This business is not BBB accredited.

A & G Glass & Mirror, Inc.

Phone: (630) 231-2340 Fax: (630) 231-3356 501 W. Roosevelt Rd., West Chicago, IL 60185 http://www.aandgglass.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A & G Glass & Mirror, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A & G Glass & Mirror, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 30, 1990 Business started: 08/01/1978 Business started locally: 08/01/1978
Business Management
Mr. Dustin Frohling, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dustin Frohling, Manager
Business Category

Glass - Plate and Window Glass - Beveled, Carved, Ornamental Storm Windows & Doors Flat Glass Manufacturing (NAICS: 327211)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    501 W. Roosevelt Rd.

    West Chicago, IL 60185 (630) 231-2340

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shower door order was placed in December, 2014. Deposit given was $400 with balance of $1100 due on satisfactory installation. Door was installed in January but workmanship was not to our satisfaction. Installers returned and offered to completely reinstall one problematic panel. I agree. When they returned, they told me their supervisor, Justin, would not allow them to reinstall but insisted on an inferior correction: running a bead of chrome-colored caulk over the poor prior work. This was not satisfactory to me. I said so. I wrote to A & G and said either fix it properly or take $400 off the price for failure of quality. They ignored my request entirely. In fact, the office nevertheless processed the entire $1100 balance due. I filed a dispute with Citibank. In Justin's response to the bank's inquiry he boldface lied and said I had requested the caulk fix. This was NOT the case. They have refused any further communication to resolve this matter. I still have the poor quality of their work in my bathroom. We have paid the charge. I am simply filing a complaint regarding the dishonest customer service practices of this company in an effort to warn other customers.

Desired Settlement: As I have already requested of them, they can come and correct the poor workmanship -- remove the stupid chrome caulk and re install the panel properly. This is what I have been asking them to do since they first did the sub-standard works I in January.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2015/05/04) */ Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX) 1 message Dale **** <********@gmail.com> Mon, May 4, 2015 at 11:08 AM To: "********@chicago.bbb.org" <********@chicago.bbb.org> Hello I couldn't get your link to work. Yes because of filing this complaint the company "suddenly" became VERY responsive after several months of ignoring me. They then made immediate arrangements to fix the shower glass because of this complaint to your organization and my postings on social media. The work was performed (as it should have been to begin with) and all is well. I consider this case closed. Please have your records reflect that. ***** ****

9/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Summarily since 4000 characters is insufficient, I created a template for a piece of glass to be used as a vanity top. The top was to have two adjacent straight sides and two curved sides to match the shape of the vanity. In addition, the template included two holes, one for the faucet and one for the drain. Since the vendor has possession of the template I can't provide the exact dimensions but they are approximately 1.5" and 1.75" in diameter, they are definitely not 2" as was cut into the glass. I was told that the piece would be ready in 7-10 days as A&G could not do it themselves, they would have to send it out to a 3rd party. Not having heard from them after the 10th business day I called but no one answered so I left a message inquiring as to the status of my order. I received a voicemail in response repeating my name and a brief description of the piece including a comment that there were to be 2 - 2" holes cut. Knowing that to be incorrect and that they were already closed for the evening I used the email form found on their website to alert them to the discrepancy and telling them not to make the piece until we spoke. They are currently denying that the email exists so if this goes to court I intend to subpoena their host in order to obtain the exact text. The next day I called, confirmed that the piece was not made yet, reiterated that 2" was incorrect and that my original template was to be used as the hole sizes on the template were not only not the same but substantially smaller. I was told that the information would be passed to the 3rd party actually cutting the glass and that it had not yet been made. Days later I was told the piece was ready and we arranged for my wife to pick it up during their regular business hours which she did. Upon arriving home I didn't even need to install the piece as it was quite obvious that the holes were the same size. I measured them and discovered that they were not correct. The next day I called A&G and was told that they didn't have the template but that they were sure it was cut exactly as per the template I provided. I was even told "I don't make mistakes, the mistake must be yours, there is nothing we need to do for you." (Probably not an exact quote but I remember it well, especially the "I don't make mistakes" part. Anyway, I asked if I'd have to go to court to get a refund and was told to do whatever I thought I needed to do. Since then I have filed a dispute with the credit card provider knowing that this would begin a process of documentation which it has. A&G state several times that I made the template, which is absolutely true. Their stated policy is that they will not make templates on jobs of less than $500. As such their rebuttal to the credit card provided includes the statement "We had suggested several times that we would do the pattern but **** refused our offers." is absolutely false and counter to what they told me about the $500 minimum. Honestly, if they still have the template, I suggest they measure the holes as, unless they have modified them, they'll find that they are not 2" in diameter. They presume that I'm an amateur at this but I know how to make a simple template as I've been involved in construction projects for near 40 years, tracing isn't rocket science. 2" holes are nonsensical for this project. The holes were cut into the wood top of the vanity prior to making the template and those holes were used to create the tracing directly onto the template and they are certainly not 2" holes and to this day are not 2" holes. The base of the faucet isn't even that big making the glass piece unusable. I believe that with the evidence of the email stating that 2" is absolutely incorrect and that I don't know where they got that information (another customers notes written on my order perhaps) along with phone records showing numerous calls including one or more the day after that email was sent, I'm due a refund, they can have the glass.

Desired Settlement: They can have the glass back, I just want my money back. If the issuance of subpoenas to obtain documentation (email and phone records) mentioned above (may take a while), digital photos of the vanity top as it is now along with measurements of the holes both in the vanity top and the glass (I can get these next day), a recreation of the original template (as I said above, it's easy and would only take me a few minutes) are needed in addition to the above please let me know.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/09/10) */ Contact Name and Title: A & G Glass & Mirror Contact Email: *********@hotmail.com The customer ordered a piece of glass. I told him our estimator could come and measure for the piece of glass but the customer said he wanted to measure the glass himself. I did tell him that if the measurement was wrong, we would not be responsible. I verified the measurements with the customer and he confirmed the order. The customer's wife picked up the glass and paid for it with their credit card. The customer called and said that one of the holes was the wrong size. I explained to him that the size of the hole was from his measurements. The customer started to get upset when I tried to discuss the situation with him and he hung up. We have not heard from the customer by phone or my email since that phone call. We have been in business since 1978 and have never had a complaint against us before. We are very customer service oriented. We always go above and beyond to satisfy our customers.