Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Floorguard Incorporated

Phone: (630) 896-7040 Fax: (630) 896-7306 View Additional Phone Numbers 340 Marshall Ave Unit 101  Ste H, Aurora, IL 60506 http://www.floorguard.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Floorguard Incorporated meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Floorguard Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Floorguard Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 04, 2000 Business started: 09/01/1990 Business started locally: 09/01/1990 Business incorporated 06/15/1994 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gus Schuberth, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gus Schuberth, President
Business Category

Floors - Industrial Cabinet Equipment & Supplies Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Flooring Contractors (NAICS: 238330)


Additional Locations

  • 340 Marshall Ave Unit 101
    Ste H

    Aurora, IL 60506 (630) 896-7040 (888) 694-2724

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a $2,500.00 contract to have a metallic floor coating installed in my basement back in early August of 2013. The installer was scheduled for a two day install due to the metallic process. The first day the installer was to be at the house by 1p. I got a call at 1p and the installer had to push the project back to 3p. I get a call at about 3p and the installer had to push the project back again or reschedule. I had taken off work both days in order to be home for the install so I opted to the installer come out after 3p. The installer finally made it to the house around 5p and started the first phase of the install. That part of the install went as expected except for the excessive delay in install time. The second day the installer came back to finish the project and determined the floor needed additional time to dry due to the first phase being pushed back over 5 hrs. The second phase had to be pushed back another day which meant I had to take another day off work. The installer came to do the work on a Sunday. The installer used some chemical in which had an odor that was so overwhelming that I had to open all windows in the house and have my wife and kids go out for several hours in order to vent the house. I was told the install was low odor or near odorless and nontoxic. What ever chemical was used had a flammable vapor that caused my water heater to shut down to avoid igniting the concentrated vapors. The flammable vapor sensor in the water heater had to be replaced which was $80. I complained to *** (owner's wife) about the situation. I was told this has never happened before and they have never heard of the flammable vapor sensor. My family went without hot water for 3 days before the part could be shipped to my house. *** compensated me with a $175 credit for the issue. It was determined the installer used some chemical that he should not have used which caused the vapors. I would like to know what this chemical was used so I could determine the toxicity of it for health reasons. It was a good thing the installation was not done during colder weather or the furnace would have ignited the vapors. The installer came back and finished the job. I let the floor cure for several days before walking on it. I began to finish my basement several weeks later and noticed the floor was leaving imprints from my air compressor and ladder. I informed Floorguard of the situation. Again I was told they never heard of this happening and I had to call the office to send pictures of the damage. I was able to send two pics but it was very difficult to see due to the type of floor color. I had to call back again to have someone come back to the house to inspect the floor. ***** inspected the floor and it was apparent there was a problem with the floor. ***** took photos and said he forwarded the information to the office. ***** believed whatever chemical that was used that should have not had a chemical reaction that prevented the floor from curing properly. I had to call several more timed in order to have someone call me back. All I have been told so far is they will have to sand the top layer and reapply the top layer again. This is not how the metallic process is conducted and the process needs to done from the concrete layer. I have contacted Floorguard three times to have *** call me back and still no answer. I was left with a voicemail saying they will be out of Thursday October 24th to fix the problem. I have not been advised a time or the process in which they plan on fixing the problem. I have a 98% finished basement now and do not want to have anything damaged in the process of them trying to repair the floor. Any damage or clean up caused will be the responsibility of Floorguard. Again I had to reschedule other contractors to finish other parts of the basement because of Floorguard.

Desired Settlement: Either of the following is reasonable: 1. Fix the issue at hand with a full guarantee of their product in writing since a chemical was used that should have not been that caused an adverse chemical reaction with a discount due to the listed above issues 2. Full refund to have a different flooring installed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@gmail.com On Friday, August 16, 2013, we were scheduled to begin work on Mr. ********'s floor. That day, the installer scheduled to begin the work was delayed at a previous stop, we didn't anticipate that previous job would take as long as it did. We contacted Mr. ********, letting him know of the time change. That afternoon, I spoke with Mr. ********, and apologized about the time delay, I gave him the option of either still coming that day, or not coming, and arrive first thing in the morning. He had mentioned of plans he had, I wanted to do what was most convenient for him. He made the decision for our installer to come that day, which he did. The next day, we arrived at the job, but the floor still needed more time to cure, we had no choice but to come back the next day to finish the job. We don't work Sundays, but we still came out to finish the job, so as not to delay it any further. In total, we were delayed by one day. In a service business, sometimes there are unforeseen things that occur, we do our very best to stay on track. I spoke to Mr. ******** after the job was done, he called to inform us that his water heater stopped working and was due to his sensor. I have not heard of this ever happening, we have installed our floors in basements hundreds of times in the last 25+ years, and this had never happened before. The odor he was talking about wasn't from our material, it was an alcohol water solution we use to mop the floor prior to coating it. There was no danger, it may had a stronger odor than normal, because it was in a basement, not in a garage, where there is no outdoor ventilation. I had a nice conversation with him, and offered to reimburse him for the inconvenience. In October, Mr. ******** called my office and spoke to ******** about an issue with his floor. She had asked him to send her pictures, so we could see what was going on. It was difficult to tell from the photos, so on Thursday, October 17th, *****, our sales person, went to Mr. ********'s home to inspect the floor. The floor looked absolutely beautiful, ***** was shown marks that were made in the floor, and determined it would be best to re-top coat the floor. Mr. ********, never had to call several times before anyone called him back. On Friday, the 18th, ******** called Mr. ******** from her cell phone, she had to leave early, and told him she would be calling him Monday to get a date for us to come out. On Monday, the 21st, ******** called Mr. ********, and left him a voice mail stating we could come out that Thursday, the 24th. She didn't give him a time that we would be there on Thursday, because she didn't know what time that would be. We do the scheduling the day before, so he would have gotten a call on Wednesday, once she completed the schedule, letting him know the time frame we would have been there. Mr. ******** called back the following day, on Tuesday, the 22nd and spoke with ********. He apparently wanted to talk to me, or management, and she told him that I was not in the office that day. I had not been in the office since the previous Thursday. Michelle sent me an email informing me to call Mr. ******** when I was available. It's apparent, Mr. ******** did not want to wait until Wednesday, he filed this complaint that day. He did not call multiple times asking for me, that is incorrect, once he asked for me, ******** sent me the email, unfortunately, I was not at the office that day. I called Mr. ******** the following day, three times, and left voice mail messages for him. I was able to reach him, and we had a great conversation. Since there were questions on what was going to be done to the floor, my idea was to send my installer out the next day as planned, but instead of re-coating the floor, I wanted him to inspect it himself, and see what the best plan would be for the floor. Mr. ******** agreed that was a good idea and we did just that. He was there the next day, and we determined that we would sand the floor, and re-coat it with the metallic coat. I wanted to do, what's best for the floor, and re-coating it with the metallic will ensure it will look the best it can. Mr. ******** was happy with the conclusion, and we scheduled the installation for tomorrow, the 31st. My office was absolutely on top of the situation, we were very thorough with calling him back, and setting up dates for the installation. We document any problems or important calls that take place in our system. We have been in business for over 25 years because we install quality floors, but more importantly, we take care of any problems that may occur. We never shirk our responsibilities, if there is a problem, we take care of it, not run away, like most other companies do. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On October 31 the company came back out to correct the issue with the flooring. After four days of curing, the flooring is doing the same issue. I contacted *** today and advised her of the situation. *** is sending the tech back out tomorrow to review the issue again. So this matter remains open until further review. NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please hold off on your response pending the scheduled visit. Please update us as to the outcome of the visit. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/06) */ The issue with this customer has been resolved amicable. *** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Floorguard Incorporated
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)