Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Glasshopper Schor Glass

Phone: (630) 897-5298 Fax: (630) 896-6656 View Additional Phone Numbers 116 W New York St, Aurora, IL 60506 http://www.glasshopperaurora.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Glasshopper Schor Glass meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Glasshopper Schor Glass include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Glasshopper Schor Glass
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1921 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1921 Business incorporated 08/01/2006 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Terry Heap, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terry Heap, President/Owner
Business Category

Glass - Plate and Window Flat Glass Manufacturing (NAICS: 327211)


Additional Locations

  • 116 W New York St

    Aurora, IL 60506 (630) 897-5298 (800) 897-2467

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/11/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Glasshopper Schor Glass was contracted to install 12 window panes in our residence, for a total of $2371.18. Installation was scheduled for and completed on 5-13-14. The weather on the day of installation was cool and rainy. During the installation process, dirt and water was deposited onto the carpet in the formal living room, onto the carpet on the stairs, onto the carpet in the upstairs hallway and onto the carpet in the master bedroom. Drops of dirt and water were also deposited on the sofa in the formal living room. Additionally, the installation team placed a ladder against the wall in the formal living room that left scuff/scratch marks on the wall. On the afternoon of 5-13-14, I contacted Glasshopper to inquire about their process for addressing the dirt/ damage and was advised by an employee named *****, to obtain a quote to have the carpets and sofa cleaned. As instructed, I obtained a quote for the cleaning of the carpet and the sofa, which totaled $129.00. I called Glasshopper to report the total, but ***** was not available so I left a message for him to contact me. After 24 hours had passed without a return phone call, I again called Glasshopper and left a second message for ***** to contact me. He returned my call on the afternoon of 5-14-14, during which time he disputed my claim that his installation crew left any dirt or damage in my home. In response, I encouraged him to visit my home, so that he could see the dirt and damage in person. He scheduled a visit to my home for the afternoon of X-XX-XX at 1:15pm. When he arrived, I showed him the dirt on the aforementioned carpets and furniture and the ladder marks on the wall in the formal living room. During his visit to my home, ***** shared with me that he did not think the dirt was significant and shared with me that the dirt and damage was "just part of the job" and that the damage could not be helped. When I stated that I was not satisfied with that answer, he stated that I was "too picky" and then implied that I was not being truthful as he believed that the damage could have been caused by my children or my dog. In response I stated that I have a right to be "picky" about the condition and care of my home and that if Glasshopper chose not to resolve my claim for the $129.00, I would contact the BBB and file a complaint. At that time, ***** proceeded to walk out of my home and allow the storm door to slam in my face. In response I opened the door and asked him to have his supervisor call me, as I no longer wished to speak with him directly. After approximately 2 hours, I received a call from *****, stating that although he did not feel Glasshopper had any responsibility to pay for the cleaning, that he had talked to the owner and they would give me "100 bucks". I declined the payment, as I continue to feel that the company owes the $129.00 for the full cleaning of the carpet and the sofa. Since I have chosen not to pursue the wall damage (as I believe we can address this easily and at no cost with paint we already possess), I believe that my request for the $129.00 for the carpet and upholstery cleaning is reasonable.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a settlement of $129.00 from Glasshopper Schor Glass to cover the expense of having my carpet and sofa cleaned by a professional carpet and upholstery care company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/05/27) */ We did install windows in the ****** home on 5-13-14. Our employees wore protective booties over their shoes and put down tarps where they were working as they do inside all homes we work in. The home owner did state she was satisfied with the work we performed. She did not mention any issues with the carpet or furniture before they left. Our employees have been with the company several years and have an excellent work record. ***** did go to the ****** home to see what Mrs. ******'s concerns were. He did see some very minor spots, which could have been caused by anyone in the home as work was being done by several other people. We did offer to give a $100.00 payment toward the cleaning of areas there were concerns about, even though we do not feel we were at fault. Our comany does hundreds of jobs every year and have not had a complaint to BBB in serveral years. With concerns to the slamming storm door, ***** was aware the door slamed, but through no fault of his. The door closer should let the door close slowly on it's own. The door needs a new door closer. Our company takes pride in our work and do what we feel is reseanable to make the customer satisfied. Our offer still stands to reimburse the customer in the amount of $100.00 towards her cleaning concerns. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/06/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please review the attached PDF file. The document explains in detail why we do not accept the business's response. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/07/23) */ Good Morning, Because there was several different trades working in the home at the same time we were there, and children and pets, I am willing to divide the cost of cleaning with the other trades working in the home. Thank you, ***** **** - Owner Glasshopper Schor Glass


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Glasshopper Schor Glass
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)