Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

The Hillshire Brands Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 727-2533 Fax: (630) 598-7376 View Additional Phone Numbers 400 S Jefferson St  Unit 1N, Chicago, IL 60607 http://www.hillshirebrands.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for The Hillshire Brands Company include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for The Hillshire Brands Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Hillshire Brands Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1940 Business started: 01/01/1939 Business started locally: 01/01/1939
Business Management
Ms. Elizabeth Tanis, Manager of Consumer Affairs
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Elizabeth Tanis, Manager of Consumer Affairs
Business Category

Food Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Distributors Food & Beverage Services General Line Grocery Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 424410)

Alternate Business Names
Ball Park Brand Bistro Collection Bon Gateaux Briar Street Bryan Foods Byran's Food Chef Pierre Deli D'Italia Galileo Gallo Salame Hillshire Farm Hillshire Farms Jimmy Dean Kahn's Mr. Turkey RB Rice Sara Lee Corporation Sara Lee Desserts Sara Lee Foodservice Sara Lee Sweet Goods State Fair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Hillshire Brands Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    400 S Jefferson St
    Unit 1N

    Chicago, IL 60607 (800) 727-2533 (312) 614-6000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 2502

    Maryland Heights, MO 63043

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a box of ***** **** sausage biscuits. Inside the sausage are fragments of bone. These fragments cannot be chewed through or even cut with a knife. I attempted to notify the company and resolve the issue with them. I received an email and was given a number to call, and promptly called within minutes of the email. The line was not functional at the time of the call, so I am forced to file my complaint with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: A refund for the faulty product, a recall and the destruction of the contaminated production lot, and an improvement to the processing system that does not allow hazardous material such as bone shards and fragments into the sausage patties.

10/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we buy hillshire products all the time but the last 2 lunchmeats we bought at ******* in Clearwater were awful the pastrami was hard and couldn't chew it and the ham was slimey the dates on it were fine

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund just some reimbursement thanks....

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/05/27) */ Hello ****** We are delighted that you enjoy our Hillshire Farm lunch meats. I am truly sorry you were disappointed with your last purchase of pastrami and ham. We certainly want to keep you as our loyal consumer. I am happy to send you four free coupons or if you prefer a check, I can send a check if you let me know the cost of the product. In addition, we take quality very seriously. If you still have the packaging, could you please let me know the UPC codes and best by codes & additional numbers on the packaging. I will share this information with our manufacturing facility. Looking forward to hearing from you. ********* XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2015/05/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) as long as we get reimbursed for the 2 meats we were forced to throw away..... and please make sure they know to spell his name **** not ***** thank you Final Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2015/05/28) */ Hello *****. Thank you for your phone message. We will be refunding your money for the Hillshire Farm meats. Again, we were sorry for your husband's disappointment. Enjoy your day and thanks again for your lovely message! *********

8/15/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: forwarded almost two 2 months the receipt along with five (5) upcs off the packages of the bad smelly broken pieces what should have been burgers to cook at our annual memorial block party bbq next one is labor day bbqbuns and no burgers until we had sent one of the volunteers to just go get 15 lbs of ground beef and make our own patties which slow the process down and make an impact due to the bad meati hope we did not purchase recall meat ?

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund replacement or refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/07/31) */ Good morning. It's *****************, Consumer Affairs.I am glad you contacted us because we have not received the correspondence you referred to. Could you please respond with your telephone number? We take quality very seriously and would like to discuss the issue you experienced. Also, can you please respond as to the brand of the patties and what address you mailed your letter to? We are here to help and we do value you as our customer. Looking forward to hearing from you. ********* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/08/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) letter and upc receipts were sent to Hillshire Brands Consumer Affairs ****************************** Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/08/04) */ Hello again. I am not sure what was not accepted by my response. I was asking questions as we had not receive the consumer's letter and wanted to investigate. We truly value our consumers and we believe the consumer; thus we will be sending a check in the amount of $50.00 to reimburse them for the product. *********

1/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: developed cramps vomiting diarrhea chest pressure and nausea. I thought a heart attack was in progress. Called 911 went to ER in Syracuse. Diagnosed with enteritis. I can only assume it was the turkey as it looked slightly slimy but tasted ok.

Desired Settlement: Not sure what my personal financial responsibility will be but wonder if HF should cover it. I have Med. Adv. insurance only.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/13) */ Hello, This is ********** Manager of Consumer Affairs. We would like to speak with******** directly. We are not showing she contacted us. I am having our representative contact her this morning so we can gather specific details and begin an immediate investigation. Thank you. ********* XXX-XXX-XXXX I spoke with******** ******. I explained I would send her a retrieval packet for the packaging and copies of the medical documents. I would review what she sent. We are investigating. I am unable to promise that we will reimburse her; however, I am investigating and once I receive her package & our investigation is complete I will contact her again to discuss. In the meantime if she has questions, she is to call me.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on The Hillshire Brands Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart