Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Danley Garage World

Phone: (847) 562-9390 Fax: (847) 562-8590 View Additional Phone Numbers 612 Academy Dr, Northbrook, IL 60062 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


detached garages and garage makeovers

also for homes  roofing -windows-siding-tuckpointing

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Danley Garage World meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

40 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 26
Total Closed Complaints 40

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

18 Customer Reviews on Danley Garage World
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 9
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 9
Total Customer Reviews 18

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 19, 1959 Business started: 01/27/1959 in IL Business started locally: 01/27/1959 Business incorporated 01/27/1959 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Paul Fisher, President Mr. Jeff Fisher, Vice-President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Fisher, President
Business Category

Garage Builders Parking Stations & Garages - Construction Building Construction Consultants Prefabricated Metal Building and Component Manufacturing (NAICS: 332311)

Method(s) of Payment
credit cards for deposits
Alternate Business Names
Danley Garage Danley Lumber Co., Inc. Danley's Garage World
Additional Information

Danley's Garage World has requested that before filing a BBB complaint, homeowners contact Paul Fisher at 847-849-5440.

Please understand that you can file a complaint with the BBB now or at any time during this process. It is our hope that Danley's Garage World will resolve the matter for you in an expedient manner.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Danley Garage World has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased some gutters in May 2013 from Danley's Lumber with a 10 years warranty for $4,000. They starting leaking in Feb 2013 and repaired Apr 2013 .In June 2016 they started the same 3 spots. I have spoken with two different President of the company Mr **** ****** 847-***-**** ext 440 and Mr **** ******* ************. We have gone back and forth numerous times .They did finally sent someone out,but they are still leaking from all 3 spots. I would greatly appreciate your assistance in helping me get my gutters repaired. Thank-you 3

Desired Settlement: I would like for Danley's Lumber to replace my the gutters with new ones. For I have been thru a lot with them Calling ,waiting for a respone for months. Or to repair them.

Business Response:

In July of 2013 we installed seamless aluminum gutters for Mr. ******. Since then, she had a complained that her gutters were leaking. We came out and sealed the corner pieces. Since these are seamless aluminum gutters, they would normally only leak at the corners. More recently she had complained again that the gutters were leaking. ****** *****, one of our service men, went out to meet her, and after a few visits, it became clear that the problem was not the seal. In fact, the gutters would not catch all of the rain coming off the roof. Some of the water coming off the roof would fall over the gutters. We believe that this is happening for 3 reasons:

1) The roof has areas where the shingles do not lay properly.

2) An extra downspout could be added on one side where there is an existing downspout, coming off a dormer and draining into a gutter and finally back into another downspout. We have told her more than once that this is not the recommended way, but she did not want the dormer downspout running directly to the ground.

3) All gutters have a particular capacity, and while these are standard size gutters, severely hard rain downfalls, and other acts of Gods can exceed the capacity of a standard gutter.

We do believe that an oversized gutter and downspout for the front porch area could alleviate this problem. I know first- hand that she had the opportunity to buy these from the beginning as I was the first representative from our company to meet with her.

I have spoken to Ms. ****** on more that one occasion. She has screamed and yelled at me more than once and stated she wanted a refund. Regardless of her behavior, it is important to me to try to help her. In fact, ****** ***** has set a date to meet her on September 26th 2016 and we are considering helping her by installing 6" gutters and 3"x4" downspouts on the front porch, however, we would expect her to retract her complaint to the BBB and this is not our fault before we would agree to upgrade her gutters. Furthermore, she admitted to ****** that the roof on the side was in bad shape and could be adding to the problem of the water from the roof missing the gutter. 


Business Response: we were out this week to fix again,  we put new oversize gutters onTell us why here...

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


********* ******

8/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Its been over 5 months since I signed a contract with Danley's Garage world(March 12 2016) and the garage is still not finished per the contract. First I was waiting on the salesman to get back to me on the crooked window that was installed, I sent him a picture of the window on June 12th, on June 21st I texted him again he said he was working on it. On July 1st I was contacted by salesmen that the window and the electrician will be out to complete the job. On July 13th I talked with someone in the corporate office and resent the picture. On July 15th the window was repaired. I have left three messages with the owner in regards to the electrical work, as of August 20th, I am still waiting to hear back from the owner who said he would call me back.

Desired Settlement: Danley's will contact me as promised by the owner and send out their electrician to finish the contractual work without any further delays.

Business Response: we are going to reschedule the electric within the next week.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11667721, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Theodore ****** **

8/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Garage and most additional concrete work contracted through Danley completed. However, the side concrete on the garage was not completed per agreement and side door opens to a strip of mud between the garage and sidewalk. The entire section should have been completed/concreted. Danley and the subcontractor agreed to finish the job in the spring. The contractor came out once, promised to get it done that week, and was never heard from. Repeated calls and voice messages to Mike ****** at Danley have been ignored. I simply want them to pour the garage apron along the south side of garage as promised. Based on their promises of completion, the entire bill was paid. The project was started November 15, 2016 and it is now Aug. Someone can break a leg.

Desired Settlement: Per agreement, pour concrete apron along length of new garage between the garage and sidewalk.

Business Response: we are in the process of fixing customer complaints,  we have met with himTell us why here...

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11627222, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me SUBJECT TO IT BEING COMPLETED TIMELY as promised by Danley, who contacted me and said it would be done within 1-3 weeks.


Edward *********

8/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response: Please accept our apology for poor service,,dirt should be cleaned up,and we will build a beautiful garage

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


*** ****

8/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hire danleys to build me a new garage and do concrete work , it took them all most 6 week to start , when they did start they never contacted me to let me know that contractors will be company to my house , thy charge me 500 hundred dollars additional to my concrete price because they had to pour out of wheels barrels , not only did they lie they use a bobcat machine to do it and they damage my new drive way with dark spots and tire marks , I bought a power washer to try to remove it did not work and my concrete is crumbling , also my new garage is flooding with water when it rains , I have been calling danleys and got no where they don't return call , I spoke with the owner paul fisher who promise me that is would take care of this matter and have someone clean up my yard that the mess that the conyractor left in my yard for over aweek after the garage was built , He told me to sign the paper so that the bank would release my check to him and he would follow up with me , he never call nor follow up , my gararge is flooding with water really bad and danleys is do not about it , keep in mind this is a new garage built from the ground up , Danleys is a horrible company to use for your garage I would not recommend them to anyone danleys In fact I say run from them , My garge has not been call in for any insoection , Danlys tell me to call the inspector when it there job Danleys took my mouse and ran to the next job they is a fast talking company DO NOT USE DANLEYS GARAGE WORLD

Business Response: we did cleanup the area, and will fix the problem with water getting inTell us why here...

5/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract to have a garage built on 03/17/2016 I made a down payment of 200.00 on 04/01/16 they tore down the old garage on 04/07/16 they laid the concrete slab and I paid 10,000 as per the contract on 04/15/16 they started construction after putting up the garage they accepted a check for 4,800 without completing the job my patio overhead door was not installed they told my wife they would return the next day, after calling the contractor with no response for 3 days I put a hold on the check I contacted danley's garage world and was given a date of 04/27/16 I have not gotten any response from them as to why I still don't have a door.

Business Response: the door was on back order, customer was told.  it is now installed, all is good.Tell us why here...

5/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesperson was supposed to obtain a electrical permit before work was performed and did not. Danley's used a electrician who had let his license lapse in Wisconsin now we can't get our final inspection from the state. I want Danley's to have an electrician pull the permit at their expense so we can finally get the state to approve.

Desired Settlement: Danley's will hire electrician with a current license to inspect the work, modify if necessary and pull the permit from the state. Danley's will have this completed within a week after receiving this complaint keeping me informed.

Business Response:

we did set up a electrician to get permit, they contacted customer directly.

12/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a danleys garage almost a year ago. We have been reaching our for about 6 months to try to resolve the issue that our new concrete driveway installed by Danley is chipping and flaking. We continue to get empty promised and no response. We have been told 3 times the concrete vendor would be out to inspect the issue all to no avail. We sent pictures to Mike Crump. Again no response. Apparently once the garage is built and paid for they don't care about their customers and don't care to make this right. The original purchase date was 6/17/14 however the garage wasn't completed until late October 2014.

Desired Settlement: We would like the driveway repaired or credit issued since we will have to get it repaired by another vendor.

Business Response: Danley's will come and inspect the driveway, but please take into consideration that concrete is not guaranteed.

Business Response: Tell us why here...we will fix when weather better

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


**** *******

12/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this company to fix my garage for $15,000 including the driveway and the fencing. They took my money and never finished the job, especially the driveway and fencing. The gave me the excuse that there was a shortage of concrete. Then they never came back and never finished. Then they refused to talk to me and didn't return my calls. I had to hire another company to finish the job. It cost me $6,000 to finish the job with the other company. I am a senior citizen.

Desired Settlement: I want them to give me the $6,000 that it cost me to finish the job that they had promised to do.

Business Response: Tell us why here...we have talked to customer,  we owe him a small amount for driveway work, but the fence was not part of our contract

11/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: When the garage was built the roof shingles of the front of the garage were overlapped and the roof in front is in excellant condition. when they put the shingles on the rear of the garage they butt jointed ( instead of overlapping them ) and over time every butt joint has leaked and now I have holes in my roof. I have taken pictures and have fowarded them to danley garage for them to view the failure.I have been in contact with dan and also the president ** **** ****** and both have told me that they would repair damage caused by improper installation. however this has been goinf on since the beginnign of may and in a few days it will be november. I have been very patient but the weather will be changing soon and the work has yet to be done.

Desired Settlement: Just for them too honor thier promise that the work will be done. I have 2 recorded conversations in which dan and mr fisher said they would be out , but that has not happened as yet. all m asking is for the repair to be done before it starts snowing !!

Business Response: The repairs were made on 11/16/15.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** *****

11/1/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our contract says they are to haulaway 2loads of dirt, when they didn't do it I took pics of it and called. They said to use it for backfill, which I did. I told them that they cannot charge me for a service I didn't recive. They said it doesn't work that way. We had a meeting at my home and they said they will look into it. That afternoon I recieved a call and they said if I didn't pay it they would charge me more for extra stone that was alllegedly used. We also paid for the stone to be wheeled in, which didn't happen either because the concrete contractor said he did want to dump the stone in the street because it was freshly resurfaced and didn't want to get a ticket from the city, which resulted in damage to the driveway.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to take the $600.00for the hualaway service that was not provided off the final bill

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** ******, General MGR
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: d******
In response to this complaint, we will be happy to accommodate the customers request (subject to payment) to remove the $600 from the outstanding balance on his project ($7500.00) leaving a remaining balance of $6900.00. We will send a final revised invoice to him for this balance. Since we have issued a letter of intent to file lien on this property due to non-payment, Mr Ostermeier has another 10 business days to issue payment. Upon receipt of payment we will issue a final waiver of lien.
***** ******
General Manager
Danley's Garage World

10/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were going to order a garage. But found out after we gave deposit, the financing was at 8%. When I asked isn't that high - the Sales guy said No. When I complained about the 5400 dollar charge they just said that is basic financing. We cancelled the order and they disputed this with us. I called *********** and he did try to work something out but I did not want any part of it. We requested our deposit to be returned. That was a week ago. We still have not received our deposit. We just want our deposit back.

Desired Settlement: We just want our deposit of 500 back. And since it's been over a week I am filing this complaint. When they return our deposit I will withdraw this complaint.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/16) */ ******** has already mailed the check. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Check was received. Thank you!

10/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed with **********, his selling point was that it would be a one day install after the concrete dries. They sent contractors out to my home which I was furious about because that was not what I was told, I have had bad experiences in the past with contractors and was adamant about having Danleys employees for the install. They came out used my electricity for the job which meant I had to be home everyday so that they can use it. Day one they barely had a standing frame, took many breaks and then I went to ask him how long are you plan on staying because its already after 5 and you barely have the beams up and it stated there is no way this will be done in a day it probably a 1.5-2 week job. Furious I was I called the manager and he stated that he would send the foreman over next day he came walked around smoke his cigarette and never even acknowledge me as the owner, my mom happened to stop by and he proceeded to talk to her and then she stated I'm not the owner why are you talking to me? He had a puzzled looked and tried to talk to me I wasn't interested in his convo at that point. everyday there was a different excuse as to why its not done. I felt that they sent the contractors to my garage because they were black and in an predominantly black neighborhood. I talked to the manager and he laughed at my grips stating that these individuals have built homes in the past and that they were more than capable of the task. I asked why do they not have generators for the work, why am I being inconvenienced by having to stay at home so they can use my electricity, he stated what is electricity like $.25 i will take off $25 off your balance and then laughed. I told him they falsely advertised and that I had other choices but went with them because others near to me have had great experiences; this is not what I had in mind. He said that's the best I can do and I have a meeting I have to go and hung up. I do believe that because I am single female that they saw a need to do and say anything to me. I have been in the customer service field for over 20 years (I just look young) I have also notice that the material used is also sub par there are countless number of garages on my block that are beginning to break down I know that we pay more for the work that they provide and the quality and the hassle we have to endure is simply not worth it. I went with Danleys because of the good things people had to say but the more I talk to neighbors; etc I'm starting to find out they have encounter the same issues. They are not the best company and not the most affordable. I currently have a Danleys rep here fixing what the contractors have messed up. I have reached out to Danleys they say the contractor no longer works for them when I spoke to them about my issues. I would not be recommending this company to anyone. As the owner *****) his customer service skills were lacking he chuckled at my complaints and was only concerned with the bottom line and not his repretation as a company I was really surprised at the way he carried on and when I told one of the agents on the phone she says of theres no way he said that he is really good with our clients let me talk to him then I would have him call. He said oh the best I can do is $300 never even acknowledge the issue apologized for the inconvenience just wanted to know when can I send the payment. This company thinks they are the only one in the world that are capable of building garages.The ownwers attitude really pur a bad taste in my mouth, out-right disrespectful.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my balance to be discounted $2000

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/02) */ Danley's has fixed all the issues. Danley's offered Ms. ***** $300 off. To this date, Ms. ***** has not paid us or returned our calls. *********** will try to call her again.

9/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This matter was already registered under the number of XXXXXXXX. Danley's Garage neglected to honor their word with having someone contact me to repair damage to my garage roof in the inside of the structure. The garage is not even five years old. Pertinent information, such as warranty etc. has already been faxed to the Better Business Bureau under the initial complaint. Additionally I was informed by the BBB that if the company failed to honor their word on the resolution of this matter, that the complaint could be opened back up.

Desired Settlement: I contacted the Better Business Bureau some time ago with conflict concerning Danley's Garage. The Better Business Bureau intervened with the intention of rectifying a solution between both parties. The initial complaint was registered under the number of XXXXXXXX. Danleys stated that someone would be contacting me to repair some damage to my garage that resulted from workmanship. The Better Business Bureau informed me in the memo that if the business neglected to honor the resolution that the complaint could be opened back up. It has been a couple weeks with no one from Danley's attempting to contact me regarding this matter. I am informing you that the business failed to honor their word. This is alarming considering the business claim they are recognized by the Better Business Bureau. I am contacting the BBB again in the hopes that you can do something about this awful customer service of this company. This has been a nightmare with, if the company honored the warranty, would have been over and done with. The repair work is minor. They had no problem taking my money. However, when this company had to honor the warranty of their work they refused. Here's hoping the Better Business Bureau can help close this annoying matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/10) */ The work has been completed and the customer is satisfied. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6-21-2015 we signed a contact for 4900 with Danleys lumber company. They asked that we put 100 down for the deposit and we did. Our sales person we signed the contract with was named ******** They were suppose to remove existing roof to be completely replaced with a new one and they were suppose to replace wood where needed. This job was suppose to be done with in 5 weeks. After 7 weeks went by we called and ********said they will be getting to us soon. Then received a phone call that he was having a hard time finding contactors and he will get back to us soon. I ended up calling the company and he canceled my contact with out even contacting me to let me know. I'm extemly disappointed how they conducted business.How do you not contact your buyer and let them know. And when I spoke to this lady named ***** who worked for the company, she said she will figure out what happened and how she can help me and she never got back to me either.

Desired Settlement: I want Danleys Garage world to honor their contract. I want it done soon because my roof is still leaking.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/01) */ The contract was sold by mistake by a new salesperson. It was never accepted by the officer of the company. We are sorry for the inconvenience but we cannot do that roof. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We don't care if he was new, not our problem. Your company was extremely unprofessional. From never telling us what was going on to never returning phone calls. Very disappointing, especially that we trusted you after doing are garage. You have been in business for over 25 years, you should know by now that sometimes in situations like this you should honor your contracts. I'm a small business owner and I would never treat costumers this way. We should of been called and apologized too right away not after getting your attention this way. Too late.

8/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Carpenters were sent out on June 23rd to build my garage. They did everything besides put the shingles on the roof. We thought they were gone on lunch and would be back because the guy delivered the shingles around 1 something. But no one bever showed up. So they shingles sat there and got rained on for almost two weeks. So we called (which I think we as the customers should've been called by the company not is call them)and ask what was going on on July 2nd and they said they knew that the shingles had been delivered later that day and that's why the job wasn't done & that they would try to send someone out today, but unfortunately they didn't. It wasn't until July 6th that someone came out and put the shingles on the roof while we were at work. And since the shingles sat on my grass for two weeks it killed the grass and it looks a hot mess. I have pictures to prove it. So you would've thought they finished the job that day. Nope electricity still isn't on and we are not able to use our garage. So this is why I'm making a complaint and am very pissed off. In no way form or fashion is this the way to handle business.

Desired Settlement: Price reduce and/or that month knocked off the contract. Also them to fix my grass.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/15) */ The electric is scheduled for Monday, 7/20/15 and Danley's will work out the issue with the grass.

5/1/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This all started last year In August 8 2014 . I bought a garage from them after their sales man came to my home and sold me a garage . Told me it would take about 4 to 6 week b4 they started . The garage was slapped up last min at the end of the year . The concrete work done very poorly and Results of it are multiple cracks in my floor ! My service door to get into my garage would not close ! I tried to get danleys out to repair and no one from this company got back to for till the end of the week ! If I would have waited for them to call me my garage would have been UnSecure with two race cars sitting inside for close to a week !

Desired Settlement: I want my floor fixed ...... It's only 5 months old ! Stand behind what u sell !

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/19) */ Per document signed by Mr. ****** in November 2014 (see attached), Danley's will be out in April 2015 to fill in the west and east sides of garage with concrete. Danley's could not do this in November 2014 due to the extreme cold. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This Only a small part of the problem! The apron in the Alley has a cracked all the way from one side to the other! The main griot in the garage has cracks in it! What's my froor gonna look like a year from now, if it's already cracked at five months? Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 21, 2015/04/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First off **** ****** , is nothing more than a scam artist poor salesman! Danley's garage does nothing but subcontract work out they sell you an expensive garage and then sell the job to this cheapest subcontractor they could get! **** for ****** concrete was not even the company that poured the concrete! The same day the concrete was poured! I called to complain about the poor job that the concrete company did to my home !! The fact that the company is hiding behind a contract says so much about who they are and what they sell ! Okay what about the fact that my floor has standing water when it gets wet it doesn't even drain out ! I have puddles in the garage when the floor is wet ! And the concrete company that did pour my concrete they no longer use ! I had to hire two contractors to come in one to repair the leaking roof and the second guy to repair the Poor job installing the service door ,so in the middle of a blizzard cause I could not secure my garage! They finished slipping my garage up in December 2014 , it's now April 22 and I've yet to get a single phone call saying when you're going to finish the concrete.... And if you call a single piece of concrete being cracked into two pieces shrinkage crack that's a joke ! I could go on and on about all the Poor quality and craftsmanship that was delivered on my garage! As a matter of fact a ******* video has been made and it's being currently edited for Quality ! It shows the truth about what was delivered! This company is exactly why you need a better business bureau ! Sorry ! And as far as any frost or anything else that they're using as an excuse of why my concrete is cracked we had a mild winter , I could take you to plenty concrete jobs that were poured in November and not a single crack to date ! I was never offered anything as far as going to below a frost line or anything else they never tried to offered it to me! Why would I want a garage floor thats going to crack less then six months later?!? My father is currently having a garage built by better built garages, and I'll tell you what his garage floor looks 100 times better than mine does! No cracks and he has water runoff! Guess that's what happens when you go to a real company! Just a note todate b4 this was even made I tried contacting the owner and he will not even take five minutes out of his day to make a phone call! Number one online complaint about Danley's garage , poor Quality and customer service, and lots of cracked concrete jobs! Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2015/05/01) */ Our last reply on 4/22/15 still applies.

4/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wrote a check for $250 so I will not have to pay for the price hike of concrete when it went up they were not supposed to take any money out of my account yet until they get me financed they couldn't get me financed and I also ask for a better price on many occasions but they failed to do so until I told them that I found someone else I ask for a refund the owner **** stated no I'm not giving you anything because you went to someone else

Desired Settlement: the only thing I want is my $250 back and still make my complaint because no customer should have to go through what I went through.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/04/15) */ Mr. ********* bought the garage. Danley's got him financed and then he went with another company. He was supposed to retract the complaint.

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Entered into a contract with Danley Garages on 4/20/2014 to build a garage until new ordinance law passes. To this date ******* of ****** has not passed *** new ordinance and I'm not interested in a new garage anymore. I have contact my Sales rep *** and wrote letter to office on Oct 2014 cancelling contract and requesting refund. To this date no refund or call has ever been returned. Last call was about a two weeks ago to the main number mentioning waiting for refund. Receptionist indicted she would email *** for full refund. No refund to date.

Desired Settlement: Full deposit refund of 300.00

2/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract date: 3/12/14. Project Manager: ****** ***** (XXX)XXX-XXXX ext. 438. Sales Rep. *** (XXX)XXX-XXXX. Product 18x20 garage including electrical and foundation. Problem date 10/1/14. The cement pad for the service entry door upon completion had a 9 3/4 inch step up. The result of such a high step is a trip hazard so it failed to pass inspection. The address of the house in question is **** **** Ave. ******* Il. XXXXX. The Village of McHenry requires that the steps be even and therefore the pad needs to be at a height of 4 7/8th inches above ground. This would create an equal step into the garage of 4 7/8th inches (+ or - 3/8th inch). After numerous phone calls and promises to correct the issue (about a month), the cement subcontractor finally came out 11/8/14. They knew the specifications but when they put in the new step it was wrong. They put in a 2 1/2 inch step resulting in a corresponding 7 inch step into the garage. I contacted the cement contractor that night and was promised it would be corrected by 11/10 or 11/11. It is still not corrected. I left a voice message and my call has not been returned. I contacted ****** ***** the P.M. at Danley's who's response was less than acceptable. He basically stated that he can't physically make the cement subcontractor come out and correct the work because "he is a grown man". He did say he would text him but we have been that route for a month now.

Desired Settlement: I am requiring the Danley's make good on the completion of the work to the satisfaction of the Village of ******* so that the permit receives final approval. If they need to find a different cement subcontractor to do it then so be it. I have paid for the finished product in good faith and expect the completed permit approved product in return. There is no other option. I am attempting to sell this property and having an unapproved permit will prevent that.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/18) */ The step is in. If it fails re-inspection, Danley's will take care of it. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On 11/21/14 I personally hand delivered the failed inspection report to the Project Manager at Danley's ********** location. We had a brief discussion on the history of this project and how the "fix" performed by the cement contractor was not adequate. Prior to the initial rework of the service steps, both Danley's and their cement subcontractor were fully aware of the requirements. When the repair was finally finished it did not meet the specifications given. According to the Project Manager the cement subcontractor is now blaming the placement of the paver walkway. The paver walkway was in place with the exception of the final 2 feet and is at ground level as it should be. It met the original service platform evenly. Since the original service platform was over 9 inches from the top of the service door threshold it did not meet code from day one and therefore needed to be raised. whether there is a paver walkway or not is immaterial because if there were no walkway the service platform would still have needed to be raised so that the step up from the ground and the ensuing step up into the garage are the same height + or - 3/8th of 1 inch. The cement subcontractor raised the platform approximately 2 1/2 inches which leaves the first step at 2 1/2 inches and the second step at approximately 7 inches. The reason I am stating that I am not accepting their response is that the Project Manager has once again stated that all he can do is call the subcontractor and ask that the situation be rectified. To date that has not wielded any positive results. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 23, 2015/01/15) */ 1/14/15 I have read Danley's response that they will correct the issue in the spring when they start pouring concrete. Since they have been less than forthright to date I will withhold acceptance of their response until such time as they actually live up to their promise. I do understand that concrete can't be poured in winter due to the weather but also know that it never should have gotten to this point. I do request that I be kept informed as the pouring season nears. Once a date/time is set I also expect adequate notice so that I can be present when the work is being performed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 27, 2015/02/16) */ 2/13/15 Danley's will come out at the end of April 2015 to take care of the issue. NOTE FROM THE BBB: We are unable to leave an inactive complaint open. At this time we are judging your complaint resolved and closing it. If the business does not follow through by the end of April 2015, your complaint will be reopened upon notification from you. ***** ****** Assistant Managet-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

2/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Danley Garage World on 6/15/2013 i contracted to build one 22x28 gable roof garage. I also contracted with them to replace my siding on my home. I was supposed to finance 12,000. Through **account number XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. Which I have disputed the charges and told them and provided pictures to them of the failed contract and fraudulent documents from Danleys. i have done so since the first time they called and gargage was t even done. y . I paid deposits of 6000.00 at this time. All work was to be completed within six weeks time frame.The permits were ready on 7/16/2013. no work was started until 8/1/2013. Was told numerous reasons why no work was being done. Paid the concrete provider 1750.00 on 8/1/2013. and another 1750.00 to the electrical provider on 8/23/2013. Along with another check for gable roof of 1500.00 at the same time. a total of 11,000. By check. I have been contacting them and complaining about the situation the whole duration of my nightmare. I have a heart condition and this has caused me to ruin my credit with was excellent before this situation. they never received a completion signature for me. my foundation has a huge crack from the inside out through the entire foundation. They said they would repair it and when their manager came to look spilt oil on the concrete. Epoxy coated the floor to hide it. Lied to the finance company and said they fixed it!!! u can't whole slab would need to be poured. this was happening in september. had the inspector out to keep failing the garage they concrete and garbage had them out more than five times to repair numerous issues with the garage. Confronted them about my leaking roof from the *** board on my roof. Was supposed to be 1/2 plywood. For them to think after all this I would want them to do anything.almost killed us blocking the dryer vent with the insulation. which I have dates pictures of everything. I already was dealing with the lies on my home siding as well. that was not done properly either. No vents on crawl space , no address, didnt even put outside lights back on, put old awnings back on before I caught it. etcetc. My home didnt even have a light for Halloween which was oct 31. All the time contacting them the entire time as they lied. my daughter **** ******* has tried to take care of the situation with my permission to no avail. they took advantage of us completely. And thought they can get away with it. I haven't paid the financed amount because I never agreed to it. since then three different company handle this account u can't even get through anymore. wish I never thought they were a reputable company. because of their fraudulent practices I am getting credit reduction letters for 20.000. this is on something I have faithfully pd on for 29 years. It is wrong my daughter and her family moved back home to help me. We really needed the garage and at an intended time. Her family's belongings and property had to be stored because of them. They had no care or concern to be a proper business. My daughter spoke with Mr. **** ****** several times. They agreed to cover repairs by another party . Only to receive a letter stating we refuse repairs and don't contact them. which is a completely untrue. My daughter spoke to get another rep of their company of the many we spoke to. He stated he would be back with her in a couple days. no he lied and sent the letter to the finance company .this a while my daughter was out if town taking care if her father in law with cancer! I sincerely hope you can help me I am on a fixed income and would be hard to find resources to o gain legal representation. I know there's numerous issues with both situations. Thank you tried to include the largest issues I have tried to surmise eveything

Desired Settlement: I feel the only fair thing to do here. is they received in my eyes more than they deserve. To repair my credit , and erase the fraudulent loan in my name and remaining balance on home siding. They have caused me and my family alot of I repairable damages and additional monies. they should pay me back as well because they surely don't deserve a dime. no way 25,000. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for the help in this matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/31) */ Danley's tried to fix issues, but Mrs. ******* would not let us on the property. There is an unpaid balance of $2,695 on the job. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Danleys agent, workers have been to my garage numerous times. To fix , so called , numerous issues. They never did repairs to address any of the issues. the last time they were here they were asked why they now put the old awnings back on my home . Their contractor left and never came back to finish the job. All this while they got a loan approved by the finance company with fraudulent paperwork for my garage. Which wasn't even built to contract! How would they assume to get paid again for work not done or completed. At least with my home couldn't falsify documents to get paid this time. They never did what they were supposed to do. and still got paid. I wasn't surprised to see them lie again! they do that excellently!! I don't see how there response addressed any of my situation. I hope they will actually read the complaint. Thank you again Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/18) */ Complaints are false. Danley's did not falsify anything. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/11/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have not received any resolution from Danleys at all. I do have all documents , paperwork and emails pertaining to my case. Which fully prove they defrauded me and falsified documents. It is a shame they can continue to avoid my complaints and issues. I'm sure , as I've seen online I am not the only senior citizen they have done this to! I am still hoping some fruition my come from filing my complaint. thank you again.

12/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/10/06) */ Danley's fixed the complaint before this complaint was filed. The customer said that they would withdraw this complaint.

10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Danleys Garage is refusing to repair the cracks in our cement, the garage was only in place for 21 days before we saw the cracks in the cement. Called and talk to **** ******, who basically said there only hairline cracks it happens. No this just should not happend in 21days, maybe 21 years. I have spoken with other consumers who also has had a garage put up with Danleys and said this has not happend to them. I feel that there customer service was very ruled after I just paid them $10,900 cash. This is unacceptable work and unacceptable for them to treat us this way. We asking that they repair the cracks or compensate us so that we can get another company can do the repairs, we are asking that they be be reasonable and responsible for there mistake.

Desired Settlement: To replace the cement in the garage with the cracks. Meaning new concrete.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/25) */ Danley's inspected the crack and it is a hairline crack. According to the back of the signed contract (see attached #13) "Danley's Garage World does not cover cracking, pitting or peeling of any concrete work, willful abuse, injury or destruction by fire, windstorm, tornado or any act of God". Nothing can be done at this time. This should not be a valid complaint since the BBB knows that Danley's is not responsible for cracks in concrete. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I explained before, there is NO WAY this should have happened within 21 days. As for clause #13 first of all nothing like this has happened here. There has not been any catastrophic weather in Chicago for this to happened. Once again I am asking Danley to correct there mistake. This was NOT supposed to happened. I am shocked and applaud at the company not owning up to there concrete mishap. We are simply asking the company to replace the concrete that has the cracks in them or compenstate us, so that we can have another company redo the concrete work. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/07) */ Again, this is a hairline crack and per the back of the contract, Danley's is not responsible.

9/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Finish the job you started November 2013. Electrical work needs to be done Correctly to pass inspection.Landscaping was done two months after electrical was completed.Danleys wanted final payment before inspection of building. We had to set up inspection, and we were told electric was not deep enough in the ground to pass code. Finish electrical work up to code. Restore landscaping to previous condition.

Desired Settlement: FINISH THE JOB

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/06) */ complaint 1 message **** ****** <*******> Wed, Aug 6, 2014 at 12:19 PM To: ******* Case # XXXXXXXX*******we don't have a customer under that name **** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX Direct 847-562-8590 (Fax) DANLEY'S GARAGE WORLD NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please provide a copy of your contract or invoice for our review. That copy may be attached to your next response or faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The invoice is under my wife's name **********. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/08/22) */ Danley's had All Electric contact the homeowner again to schedule. They left the homeowner a message on 8/21/14 and 8/22/14 but have not received a response from the homeowner. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/08/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am the customer, you were dealing with my wife but she got sick and tired of dealing with you. The balance is 600 dollars,you seem to forget the money paid to your electric contractor who wanted to be paid every time he came to my house.I talked to the second contractor and was told they would get back to me but never did. I do not know the price to replace the sod. It could me more then the remaining balance,then I have to pay more money to a landscaper.Hade your electric contractor done the work correctly there would be no need to replace the sod. Finish the electric. Replace the sod. Get paid. I'am not looking for anything extra. FiNISH THE JOB YOU STARTED!!

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 2013 I hired danley to build a garage and re-pave my driveway. $14,000. On February 22, 2014, I contacted **** ****** via email and sent pictures regarding this complaint. He has ignored my complaint. I contacted the concrete company and ****** sent a crew out on May 30, 2014 to correct the driveway. He still has to put sealant in the cracks and along the house to prevent water seeping in. Meanwhile mr. Fisher has never addressed this work has damaged my home, not to mention I cannot go into my basement at all.

Desired Settlement: I want to be made whole! My basement never had water to come in ever! I spent thousand s of dollars to have my basement remodeled and now it has mold growing in the walls. I have been patient and have asked mr ****** to correct this! I need my basement livable again. And I need a guarantee that my basement will not flood. I want danley to repair the damage to my basement and pay for my inability to use my basement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/26) */ Danley's already replaced the concrete driveway. We are still working to rectify the other issues. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dear BBB, I am not satisfied! I sent the below email to Mr. ****** on June 23, 2014. I followed up with a phone call to Mr. ****** on June 26, 2014 because I received no reply from my email. On June 26th, on the phone, I again referred to the problem with the driveway and the mold in the basement. Mr. ****** would not give me a date in which these issues would be corrected. Every conversation he tells me he'll have some take a look at it next next week. Mr ******, Per our conversation on June 17, 2014, I have contacted a mold testing and restoration company who will present the results in five (5) business days. I have also contacted a concrete specialist, and a home inspector. They both have testified that the concrete has been installed incorrectly. I had no idea that the driveway still represented a problem, but you will see by the pictures the there is standing water that does not drain away from the house. This indicates the pitch on the driveway is still incorrect. Also, the driveway should not have been butted against the line of the window, it should have been below it to prevent water from going into the house. I have attached pictures, as you gave your word you would correct this work and repair the damages to my home caused by your company's work. I believe you stand by your long standing reputation of 50 years in business. Thank you. Regards, ********* ***** ***** ****** ******* *************,Illinois ************ Before the driveway was installed Before driveway was installed. After driveway was installed. Basement before driveway was installed. Basement after driveway was installed. From this photo you can see how the water never drains from the house even on a sunny day. Sent from my iPad On Feb 25, 2014, at 11:07 AM, "**** ******" <*******> wrote: Could you call me on this 847-849-5440 -----Original Message----- From: ********* mailto:*********** Sent: Saturday, February 22, 2014 4:55 PM To: **** ****** Subject: Picture Sent from my iPad Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/07/15) */ Danley's is still in the middle of fixing all the issues.

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract with Danley's Garage World for demolition of old and building of new garage on 8/22/13. Jobsite was ready by 9/9/13 and work didn't start until 9/24/13. After demolition, concrete work started and was red-flagged for code violation(s). Concrete work was finally completed on 11/5/13. Cracks in concrete started surfacing within two weeks, prior to any vehicles being parked/driven on it and it's just a really poor concrete job. Lumber delivery set for 12/5/13, no show, finally reached them and it was delivered on the 6th. Work to start on the 9th, 3 days to build. Carpenters didn't finish (1st time) until 12/16/13 and the work was not acceptable. We had two change orders, deleting a gable and going with 16 oc cross ties for storage, an oversight but not enough to hold the job up. There were so many things wrong with the garage, we demanded they come back and fix it. Siding and trim crooked, missing trim pieces, 4 x 4 columns which were supposed to be 6" wrapped, and band board to match house, missing anchor bolts, dropped ceiling with beaded panel board, not what was ordered, etc. They came back and tidied things up, basically a remodel. That was completed on 3/7/14. We are still holding onto the final payment as a another huge problem has been found. Contract stated all lumber to be kiln dried and we know why: The cross ties installed are S-GRN. Not only does green lumber cup, split, and pull away from rafters, it leaks sap! All over our cars, floor, and garage door when it's open. We contacted Danley and they sent out a workman to remove sap from a column on 3/19/14. When we showed him what the problem was, he didn't know what to do. He left and came back with Danley's suggestion to polyurethane all of the wood, which he didn't feel would take care of the problem. After making several calls to wood mills, my fears were realized that only time will dry this wood out. Polyurethane will not stop sap from running, nor will it keep the wood from splitting and moving. We received a call on 3/20/14 from the lumber company and because we were running errands, asked that he call me back in an hour, which he never did. The electrician finished at 2 a.m. on 3/23/14. Danley asked that the electrician collect the final payment and we refused, as the job hadn't had a final inspection and the cross tie issue hadn't been resolved. Since it has warmed up we have now noticed that most all of the siding has been "hammered home" not hung to mfgr's specifications, which will void the warranty. We left for vacation on 3/23/14 and haven't heard a word from Danley, the lumber company or the inspector. We've had to pay for storage since this job started and can't put anything into the garage, including our cars until this situation is remedied! We've given them plenty of chances and time to get things right, so now we turn to you for help. We have pictures, a video and documentation of most everything stated above. Thank you for your time. We look forward to hearing from you.

Desired Settlement: We want to have the completed, sound, custom garage and concrete work that we ordered (and have paid more than 80% of the contracted price). In other words, a garage we can actually use.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/24) */ Danley's has been out and addressed several concerns. There are still a few concerns that we will take care of. The building inspector was out at the job site and said that we built a beautiful garage. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is really a yes and no answer of acceptance: Danley's sent out yet another representative who assessed the crosstie, vinyl and concrete issues. We are still waiting to hear exactly how they plan to resolve them as well as a final inspection. We received a call from that same representative and he stated that he had been in contact with the building inspector and that the inspector had a few things he wanted Danley's to do prior to final inspection. He also stated that the inspector found nothing wrong with the vinyl job, although they said they would contact CertainTeed (the company who holds the warranty)to have their rep come and look at it. The Danley rep also stated that they would be coming out next Mon/Tues (4-28/29) to address the crosstie issue and could not install OSB over the sap encrusted crossties until they remedied the lack of nailing pointed out by the inspector. The rep also stated that he and one of the owners were working on the concrete issues and would get back with us soon. This garage was contracted for $32,428.00. We are still paying for storage, can't put up gutters, can't backfill or landscape until final inspection. So, no we aren't yet satisfied with this job to date. Yes, the garage is beautiful if you don't look too closely at all of the caulk that is shrinking, which was used to cover the crooked and short cuts in the expensive trim. An issue which we decided to take care of on our own because we have lost faith in their ability and willingness to do it right. Again, I invite you to request photos, they speak volumes! Thank you for your time! Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/05/06) */ We are still working to fix the garage and cement issues. Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2014/06/17) */ As of today 6-17-14, the issues have not been resolved. Since the our last response; we failed final inspection as a beam needed to be set in order to pass. CONCRETE: Concrete Company owner came out and looked his work and said he couldn't do anything until the cracks become larger, then he could caulk them. He also said that the weight of the footers was causing the cracks on the inside of the garage, seriously? This is unacceptable! We have asked that Danley assure us (in writing) that if we have greater issues down the road with this concrete, that they would take care of it. We received a letter from them assuring us that they would seal it, but no assurances that it would be fixed. There is over a hundred feet of cracking, which is rather excessive. SIDING: loose in some areas, and VERY tight in others and very wavy. No rep from siding manufacturer has come to check the work. WOOD TRIM: Is even more than we realized and beyond our capabilities. We have been worn down from all of the calls, back and forth the return visits that don't address all of the issues that were on the original punch list which Danley's requested from us. The only people we want to see from Danley's step onto our property are the owners so they can see for themselves the inferior product that has been built. We still have the last draw and have filed a complaint with the Indiana State Attorney General's office. Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/06/27) */ Danley's fixed everything that we can. Homeowners agreed to everything and then they changed their minds. Consumer Response /* (4200, 21, 2014/07/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We asked to owner to come out several times to see the "completed" garage, they refused. He offered us $1000 off of our balance, but that won't cover the costs to make it right. Still not satisfied.........

7/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with Danley's to build a new garage and pour a new concrete driveway. They poured the cement in Nov. 2013 the week before Thanksgiving. In Dec. **** ****** came out and agreed to replace one slab of concrete that had already begun to crumble. In Feb. we contacted Danley's to schedule the work and explain that 8 other slabs of concrete had also begun to deteriorate. We were told to call back in March, which we did. I have since been in communication with **** ****** and ****** ***** via e-mail in regards to the driveway. ****** ***** came out with ****** (the sub-contractor they use for the concrete) and agreed to replace 6 of the 8 slabs. At the time, I had e-mailed them asking why they are not willing to replace the 2 remaining slabs of concrete that are also deteriorating just not as badly as the other ones. I have gotten no explanation. I also asked what type of guarantee they can give me that remaining 2 slabs will not deteriorate more and I was told they could not give me any guarantee because we have harsh weather in the Midwest and to buy myself some insurance I could seal the concrete that is poured and the remaining concrete. I have since noticed 2 additional slabs of concrete that have begun to crumble and fall apart. So there is now a total of 4 additional slabs of concrete that need to be replaced above the original 6 they have agreed to. When ****** ***** and ****** came out they explained that the reason the driveway is crumbling is because when they poured it, the moisture inside the concrete froze and expanded out the top. So, they poured the concrete in Nov. when it was too cold knowing this could possibly happen and are now refusing to right the situation. Also, they were to pitch the driveway away from the house, ****** explained that it is pitched correctly, but that because the old concrete that we choose to keep (at the recommendation of their salesman) is to low and our neighbors concrete is to high and the concrete slab at the front of the driveway is to high, then the water pools and is pushed back towards the house and seeping into my basement Again, based on the conversation ****** ***** and Carlos had with my husband it seems as though they also knew this was a possibility and Carlos also commented to ****** ***** that their salesman need to stop telling people to keep their old concrete. On 6/5, ****** left a message asking if they could come on Saturday to make the repairs, my husband spoke to ****** when he called a 2nd time and told him that he could not make the repairs on Saturday. This morning, 6/6, I received an e-mail from **** ****** stating that they would be coming tomorrow to make the repairs. I e-mailed him back letting him know that we were still dissatisfied with how this was being handled and were discussing what other options we had and therefor no repairs would be made until this situation was handled.

Desired Settlement: All we are asking is that Danley's dig up and repair all of the the slabs that are deteriorating and put in a drain to keep the water from seeping into our house.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/10) */ This complaint is invalid. The contract was signed by ****** *******, not ****** *******. Danley's does not guarantee cracks in concrete. Danley's went out and worked out a solution with Mr. *******. Mrs. ******* decided not to proceed with the solution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My husband and I do not accept Danley's response to our complaint. We feel as though they are not directly addressing the issues that we are having with the concrete. We are not asking Danley's to fix any "cracks" in the concrete, we are asking them to fix the concrete slabs that are spalling because the cement was poured when it was too cold out and the moisture within the cement froze. This is what ****** ***** explained to my husband as the reason the cement has begun to crumble. Yes, Danley's agreed to replace some of the concrete slabs, but only the ones that are the worst off They are refusing to fix the ones that are also crumbling, but not to the same degree. I have asked them to explain why they feel it is acceptable to only replace some of the ruined concrete and not all of it and they have not answered that question. **** ****** told me in an e-mail, that he will make sure that ****** stands by his work and they have yet to fulfill that promise. Also, water is still seeping into our basement. ****** ***** explained that the reason this is happening is because the old concrete that we kept at Danley's salesman's advice is to low, our neighbors concrete is to high and the concrete at the front of the driveway is too high. Therefore, the water pools and then is pushed towards our house. If they can explain what the problem is now, then why was it not brought to our attention in October? Their solution was for us to pay for them to put in a drain and replace the concrete. Again this is unacceptable. Overall, we feel that Danley's response is ridiculous and in no way addresses the issues that we are having with the concrete. I have attached the e-mail that **** ****** sent, speaking to Carlos standing by his work. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/19) */ This complaint is invalid. The contract was signed by ****** *******, not ****** *******. Please see number thirteen on attached back of contract that was signed by ****** *******. It states that Danley's Garage World does not cover cracking, pitting or peeling of any concrete work, willful abuse, injury or destruction by fire, windstorm, tornado or any act of God. Danley's went out and worked out a solution with Mr. *******. Mrs. ******* decided not to proceed with the solution. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/06/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My husband and I do not accept Danley's resolution because they are willing to fix only part of what is wrong with the driveway and they want us to pay to fix the remaining issues.

7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 8/3/2013; Invoice # XX-XXX-XX; payment ammt $14,600 method check I spoke with my salesman ******* **** whom related there was nothing they can do inregards to concrete. I explained that it wasn't cracked on the pressure lines and still said nothing they can do. I then spoke with **** ****** whom related the same. I explained to him I have and know others who had concrete poured and not one of them has these issues. No one was sent out to look at the problem they both just said there was nothing they can do.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to repair/replace the faulty concrete work that was performed at my house. If nothing else can be done a refund for the concrete work which I believe was $7,000.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/20) */ This is an invalid complaint. Danley's responded to Mr. ***** and he did not return our message for 6 weeks. We did inspect the concrete. There are minor hairline cracks. There is nothing that we can do. Number thirteen on the back of the signed contract (see attachment) states that Danley's Garage World does not cover cracking, pitting or peeling of any concrete work, willful abuse, injury or destruction by fire, windstorm, tornado or any act of God.

5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear bureau; My name is ***** **********, i recently hiried Danley Garage World to do my 2 car garage. They poured my concrete in november 2013 the weather was cold.not sure of the dates. they got a late start on my entire project. the garage was built in december 2013. im not sure of the dates. i had an inspection in january after the electrical guy came to put the electric in and the village of oak park came to do the inspection ( ********** inspector of oak park) . my inspection failed. i have only 3 inspection reports and they all failed. Reminde you i have paid them in full of 11,650. also my work is not 6 months old. i have been calling the owner **** ****** and ****** ***** in regards to the the concrete aprin that looking like im gona have pot holes in it. i ask him to repair it cause something went wrong( ****** *****) in sent him a email with the pictures and he said he will take care of it wen they come back to do the service walk concrete! now that they came to do the service walk concrete after the weather broke they made it too small! and never fix the pot holes in the apron. i paid for a larger walk and they used Bag concrete to pour looks horrible!!! i have pictures. of both apron and service walk. i had a few concrete people over to give me a estimate but i dont feel i should have to pay for something i hired and paid these professional people to do! i call them at least 3xs a week and get no were they keep saying they gonna fix the walk but not aprin.. i spoke to **** last week and he said he gonna have the concrete people call me. but still nuthing. wen i call about a month ago it was like they was very rude and just not carring Dave is very rude and unpofessional to work with. i spent my money and get a horrible job that wont pass *** village inspection. i do have copies inspection report and pictures of the work they did that was done. i just want my concrete and service walk done correctly. if i was to sell my property it wont pass **** out being fixed correctly but why should i have to pay again!!!!! please help me i cant afford to pay no one else. it took me 2 years to save 11,650.00. They avoids all my calls and the secretary is very frustrated cause she understands that no one calls me back. The Concrete apron with the service walk will cost me between 3000.oo to 5000.000 to get it taken out and redone. i cant afford to pay this again. contractors: Danley garage world XXXXXXXXXXX 4019 st. charles rd bellwood il XXXXX **** ****** owner ****** ***** owner *********** general mgr/sales rep

Desired Settlement: if they cant replace the apron and the service walk that was paid for then i need 3000.00/ 5000.00 to replace it. also if the garage has to be redone due to it not passing *** village codes and inspection i want my 11,650.00 bac to hire a new contractor. village of oak park inspector #XXX-XXX-XXXXx1 or his email *******

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/30) */ Danley's will replace the service walk.

3/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my garage built by Danley Garage they started around June 2013 and didn't finish until Aug/Sept 2014, and I had to watch everything they did. When it came to the concrete, I had the plans luckily because they originally dug out the new area 20 feet short of what was planned, and they left an 18 inch gap between my garage and the old patio concrete that was at least 12 inches deep they wanted to leave there, I had to push them to fix otherwise it was a huge safety issue. Why would the want to leave that, I do not know, the plans were to fill it in on the contract so they met together. Then when they built the garage, they didn't install the opener and I had to wait another 2 weeks to get that done. Then when they finally finished, I noticed a wall was slightly bowing out in an area, and the first bit of wind we had, a shingle blew off. I have been calling repeatedly (at least 15-20 times to either the sales rep or the office)since August/September to get them to fix it, but they will not come out or call when they say they will. Now to make things worse, within 5 months (by February) I noticed, my concrete is breaking apart and a three foot crack has developed down the center along the stress lines they made. After talking to a few contractors, they have said that it is either poor material or work was done wrong. I have called and talked to **** ******, vise president of the company on 2/21/2014, he said his guy would get back to me by 2/24/2014 on the roof and the wall, but they have not done so. I am still calling them back almost every other day, and have not gotten a response as of yet (3/10/2014). **** has said they do not stand behind the concrete work, but concrete should last more then a few months and not break apart or crack like that, no matter how cold it gets in the beginning. They asked me if the concrete was sealed, and apparently it was not, and no one told me it was supposed to seal the concrete. That should have been done by the concrete company as part of the job if I am not mistaking. Seems like since we paid them, they have not made an effort to keep their promise customer satisfaction or their promise to stand behind their product/services rendered.

Desired Settlement: I would like the roof fixed, the wall that has been bowing out repaired, and the concrete repaired with the correct materials so that my driveway will not fall apart in such a short time. And since they asked if the concrete was sealed, I would like them to finish the job they did and seal it like they should have done.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 6, 2014/03/11) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Danley has finally started to repair my garage. Replaced the shingles that blew off the roof. It's a shame that things had to go so far to get a start on fixing it. I am hoping that they do get this fixed completely. And hopefully the concrete gets done correctly and sealed like they said it should have been in the first place. We spent a lot of money on this to have this many problems this early. And I did make a mistake in the beginning on the date. It was finished Aug/Sept 2013.

12/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company came out to our home on 5/1 to give estimate and to take a deposit. They said they would start building garage in mid September. When September came we called Danleys to see the status of when they would come out. They than told us village did not approve permit but we called the village ourselves and Village of ******** Heights did not have records of them requesting a building permit. When we found this out we tried to cancel it but they said they were not returning our deposit due to the paperwork they filed and used up for our contact. When we called to complain they told us they would return $300 from our deposit to us because of this so called paperwork. Told them that was not fair and that we knew they had not even gone to request the permit to the Village. Than after a discussion with Danleys they told us they were going to return $400 and keep $100 for their so called paperwork. When we told them it was not fair that they had not even done anything that they said they would do. They got upset and than said they would not return any of our deposit.

Desired Settlement: We would like our deposit of $500 back since they did not build the garage or do anything at all to move forward with what they said they were gonna do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/08) */ Danley's did apply for a permit for the garage at **** **** ***** Road, ******** Heights, but the homeowner failed to appear before the Village Appearance Commission. We did not return the deposit to cover the costs incurred for the job. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2013/12/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) If Danley's agrees to come out to our home in the spring and build our garage we will keep our contract BUT we would like them to send us an updated contract. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/12/10) */ Please see attached copy of contract. Danley's is willing to attend the Village Appearance Commission with the homeowner and build the garage in the spring.

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June 2012, I had Danley's Garage World build a garage for me at my address, which cost $16,000.00. During construction the concrete for the driveway was poured wrong and the grade was too steep to enter the garage. At that time I complained and they stopped construction and corrected the the issue, but during correcting the issue they damaged my garage floor. The concrete workers they put a patch over the damage. After the winter months of 2013, I observed the patch to break away due to water freezing under it and cracks coming from this spot leading all over my garage floor. I also observed water leaking from the back reverse wall, east wall, and north wall. At that time I contact my sales repersentive(**** ********* who stated that the company would correct the issued when the weather warmed up. Through the months of May-August I contact Danley's numerous times about getting my concrete fixed, with negative results. In September 2013 Danley's sent out their repair man to correct the issues with the water leaking through the walls, which were corrected. While the repair man was at my residence I showed him the chunk of concrete that was missing and the crack the stemmed from it and a new forming crack down my driveway, which was done the same time as my garage. The repair man stated " That is real bad and the driveway will break away in a year or so if not corrected". He then stated " The chunk missing in the garage, would have to be cut out and totally be re-done to be corrected right". At that time I asked the repair man if he was the one that would fix my concrete, which he replied " I dont know, I would call the office". I then contacted my sales rep, ****, who in return refered me to a manager named ******. At that time I advised ****** of my complaints, which he stated he would contact the concrete contractor and have him come and correct the issues. I have left numerous messages since then and have not recieved and answer from Danley's.

Desired Settlement: refund for concrete portion of construction.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/10) */ We will have the concrete contractor come out in the spring and address the issues. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/12/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

18 Customer Reviews on Danley Garage World
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart