BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Wm. Wrigley Jr. Co

(312) 794-6342600 W Chicago Ave Ste 500, ChicagoIL 60654-2282 Send email to Wm. Wrigley Jr. Co

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Wm. Wrigley Jr. Co is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Wm. Wrigley Jr. Co's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.

Factors that raised Wm. Wrigley Jr. Co's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Wm. Wrigley Jr. Co

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
01/31/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/31/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/31/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
01/31/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Oct.23 I went to the gas station by my home and brought some sneaks for me and my kids one of the snacks was a back of starburst tropical with new cherry kiwi favor I didn't eat the that night but the next day which was oct.24 me and my kids were eating them thank God I got the cherry kiwi and not my kids as I was eating the last one I bit into some hard I took the candy out my mouth and pulled out this rock looking thing I noticed my mouth was bleeding I was really upset so I started taking pictures and throw the remainibg candy my kids had in the trash.

Desired Settlement
I want the to pay for pain and suffering I have a bad tooth ache now I can't chew on my left side anymore are it hurts my medicare doesn't cover dentist visit so I'm just suck in bad can't afford to pay out of pocket this is a huge problem for my family.

04/17/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Food Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Distributors, Chewing Gum, Candy & Confectionery - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1960Business started: 01/01/1891
Contact Information
Principal: Ms Maribel Quintana (North America Consumer Care Manager)Ms. Jennie Cleghorn (Information & Research Specialist)Ms. Melissa Kepple (Consumer Affairs Rep.)Mr. Christopher Perille (Senior Director-Corp. Comm.)Mr. Duke Petrovich (CEO)
Business Category

Food Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Distributors, Chewing Gum, Candy & Confectionery - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
Wrigley Jr. Company - Wm.
Industry Tips
Contracts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Wm. Wrigley Jr. Co

600 W Chicago Ave Ste 500

Chicago, IL 60654-2282

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 600 W Chicago Ave Ste 500 

    Chicago, IL 60654-2282(312) 794-6342

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Wm. Wrigley Jr. Co is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Food Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Distributors

Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.