BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Jacquielawson.Com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues13
Problems with Product / Service14
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints27

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (27)BBB Closure Definitions
07/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My mother was a subscriber (XXXXXXXXX) who died in 12/13. She had paid for her membership via a credit card that my father who is disabled and elderly still uses. The card was charged for membership renewal on 6/5/14 despite the fact that my mother did not renew her membership. The company did not respond to my request to refund the unauthorized charge. Thank you for your help with this.

Desired Settlement
Refund the unauthorized charge.

Final Consumer Response
FW: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)
Inbox
x
******************************************
7:20 PM (14 hours ago)

to me
Hello ******
I tried to use the BBB online complaint system to notify you that the company Jacquielawson.com responded and refunded the unauthorized charge. I did not however receive a message that the complaint was updated on the BBB website.
Thank you for your much appreciated assistance.
Sincerely,
*****************

02/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
According to the Jacquie Lawson member website, my membership expired 11/20/12, yet my credit card was automatically charged $12 on Dec.2012.I e-mailed a rep, explaining that I had not renewed my membership, yet I was still being charged the yearly $12 fee - I certainly don't remember authorizing automatic charges to my credit card, either - he could find no record of a charge to my credit card, but did note that my membership had indeed expired. I decided at that time to just go ahead and absorb the $12 fee, but never again used any of their services.
We, lo and behold, here comes ANOTHER automatic credit card charge of $12 this month!! Once again, in black and white on their site, is a record of my expired membership. I have e-mailed them AGAIN about this problem on 12/17/13. I have visions of receiving a bill year after year now for $12 around Christmas!! There is no way that I can find to contact them by phone - next step a letter, or a trip to England?!

Desired Settlement
1) A total erasure of my account from their records, including all billing information and personal data.
2) A $12 refund at the least for Dec. 2013 - $24 would be appreciated, since I didn't authorize payment for 2012 either.

Business Response
Dear Mrs. *****

Many apologies for any trouble this has caused you. After reviewing your complaint, we were able to locate an active account under an email address of *******@innova.net. A cancellation request was never received, which is the reason why your membership automatically renewed in 2012 and 2013. The membership under the email address of **********@comcast.net is inactive and no charges were made for this membership. We have refunded the membership fee which you were billed in 2012 under the email address of *******@innova.net. Our records show a dispute was filled with your financial institution for the charge made in 2013 and the funds were refunded back to your account. Your membership is inactive and no further charges will be made to your account.

Again, many apologies for any trouble and/or confusion this may have caused.


Thank you,
************
Sr. Supervisor
Customer Support Department

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/31/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I expected to hear back within the 48 hrs they said it would take, and I did not. I submitted another request for contact today, but frankly, I do not expect to hear from them. My bank account was charged without authorization and this is wrong!




Desired Settlement
refund immediately

Final Consumer Response
From: ***********************************
Date: Tue, Dec 31, 2013 at 6:28 AM
Subject: retract a complaint
To: bbbinfo@chicago.bbb.org
Cc: **********************

Jacquie Lawson company, contacted me, apologized and has placed the money back in my account. Thank you.

06/06/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/03/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3
03/17/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/03/2015Problems with Product / Service
03/13/2015Problems with Product / Service
02/17/2015Billing / Collection Issues
01/26/2015Billing / Collection Issues
01/05/2015Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Greeting Cards - Retail, Internet Shopping, Mail Order & Catalog Shopping

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.