BBB Accredited Business since

Cook Brothers Inc.

Phone: (773) 770-1200 Fax: (773) 770-1202 1740 N Kostner Ave, Chicago, IL 60639

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cook Brothers Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cook Brothers Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 28 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 18
Total Closed Complaints 28

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cook Brothers Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1980 Business started: 01/01/1943 Business started locally: 01/01/1943 Business incorporated 02/07/1967 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. William Spiegel, Owner Mr. Landy Cotney, Controller Mr. Kenneth Tickman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Spiegel, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

General Merchandise - Retail Hardware - Retail Luggage - Retail Appliances - Major - Dealers Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers Furniture - Retail All Other General Merchandise Stores (NAICS: 452990)

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for a delivery of furniture that I bought and the movers did not take the furniture off the truck to even attempt to deliver my furniture

Desired Settlement: A full refund of my delivery service

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/18) */ Contact Name and Title:***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX 7/20/15 Delivery drivers did try to deliver merchandise but it wouldn't fit through the door, even after taking off the hinges. Customer signed a waiver when they bought the merchandise that we could not refund delivery charge if merchandise didn't fit. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They did not take the hinges off even after my landlord gave them permission to do so. My furniture made it no further then the alley. I have two witness to back up my claim. I would like to be refunded for my delivery fee, because I basically paid for them to do nothing. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/09/01) */ Contact Name and Title:***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@COOKBROTHERS.COM Although we do not believe that we are in the wrong, we **** refund the $79.90 Delivery charge. When customer comes in ask them to see Lucy. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 18, 2015/09/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I'm glad they have finally agreed to give me a full refund, how ever I do not like how they handled my problem over all. They lied about the events that took place. I am a stand up person and if everything was handled properly, I would have my furniture and we wouldn't be going through this. I want to thank them for my refund cause I really do love that store. But right is right and wrong is wrong

1/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** 55 INCH

Desired Settlement: I just want a working TV.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/01/19) */ Contact Name and Title:****** Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: ************************ We've contacted customer and we believe that we have worked out an equitable solution

1/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Well I purchased a bar and a kitchen table set with 4 chairs one of those was broke while they was assembly it they took it away and I purchased a seperate char for my bar they took it of the box and saw the seat had a tear in it and missing parts and screws they stated they would write u a report on this to give to the store so when I came in the total amount for my purchase was $929.97 dollars with the finacing came out to $1,626.92 I'm so angry because they would not take the bar chair back to fix it or replace it the chair wasn't even $150.00 then they have yet to used my 4th chair back to me for my kitchen set then they took a page out my package when I was in the store trying to return the at chair with the items I purchased and would not return it either these people are impossible I **** never shop there against and their management sucks along with their crust.service

Desired Settlement: I want y other kitchen chair and my bar chair replaced with another one if not I would like to sue them for this because I'm still obligated to pay over $1,600 for this ***********

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: ***************** We have contacted the customer and will provide her with another chair and bar stool.

10/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The management follow my son's father after i left why would they do that i hope the ceo can see this its a mess im also a blogger so i will blog on this its upsetting

Desired Settlement: I want them to leave parents be they have kids and baby's its not helpful tey dont want bags parents wont go there's better stores

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Contact Phone: ************ No one here is acquainted with the exact incident with which you are referring, and I am unable to make out, form your description, what exactly transpired. We do have a number of policies in place, which may have offended you, and if so, we appologize for any inconvenience. We are always monitoring and reviewing our policys for ways to improve.

9/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They refused to give me a refund, store credit or exchange on a bar stool I bought about a week ago of this date. The store Manager was very rude.Im a loyal customer for over 30yrs and I think this treatment is outrageous.

Desired Settlement: refund,store credit.....

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/05) */ Contact Name and Title:************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ************************ Customer's husband came in today and we gave him a store credit for the damaged Bar Stool

4/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/15/14 I purchased a Black and white living room set(sectional,tables,lamps)that was on the showroom floor and paid extra to get it delivered the next day. 2 days later a red and black sectional and 3 tables (not the correct ones ordered)were delivered. No lamps were included either. When I told the delivery drivers it was not the right furniture they refused to take it back and instructed me to call the store back. It took 3 days to get in touch with a manager who seemed to have the authority to correct the mistakes THEY made. She instructed me to go back to the store and point to the furniture set that they STILL had on display in the store. I was then told that the lamps I chose was not in stock and I would be refunded (which I was)and the rest of the furniture would be delivered the following week. Here it is almost 3 weeks later and now when I cal the store to check on my order I'm continuously transferred back and forth and/or the manager is not working on any days that I call (EVERYDAY)..

Desired Settlement: I want the furniture I picked out plus a delivery reimbursement (especially since I paid extra)and something for my inconvenience. I've never spent so much money and been treated so poorly by the a place of "business" in my life...

Business Response: ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* *********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/04/09) */ We will send you a check for $85.00 per your request. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/03/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) A $20 gift card to Cook Brothers will not be needed due to me not shopping there anymore. Furthermore, I paid $85 for next day delivery and the WRONG furniture showed up 2 days later. Then I had to wait almost a month after that to receive what I purchased. Not to mention having to drive BACK across town to literally point at the ONLY black and white sectional on the company's showroom floor that neither the sales associate nor the manager seemed to know what I was talking about. Within a weeks time span the manager was consistently unavailable when I called on a daily basis. I got nothing resolved nor had any communication with a manager until the day after I filed this complaint. I was hoping your "company" would offer at least a $85 refund for a next day service that I never received on your own merit. Unfortunately, your "company" doesn't understand proper business etiquette so I am forced to request an $85 refund for the next day delivery I never received. There were specific reasons that I asked for next day delivery and if it were not possible, I would have took my business elsewhere from the beginning. As of right now I am not asking for anything for the previous and ongoing frustration of dealing with this situation.

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 40"******** LCD TV did not work on 4/2/14, which I purchased 8/16/13. The warranty with Cook Brother is only 30 days but I was told several times before and after the TV did not work that I have a 1 year warranty with******** Company. After I called Cook Brother they explained to me that the merchandise was no longer theirs so I should contact the******** company before my 1 year warranty is over. I called the******** Company and to my surprise was told the warranty was no longer active because the device was re-manufactured by Cook Brothers. Meaning they no longer held a warranty with the device because it was no longer their property once Cook Brothers re-manufactured it. I called Cook Brothers Inc. back and I was told that the 1 year warranty did exist but when I tried to explain my findings, the calls were ended plenty of times. I asked for the sales rep name but I was only told that ****** was someones name and that was all the information that I could receive from them. The only information I was give was information from Cook Brothers Inc. was the FlexPay contract. Also I was never told that the warranty would be void if it was re-manufactured. From my knowledge the TV i was receiving was brand new and never been touched. Now I am stuck with a TV that isn't working that I would have to continue to pay for.

Desired Settlement: I would like my TV replaced so I can continue the payments, but Cook Brothers will not honor that because apparently I am the owner of the broken TV.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/04) */ **************************************************************** Warranty with ******* for Refurbed Products is only 90 Days....However, if customer will bring Television Back in with Original Box, we will issue her a store credit for original purchase price, with which she can purchase another television. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I purchased the television last year, so it would be impossible for me to locate the original box I received it in. I still have the warranty papers to the television but I did not know the box was important to keep, seeing that the serial number and model number is all on the television. If possible would I be able to bring the television back without the box, but with warranty and remote control, receiving the same offer? Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/07) */ Yes, you will receive the same offer, even without the box. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/04/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I do accept the proposed resolution and will bring the television back to the store. Thank you.

3/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a *********** television model number************* purchased it on september 16, 2013. ******************************************************************************************************* I carefully took care of this item from pick up to getting home, it was a gift i placed it in a safe place until christmas, When my niece came upon opening it we found it all damaged inside, plugged it to the outlet turned it on and was able to see the bottom of the screen. I called the main **** custumer service center, and they clearly told me I had to contact the store where I purchased this item, I called and kept getting tranferred to different departments when asking to speak to the general manager, 40 minutes after waiting, she got on the phone and i told her the situation, with a nasty attitude she told me she coudln't do anything about it I asked to speak with the store owner and she told me "this is as high as you're going to get" I have never had problems with this store, I have been a customer for years, bought my dining roon set, living room and bedroom sets from here, and the moment i purchase a tv I saved up for it comes out being damaged. I am very disappointed in the way I was tooken care of,I understand the receipt clearly says after 30 days, but i NEVER opened it until christmas day. I would want my money back or a replacement of the damaged screen. The manager could of handled this in a better manner, and the employees as well. I **** never go back to that store ever again. I feel like I was robbed.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back or a replacement of my damaged tv.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/07) */ ******************************************************** I'm afraid that our return policy is 30 Days and in this particular instance the customer waited 74 days. We are unable to alter our return policy for that long a period of time.

12/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This morning, Sunday 12/1/13, I went to the opposite side of town to Cook Brothers. I had heard that this place was a good place to purchase furniture that was inexpensive. I purchase a sofa set and was told it was available for delivery as soon as tomorrow, when asked if it was possible. I was told it would be an additional $60 for delivery. I preferred to pay a neighbor w/ a truck to pick my purchase for half the price. When I asked about the pick up process the lady said just to take my receipt to the back of the building and I can pick up my merchandise. When I told her I wasn't sure if I can pick up today and would it be possible to pick up tomorrow she said as long it was BEFORE tomorrow it was fine. So hours later I paid my neighbor $30 to pick up my sofas(which was better then the $60) in his pickup truck. At pick up, only 6hours later, he was told that my couches were not available, they only have a broken one that we could have at discount. I told my neighbor not to accept it, I do not want broken merchandise (we spoke over the phone). My neighbor made his way back all the way across town w/ out a product. I called Cook Brothers and asked why my sofas where not ready for pick up and the women said she had to check with the person who sold me the sofa set. After a long hold She said it wouldnt be in till 12/10/13 give or take some days. She didn't explain why I was told that this product was available yet it wasn't, what kind of business tries to sell you a broken sofa. When I was willing to pay extra for delivery they were more then willing to deliver it asap but when the customer tries to it themselves they do not care. I explained to her that it's an inconvenience for me. I do not live near that side of town. I told her That I made sure w/ the sales women that I could pick up today or tomorrow and it was unfair to have pay for additional delivery just because they made a mistake. I asked her since it was they're mistake could they atleast extend some courtesy and have my sofas delivered free at charge. She said they can not do that and so I told her I would rather not pay an extra $ 60 after I had already paid $30( total of $90) for delivery, so I asked for my money to be refunded. And of course there would also be a catch to that. She said they are unable to refund/ void my debit card unless I go in person. I was trying to explain to her ( once again) that I live on the opposite side of town and how inconvenent it was for me to travel so far could she do it over the phone. And she said no. I understand that there is protocol to things but I feel that some sort of courtesy should be handed to very unsatisfied customers especially when the mix up was your fault. So I paid a decent amount of money (&still more to pay out for delivery)and have no product to show for it. At the moment my apartment is without couches because I also paid to have my old one taken out for me. This is very frustrating.

Desired Settlement: I was just looking for free delivery or atleast a discount that would help pay for the delivery fee. I would once again have to dishout money so that my neighbor can travel across town to pick up my sofas. I'm a young single women and I just feel like I'm being taken advantage by this business. The women who answered the phone was so aware that I couldn't make it over to the opposite of town and offered me no option that was convenient to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/02) */ ************************************************************************************************************* We will deliver the merchandise to the customer at no expense. We anticipate it being available to ship to her early next week.

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 32inch **** Tv from Cook Brothers at *************** on sept 6, 2013. The Tv was sold in the Box and had a 90 day manufactures warranty. On October 30, 2013 the television stated malfunctioning. It Wouldn't Come on at times. I Contacted Customer Service at Cook Brothers and was told that they offer a 30 day warranty but that had passed. I was then instructed by the Customer Service Staff to call the manufacture because it has a 90 day manufactures warranty. When I called the Number, it was disconnected. I then Went to the **** Website to find it had also been discontinued. The Company had gone out of business over the summer, however Cook Brothers Continued to sell their Product, knowing that if anything went wrong with the Television, No help would be found. I Contacted Cook Brothers again and spoke to the Customer Service Department. I was told to come to the Store with the Debit Card that I made the purchase on and they would see what we could do to rectify the situation. When I arrived to the store, I was told there was nothing they could do. They did not ask to see my debit card. Once I told them it was a **** Tv they told me they could not help me, which further led me to believe that they had previous knowledge of issues similar to this in regard to****** Products.

Desired Settlement: I am simply looking for the television to be replaced by Cook Brothers or a Full refund so I may purchase another.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/26) */ ******************************************************************* If the customer will bring in the Television, with the receipt, we will give him a store credit to purchase another television. Come in and ask for *****

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ***** ********, purchased a sectional sofa From Cook Brothers on 11/5/2012,serial #*********** and the coushions and pillows has flattened within 6 months. I contacted cook Brothers at ******* ********************, phone # XXX XXX-XXXX and i spoke to furniture mgr ****** and told her about my situation and she told me that she would send some one out and she never did and she asked me to send pictures via her cell phone and i did so.She told me to call the manufacturer, ********************* ***************************************, phone #XXX XXX-XXXX and I call several customer service/relations depts and they told me to call her After that i have sent ***** several text and messages and she never returns my call. I feel that I have been treated unfairly regarding these companies honoring their warranty, the quality of the furniture is poor and i feel that they should replace the defected parts, I am still paying for this merchandise, that is defected in six months and I am not pleased with the way i am being treated as a paying consumer and i feel that i have rights to file a complaint. they are giving me the run around and no one is willing to give me an answer. And i deserve to be treated as a paying consumer.Please review the facts and please help me to get the customer satisfation that i deserve under the manufacturer warranty that was promised to me at the time of my purchase. My name is ***** ********* and my address is ******************** *********** XXXXX my Email address is ************************ and my cell phone number is XXX XXX-XXXX. Thank You for all of your help, Sincerely, ****************

Desired Settlement: I am asking for the pillows and coushions replaced on my sectional sofaor if not, i would like to be refunded in full the total amount of my purchase plus taxes and finance charges.

Business Response: ********************************************************************************************************************************** ***** from our furniture department has twice tried to contact ************ to inform her that we have her cushions/pillows here and they are ready for her to pick up. If she will call us and ask for either *************** they will be able to coordinate her picking them up. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Dear BBB, Thank you for your help in this matter, because of your professionalism, you provide help for dissatisfied consumers. With your help, you gave me a chance for Cook Brothers to acknowledge my warranty and realize that my complaint was legitimate. Therefore my situation with the cushions were replaced and after you contacted Cook Brothers, they finally Resolved the situation and they lived up to their agreement. However ****** ( never tried to contact me nor Left me any messages until today 10-07/2013) she called me And told me to pick up the pillows and cushions. I went to the store and retrieved the merchandise. Once again, I thank the staff of BBB for being involved in me being treated fairly as a customer. God bless you all, sincerely, **************

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: converter box stop working, manufacturing company went out of business three years ago but Cook Brothers are continuing to sell discontinued items.if they are going to sell products that r discontinued they should replace it even after 30 days if you still have the receipt.

Desired Settlement: i just want the converter box replaced.

Business Response: ***************************************************************************************************************************** Unfortunately, we have no control over our vendors going out of business. With the information given, we can not go beyond our stated return policy.

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***********. ticket number X-XX-XXXXXX credit 109.90 + 10.56 tx

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement.

Business Response: ********************************************************************************************************************************* In keeping with Store policy, it has been less than 30 Days from purchase so customer may bring item in with store receipt and receive a store credit for the amount of the item, plus tax, with which they may purchase a replacement.

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***********. ticket number X-XX-XXXXXX credit 109.90 + 10.56 tx

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement.

Business Response: ********************************************************************************************************************* In keeping with Store policy, it has been less than 30 Days from purchase so customer may bring item in with store receipt and receive a store credit for the amount of the item, plus tax, with which they may purchase a replacement.

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service