Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mr. Floor Companies

Phone: (847) 674-7500 Fax: (847) 674-7524 3828 W Oakton St., Skokie, IL 60076 http://www.mrfloor.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr. Floor Companies meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mr. Floor Companies include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Mr. Floor Companies
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 13, 1990 Business started: 10/01/1987 Business started locally: 10/01/1987 Business incorporated 06/19/2002 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Igor Murokh, Vice President Ms. Debbie Sporlein, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Igor Murokh, Vice President
Business Category

Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Floor Removal Floor Coverings & Installation Carpet Installation Floor Refinishing Floors - Laminate Retail Stores Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Hardwood Floor Contractors Granite Appliances - Major - Dealers Bathroom Accessories Baths - Equipment & Supplies Cabinets Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Countertops Floor Materials - Retail Resilient & Vinyl Flooring Floors - Hardwood Hardware - Retail Home Centers Kitchen Accessories Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household Knobs Lighting Fixtures - Retail Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Baths Home Design & Planning Interior Decorators & Designers Tile & Marble Lighting Systems & Equipment Marble - Natural Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Quartz Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design Design & Build Contractor Carpet Layers Flooring Contractors (NAICS: 238330)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mr. Floor Companies has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The floor they put in has had spacing and issues since they put it in. They say they one thing when they are here. They don't fix it after they leave. They say they will. They are stalling me until the warranty is up. What do I do? I keep saying I want it in writing. Now they won't even answer my emails.

Desired Settlement: Fix the floor where it is separating or give me a full refund so I can hire another company to replace it completely.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/23) */ We installed a new wood floor for this client on 7/18/13. Client paid us in full and was very happy with the finished product. We were called out to the jobsite on 8/15/13 for a few touchups at the request of the client. We performed all requested touchups right away and again all work was satisfactory. We were contacted again earlier this year on 4/22/14, 7 months after the floor was installed regarding an apparent concern the client had with the floor. We immediately responded to the request and came out to the home a few days later on 4/26/14. At that time the client was concerned with vertical deflection of the floor when they walked on it. We reminded them that as per the flooring specifications the floor was installed in a "floating" manner and that what they felt was normal. Once again the client thanked us for coming out and was completely satisfied. On 6/2/14 we received an email from the client titled "Bad Floor' in which she deemed the floor "Bad" and demanded a full refund. Once again we immediately replied to the email in an effort to address any concerns. We requested to again visit the home and did so a few days later on 6/6/14. At that time the client presented us a new concern. There were very narrow gaps that had developed in a few areas. We inspected the gaps and identified them as seasonal "contraction" gaps associated with a dry environment. The gaps were less than 1/8" inch and were well within tolerance. At that time the client admitted to not running any humidification during the winter and agreed that it was very dry in the home this past winter. In a further effort to make sure we were giving the client precise information we contacted the manufacturer of the floor and they agreed to dispatch a field representative to inspect the floor. On 6/17/14 the field representative along with Mr. Floor staff met at the home. The manufacturer's field representative confirmed that the gaps were in fact seasonal. He also confirmed that we installed the flooring correctly and within the guidelines of the manufacturer. At the completion of this meeting it was agreed that the floor would be inspected again in September to make sure that it was re-expanding correctly during the warmer, more humid months of this year. The client thanked everyone for coming and followed up with a nice thank you email. Needless to say we were very surprised to see that 48 hours after this meeting the client filed a BBB complaint against us. The issue being raised is extremely minor and temporary. Contraction gaps are very common in Chicago where large humidity and temperature swings cause floors to expand and contract significantly. Over the past 11 months, we have responded to every phone call and email from this client immediately and have visited the home multiple times. We enlisted the manufacturer who confirmed our correct installation and function of the floor. We followed all internal and manufacturer protocols and are very confused by the clients behavior. Customer service is a top propriety for us at Mr. Floor but we now feel this client is pursuing an alternative agenda. Mr. Floor will vigorously defend our reputation and credibility against this client. We have reached out to our legal counsel and are exploring all legal remedies available to us. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) False. All I want is the floor fixed. They told me something different at my home than what they emailed me. I had three major surgeries. Two spinal. That's why it took so long. They come to my home, say they will fix it, then email something different. In my last correspondence I even asked him why he was writing something different than what he was saying! No answer. Just fix it!!!! By the way, I was bed ridden for months... I talked to my husband and he informed me he did run the humidifier in the laundry room that's attached to the furnace. I did not. But he said he did. I couldn't deal with the floor between November-April because I was post-op. Stand by your product! You tell me in person you will fix it, then leave and say something different!!! Liars! Fix it! Final Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/07/17) */ see attached scanned document NOTE FROM THE BBB: The business has notified us that they have referred this matter to their attorney. We are judging your complaint resolved and closing it. We recommend that you or your attorney make contact with the business' attorney. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/06/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) What do I do? They refuse to fix it before the warranty is up. The humidifier was on. I was in bed most of the time due to THREE surgeries within six months. My husband ran the humidifier. Did they come in and test my air? I just want the floor fixed before the warranty is up. Some of these gaps were there from the beginning. I was unable to get down on the floor being 7/8 months pregnant at the time & see some of the problems. The warranty will be up... I just want it fixed. The humidifier was run... Just not by me, but by my husband. PLEASE JUST FIX IT. I don't understand why there is an issue and why you are not standing behind your product.

4/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had new flooring installed in our kitchen in September 2013 and had A LOT of problems getting all the work done. Now that about 6 months time has passed our joints are separating on the new floor. After doing some research and talking to other installers, I found out Mr. Floor did not allow the new wood that was installed to adjust to the temperature and humidity of my home prior to installation and that is now the cause of this problem. No one can attest to how much worse this floor will look overtime and right now I find it livable, but not something I would willingly pay for. That being said if the problem gets much worse I would want another outfit to replace the flooring as I do not trust Mr. Floor to do anymore work in my home.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed in full for the flooring installation in the kitchen. I do not wish for Mr. Floor to do the replacement as needed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/09) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******-VicePresident Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: ****@mrfloor.com We take customer service and complete customer satisfaction very seriously at Mr. Floor. This BBB case comes as a complete surprise. The homeowner was very happy with the end result and we have not received any communication from this homeowner since September of 2013 when the project was completed. We are unaware of any issues related to our work and would encourage the homeowner to contact us directly so that we can learn exactly what concerns there may be with our work. Once we have been given an opportunity to inspect the floor we will be able to determine the required course of action. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was never happy with the final product. In dealing with **** ****** throughout the process he informed me even the president knew about how terrible my situation had been. **** also came by my home several times after the fact to offer apologies on behalf of the company and give me various items (i.e. coffee mugs, pens) that did not help the fact that I had damage done to my home. I will contact Mr. ****** directly but this run around is much the same I got when my problem first started. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/14) */ We are completely aware of all issues raises by Mr. ******* during the course of his project. These issues were addressed as they occurred and were remedied to a mutual satisfaction. The matter being raised now with respect to gaps is new and allegations of incorrect or improper work as a contributing factor has only been raised by Mr. ******* after a 6 month absence for the first time through this BBB complaint. As before we are ready, willing and able to address any and all concerns Mr. ******* may have. A simple phone call informing us of these new concerns would have been sufficient for us to set up a site meeting with Mr. ******* at his home to evaluate these concerns. Instead Mr. ******* elected to embark on a campaign of accusations and allegations rather than a good faith effort to have his concerns addressed. Mr. ******* alleges that we did not follow certain acclimation protocols. Nothing can be farther from the truth. We not only thoroughly acclimate our wood prior to installation but we do so in a controlled environment within our acclimation facility. Please follow this link to our website for more information on our process http://www.mrfloor.com/trends-seasoning.html . It is not uncommon for floors to contract during the winter and develop gaps. With this especially prolonged and record setting cold winter many of our clients have reported larger than normal gaps. As the weather gradually improves and Relative Humidity increases within the home, wood floors will begin a return to their original size therefore gaps will begin to diminish. This is a yearly occurring process that can only be mitigated by running humidifiers in the winter and keeping the Ambient Relative Humidity in the range of 30-50%. If this RH level is allowed to drop below 30%, gaps will begin to develop. Please follow this link to our website where we offer an instrument to measure the Relative Humidity and Temperature for a properly functioning wood floor http://www.mrfloor.com/thermo-hygrometer.html . We have worked for over 20,000 clients in our almost 30 year tenure and we pride ourselves on our ability to take care of our clients. We regret that there were issues with Mr. *******'s project but we did our best to address them to his satisfaction at the completion of the project. We would be happy to set a time to meet with Mr. ******* and evaluate his floors at his convenience to field these new concerns. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On 4/10/14 I emailed Mr. ****** directly and never received a response. I have not been on a "campaign of accusation and allegations", rather I reached out to BBB because their premise is to maintain a marketplace where buyers and sellers trust each other. I lost all trust in Mr. Floor's integrity and performance by their work with the initial installation and found them originally from BBB so I felt an obligation to return to that source. I understand BBB is not accountable for Mr. Floor's actions, however, it is the BBB status that got me to select Mr. Floor to which I now do not see as a fair judgment for other consumers to base their decisions on. With the impression that Mr. Floor's representatives would treat my home with respect unfulfilled, what makes me believe they have followed these other protocols they point out from their website? I felt the simplest matters could not be address so I fail to believe they went to these other extremes. I had two other contractors look at replacing the floor to which they cited improper acclimation to temperature and humidity as the source because my existing floors were not reacting the same as the new kitchen. At this point I am entirely sick of dealing with Mr. Floor and will take their work as a lost funds. I consider this case closed on my end, but I am not ending it with pleased deposition. I only hope my misfortune can be heard by others before selecting Mr. Floor via BBB in the future.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Mr. Floor Companies
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart