BBB Accredited Business since

Chicagoland Garage Builders

Phone: (708) 343-5200 Fax: (708) 343-4014 1969 Cornell Ct, Melrose Park, IL 60160 http://www.chicagolandgaragebuilders.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Chicagoland Garage Builders is a contractor which builds garages for residential and commercial customers. This company serves the western suburbs of Chicago, including Maywood, Forest Park, River Forest, Bellwood, Berkeley, Hillside, Northlake, Stone Park, River Grove, Franklin Park, Oak Park, Broadview, Hines, Addison, Villa Park, Lombard, Westchester, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook, Riverside, North Riverside, La Grange Park, Brookfield, and Rosemont. Services available from this company include standard and custom garages, custom built sheds, concrete work, trench foundations, retaining walls and reverse walls, concrete sealing, removal of existing blacktop, dirt hauling, demolition services, fence and post removal, gravel delivery, backfill and sod or seed, repairs, garage doors, garage door openers, and service doors.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chicagoland Garage Builders meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chicagoland Garage Builders include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Chicagoland Garage Builders
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 24, 2011 Business started: 01/20/2011 Business started locally: 01/20/2011 Business incorporated 02/14/2005 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Duane Cook, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Duane Cook, President
Business Category

Garage Builders Overhead Garage Doors Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete Garage Doors & Openers Garage Door Repair Buildings - Concrete Concrete Contractors Prefabricated Metal Building and Component Manufacturing (NAICS: 332311)

Alternate Business Names
Regal Custom Concrete, Inc.
Additional Information

Chicagoland Garage Builders has requested that before filing a BBB complaint, homeowners contact Duane Cook at 708-343-5200.

Please understand that you can file a complaint with the BBB now or at any time during this process. It is our hope that Chicagoland Garage Builders will resolve the matter for you in an expedient manner.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Chicagoland Garage Builders has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1969 Cornell Ct

    Melrose Park, IL 60160 (708) 343-5200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/28/2015 Delivery Issues
1/9/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into a signed contract with business representative ****** ********* on 19MAR14 to have Chicagoland Garage Builders tear down existing garage, driveway, shed pad and replace with new construction. Services began approximately beginning of June 2014, during which time owner of business stated that one term of the contract (pouring of peer pads under porch) could not be performed. I had a verbal agreement with owner to amend that term of contract and replace with pouring a concrete pad and bracing porch with brackets. As of today's date 16DEC14 the braces have not been installed. According to our contract a load of dirt for backfilling garage and driveway, which I was charged for, was suppose to be delivered and as of today's date 16DEC14 that service has not been performed. I contacted ****** ********* approximately 10NOV14 to inquire about services that had not been performed and inform him of warranty work (leaking service door allowing water to puddle up in garage) at which time ****** ********* stated he would call me back later that day after checking his schedule to make an appointment, ****** has yet to returned my phone call. Chicagoland Garage Builders has not fulfilled their portion of the construction contract and also is failing to perform repairs on warranty issues.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking Chicagoland Garage Builders to fulfill their end of the contract and finish the work that was agreed upon and perform the warranty work and repair the leak on on the service door.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** **** Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************************************ Mr. ********* has not called the office directly regarding his complaint. Now that we are aware of his issues we can address them. Mr. ********* is correct that the brackets were not installed. We will install them. As far as the dirt issue, there is nothing in the contract that states a (load) of dirt to be delivered. We did back fill around the garage and driveway and this is not something that was ever charged to Mr. ********** We will also be out to address the issue regarding water entering through the service door. Mr. ********* has called Mr. ********* and has scheduled a time on Monday December 29,2014 to meet and address the issues.

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my garage burned down in March. *** came an built my garage and it was of good quality. how ever I had damage behind the garage and the concrete was destroyed. *** said the insurance would pay him and he knows the guy. The whole time *** said he is working on getting that concrete taken care of. well after the garage was built he wanted the insurance check now, I told him I want that concrete fixed behind the garage, he said he is working on it and he will get it done but he needs the insurance check now. I gave him the check an havent herd from him since, the concrete is still destroyed and its been 6 months!

Desired Settlement: just follow through with your promises! do what ever you need to get what you need to get the concrete done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** **** secretary Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@chicagolandgaragebuilders.com It is true that we were contracted to build a garage for Mr. ******* due to extreme fire damage. The board up company or the fence company drove lateral supports into Mr. ********** concrete prior to us starting any work. They had to support the damaged structure to prevent it from falling in. It was leaning toward Mr. ********** home. It was explained to Mr. ******* that he would have to contact his insurance company to put in a separate claim for that damage. We are not authorized to deal on his behalf with his insurance company. The only insurance check that we requested from Mr. ******* was the check for the work we had contracted with him and completed for him. We would be happy to install concrete for Mr. ******** but he would need to bring this concern to his insurance company. We apologize for any misunderstanding, but we are not responsible for damage not created by us.

3/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service