BBB Accredited Business since

Marantec America Corp.

Phone: (888) 622-2489 Fax: (847) 478-0348 View Additional Phone Numbers 5705 Centerpoint Ct, Gurnee, IL 60031 http://www.marantecamerica.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Marantec America Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Marantec America Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Marantec America Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2001 Business started: 03/01/1997 Business started locally: 03/01/1997 Business incorporated 03/07/1997 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Meikel Nagel, President David Haslam, Director Sales Bob Swieczkowski, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Meikel Nagel, President
Business Category

Overhead Garage Doors Manufacturers & Producers Door & Gate Operating Devices Door Closers & Checks Garage Doors & Openers Finish Carpentry Contractors (NAICS: 238350)

Products & Services

This company manufactures and distributes residential garage door openers.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Marantec America Corp. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5705 Centerpoint Ct

    Gurnee, IL 60031 (847) 478-1500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The opener has a 15 year warranty. I had a logic board go out and it says parts are guaranteed for 15 years so I called them. When I called them, they told me they couldn't send me the parts and I had to go through the dealer. The person who put the system in has retired and is no longer around. The dealers on their website are either not answering calls or do not deal with this system anymore. There is nothing in this warranty that says I have to hire a contractor for this. I did find a company here locally who used to be a distributor about 5-6 years ago and they still had some parts there. I purchased the part from them for $64.XX and am not happy that I had to do so. They're telling me I have to have a professional install this. It's going to cost too much to do that. I had it done myself in an hour and a half and back working.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the part.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/01) */ It is correct that the garage door operator in question comes with a 15-year limited parts warranty. However, all Marantec openers do require to be serviced by a professional garage door company. Considering that fact that the customer had difficulties finding an authorized dealer in the area, Marantec is sending a check for $65.00 in an effort to reimburse the customer for the replacement part he purchased from a distributor. In doing so, Marantec has honored the product warranty beyond its limitations and we consider this matter closed.

12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lifetime warranty not honored. I have been without a working garage door now for 3 months. I have done everything they asked of me. I call them they tell me my photo eyes are bad. I bought new photo eyes for my unit. Still didn't fix it. I call them tell them my unit still is not providing power to the eyes. They tell me the mother board in the unit is bad. They tell me they will not warranty the unit directly to me and i have to call a garage door tech. I called 3 and not one of them would warrenty it threw them. All 3 just tell me they had issues with them in the past and best to just buy a new unit from them. I called martec again and they gave me there local rep and assured me that they would take care of me. I called them and got no where with them too. I just want my unit to work. I offered to send the whole unit or just the mother board to them and they will not fix help me. I think they are just sitting around laughing about my unit not working.

Desired Settlement: I want a working garage door opener. Lifetime warrenty since i bought the unit with my new house means i should be given some support.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/05) */ Marantec has handled the customer complaint in accordance with our warranty statement. As our product requires professional installation and service, replacement parts will be made available only to an authorized dealer and not to the homeowner directly. This warranty regulation does not mean that Marantec is not honoring the product warranty. Marantec recognizes the inconvenience the technical matter has caused the customer. In an effort to resolve this matter, Marantec has been in direct contact with the customer and has determined an authorized dealer in the area. The customer has been provided the with the contact information and Marantec is actively communicating with the authorized dealer to monitor the progress of the repair work. Once the customer schedules a date for the service call, a completely new and upgraded garage door opener will be installed.

3/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had two M4500e units installed Sept 2009. In December 2010 one unit required a new belt guide and sprocket and it was covered under warranty. In September 2013 one opener quit working and the other was starting to show some irregularities. Pioneer Door Inc. replaced a circuit board in one unit and put some electrical tape over the activator nub on both belts. Cost to me $422.89. A few months later the tape job failed on one unit. I re tapped it but it failed in one month. Pioneer won't take any responsibility for the tape job "fix". When told of the problems Marantec advised me to loosen the mounting screws between the channel and the motor housing. This evidently brings the belt nub in closer contact with the activator switch. This has not been a good fix as now the unit sometimes works and sometimes not.I have been in the manufacturing industry for many years and my opinion is that this is a manufacturing defect and should not be governed by standard warranty guidelines. Both of the door service companies that I have been in contact with are aware of the belt nub problem so it is not an isolated situation.By not taking responsibility for a fix, Marantec is putting the burden on the consumer to fix a problem created by their design defect. They should be responsible for parts and labor to correct this problem.I would like nothing better than to get rid of the Marantec units and install another brand but that would be expensive and let Marantec off the hook.I would be interested to hear Marantec's take on this problem and their solution. Product_Or_Service: Door openers

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement Total replacement of the two openers including parts and labor.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/11) */ Marantec America Corporation has been in direct contact with the customer regarding his complaint. On March 10, 2014, Marantec has shipped 2 completely new garage door openers to the customer in order to alleviate the reported problems. In accordance with Marantec America's warranty statement, we urged the customer to seek professional help with respect to the installation of the new operator systems. In addition, the customer was informed that any related service call charges would be his responsibility. In response, we have received the following communication from the customer: Subject: Re: *** **** Construction / **** residence - garage door openers Sounds like a fair solution. I will notify BBB that the issue has been resolved and contact my installer. Thanks for your help. Regards, **** Marantec America Corporation considers this matter closed. Final Consumer Response /* (450, 8, 2014/03/13) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: fully satisfied