If there is a clog IN your gutters or downspouts, we will come out and clean them.  There is no product on the market that a sticky substance will not cling to.

We will come out and seal your gutters. 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: 11501015

I am rejecting this response because:

Sealing the gutters was a supplementary part of the total project.  The fact remains, the product does not perform as it was represented.  Eventually it will have to be removed and replaced with something that works. 



Sincerely,

Shell ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Gutter Glove of Chicagoland
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)