Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Carlson's Glass Inc.

Phone: (630) 668-7234 312 W. Front St., Wheaton, IL 60187


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carlson's Glass Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carlson's Glass Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 06, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Business Category

Glass - Plate and Window Flat Glass Manufacturing (NAICS: 327211)

Alternate Business Names
Carlson Glass & Mirror

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    312 W. Front St.

    Wheaton, IL 60187 (630) 668-7234

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Terrible service. Flat out worst customer service I have ever had. I never write bad reviews but this takes the cake. First off they sent out a "trained professional" to measure the window that needed replacing. It took them 4 weeks from the time they measured the window to get the window in. They then sent someone out to install, after cutting apart the entire sill they discovered they had measured wrong and would have to order a new window. The new window took another 2.5 more weeks to come in. This whole time there was no phone calls to apologize or offer to cut the rate quoted. 6.5 weeks for 1 window! I told them I wanted my $100 deposit back and I would be taking my business elsewhere. They refused to refund the money, so I told them they can come put in the window but I would not pay another dime, they have never come to install the window and no manager has ever called me to discuss the situation (I asked for a call twice). The lack of customer service is astounding, the pure bone headed lack of attention to detail in measuring the window in the first place is cause for concern but the follow up care (Or lack thereof) is pathetic.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $100 deposit refunded as the company has not made any attempt to right this wrong. I understand the deposit is for materials, however when there is a total disregard for proper customer service then there should be a cost to doing bad business. No manager or owner has called me to discuss this issue, the window has not been installed and my money has not been refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/23) */ We have left a message for Mr. *****. We will return his deposit. We are very sorry for the misunderstanding. Carlson Glass has been in business since 1915, we are a family business with nine 3rd & 4th generations of Carlson family members active in the business. We strive to do our best and keep our customers happy. We have written a check for Mr. *****'s refund of deposit. We will continue to try to contact him and resolve the issue. Thank You, The Carlson Family


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Carlson's Glass Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)