Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Domicile Furniture, Ltd.

Phone: (847) 568-1088 Fax: (847) 568-1089 3701 W. Lunt, Lincolnwood, IL 60712 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.domicilefurniture.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Domicile Furniture, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Domicile Furniture, Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Domicile Furniture, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 26, 1989 Business started: 04/04/1974 Business started locally: 04/04/1974 Business incorporated 09/03/1996 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Bowman, President Ms. Patty Hoyne, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Bowman, President
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Lighting Fixtures - Retail Mattresses Office Furniture & Equipment Beds - Retail Carpet & Rug Pads, Linings & Accessories Furniture Stores (NAICS: 442110)

Alternate Business Names
Domicile Furniture Phoenix Design Ltd. Phoenx Design

Additional Locations

  • 3701 W. Lunt

    Lincolnwood, IL 60712 (847) 568-1088

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Horrible experience! I purchased an in-stock sofa, order XXXXX, that did not fit in my house (door opening too small) and was taken back to the store. When I called to get a refund (deposit less the delivery fee), I was told that they can only offer me a store credit because it it my fault that I did not measure the door opening in my house. OK, I get it, I should have measured it. But the return policy listed on their order, also states that "Any item returned is subject to a restocking fee and a credit card fee", nowhere in their policy it states that a store credit is the only form of refund, and based on the above, one would think that you can return in-stock items. When I talked to ***** (the sales rep who sold me the piece), she informed me that this is the way it is, even if it is not written in their return policy - she said that it is my fault for not measuring the openings. In no way she was helpful (took 3 calls to the store to finally call me back) or showed any empathy.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $850.00 to my credit card, which represents the deposit of $1,000.00 less $150.00 delivery fee Refund of $850.00 to my credit card, which represents the deposit of $1,000.00 less $150.00 delivery fee

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/04/20) */ *********** purchased a sectional that ultimately did not fit in his space. As stated on our invoice, it is the customer's responsibility to measure their space to ensure all items fit. *********** stated that he could tell by looking at the sectional it would fit and signed the invoice. When *********** realized that the sectional didnt't fit, he notified us and we immediately issued a store credit. *********** did not want a store credit, rather a refund. After speaking with ***********, he informed us he would be initiating a chargeback with his credit card company. He has already done so and we have already been debited for the charge. We did not dispute the chargeback.

2/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First of all if it was up to me and my personal expirence i will not give them one star i will give them 0 0 0 stars!! This is by far the worse bussines transaction i ever done or have to deal with. My personal ordeal started One and half year ago !! i walk in the store looking for a sectional and after speaking to Wini Wu a sales person at this location i went ahead and ordered a sectional sofa paid cash for it and they told me will be up to 12 weeks and we call you for delivery !!! . Well thats where the nightmear begins : it took longer than 12 weeks (they never call me to tell me so) so i went driving to the store and take me time to find out what happen they told me the Wini was in vacation and the the sofas arrive i will get a phone call from the Delivery people !. After getting the sofa the bottoms start falling out!!!! a week after i got it !!!??? so i call and i was told that i will get new pillows within 4 weeks !! well guess what yesssss ! two moths later nothing i went back to talk to them and nothing so i spoke to ***** ******* the Sales Manager !! She ask me what i want to do about it and i said let order a Whole need sofa i did not want that any more i told her to help me to chose a sofa of better quality and i will pay the difference so we did and ***** ******* assured me that that sofa it was of a better quality. I pay about 800 dlls more!!!! and wait another 12 weeks+ once i got the sofa yessss buttons start falling out again!!!! omg !!! i went back to see ***** and show her about 7 buttons that has fallen out of the "good and better quality Couch " i told her to stop this nonsense to order the sitting pillows without buttons this was in june or july of 2014 . today its dec 21 of 2014 and i have called ***** ******* 2 times and left her messages she has never call me back!!!! the pillows are not to be found ! nobody knows !!!! everyone blemes each other!! After talking today Dec 21 /2014 with Wini Wu she did anything possible to help me but she said that it was ***** who put the order and she is in Vacations , at this point a man came over and ask me with a vary snappy attitude "Whats the problem?" after i explained all over again he told me in a vary snappy cold attitude that he will call me tomorrow and tell me where the pillows are His Name is **** and told me that he was the assistant manager. i say if i don get the pillow by the end of this month i want my money back and i will call the BBB. and he said go ahead calm them !!!! omg really . Have you ever hear of Lawsuit for Breach of contract or small claims court??? After all i did my part a year and half ago !! it was to pay for a good service and goods !!! what i got bad service , snappy attitudes and lies ,lies,lies

Desired Settlement: after a year and half of dealing with this ordeal i want nothing to do with this company i just want my money back and they can have their defective couches back,

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/02/03) */ We have been working with Mr. ******** since December. We have addressed his concerns and have ordered him new cushions and casings. We have delivered the new cushions and casings in January and Mr. ******** is satisfied with the new cushions. Thanks, ***** Manager*********

9/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/25/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a living room sofa from Domicile Furniture on ************ in ******* back in June. After the sofa was delivered, I noticed a minor tear in the sofa and after a couple of days, the buttons on the cushion fell off. I called Domicile about the defect and spoke with a sales representative named ****. He advised me that several customers have also complained about the buttons detaching from the cushion and agreed to send me a new sofa. He indicated that it would take approx. 8 weeks for the replacement to be delivered. After a couple of months, I received the replacement sofa. One week after receiving the replacement sofa, I experienced the same issue (several buttons completely detached from the cushion). I decided to go to Domicile on ************ to address the issue in person. Upon arrival, I met with******* and advised him of the issue.******* immediately became defensive and rudely blamed me for the defect. When asked to speak with a manager,******* stated that there was not a manager available and refused to give the manager's contact information out.******* further stated that I would not be able to get a refund or a replacement.******* offered to have someone come out and fix the defect. When asked how long it would take for a representative to come out, he indicated that he did not know, and could not give a time table for the repairs.******* ended the conversation by stating that a representative would be in contact with me at a later date to schedule a repair. I waited approx. six weeks for a call from the company and never received one. I left messages for******* to contact me regarding the status of the repair and never received a call back.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a response from the company to discuss reimbursement as well as compensation for time spent dealing with this issue. I also want to discuss how rudely I was treated by the sales representative.

Business Response: ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response provided by Domicile is COMPLETELY inaccurate. As I indicated in my initial complaint, the defective sofa was replaced with a new one, however, after experiencing the same problem with the "new" sofa, I went to Domicile, in person, due to several phone calls not being returned. I met with ***** who indicated that several customers have reported similar problems with the particular sofa, and offered to have the buttons replaced. At no time during my conversation with *****, did he offer to replace the cushion. He indicated that he would send "someone" out to repair the buttons, but could not provide a time table as to when it would be repaired. After refusing to provide the name and phone number to his manager, he stated that he would have someone call me to discuss the problem. As of today's date, I have not received a response from a representative from Domicile. If the "replacement cushion" arrived, why didn't I get a phone call indicating that. It took me reporting the issue to the BBB to finally get somewhat of a response. Why would I agree to a repair when it is obvious that this particular sofa is defective. Replacing the buttons or receiving a new cushion is not going to rectify the issue if the buttons are going to keep coming off. A more reasonable resolution would have been to offer a full refund or store credit towards the purchase of a different sofa. This is as much of a customer service complaint as a product issue. I am not seeking a monetary gain from this, I just want Domicile to do what's right, stand by the products that they sell, and take into consideration the consumers who choose to support their business. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/11/11) */ We did reach out to the customer and leave a message stating that the cushion had arrived. We want the customer to be satisfied and will definitely honor a full refund and pick up the sofa.

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The owner, *****, sold me a "new" sofa on July 31st. He promised delivery within 2 days and took full payment. When the sofa was supposed to be delivered they were a no show. I called the store and the owner, *****, tells me "oh I made a mistake and we actually don't have any new models of the sofa you paid for." He said they would get more in but he didn't know when. Then no one called me. I called back and a new person named ** tried to replace the "new" sofa I had already paid for with a "used" floor model that was supposedly "almost new." I told them I paid for a new sofa not a used floor model and I would wait for them to get more new models of the sofa I had already paid in full for. Then 3 weeks go by without anyone calling me or following up with me to let me know what the status of my order was. Meanwhile they had my money, $733 dollars, paid by ****. No one called me, nothing happened for over 3 weeks. They couldn't have cared less about my order. Then I had to physically go into the store to find out what was happening. I was then told that the sofa I had paid in full for was on back order and that it would be another 2 weeks, at least. I told them that was totally unacceptable and that they should have at least called me to let me know it was on back order. I demanded my money back which they did refund. The main issue here is that they are committing deceptive business practices, selling one thing but then at the time of delivery giving an entirely different product. Its bait and switch, they take your money and then think they can treat you however they please. In my opinion this is a case of consumer fraud. Its deceptive, and unethical to take someone's money for a product they don't have and cannot obtain within a reasonable amount of time. It was incredibly aggravating and it seems like a fraudulent practice.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to be sanctioned for committing fraudulent business practices. ***** the owner is a total scumbag that thinks he can take people's money and do whatever he wants, including not delivering a product that the consumer has already paid in full for. They take your money for one thing and then at the last second try to deliver something entirely different.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/07) */ We would be more than happy to give the customer a full refund. We apologize for the inconvenience.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Domicile Furniture, Ltd.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)