BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2013

Windy City Quality Foods, Inc.

(847) 672-79444185 Grove Ave, GurneeIL 60031-2132 Send email to Windy City Quality Foods, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2013

BBB has determined that Windy City Quality Foods, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Windy City Quality Foods, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Windy City Quality Foods, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
04/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Friday 4/4/14 ***, a Saleman for Windy City Quality foods entered******* place of employment. He was selling meat products. He stated that he was in a contest at his employment for a trip to Vegas and was in 1st place. In order to remain in 1st place, he was willing to sell his meat products at cost $145.00. The package of meat he was offering he said had 52 pieces 18 Hamburger patties and 34 steaks. He said to **** and 4 of her co-workers that the cost is $3.00 a pound.

**** called her husband ***** and had ***** talk to the salesmen (***). ***** asked the saleman detailed questions on the types of steaks, number of steaks and the ounce sizes of the steaks. *** supplied detail information of the number of each type of steak as well as their ounce sizes. ***** summed the numbers that *** supplied and noted that it was more like $4.50 a pound based on the information *** supplied.

**** and ***** decided to make the purchase while the co-workers did not have the money available, but wanted to make purchases based on the information *** was supplying.

When **** brought the box of meats home, ***** felt the box and felt it was very light. ***** inventoried the box and found that their were 49 pieces,short of three steaks. Also the box was noticeably lighter then what *** had stated.
Each type of steaks were in separate boxes and had weights listed per box. ***** summed the ounces of each box to find there was only 16.14 pounds in total weight marked on each box. That is 8 dollors a pound and not 3 dollors a pound.

So finding that the salesman (***) was not accurate on the amount of steaks, and more then double the price per pound from what we were told, we imediately called the company and left a messages.

On 4/5/14 since we had not heard back from the company, we checked the internet and found several complaints about this company. With the salemen mis-repsentation and no call back, we decided to cancel the check that***** used to pay for the meat package and want to return the meat product.

Monday 4/7/14, **** the owner of the company called **** back. He was rude to **** and told her that she needs to return the meat by driving all the way to Gurnee Illinois to their company and that he will not have anyone pickup the package. **** had ***** call ****.

***** called and left **** a voice message which **** returned. ***** went over with **** on how the salesman (***) had mis-represented his company and went over the above details. **** seemed very upset and defended ***, saying that *** had accidently given us a better meat package and was the reason for the missing steaks (Note: Looking at the Filet cuts, they look horrible and are end cuts that are in triangle shapes). He then said it's 3 dollors a piece and that *** would never go over ounce sizes or say a price per pound. I remined ****, that *** stated this to******* co-workers (4 of her co-workers) as well, and **** replied that people sometime hear what they want to hear which kind of shocked me.

Being a proffesional, I would not go down to ****'s level. I stated to him that the saleman (***) was in our local area and that it did not make sense for me to take off work and drive out to Gurnee to return the steaks (I have no refrigeration for this transport). He said that since we canceled the check, we now need to drive to Gurnee and return them and would not budge from this stance ending the conversation.

****, did not question ***'s sales pitch nor did he really listen to the mis-representation of his companies product even though it was a group that heard the sales pitch.

I'm afraid if I drive out to Gurnee that the meat will thaw and **** will not accept it and expect me to pay for it. He has the proper freezers for transportation and should be accountable to receive his return in a local sales area. At this point, the meats are frozen and in my freezer and are in the same shape as when purchased.

Initial Business Response
We apologize if anyone felt like they were misled. The first phone call was made at 6:00 P.M. on Friday night. There was 4 phone voicemails left over the weekend when we were closed. We returned the call as soon as we opened on Monday morning and tried to help them understand were the simple confusion might have been. We have a package that has 52 cuts and one that has 49 cuts. The price that *** had offered was $3 a cut. This was an issue of simple giving them the wrong case on accident. This case is actually better quality also. We also tried to explain that it was just a misunderstanding that this was $3 a pound, it would have to way over 60 lbs. We always try to make our customers happy but we also have to have a little cooperation in return. The few complaints we have had have all been handled. We have made attempts to handle this and at this point it is the responsibility of the customer to return the product to us. Until the product has been returned the customer will be responsible for the check and any and all fees. If the product is returned in the same condition we will waive all fees.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The owner (******) refuses to understand that the saleman (***) stated per pound and not per cut. WE have witnesses that *** had also stated this price per pound. (Sorry if my wife can't tell the difference between a little over 16 pounds and less then 50 pounds (3 goes into 145 less then 50 and not 60 like ****** stated)).

Also, returning the package to Gurnee Il. is not acceptable. He has local saleman since they came to Elva workplace and they have the propper equipment to transport frozen perishable foods.

I'm afraid if I return it to Gurnee without the proper equipment (This is a very long drive), that ****** may not accept the return if it is at the beginning stage of defrosting. Also, between the gas and toll charges, it is not acceptable.

His saleman mis-represented the company and led to a sale based on false information. He has saleman in the area that have the equipment to maintain the quality of the product. A local return is needed.

We can provide the witnesses if needed.


Final Business Response
This customer has been satisfied. There were minor misunderstandings and since we want it to be clear that no one was trying to mislead anyone we said they could just keep the product. Once we said that it seemed to take a little pressure off the situation. The customer also said that they couldn't afford the full price and would be willing to pay half. We declined that offer and said after you eat the food and have the money call us up and pay for it then.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Two weeks ago, ************** the broker for Windy City Quality Foods sold me a case of beef. A friend came for supper. I prepared two of the small steaks. They were awful: tough & tasteless. I called the company & complained. I was told to try some other of their meats. I had company on Saturday, Sept 14 & prepared 4 steaks. They were fair...but were full of gristle & fat. I called again. I got an e-mail saying to call on Tuesday, Sept 17 at 9:00 to report how the steaks were. I called at 9:17. No answer. I left a message. And called later in the day. Their answering machine says they'll respond within 24 hours. They didn't. I called the next day twice. No response. I called the next day and the next and the next. No response. Then they finally answered the phone. They said they were coming to Milwaukee that day, Friday the 20th, & would replace my meat. They didn't call. Or come. I'm tired of this. I want my money back. I paid $350 for steaks that were poor to awful. I'm willing to get $300. back.

Initial Business Response
We stand behind our product 100 % and will replace any products that need to be replaced as discussed in our conversation. The day that we had a truck in Milwaukee to replace the product there was no answer when the driver called. We have talked to******* at ************** and will be scheduling a day this week to take care of this.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My initial complaint was that two of the meats I tried were tough & tasteless. *****, from Windy City, called & came with 5 steaks to make up for the 6 items mentioned above. I grilled them last night as company came back to try the new offerings. We weren't very impressed. The steaks were better.....but not by much. I am worried that the rest of the meat will not meet up to my initial expectations. I have ordered meat from both Omaha Steaks and No Name Steaks & have been more than happy. Unfortunately Windy City disappoints.

Final Business Response
We stand behind our product 100 % and will replace your product until your happy. Our company fulfills orders of over 1000 boxes of product every week and understand that being food it may not be perfect every time. Less than 2 % of the boxes sold have an issue not being of exceptionable quality so that is why we feel comfortable that you will end up a satisfied customer. Please communicate via email (customerservice@windycityqualityfoods.com) or phone (****************) if you need any further exchanges.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/18/2012Problems with Product / Service
04/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues
08/10/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Grocers - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/20/2012Business started: 03/08/2012
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2012, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Todd E Boss (President)
Business Category

Grocers - Retail

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Windy City Quality Foods, Inc.

4185 Grove Ave

Gurnee, IL 60031-2132

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4185 Grove Ave 

    Gurnee, IL 60031-2132(847) 672-7944

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Windy City Quality Foods, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Grocers - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.