Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Great Western Flooring Co - Naperville

Phone: (630) 357-3331 Fax: (630) 355-0385 115 E Ogden Ave STE 101, Naperville, IL 60563 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.greatwesternflooring.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description




Great Western Flooring Co - Naperville is a flooring retailer which sells and installs a variety of floorings. Located in Naperville, this company serves Chicago and the western suburbs, including Downers Grove, Glen Ellyn, Hinsdale, Lisle, Aurora, Wheaton, Woodridge, and Oakbrook. The company has additional locations in St Charles and Oswego. This company was formed in 1986 and is an independent, family owned and operated Mohawk Floorscapes and Shaw Flooring Gallery retailer.

This company sells a variety of flooring, including ceramic and porcelain, glass tiles, mosaic tiles, kitchen and bath tile, hardwoods, carpet, and vinyl. Their tile selection includes numerous types of natural stone tile, such as onyx, quartzite, granite, slate, marble, limestone, and travertine, as well as metal tile and artisan handcrafted tile. Carpet types include nylon, polyester, Smartstrand, Olefin, and wool. Hardwood species include red and white oak, American cherry, hickory, maple, ash, and American walnut, as well as exotic woods such as Brazilian walnut, Brazilian cherry, Asian walnut, Santos Mahogany, teak, and tigerwood. Also available are softwoods (rarely used for flooring), such as cedar, fir, hemlock, pine, redwood, spruce, and cypress. Another flooring option is bamboo, available in multiple engineered options. Great Western Flooring Co - Naperville also offers a large selection of laminate, vinyl, and LVT options which mimic the look of natural wood or stone but are not easily scratched or otherwise damaged. The company also has many environmentally friendly options and provides financing on many of their selections.

Visit the website for Great Western Flooring Co - Naperville to learn more about their flooring selection, read their frequently asked questions, and view contact information and directions to their physical showroom.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Great Western Flooring Co - Naperville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Great Western Flooring Co - Naperville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Great Western Flooring Co - Naperville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 18, 1994 Business started: 06/01/1984 Business started locally: 06/01/1984 Business incorporated 06/01/1984 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Chirico, President Mr. Tony Chirico
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Chirico, President
Business Category

Floor Materials - Retail Resilient & Vinyl Flooring Floors - Hardwood Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Vertical Blinds Blinds Window Shades Marble - Natural Stone - Natural Tile Sales Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Limestone Carpet Layers Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Home Improvements Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Hardwood Floor Contractors Granite Slate Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Carpet & Rug Pads, Linings & Accessories Countertops Draperies & Curtains - Retail & Custom Other Building Material Dealers (NAICS: 444190)


Additional Locations

  • 115 E Ogden Ave STE 101

    Naperville, IL 60563 (630) 357-3331

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Timeline: January 14- 17, 2014 Refinished Wood Floors - $ 2,775 completed by a local refinishing company January 29, 2014 New Carpets provided by Great Western Flooring Cost of $5,290. Called GWF that day regarding the damage to the wood floor and wooden door. Damage done by GWF: Pictures and video were taken. - A wooden door had two scratches in it, one was quite deep. - The kitchen area had a curved scratch, close to 4 feet long. February 5, 2014 *** **********, Field Supervisor, from GWF came to my home. He inspected the damage and accepted the responsibility. Asked us to get a repair estimate. February 7, 2014 Wood floor installer gave an estimate of the repair....stating the scratch appears to be deep and he may not be able to remove it. The estimate was forwarded to *** at GWF. With the comments of the scratch is deep and repair may not be enough. Repair bill $550 February 18, 2014 Great Western Flooring paid for the estimated repair as well as an additional $100 for the door damage. $100 for the scratches in the wooden door. We accepted that. The door could not be replaced and matched to our other doors. It's not a major door of the household, so we were fine with this offer. $550, GWF paid for the estimated floor repair bill February 24, 2014 Wrote my concerns to GWF, regarding the repair may not take the scratch away as it appears to be deep in the wood. I advised the repair is scheduled to be completed on March 19 and I will get back to them with the results. I also asked for some compensation. This is an inconvenience to be out of my home for the repair as well as for a full 3 days my home will be in disarray during the curing period of the floor. February 24, 2014 **** *******, VP from GWF, reminded me of their contract stipulations as well as "inconveniences are not always preventable during remodeling projects. " Inconveniences are not compensated. She also noted their liability clause. Liability maximum cannot exceed the cost of their contracted work. March 21, 2014 - contacted ***** *******, Owner and President of GWF Asked him to review my concerns, the scratch cannot be removed as it's too deep. Damaging personal property is not acceptable. I want something further as the damage is still noticeable. He declined with the same verbiage of inconveniences are part of the remodeling process and feels his responses have been fair. All bills, pictures and video can be provided.

Desired Settlement: I want restitution for the damage Great Western Flooring did to my property. A failed repair is the result so far with complete dismissal from my many tried attempts of a resolution with Great Western Flooring. My wood floor requires another complete refinishing down to the bare wood to remove the scratch done by Great Western Flooring installers. This complete refinishing would cost $2775.00 plus 3 days at a hotel for 3 adults (2 rooms needed), meals for 3 days as well as my dog, a golden retriever, would need to be sent elsewhere. There would also be the cost of an entire house cleaning as the dust from the refinishing process is extensive. I am willing to forego the complete refinishing process if Great Western Flooring covers my previous flooring bill less the $550 given as the failed repair. Floor Bill: $2775 less $550 -- $2225.00 as my settlement. All paperwork, bills, video and pictures of damage can be provided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************@greatwesternflooring.com I agree with the consumers version of the claim with a couple of comments. Great Western Flooring accepted responsibility for the repair, offered a resolution and the offer was accepted by Mrs. *******. Great Western Flooring completed the settlement as agreed. Upon completion, Mrs. ******* requested compensation for her inconvenience. I explained that we do not reimburse consumers for the inconvenience we cause them when they hire us to perform work in their homes. This is clearly stated multiple times in our signed contract. In fact, we state consumers should expect delays and inconvenience while work is being completed in their home (please see attached signed form). We copied Mrs. ******* our signed agreement as well. Mrs. ******* response was to send an email to me, which included threats and intimidation, in an effort to coerce me into offering compensation for her inconvenience. Every reasonable effort was made to satisfy this consumer. She was treated respectfully, fairly and we were very attentive to her concerns. We did not try to deny her claim nor did we debate or argue about the cause of the damage or the value of the repair/settlement. We simply accepted her terms and did the best we could to deal with the situation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I appreciate the timeliness on these communications. On February 7 the estimated bill was sent to Great Western Flooring along with the communication, the scratch is deep. This communication states the repair company may not be able to remove it. This was sent to *** **********, Field Supervisor. My second communication to Great Western Flooring regarding my concerns of this repair was sent on February 24. My ending sentence on that communication stated "I will let Great Western Flooring know the repair results after March 19 which is the scheduled repair date." These two communications clearly say I did NOT agree to a settlement with Great Western Flooring. Please don't dismiss my communications and concerns regarding your knowledge of the scratch being deep and the repair may not fix the problem. These communications were done immediately and prior to the "failed" repair attempt. I did use the word inconvenience in my communications. Possibly I should have used the word, restitution. Maybe I should have used wording such as, "I want my new floor back to its original state." This should be obvious to anyone that has damage done to their property. We are mincing words when all I want is my newly refinished floor back to its original state or restitution for the damages. I never threatened Mr. *******. As I am not comfortable writing reviews and never have done a negative review on any company. I did let him know that taking the initiative in writing reviews will have to be done when a company does not offer a full repair of damages done by their company. I am sure he realizes this as a businessman. I regret honesty is taken as threatening and intimidating. End result : -My floor still has the scratch made by Great Western Flooring personnel. As it is a deep, close to 4-feet in length, scratch which was not removable by a light buffing process. I invite Great Western Flooring to inspect the "failed" repair at anytime. -I never signed off with Great Western Flooring on a settlement per previous communications all done in a timely manner. -I want my floor back to its original state or restitution for the damages. -Great Western Flooring forwarded to me their contract "limitation and liability clause" which allows restitution for damages up to the amount of the cost of their work. -My carpet bill was $5,290. -Resolution/Restitution: Less costly option and preferable option would be paying my floor refinishing bill less the $550 already paid on the failed repair. Attached Floor Bill (I tried to attach it, not sure if it worked): Water Base $2220.00 plus staining $555.00 - Total is $2775 less $550 (paid) $2225.00. $2,225.00 is the amount of the requested settlement. -He said and she said is not what this is about. Just one question requires an answer: Great Western Flooring has accepted responsibility of the damage. Are they willing to put my damaged floor back to its original state or pay restitution for the damages done by them? Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/16) */ Thank you for your follow up. I believe I have stated my position as best I can. We did not advise you on how to repair your floor or whom to use for the repair. We did not question the amount of your repair and we refunded the amount you requested promptly. I believe we have treated you been responsive and fair. Thank you again. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I feel you are now lying as I am sure *** **********, your Field Supervisor, advised you of the complaint, how bad it was and what he told us to do. ***, your Field Supervisor, worked with us on this issue. *** ********** came to my home and inspected the floor. He told us to contact the company that did our floor for a "repair estimate." *** actually said those exact words. We took ***'s directive; we did not choose who to repair our floor as the choice had been made by ***. You are in the flooring business, including wood floors. I should not have to be telling you how this process is done. As we both know, a newly finished wood stained floor cannot be repaired by just anyone. The water base and staining need to match! Playing coy is not a strong trait being a businessman. We took ***'s directive with trust. Your company was quick to respond to our complaint, quick to start looking for a resolution. It came to a complete stop along with ignorance when I raised concerns the scratch is deep and a repair may not take care of it. This was brought up immediately when my floor was inspected by the floor repair company. ***, being a floor professional, probably already knew this, as well, when he inspected it. We followed your directive giving you an estimate for the repair. The bill we sent you clearly had the word estimate on it. The word "estimate" has a clear meaning. Your company accepted the "estimate" along with comments being the scratch is deep and a repair may not take care of it. So how do we understand your comment in a previous communication to the Better Business Bureau and me stating, "We simply accepted her terms and did the best we could to deal with the situation." My understanding is: You did not accept my terms but you certainly did deal with me. Mr. *******, you and your company are not interested nor care to take this to the end. We trusted your company's direction and judgment. It appears at this point we were "obviously" misled. To the Better Business Bureau Representative that reads these communications: Please take note that I would like Great Western Flooring to have an unresolved complaint noted against them. They are unwilling to complete the repair of my floor after an estimate was given to them with the condition a repair may not fix the 4-foot deep scratch. This company should not carry any logo of support by the Better Business Bureau on their website as well. If I need to contact someone else to have this accomplished, please let me know.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Great Western Flooring Co - Naperville
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)