This business is not BBB accredited.

Horan Glass Block, Inc.

Phone: (773) 586-4808 Fax: (773) 586-4730 6742 W Archer Ave, Chicago, IL 60638

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Horan Glass Block, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Horan Glass Block, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 04, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993 Business incorporated 09/28/1993 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Ken Schroeder, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Schroeder, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Glass - Block Windows Kitchen & Bath Design Cabinets Doors Other Building Material Dealers (NAICS: 444190)

Additional Locations


    6742 W Archer Ave

    Chicago, IL 60638


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with Horan to remodel our kitchen and our enclosed back porch. We were initially told, if any problems or mistakes were made, it would be on them to correct. That statement was the final selling point. The floor was improperly installed. It was determined by the installer that the underlaymet used was of poor quality. The kitchen floor was replaced, I even assited with the removal. When reinstalled stains and grease marks were discovered to my newly painted walls. The stains and marks were 'windexed' away but marks and stains remain. When confronted about replacing the porch floor with the correct underlayment on Friday August 9th ********* stated to me, in front of his installer, that he was not going to replace the floor. He stated that he would reimburse me for the cost of the floor installed by A&D Tile and to give him a day or two. I waited a week and no reply. I then went to A&D Tile and received an estimate, they even knew of the problem from talking with the installer. I then contacted Horan on August 21st and told him it would cost $707.00. He then told me he was not going to replace the floor and that there was nothing wrong with the floor. I told him that the floor needed replacing and that I wanted the $707.00 to get A&D to make the repair. ********* became angry and stated he was not going to replace the floor. When I told him I would come to his store to pick up my check he stated to me that if I came there he was going to call the police on me. I tried to call him back twice that day and he would not answer. I have waited 2 weeks with the hope he would have made an attempt to contact me and correct the matter as he had promised. This remodeling has been going on since April and I really thought we would have been done in the 3-4 weeks as promised. I really regret contracting with a 'neighborhood' business and would like to get this resolved. Product_Or_Service: Remodeling Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to receive the $707.00 as promised by *********, and as witnessed by his own installer, so I can get the floor corrected. I do not wish to deal with *** *********. He is not a man of his word and becomes irrational upon attempting to communicate honest business matters.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* J ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****** Our position on this matter is Mr ********** wants a floor replaced before there is actually something wrong with the floor. The floor we installed looks perfect. There is no reason to replace it. I will stand behind the work we completed as stated in the contract he signed. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response from the business for several reasons. The first based on the claim that the floor looks perfect. They replaced the kitchen floor even when it looked perfect. The porch is doing the same thing the kitchen was doing and it was replaced. Please contact Mr.**** ******** the installer, as he was present during the conversation of replacing the back porch floor. Mr. ********* Ph# XXX XXX XXXX. There is a difference between the way the two floors also feel, the replaced one having a much more solid feel underfoot. Even though the replaced floor does not look as good as it did when initially installed, gaps along the cabinets and doorways. Mr.********* will not accept resonsiblity that he purchased inferior underlayment. Secondly he never addressed his threat to call the police on me if I came to his store for payment for what he said he would pay. There is no apology from him for what he said. I realize that this complaint will not be resolved due to Mr. ********* not living up to his end of the signed contract. I acknowledge signing the contract but I never received a signed copy only a paid receipt for what was completed. If this complaint is not resolved I would only hope that other consumers who are thinking of using Horan for any work find out from this that Mr. ********* is not a man of his word when he states that anything wrong will be on him and not the customer. The other regret I have is paying ********* in full before all the 'punch list' items were completed.