Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

USA Board Up & Glass Company

Phone: (800) 501-3046 Fax: (800) 501-3047 7223 Route 83 Ste 306, Willowbrook, IL 60527 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.boardupandglasspros.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that USA Board Up & Glass Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for USA Board Up & Glass Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on USA Board Up & Glass Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 06, 2012 Business started: 02/01/1987 Business started locally: 02/01/1987 Business incorporated 02/23/2012 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nick Pacella, President Ms. Jennifer O'Malley, Administrative Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nick Pacella, President
Related Businesses
USA Water & Fire Restoration, Inc.
Business Category

Glass Board - Up Service Windows - Installation & Service Doors - Installation Guards - Door & Window Door Closers & Checks - Repairing Doors - Repair All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

USA Board Up & Glass Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7223 Route 83 Ste 306

    Willowbrook, IL 60527 (800) 501-3046

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a window replacement. The company came to measure the window and then said that they would contact me when the window was ready to deliver and install. They did not contact me, so I called the company. They set up a date to deliver and install -- Sep 12, 12:00 noon to 3:00pm. I canceled an out of town appointment so we could install this window. On that sceheduled day I called in advance to confirm our appointment and they confirmed, however the company did not show up. I waited outside tha apartment building for three hours and I called them each hour to confirm that they still planned to deliver. Each call I made they said they would call me to let me know more specific information, but they NEVER called. At 3:00 that day after waiting for them since noon, I called and they said they discovered that the window was the wrong size. They said they would call when they had the right size in the warehouse. They didn't call to set up a new appointment so I called them They said they had the right window and set up a new date and time to deliver. -- Sept 20 between 9:00 and noon. I called prior to 9:00 am, the scheduled delivery time, just to confirm that they still planned to deliver and install and they confirmed. This time they said I would be their first delivery of the morning. But at 10:00 am -- no delivery. I called. They said they would deliver in two hours. But they didn't. I called at 12:30 pm and they were at lunch. Once again, they stood me up. No delivery. Seven hours of wasted time waiting for them.

Desired Settlement: Delivery of the window ON TIME without Maki g me wait again.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

We told Mrs. ******* not to wait in her car, we informed her that out tech would call one hour before arriving to her home. She insisted on waiting in her car, in turn when I told her that our men would be arriving at her home in 15 minutes she suddenly had a appointment. She disrupted out office at least 10 times, out men had a emergency job for the City of Chicago, I understand that she is important also , but So is The John Hancock building.

I am sorry for her inconvience. 

Nicholas

8/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted USA Board Up and Glass to replace my storm door glass, which has shattered. I had also asked them to remove the window frame which still contained fragments of broken glass and install the screen. The company agreed to do this and accepted my $95 deposit for the glass. When I followed up to see when they would remove the frame and install the glass, the customer service representative shouted and me and insulted me. I said I wanted to cancel my order and have my deposit refunded. She refused. I later wrote a personal letter to the company president, Mr. Nick Pacella, and he never responded to my complaint in any way, even though I had provided him with my address and phone number.

Desired Settlement: I would like my deposit refunded. I think an apology would also be in order, but I'm not expecting one soon based on my dealings so far with this company.

Business Response:

There was a mix up in here case, she can have her deposit back , no worries. 

 

4/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called USA Board Up & Glass Company to fix a broken window. They made a appointment for 1-8-15 and never showed up. I called to complain and 2 days later on 1-10-15 they sent someone to measure window. Their worker came measured and charged me a $ 125.00 deposit which I have a reciept for. I was told I would be called Monday with a install date, but I did not get a call. I called them and was told they didnt have my order in and didn't even know someone had measured. They contacted the worker that measured and placed my order. Tuesday 1-27-15 a installer in a USA Board Up & Glass Company van came at approximately 12noon. He unsecured the broken glass and removed adhesive and left glass dangling over the entrance to the store and a public walk way. He then Realized that the pre ordered custom window was not the right size. So he started packing up to leave saying he had to order a new window. I stopped him and told him that he had to secure the glass. He told me he was gonna call his boss to ask about it. He waited for me to walk in side the store and he then dropped the van in gear and literally peeled off from in front of the store. I called and told the company. They down played the whole situation. They refused to cover the glass that their worker had just exposed and are currently refusing to issue me a refund for the deposit I gave them. I will be taking them to small claims court. I know means nothing but they are very rude over the phone they laugh at me and insult my intelligence. They feel this situation is a joke.

Desired Settlement: $125.00 and a apology

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/03/03) */ We absolutely apologize for the scheduling mishap. and tried to remedy the situation as quickly as possible. We ordered the glass, and upon installation, found that the glass was not the correct size, due to manufacturing error. When Mr. **** called our office and spoke to *****, he proceeded to scream loudly and repeatedly used foul language. She ended the call by telling him to calm down and call back. No one was laughing- he was extremely loud, abusive, and rudely refused to let her say anything, just continued talking over her. When he called back, we told him we would re-order the window immediately, and he agreed that he wanted the job completed. When the window came in a week later, we called to schedule the installation, he started screaming that he wanted a refund for the deposit. The deposit covers materials, and the materials were ready, but he refused to allow us to install. If Mr. **** would like the window he has paid for, we would be more than happy to deliver it to him. We agree that this could have been handled in a more organized manner, but do not feel that Mr. **** explained the situation to the fullest extent.

12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/3/14 company rep came and took measurements of window to replace inner panel. Also scree was given to be repaired. Full amount was paid by credit card $394.00. I was informed that it would take two weeks for panel to arrive as well the repaired screen. I placed a call to the company on 10/27/14 to find out status of order. I was informed that installation was going to take place on 11/01/14 between 1 and 5 pm. No one came nor called, I called company at 5:09 pm and was told that someone would call me. No one did, I called again at 8 pm and asked for resolution to my issues and asked for delivery of product or for a full refund and the return of my window screen. On 11/3/14 I decided to stop by the address listed on the website and on the receipt given there is no such address in Willowbrook. This is false advertisement and illegal for a business to have an address that does not exists. I called the company again and asked to have a manager call me. I also called the personal phone number of the rep who took my initial order at XXX-XXX-XXXX and left him a message as to the status of my order and still no answer. The lack of response and acknowledgement is not acceptable.

Desired Settlement: I need my window screen complete refund in the amount of $394.00. It is not acceptable that a company be allowed to behave this way and take customer money and not deliver the good and services promised which were paid in full.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/12/03) */ Unfortunately, there were some delays in getting the window from the distributor. The unit was broken in production and had to be re-made. Also, we did not realize the tech who took the measurements also took a screen. We would definitely like to make this right and return to Mr. *******'s home to complete the screen work he requested. When we did speak to Mr. *******, we explained the problems we had, and tried to fix the issue immediately. We did have the issue of former employee not arriving or calling to let the customers know of any delays, but have since restaffed. Our business and warehouse addresses are different, with our Willowbrook address being a P.O. Box for mailing and the warehouse for deliveries. We do offer our most sincere apologies for not being able to handle this in a better way, and especially for upsetting Mr. *******, as that was never our intention. We did complete the glass work we were initially hired for, a little later than expected, of course, and hope for the opportunity to complete the screen work which makes the request for a full refund excessive.

8/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company was hired to install a sunroom glass for a quoted price of $449. We paid a deposit of $225. Unfortunately, the company failed to install the glass multiple times and their owner Chris agreed they were not capable of completing the task. He offered to subcontract another company, for a price more than double of the original quote. I declined and asked for a refund of my deposit. The owner refused to refund the deposit, yet his employees are unable to complete the task. During our last conversation, he simply hung up on me even though I gave him a chance to do the refund and warned him that I had no other choice but to file a complaint against his company.

Desired Settlement: I simply want my $225 back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/08/04) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@aol.com ***** hired us to do this job, and when we were onsite, the person living at the location did not think we could do the job and sent us away. The $225 was a deposit on materials for this job, which were ordered and paid for prior to the appointment. We were ready to complete the job, but were asked to leave before we could even attempt to do so.

6/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/4/2013, USA Board Up & Glass Company came out to our house due to a our glass being broken. On this date, the window was measured. On 5/10/13, the window, a thermopane picture window was installed. We payed $686 for this product. On 2/1/2014, our window cracked. We immediately contacted the company. They took 5 days to come out and look at the window; coming out on 2/6/2014. The gentleman that came out reported that the measurements were off which could have contributed to the crack in the window. On 2/11/14, the company called and informed me that the window is not under warranty and they would only change $50 for the installation but the full cost of the Thermopane Picture Window. However, on their website, they state that they have a parts & service promise of 10 years written promise on all replacement glass for factory defects and installation services. We also had another company come out whom informed us that based on the crack site, it was a measurement error and/or installation. The company is refusing to replace our window despite the fact that we meet their parts and service promise. We are seeking resolution in this matter through BBB or legal proceedings.

Desired Settlement: We are asking the company to replace our window and installation with no cost to us.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 26, 2014/05/27) */ A cracked piece of glass, nearly a year after the initial installation is not a warranty issue. No Glass company can prevent a window from breaking due to natural causes, such as sub-zero weather, wind damage, or vandalism. This window was installed with no cracks in the glass a year ago, which proves it was installed properly and without defect at the time of installation. This does not fall under the category of "factory defect." We did, in good faith, attempt to help this customer by only charging $50 installation and the exact cost of replacement glass, in order to aid our previous customer. This saved him over $400. Due to the extreme weather experienced in our area, our company has replaced over 200 windows of this type due to cracks from sub-zero temperatures and ice.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on USA Board Up & Glass Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart