Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Classic Oak Designs, Inc.

Phone: (847) 797-8585 Fax: (847) 797-8583 View Additional Phone Numbers 955 E Rand Rd, Arlington Heights, IL 60004 http://www.classicoakdesigns.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Classic Oak Designs, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Classic Oak Designs, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Classic Oak Designs, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 08, 2003 Business started: 11/01/1980 Business started locally: 11/01/1980
Business Management
Mr. Robert Sturgis, Owner Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Sturgis, Owner
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Home Accessories Home Centers Home Theater House Furnishings & Services Lamps & Lamp Shades - Retail Mattresses Interior Decorators & Designers Internet Shopping Table Suppliers Chairs - Wholesale & Manufacturers Office Furniture & Equipment Mattress & Bedding Stores Furniture Designers & Custom Builders Beds - Retail Cabinets Furniture - Childrens Furniture Stores (NAICS: 442110)

Alternate Business Names
Classic Oak Design-Arlington Hts.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    955 E Rand Rd

    Arlington Heights, IL 60004 (847) 250-0011

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an oak footboard bench on 1/11/14. After months of delays and back and forth with the store, it was finally delivered the first weekend in June. When the bench came, we discovered the lid would not remain open because there was only one bracket. I called the store and was told that their wood repair man would call to make an appointment to come and look at the bench. He came, said there was a design flaw because it should have had two brackets to hold it open. He tried several methods of correcting the lid. In the process he bent one of the hinges. Because he had to fill holes left from changing the bracket, he sprayed a substance and told us to kid the lid open for several hours. Later, when I tried to close the lid, I found that it would not close with clearance from the side of the bench. The lid scraped on one side and would ruin the wood if trying to force it closed. I called the store manager who told me that he would have the repair man get in touch. I also left a message for the repair man on his cell. I have not heard from the store manger nor the repair man despite repeated calls to both. I am left with an expensive piece of furniture which cannot be used because I can not open and close it.

Desired Settlement: I want the bench replaced with one that works correctly so I can keep the lid open when trying to store things and it should open and close properly. I do NOT want to wait another 6 months for the piece.

4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Classic Oak Designs, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)