Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

LeafFilter North of Illinois, Inc.

Phone: (800) 290-6106 Fax: (330) 655-7956 448 Eisenhower Ln N, Lombard, IL 60148 http://www.leaffilter.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LeafFilter North of Illinois, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LeafFilter North of Illinois, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on LeafFilter North of Illinois, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 20, 2010 Business started: 05/01/2005 Business started locally: 05/01/2005
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matthew Kaulig, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matthew Kaulig, President
Business Category

Gutter Leaf Guards Gutters & Downspouts Siding Contractors (NAICS: 238170)

Alternate Business Names
LeafFilter Gutter Protection

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

LeafFilter North of Illinois, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 448 Eisenhower Ln N

    Lombard, IL 60148

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contact Person: ***** ******* (Regional Commercial Manager) ***** ************ of Leaf Filter North of Illinois, Inc. Job #1: *******8 May 18th, 2016 Address: ***** ** ******** **** **** *********** ** ***** (Disputed 100% $2941) Job #2: *******9 May 18th, 2016 Address: **** ** ******** **** Skokie, ** ***** (OK to pay 100% $3492) After inspection of Job # *******8 executed on May 19th, 2016 I have a buyer’s remorse I never observed before in my 51 years. The project sold was not even needed and this is what I observed from my brief walk through of south side gutters where the main work was performed. It all started in a very unprofessional manner; I received a call around 2:30 pm from a sheet metal worker deployed intimating that he is outside the property for 5 minutes and no body answering the doorbell. When inquired why you need someone when work does not require access to inside. He said he can’t start work without payment! When I intimated on payment made in advance he agreed to work and did not bother to apologize for internal miscommunication. He left the job site well before 4:30 pm and without dropping a single page document detailing the work done! When I called you around 4:30 pm to ***** *. he assured to make Installation Manager ******* call him/me on this issue. ******* (Manager) took the blame on him and apologized for not providing the worker with appropriate document! There was nothing he could have provided rather it should have come from the worker on the job site on actual work performed by him not manager sitting in office. Obviously $3000 work was not performed during 90 minutes of job and he was probably advised to leave no trace eveidence as there was no repair, cleaning, re-alignment done/needed. I observed few unprofessionally dropped blobs of so called 50 year life Silicone sealant. The finish of steel mesh (Life Filter) also reflect a second class workmanship and does not look finished/flushed.

Desired Settlement: After my personal inspection of gutters, I can say for sure now that there was no need of any repair work or re-alignment in pre-existing installation and I do not blame the tech for his half-hearted poor quality workmanship as this work was unnecessary/not needed. It was a work cut out for no technical reason and my work order placed trusting Mr. ***** ******* was a huge mistake and falling for his salesmanship, that is all I can say. No reliable/independent 3rd party can attest to this price tag of US $2931 for the job done at ********** home. I will be unsatisfied to even give $300 for the amount or quality of work done. With that said, I have requested my bank to stop payment on both checks issued have notified Leaf Filter Head Office in Akron, Ohio of this stoppage as Lombard Office fax was not functioning this morning. When ******* (Installation Manager) talked to me after receiving fax from Ohio Office he indicated in passing that checks will not be presented till resolution.

Business Response:

We have received and reviewed the complaint filed by the customer on 5/20/16.  We are pleased to report that we were able to work with the customer to resolve their concerns.  We are considering the issue resolved and would respectfully request the BBB close the issue as resolved.

 

Thank you,

 

**** ****

LeafFilter North

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

1/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased this leaf filter guard protection that was supposed to be installed on the existing gutters. the gutters were supposed to be adjusted to stop water from entering the enclosed back porch on my rental property located at 5427 South Aberdeen. I noticed water coming in again and I have made several appointments for them to come and repair/adjust this to no avail. When it was very cold a few weeks ago I called and told them that I had ice on the inside of the enclosed back porch again, they told me I had to wait until it melted and now that it is they don't want to repair or replace the gutter filters.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to repair/adjust the gutter system to prevent the leak as promised.

Business Response: Leaffilter contacted customer on 1/7/16 and scheduled service work for 1/8/16. Service work on existing gutter completed to the customer's satisfaction on 1/8/16.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Mason Newell

9/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** *****,representative sold these to me on June 11, 2015.Leaf Filter was installed on June 12, 2015.They started leaking on June 17,2015. Called again on Jun 18,2015 because they wouldn't return a call. I wrote on their Facebook page on June 23,2015 and received a call on June 24,2015. They came out on June 26,2015 and reapplied caulking to the leaking mitres.They still leaked on June 27,2015. Called on June 29,2015.Received a return call on July 6,2015. Came out to once again reapply caulk on July 8,2015. Gutters began leaking on July 18, 2015.No rain since then until August 9,2015. Mitres leaking along with a new leak!The Agreement I signed states that they were to inspect and REPAIR/REPLACE any and all mitres, clean and seal, reinforce and realign all close off end caps. This didn't happen. I asked on my last conversation, before they sent another man out to replace the mitres as stated in my agreement and was told that I'd have to pair $150.00 each if they did that. I told him about the agreement I signed and he said the caulking would work this time. Well, it hasn't. I'm beginning to believe I was taken because I was a woman. Which is probably why they refuse to adhere to the agreement. I don't know what to do at this point. I have not called them again because of the run-around. Hope some one else can get the right thing done. Thank You.

Desired Settlement: I want the end caps/mitres replaced per the agreement at no extra change, according to the agreement. And I want it done on a Saturday so I don't have to take off anymore time from work for this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/12) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ********** VP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@leaffilter.com To Whom It May Concern: As of today, 8/12/15, we have contacted the customer about the concerns and per her availability, we cannot set an appointment until 8/22/15. We have made arrangements to be at the customer's home on that day and will provide completion notes on or before 8/24/15. Please let us know if anything else is needed in the interim. Thanks, Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accepted their response because *** ***** from the company called on August 11th to say they will replace the end caps and mitres as promised in my agreement. He asked when they could do this and I responded that I would be available on Saturday, August 22nd, before noon. He responded that they would be here then. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2015/09/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The VP I spoke with had already decided what would happen (in my opinion). He was trying to intimidate me from the start of the conversation.If anyone was combative, as he stated that I was, it was him. He refused to consider a full refund saying that since my gutters leaked before his gutter protection was installed, they have no responsibility to my request. He kept saying that it was my own fault for believing his representative when the representative told me that by buying the LeafFilter system, my two areas that are leaking, would stop. He said that's what I say the rep told me, as if I was lying. Not only did the first rep tell me that, but the two other installers said the same thing that came out to try to stop the leaks. At one point in our conversation the VP asked "what do you want", I was confused since he read the complaint, so he gave a smart alleck remark of "what don't you understand?" I went on to say I wanted a full refund since I was given a promise that isn't being fulfilled, which was to stop the leaks. He said I was being ridiculous asking for a full refund. So I asked him what would he offer. He replied $0. I said then I'll have to contact another party to see what they say. He said let it go to arbitration, and I can tell you that I (the VP) will win. He went on to say after more of his rant that he'd give me $500.00 for what I allegedly say I was promised by his first sales rep. I said no thanks. I was told by not 1 but 3 of his employees that my original leaks would stop . He also asked why did I accept the contract. I told him because I wasn't knowledgeable in the workings of gutters and I put my faith and trust in this company thinking they knew more than I.Isn't that what most consumers do, trust and have faith in people that work in the field they advertise? In my opinion, this company is deceitful and don't know much more than I do about gutters. I hope this goes in the BBB records, it might save another unknowing customer. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/09/03) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ********* VP Contact Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@leaffilter.com To whom it may concern, I talked with the customer today and here is what we have; She does not have a warranty on the existing gutters just the LeafFilter product. Her existing gutters are leaking and according to her, the sales rep said that if we install gutter protection we can stop her existing gutters from leaking. This does not make sense. Our service department has gone out 3 times to fix her existing gutters and have not been able to stop the leaks that were already occurring. She simply wants her money back! I called and offered $500.00 back on an alleged statement that may have been made by the rep, she declined and became very combative. She wants a full refund and if not she will file in small claims court and I said fine if that is the route she will pursue then we have no choice. She is not complaining about the product just her EXISTING gutters that leaked before and still leak and she wants a full refund back? She had her gutters cleaned, sealed, reinforced and a gutter protection system installed and she has a leak on 3 miters on the existing gutters and wants a full refund. Our position; Offered a $500.00 refund and still keep her under warranty; She declined so we will wait on her.

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gutter filter is not working as advertised. I called the company and they refused to come and fix the problem without a service charge. I was originally told that there was a lifetime warranty/guarantee which would give you your money back if product did not work as specified. The manager at the maumee, Ohio office and someone from the Home office refused to acknowledge what is written in the leaf filter pamphlet that was given to me. I was told that they would come fix the problem for a fee. I was never told about this fee when I purchased the product nor is there mention of any fee in the paperwork. The company has come twice before to fix the same problem, and did not charge a fee nor mention a fee in the future. Now, when I contact them, I am told a completely different story of what is covered and how it is covered. Please help.

Desired Settlement: I am not interested in paying a service fee every time the product needs cleaned. I am interested in getting my money back for a product that does not work and will not work as advertised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/05) */ Contact Name and Title: Scott ***** Corp. Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@leaffilter.com I spoke to Mr. **** today 8/5/15 regarding debris sitting on the system. I informed Mr. **** that the debris will come off over time. The system is designed for mother nature to clean it off. Mr. **** stated that our warranty includes free cleaning for life. This is not part of our warranty nor part of his contract. Mr. **** has a Lifetime Warranty on the material. If at any time the material is defective we will replace it at no cost to him. The fee he was quoted is for general maintenance. It is a standard service fee to cover the labor involved in brushing the debris off the system for him. Our VP of Installation also spoke with Mrs. **** today 8/5/15 and explained that he does have a Lifetime warranty on the material and if any materials had to be replaced it would be done with no cost to Mr. ****. At no time did anyone from the company refuse to service Mr. **** and we have responded quickly to his needs and given him the opportunity to have us come out for a standard service fee to clean off debris that is resting on the system.

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A gutter guard system has been installed with lifetime guarantee promised if a clog occur. And after two years, now there is a clog and the seller describe it is not due to their product and someone step on the gutter where neither myself nor any business done that. And they are asking $:200 to fix the issue.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix the clog problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Corp. Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@leaffilter.com On 8/19/14 we were at Mr. **********'s home to address his issues. When we arrived, it was evident that one of the panels of LeafFilter had been removed and it appeared that someone had stepped on the gutter or rested a ladder on the system to access the roof to run a cable from the top of the LeafFilter onto the roof. We can tell the panel was removed because the screws and missing and you can see the ring where they used to sit. (see attached pics). Mr. ********** was quoted $200.00 to re-secure the gutter back to the fascia where it was stepped on and replace the damaged panels. The area where Mr. ********** believes there is an alleged clog is where the cable is running over the LeafFilter. The cable is obstructing the debris from falling off of the system. While we were there, we cleaned the debris from behind the cable as a courtesy and charged Mr. ********** nothing for doing so. The issue he is having has nothing to do with the LeafFilter Gutter Protection and we are more than willing to repair the damage caused by part of the system being removed. As we did not remove the product, there will be a nominal charge for this service to keep Mr. **********'s warranty in tact. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) All the statement are correct except their claim on someone stepped on the panel. The cables were there when they installed their product and their techs might have screwed the cable to their panel once the job completed. From the customer standpoint, I believe improper draining of water due to the clog and the winter time ice accumulation cause to make the bend on the gutter. Therefore, its the Leaf Filter Co responsibility to make the gutter in the same mode prior to the installation. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/12) */ We stand firm on our response. The pictures show a clear indication that the product has been tampered with. We are more than willing to assist and firmly believe our company should not be held accountable for the cause of this repair. Reapectfully,

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on LeafFilter North of Illinois, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart