BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2012

Chicagoland Garage Builders

Phone: (708) 343-5200Fax: (708) 343-40141969 Cornell Ct, Melrose ParkIL 60160-1001 Send email to Chicagoland Garage BuildersView Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Chicagoland Garage Builders is a contractor which builds garages for residential and commercial customers. This company serves the western suburbs of Chicago, including Maywood, Forest Park, River Forest, Bellwood, Berkeley, Hillside, Northlake, Stone Park, River Grove, Franklin Park, Oak Park, Broadview, Hines, Addison, Villa Park, Lombard, Westchester, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook, Riverside, North Riverside, La Grange Park, Brookfield, and Rosemont. Services available from this company include standard and custom garages, custom built sheds, concrete work, trench foundations, retaining walls and reverse walls, concrete sealing, removal of existing blacktop, dirt hauling, demolition services, fence and post removal, gravel delivery, backfill and sod or seed, repairs, garage doors, garage door openers, and service doors.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2012

BBB has determined that Chicagoland Garage Builders meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Chicagoland Garage Builders' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Chicagoland Garage Builders

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
01/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went into a signed contract with business representative ****** ********* on 19MAR14 to have Chicagoland Garage Builders tear down existing garage, driveway, shed pad and replace with new construction. Services began approximately beginning of June 2014, during which time owner of business stated that one term of the contract (pouring of peer pads under porch) could not be performed. I had a verbal agreement with owner to amend that term of contract and replace with pouring a concrete pad and bracing porch with brackets. As of today's date 16DEC14 the braces have not been installed. According to our contract a load of dirt for backfilling garage and driveway, which I was charged for, was suppose to be delivered and as of today's date 16DEC14 that service has not been performed. I contacted ****** ********* approximately 10NOV14 to inquire about services that had not been performed and inform him of warranty work (leaking service door allowing water to puddle up in garage) at which time ****** ********* stated he would call me back later that day after checking his schedule to make an appointment, ****** has yet to returned my phone call. Chicagoland Garage Builders has not fulfilled their portion of the construction contract and also is failing to perform repairs on warranty issues.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking Chicagoland Garage Builders to fulfill their end of the contract and finish the work that was agreed upon and perform the warranty work and repair the leak on on the service door.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****
Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************************************
Mr. ********* has not called the office directly regarding his complaint. Now that we are aware of his issues we can address them. Mr. ********* is correct that the brackets were not installed. We will install them. As far as the dirt issue, there is nothing in the contract that states a (load) of dirt to be delivered. We did back fill around the garage and driveway and this is not something that was ever charged to Mr. ********** We will also be out to address the issue regarding water entering through the service door. Mr. ********* has called Mr. ********* and has scheduled a time on Monday December 29,2014 to meet and address the issues.

10/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
my garage burned down in March. *** came an built my garage and it was of good quality. how ever I had damage behind the garage and the concrete was destroyed. *** said the insurance would pay him and he knows the guy. The whole time *** said he is working on getting that concrete taken care of. well after the garage was built he wanted the insurance check now, I told him I want that concrete fixed behind the garage, he said he is working on it and he will get it done but he needs the insurance check now. I gave him the check an havent herd from him since, the concrete is still destroyed and its been 6 months!

Desired Settlement
just follow through with your promises! do what ever you need to get what you need to get the concrete done.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** **** secretary
Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@chicagolandgaragebuilders.com
It is true that we were contracted to build a garage for Mr. ******* due to extreme fire damage. The board up company or the fence company drove lateral supports into Mr. ********** concrete prior to us starting any work. They had to support the damaged structure to prevent it from falling in. It was leaning toward Mr. ********** home. It was explained to Mr. ******* that he would have to contact his insurance company to put in a separate claim for that damage. We are not authorized to deal on his behalf with his insurance company. The only insurance check that we requested from Mr. ******* was the check for the work we had contracted with him and completed for him. We would be happy to install concrete for Mr. ******** but he would need to bring this concern to his insurance company. We apologize for any misunderstanding, but we are not responsible for damage not created by us.

03/04/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Garage Builders, Garage Door Repair, Garage Doors & Openers, Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete, Overhead Garage Doors, Concrete Contractors, Buildings - Concrete

Additional Information

top

Chicagoland Garage Builders has requested that before filing a BBB complaint, homeowners contact Duane Cook at 708-343-5200.

Please understand that you can file a complaint with the BBB now or at any time during this process. It is our hope that Chicagoland Garage Builders will resolve the matter for you in an expedient manner.

BBB file opened: 03/24/2011Business started: 01/20/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph 9th Fl
Chicago, IL60601-3218
(312) 814-4500
http://www.idfpr.com

BBB records show a license number of 104016175 for this company, issued by Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.idfpr.com. The expiration date of this license is 06/30/2015.

Type: Department of Professional and Financial Reg.

Check License Status: https://www.idfpr.com/dpr/licenselookup/results.asp?&page=1&lic nbr=104016175&type2=LICENSE

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2005, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Duane Cook (President)
Related Businesses
Regal Custom Concrete, Inc. - 1969 Cornell Ct., Melrose Park, IL
Business Category

Garage Builders, Garage Door Repair, Garage Doors & Openers, Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete, Overhead Garage Doors, Concrete Contractors, Buildings - Concrete

Alternate Business Names
Regal Custom Concrete, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Chicagoland Garage Builders has received 4.72 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Chicagoland Garage Builders

1969 Cornell Ct

Melrose Park, IL 60160-1001

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1969 Cornell Ct 

    Melrose Park, IL 60160-1001(708) 343-5200

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Chicagoland Garage Builders is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Garage Builders

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.