Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since


Phone: (800) 243-1955 Fax: (312) 633-9308 View Additional Phone Numbers 2145 W Grand Ave, Chicago, IL 60612 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that EuroFurniture meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on EuroFurniture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 18, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1969 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1969 Business incorporated 01/01/1969 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Christopher Racana, Partner Mr. Richard Racana Jr., Managing Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher Racana, Partner
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Internet Shopping Furniture - Outdoor Furniture Stores (NAICS: 442110)

Alternate Business Names European Furniture Importers European Furniture Warehouse Richard Racana Jr. & Assoc.

Additional Locations

  • 2145 W Grand Ave

    Chicago, IL 60612 (800) 243-1955


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Eurofurniture and its chosen freight shipper, AIT, delivered damaged merchandise to me on Friday, July 25, 2014. While AIT has acknowledged to me that the delivery was not made properly since it was supposed to be done by two delivery people to my apartment (but only one delivery person showed up), and the shipper has noted this in their records, Eurofurniture claims that they are unlikely to make a claim with AIT, and therefore, refuses to issue me an immediate refund. Eurofurniture claims that I am responsible for damages since I signed for the delivery. This situation is particularly egregious as Eurofurniture's packaging and AIT's improper and negligent handling were the likely cause of the damage (not to mention significant inconvenience to my family). Eurofurntiure's packaging and AIT's mishandled delivery made it impossible for me to inspect anything but the crate. Yet, Eurofurniture is refusing to take responsibility, and resolve, a problem it and its agent, AIT, caused entirely. After providing Eurofurniture with my credit card information, I wrote a note on Wednesday, July 16, 2014, to ask for shipping information so that I would know when to expect the delivery and what kind of delivery service I would receive (curb-side delivery, inside delivery, unpacking, etc.). Eurofurniture did not provide any response. I received a phone call from AIT on Thursday, July 24, regarding delivery. They scheduled the delivery between 1pm - 5pm on Friday, July 25. The delivery person did not arrive until 5:30pm when I was alone with my baby. One delivery person knocked on my door, and said I would need to "sign for delivery." For the record, the delivery person did not have the merchandise in hand when requesting my signature. At 5:45pm, the delivery person was able to get the crate to my doorway. He said the job was complete and he would now need my signature. He seemed rushed and informed me that his partner was "watching the truck and could not come in." There was no offer or discussion about inspecting the merchandise or uncrating it. Given this, it was clearly not possible for me to uncrate and inspect the mirror. To be sure, the crate appeared to be in order externally. The task of uncrating the merchandise, in fact, took my husband and me more than an hour. We had to very carefully unscrew over 20 screws to open the crate, only to discover that the product had been broken in transit. I called Eurofurniture and AIT to note the damages at around 8:30pm - 9:00pm on Friday. I spoke to ************ at AIT, who was helpful. He said that it should not be a problem for Eurofurniture to file a claim since the delivery was not done properly. He stated that AIT's records indicated that two delivery people should have carried the crate inside since that was the service requested and paid for. He said that he was also noting the damage in their system to help with the claim. Beyond *********** statements to me which I have no reason to doubt I am not in any position to know what shipping arrangement Eurofurniture made with AIT. As I mentioned, I requested this information from Eurofurniture earlier, and got no response. To recap, I was also told by the single delivery person that the delivery service was complete as soon as he brought the crate to my doorway. I understood that I was signing to accept delivery of the crate. No option was given to me to uncrate or inspect the merchandise, which under the circumstances would have been impossible for me to do. I have attempted three times to request a full refund for the mirror I ordered from Eurofurniture's website on March 7, 2014, for which they charged my credit card $576 on March 3 and $676 on July 16, and which I received in damaged condition on July 25, 2014.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund for the mirror, including product and shipping cost ($1252).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/07) */ ****** purchased this mirror on our website. ****** was informed in writing several times that she must open and inspect the mirror before signing for the shipment and that any issues (loss, damage, etc.) must be noted on the delivery receipt. As you can see by the attached delivery receipt, immediately under where it states "Received by Consignee in Good Order Unless Noted Below" where ****** signed and printed her name.... and there are no notes about any damage. Customer can see out policies at anytime on our website. (look in the footer at the link labels "shipping"). First, look at the item page on our website:***5.php When the customer is looking at the item page on our website, it clearly states that the mirror ships via Air Freight (a curbside delivery). Please see attached document showing this. Then again the customer is made aware of delivery terms and conditions during the checkout process. When anyone makes a purchase on our website we require that they check a box acknowledging that they "agree to all terms and conditions of EuroFurniture." Part of these terms and conditions is that for all deliveries made via Air Freight are all curbside deliveries and to inspect all goods BEFORE signing for the shipment. Any loss or damage MUST be noted on the delivery receipt. Please see attached document showing this. Once again the customer is made aware of our terms and conditions during the next step.... When the order is completed online, the customer is immediately emailed their first confirmation. Once again this confirmation details all of our terms and conditions. A copy of this email is attached. And yet another place where instructions for receiving delivery can be found... It is also noted on the customer's invoice (page 2) that the delivery is a curbside delivery and that the mirror would be shipped in a wooden crate on a pallet. Also in the "invoice notes" section is again instructions to "open and inspect all goods BEFORE signing for the shipment. Any issues (loss, damage, etc.) MUST be noted on the delivery receipt. So, ****** was fully aware of our policies. She could not have placed the order otherwise. She checked the box that she accepted the terms and conditions of EuroFurniture. If she did not actually read that, how can that be our fault? If I get a speeding ticket but did not bother to read the Speed Limit sign am I not still responsible for that speeding ticket? Just like the law, ignorance should not be an excuse. Not, as far as the claim. We have filed a claim with AIT Worldwide Logistics for the damaged mirror. We expect AIT to deny this claim because ****** signed for the shipment without exceptions. However, we did state that if AIT does honor the claim, we will indeed refund ****** in full... again, ONLY IF AIT HONORS THE CLAIM. As far as out packing... the mirror was in a wooden crate on a wooden pallet. The packing more than sufficient to protect the mirror. Lastly another reason that we require all goods to be inspected BEFORE signing for the shipment is that EuroFurniture cannot take responsibility for damage that may have occurred after the customer received the goods. EuroFurniture is able to prove that the item was delivered in good condition with ******'s signature on the delivery receipt without exceptions. This proves that she received the mirror in good condition. If ****** did not take the time to read the terms and conditions on our website (that she agreed to by checking the box at the time of checkout)... if she did not take the time to read the terms and conditions on the confirmation email... if she did not take the time to read the invoice notes on page 2 of her invoice....if she did not read the delivery receipt that she signed.... then the responsibility for this clearly rests on her shoulders. We made every attempt to make her aware of how this was being delivered and what to expect and what would be expected of her at the time of delivery. Apparently she choose to ignore all of that. Please feel free to contact me with any questions. Best regards, -***** ****** ************ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The delivery was not only six weeks late in breach of representations made by the merchant, but on the date of delivery EuroFurniture's agent brought the crate outside of the hours specified. As a result, I was the only adult home, with a 6 week old. EuroFurniture's agent (AIT) did not allow inspection of the merchandise upon delivery, in breach of the instructions given to the delivery men, which direct them to await inspection before consignee signs. Instead, the delivery man demanded a signature immediately and was in a rush because his partner was "watching the truck." Meanwhile, Eurofurniture also does not allow for returns without pre-authorization, so no refund would be offered if I didn't "accept delivery." Improper packaging or handling along the way - for a very fragile product resulted in the mirror breaking, but there was no discernible damage to the exterior of the crate. The bill of lading tells the delivery men "do not uncrate," yet that task which took two people (myself and my husband) more than an hour that evening was the only way to discover the mirror had broken in transit. *** ****** may refer all he wants to the allegedly exculpatory fine print he claims to have made me so aware of during the transaction, but the fact is Eurofurniture or its agent broke the merchandise, gave me no opportunity to either inspect it or refuse delivery (since that would apparently give me no recourse to a refund either), and now presents as a foregone conclusion that its agent will deny any claim, even after its agent acknowledged over the phone that the delivery was conducted improperly. As someone who has owned and built a business myself, I certainly understand that businesses like EuroFurniture must impose some conditions to protect themselves. A contract should protect both parties, and is always based on good faith. In this case, EuroFurniture's business practices stack the deck against the customer - it's heads I win, tails you lose. To boot, *** ****** raised his voice at me when I reported the mirror broken and asked for his help. *** ****** and its agent still have the opportunity to make things right, and they ought to, in which case I will happily withdraw my complaints and negative reviews. Meanwhile, I have the inconvenience of an enormous crate in my living room. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/18) */ The mirror being late has no effect on this matter. That not is a breach of contact. It is clearly written in term and conditions that all lead times are estimated and never guaranteed. As ****** wrote above, the delivery agent is to await inspection before consignee signs. Should the consign choose to sign with out inspecting, that is the customer right to do so. ****** against the instructions we provided on how to receive the shipment. This is exactly why we give clear instructions to "open and inspect before signing for the shipment. Any issues (loss, damage, etc.) MUST be noted on the delivery receipt." This issue was addressed ad ******* in our previous response. ****** also claims both improper packing AND that it took her and her husband an hour to uncrate. Well , which is it? It can't be both. The glass mirror was shipped in a wooden crate on a pallet. Packing was more than sufficient. ****** writes above that the bill of lading state "do not uncrate" this is NOT TRUE. No where on the bill of lading is it written "do not uncrate". The customer is obviously searching for some sort of technicality to excuse her from the fact that it was her responsibility to open and inspect the mirror before signing and no one else's. Once again, ****** had many choices. She choose to buy the mirror from EuroFurniture. There are many retailers in the US that sell this mirror. The customer also choose to agree to our terms of sale and delivery (by checking "I agree to terms and conditions" during the checkout process). ****** had a choice to open and inspect the mirror before signing for the shipment or to just simply sign for it without inspecting. She choose to sign for the shipment (acknowledging that goods were received in good condition). ****** choose to ignore our clear instructions to open and inspect all goods BEFORE signing for the shipment. She again choose to ignore our instructions that any issues (loss, damage, etc.) MUST be noted on the delivery receipt. EuroFurniture cannot be held liable should a customer chooses to ignore our clear instructions on how to receive a shipment. She had ample opportunity to inspect the merchandise BEFORE she sign for the shipment. The delivery driver would have never left without a signature on the delivery receipt. If the damage would have been noted, this would not be an issue. But ****** signed the delivery receipt that the mirror was received on good condition. The signed delivery receipt submitted with the previous response proves that the customer received the mirror in good condition because her signature acknowledges that. There is no getting around that fact. The customer agreed to our terms and conditions. The customer signed the delivery receipt acknowledging the mirror was received on good condition. EuroFurniture cannot be held liable for ******'s inability to follow instructions, read the terms and conditions, or read what she is signing. EuroFurniture cannot be held liable for the customer assumptions. We don't assume. We document.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on EuroFurniture
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)