BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2008

Doors in Motion

Phone: (847) 952-9811Fax: (847) 952-9830View Additional Phone Numbers509 W Golf Rd, Arlington HeightsIL 60005-3904 Send email to Doors in Motion

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2008

BBB has determined that Doors in Motion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Doors in Motion's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Doors in Motion

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called around to get quotes for replacement of a broken spring for a 2 car garage wooden door. Doors in motion told me $135 so I took it and made an appointment. The lady said she would give me a deal if I bought 2. I said NO if the other one breaks it is my problem. She said fine. The installation man came and tried to talk me into a new door. I said NO just replace the broken spring. I went into the house about 40 minutes later I saw him in his truck so I went out and gave him a check for $135. He said no he put in two springs because the tensions was to much for him. I was not asked or told of the switch. I paid the extra $50 because i had the product. I called and told them and they said ohhh we will talk to him. I am still out $50 which was for something else that was needed. I am working two jobs at minimum wage and can't afford to have people spending the little amount I have. This is definitely a case of Bait And Switch in the worst way. He also took the old springs which normally the contractors leave your old parts. I could have turned them in for cash/scrap if nothing else

Desired Settlement
I don't know what I would want.....my $50 dollars and the money to come from the worker not the business. He was the one that made the mistake and will not learn if all they do is talk to him....in one ear and out the other will not stop this practice

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@doorsinmotion.com
Our goal is to keep the customer happy and to do the best professional job. The tech that had done the job mentioned that he told her that the other spring could not be wounded any tighter and it was not safe and she said ok he took that as approval to change the other spring because if you do them on the same day you get the best price, there was no such thing as bait and switch i would say miss communication but she does have the new product and the full warranty.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never agreed to anything I told him to replace the broken spring. When I called the company the lady that answered said she agreed that he should have said something. Now all of a sudden he told me. I'm sorry but I don't spend money I don't have and I told them on the phone. I wanted one spring replaced and I would take my chance with the other spring. It was my decision not theirs. and where are the springs he took off? Yes it is bait and switch when we agree to one thing and they up it to their benefit even though I said no. I kind of thought this would go no where....but I I'll be sure to let the people I know what happened and also how the BBB handled this.

Final Business Response
Case # XXXXXXXX
1 message
****@doorsinmotion.com <****@doorsinmotion.com>Fri, Aug 15, 2014 at 12:51 PM
To: *******@chicago.bbb.org

We at Doors In Motion aim to please i hope we have done all that is asked of us to keep our customers happy, for this case we conclude by returning the old springs back to the customer which were left by the garage as instructed.

If any questions please call ****** or ** at XXX-XXX-XXXX

Thanks

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't agree with anything said., but it doesn't seem to matter what I say or want. It's my word against theirs. I didn't get what I wanted...it cost me more than I had and I will never use them again so the warranty does me no good. Yes they can bring the springs back and leave them next to my garage

Industry Comparison| Chart

Garage Door Repair, Garage Doors & Openers, Doors - Installation, Doors - Patio, Doors, Door Frames, Door Closers & Checks, Door & Gate Operating Devices, Overhead Garage Doors, Garage Builders, Doors - Repair, Door Closers & Checks - Repairing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/02/2001Business started: 01/02/1997
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2007, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Ola Ezat (Vice President)Ms. Alaa Fahmy (Operations Manager)Mr. Walter Martin (General Manager)
Business Category

Garage Door Repair, Garage Doors & Openers, Doors - Installation, Doors - Patio, Doors, Door Frames, Door Closers & Checks, Door & Gate Operating Devices, Overhead Garage Doors, Garage Builders, Doors - Repair, Door Closers & Checks - Repairing

Alternate Business Names
Total Solution at Once
Industry Tips
Contracts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Doors in Motion

509 W Golf Rd

Arlington Heights, IL 60005-3904

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 509 W Golf Rd 

    Arlington Heights, IL 60005-3904(847) 952-9815
    (847) 952-9811
    (847) 952-9817
    (847) 952-9820
    (630) 379-0264

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Doors in Motion is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (847) 952-9815
  • (847) 952-9817
  • (847) 952-9820
  • (630) 379-0264
  • (630) 968-3333
  • (630) 823-2998
  • (630) 778-3333
  • (630) 752-0555
  • (630) 268-8811
  • (708) 599-6333
  • (708) 460-3333
  • (847) 222-0060
  • (847) 222-0066
  • (847) 222-0400
  • (847) 222-0800
  • (847) 222-9062
  • (847) 222-9100
  • (847) 222-9400
  • (847) 253-6109
  • (847) 253-6199
  • (847) 277-0850
  • (847) 277-1477
  • (847) 277-9775
  • (847) 279-8747
  • (847) 279-8767
  • (847) 298-2900
  • (847) 307-0992
  • (847) 329-9332
  • (847) 412-0433
  • (847) 413-0700
  • (847) 549-7700
  • (847) 572-0120
  • (847) 577-0500
  • (847) 620-1998
  • (847) 692-3889
  • (847) 709-2332
  • (847) 735-9100
  • (847) 776-0295
  • (847) 776-1278
  • (847) 776-5462
  • (847) 776-5484
  • (847) 776-6514
  • (847) 832-9344
  • (847) 925-1601
  • (847) 925-1603
  • (847) 925-1607
  • (847) 995-8610
  • (847) 995-8611
  • (847) 995-8612
  • (815) 398-3500
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Garage Door Repair

Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.