Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

A J's Windows & Gutters Inc.

Phone: (847) 487-2389 Fax: (847) 487-2584 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 685, Wauconda, IL 60084

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A J's Windows & Gutters Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A J's Windows & Gutters Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 16, 2003 Business started: 09/01/1991 in IL Business started locally: 09/01/1991 Business incorporated 09/24/1993 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Arthur D`Ambrosio, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Arthur D`Ambrosio, Owner
Business Category

Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Cleaning Contractors - Gutters Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal Building Cleaning - Exterior Pressure Washing Deck Cleaning and Treatment Window Cleaning Window Shades - Cleaning & Repair Soffit & Fascia Solar Panel Cleaning Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing Deck Cleaning & Sealing Contractors-Sandblasting/Power Washing Siding Contractors (NAICS: 238170)

Products & Services

This business offers: Residential & Commercial Window Washing, Gutter Cleaning, Gutter Repair & Install, Pressure Washing.

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 685

    Wauconda, IL 60084 (847) 866-6860 (773) 973-0492 (847) 487-2389


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The salesman/foreman called claiming "they were in the area" and could come by and complete the work. He would not provide any pricing beforehand, despite having a pricing list. He then had the workers unload the truck and start working before he provided a price. He did not show me the entire work order until after he was paid. During the job the salesman/foreman constantly tried to find additional things wrong and charge additional exorbitant fees for fixing minor issues. For example, he tried to get me to replace all my downspouts for thousands of dollars, despite the fact that such a job should not cost more than a few hundred. The two workers on the roof did not appear to know what they were doing and I am not sure that the gutters even needed cleaning. He never showed me anything that came out of the gutters and it did not appear that anything came out. When he finally provided the invoice, after I declined further services, it contained a pricing list on the reverse side that showed I should have been charged hundreds of $ less. He was a scam artist trying to find ways to charge me for unnecessary work at prices above what the company charges. He even checked off "other services" as to what was provided, rather than gutter cleaning, to hide the fact he overcharged.

Desired Settlement: $685.00 refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/28) */ THIS COMPLAINT IS COMPLETELY FALSE AND FULL OF LIES. "Much less his service was done weeks ago. " Strictly a money play on behalf of the individual who filed this report. Meaning he was contacted prior to our arrival and was present when we arrived. His system on his $1,000,000 + home are ( WAY ) up their along with his property line being extremely tight between the other homes. He was quoted>RIGHT AWAY up-front. BEFORE any work took place. And being that he is a high flying lawyer who appears to be somewhat intelligent and speaks English we don't see the complication? Other than his lies and baloney. Along with the fact he likely wanted a cheap price because he is to afraid to go up on his own roof line and clear out his own system. Funny how we were their for a long time and the man did not have one question about his system which is clearly neglected. Another issue was that he had numerous problems with his system we made him aware of and again since he is looking for the el cheapo route he didn't seem to interested. Even though some of the problems are beyond serious! Nothing the individual states has any merit. Since he was called beforehand along with being present during work being done and lastly all work he signed off on beforehand for price agreed to up-front. As well he paid at the (END) of job to which their were plenty of witnesses to that. We don't see what he says is anything other than using the BBB to filing a bogus complaint wasting every ones time and resources. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Then tenor of the comments from A.J.'s is telling. Why launch a nasty attack the complainant unless you have something to hide? And, why does it matter how much the home costs? Is A.J.'s saying that it is ok to overcharge someone who they perceive can afford it? That is exactly what they did. The home is on a standard Chicago lot, and the height was not mentioned once as affecting the price. In fact, A.J.'s said pricing was only based on the number of downspouts. When asked two different times if there was any standard pricing they said "no." That statement was false and intended to deceive. A.J.'s has a standard price list, on the back of its invoice, which I was deliberately not shown. And, based on that price list, I would have paid substantially less for the same services. Hiding your prices to overcharge is fraudulent and unacceptable. I did not want a "cheap" price, I wanted a fair price, and, more importantly, I did not want to be misled. Why lie to me unless you are trying to defraud me? There were not "numerous problems" with the system - and A.J.'s didn't describe them in its response because they don't exist. There were two minor holes in two downspouts. Those holes were easily patched in 10 minutes with some caulk. There was nothing that warranted replacement of all the downspouts at a cost of $2,000. The attempt to convince me to purchase unneeded downspouts shows A.J.'s intent to defraud. If A.J.'s did this to someone they describe as "somewhat intelligent," imagine what they do to the elderly and someone who is trusting? BBB needs to revoke A.J.'s designation immediately. This type of conduct is unacceptable. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/05/30) */ see attached Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/06/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the business' proposed resolution because nothing was proposed to resolve the fact that I was overcharged. Instead, a prior statement was re-iterated, with new threats. Never has the business denied that I asked for a price list and was, falsely, told there was none. Had I been shown the price list that AJ's maintains I would have immediately known I was being deliberately overcharged and lied to by AJ's. Had the price list I requested been disclosed I would have paid less, or thrown AJ's off my property for deliberately trying to defraud me. AJ's even listed the services provided as "other" rather than check the appropriate "gutter cleaning" box because they knew that the prices charged were above what they should have been. I assumed, wrongly, that BBB's seal meant that AJ's did not practice unscrupulous tactics, but that is exactly what AJ's did, including claiming to be "in the area" and suddenly stopping by weeks before and starting work without providing the pricing. This back and forth is also pointless, as AJ's continues to reiterate the same nasty comments - the sum and substance of which is that they could overcharge me because they believe I can afford it. That is an absurd position to take. BBB must address such conduct appropriately and remove AJ's immediately from BBB's listings.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on A J's Windows & Gutters Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)