Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

XPert Flood Control, Inc.

Phone: (773) 267-5000 Fax: (773) 267-7596 View Additional Phone Numbers 3544 W Montrose Ave, Chicago, IL 60618 http://www.floodexperts.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that XPert Flood Control, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for XPert Flood Control, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on XPert Flood Control, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated 05/04/1988 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Patrick Martin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Martin, President
Business Category

Flood Control Equipment Sewer Contractors Other Heavy and Civil Engineering Construction (NAICS: 237990)

Alternate Business Names
Expert Flood Control Expert Sewer Service XPert Sewer Service
Products & Services

This business offers: Flood Control Equipment


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

XPert Flood Control, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3544 W Montrose Ave

    Chicago, IL 60618

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Xpert charges me 85.00 to inspect sewer one way check valve they installed. Valve has failed numerous times. They just inspected it in august 2013. Last night in a heavy downpour I checked to see if valve was sealing. It was not. Water was flowing freely up the sewer pipe past the valve and into the house. When the rain subsided the water flowed back to street sewer. I removed the lid of the valve and found the two valves eroded away thus causing valve failure. I called the company and got a secretary who knows nothing about the function of valve tell me the valve was not the problem. She should have directed no to the owner;***.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want these defective valves replaced. When they did the annual inspection there is no way they could not see the valves were bad.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/12) */ BBB Processing From Xpert Flood Control 3544 W Montrose Chicago Il XXXXX 10.12.2013 RE : Case # XXXXXXXX **** ****** In regards to this complaint, we have tried on numerous occasions to get in touch with Mr ******* by calling him and by email, I have mailed you a copy of this report as well as the email correspondence in trying to get in touch with Mr ****** the phone number we have on file is XXX XXX-XXXX and the email address is **********@sbcglobal.net To the case at point , Mr. ****** bought a flood control from us 12 years ago and we call him to service it , MR ****** has went through "5 one hundred year rains" with this system in the last 12 years. In June 2013 Mr. ****** called asking us for new gates because he got water and said he would pick them up at our office , he did and he installed them his self and then on October 5th as per his email on page 1 of 1 ,1st paragraph he claimed the valve was not working based on a visual of seeing water in the pit we have over 6000 systems total and within a one mile radius of his house we have close to 100 system we did not receive any calls from are existing customer base in that area nor did we receive any calls for estimates from ***** or any other part of the city or suburbs , it was not a flooding rain , if MR. ****** would like we can Install a new set of gates front and back but they must be installed by us ,(they can not be picked up , or installed by any one else , as was done in June We feel there are other problems with Mr ******* sewer and would like to do a camera of his sewer line in front of a village inspector from ***** and check all his lines and pumps , we will need complete access to the basement inside his house, we will need to pull a permit with the village of ***** to do this. We will set this up with the BBB or with Mr ****** but we must have complete access to his basement . Yours truly ******* T ****** Emails ----- Original Message ----- From: **** To: **********@gmail.com Sent: Saturday, October 05, XXXX X:XX PM Subject: valve failure attn *** Sat. the rains came and once again your valve failed. I stood out there with the cover off and watched the water flow right past the valve and into my basement. This valve is a total failure. I have paid you 85.00 every year since it was installed and you refuse to warrenty it. You wont answer phone calls.I have had it with your company. I am contacting BB and Angies list and letting them know how you fail to stand behind your product even when I have paid you the yearly 85.00 fee. This is a breech of contract. The contract states very clearly the valve and components are guaranteed for life as long as it is serviced yearly. I have been fulfilling my part of the contract. You havent. ******* ****** <******************@gmail.com> Oct 7 (5 days ago) to **** I have called you ten times , you have no answering machine , you never pick up the phone , ******* ****** <******************@gmail.com> Oct 7 (5 days ago) to **** I just called you again on 10/ X XX:XX someone picked up , no response. We can set something up with a camera , and change the front and back gates for you , and if you like we can use a gasket on the cover , XXX XXX XXXX I have called this number all last week ******* ****** <******************@gmail.com> 12:35 PM (7 minutes ago) to **** I stopped by your house today and dropped off a few pens , I will be glad to change out the gates , its no big deal, every time the secretary says you call me I call you back but can never get a hold of you , I have called the XXX XXX XXXX number several times , it is the number that you have been calling us from , but it really is no big deal **** ,we will take care of you I will change out front and back gates and do a camera for you , I think something else is going on there, the day you got water we did not get a single call about flooding from ***** or any where on the north west side usually we get hundreds of calls for estimates after a flood , Thanks ******* These are the email Correspondence I have had trying to get in touch with Mr. ****** Thanks ******* Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/10/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is true I picked up two gates from Xpert but never installed them. The gates in the valve are the original gates from ten years ago. They are warped and eroded. The sewer line is open and clear. The gates need to be replaced; period. Every time it rains hard in our area the sewer backs up in the street It does not take 100 year rains. I stand there each time with the cover off in the rain and watch the water flow right past the valve into the house. I have even used dye to prove my point. I do not have to talk to ***. Just fix the valve:PERIOD. How cheap can a business get? Also when xpert comes out they only check valves with a garden hase. When the sewer backs up there is 10 feet of water head pressure in the sewer. Thats a **** of a lot more than a garden hose. With this pressure I found the gate on the street side pushed into the valve. This happens because of the small (1/4" sealing surface and the lack of support betind the rubber valve. If there was a brass valve as others are or if it had more reinforcement it would be able to take the pressure. The two gates I got from xpert I am using as a guide to fabricate a better gate. One thet is not made of plastic as they are but stainless steel and better rubber with stop collars to center them. I am a machinist, welder, and mechanic for over fifty years. I can make a better gate but due to family illnesses I have not had time yet. These gates are very cheap. *** can afford to put new one in until I get one made that wont fail. If this valve continues to fail I will go with an overhead sewer at great expence and continue to bad mouth this xpert valve. It is my belief that water is also going around the pit entirely and bypassing *** valve all together. I am; as soon as possibe; going to smoke check the sewer line to prove my point In the mean time I want new gates regardless how cheap they are installed. The old gates are shot.I deserve something for the nearly $1000 in maint. fees I have paid over the years. Dollar wise these gates cost virtuly nothing They are two pieces of six inch plastic and rubber. As I have said before. I have spoken to *** numerous times about this valve failure. No more talk is needed REPLACE THE GATES! Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/10/25) */ If **** would like new gates we will put them in for him , there is absolutely no problem with his request, we will set it up for Friday the 1st of November 12:00 if that time is not good he can choose a new time as long as it is next week after the 30th of October . Thanks ******* T ****** Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2014/07/01) */ On 10/28/2013 pat ****** owner of xpert stated he would replace gates in faulty valve. As per my conversation this (7-1-14) morning he did not. As a result valve failed again last night and sewer water entered house. I do not have to be home for him to fix valve. It is outside house. I just want it fixed.I am tired of running out to the pit with a tradh pump in pouring rain to lessen the basement flooding. He has not lived up to the contract. This is a ongoing complaint against x pert for failure to live up to their contract. Contract states that if I pay them a yearly maintenance fee the flood control valve would be guarenteed for life. I have lived up to my part of the contract. ***; the owner has not. The valve fails with every sewer back up. *** has blown it off as ground water. Not true. I know my sewer and the city sewer. When I lift the manhole cover in the street and see the sewer water five feet or more above the bottom I check the valve pit to see if xperts valve is working. What I find is water backing up the sewer line and into my basement unrestricted.I have proved this by using sewer dye. X perts valve is a failure. It doesnt work. Its cheaply made and doomed to fail. I want it fixed once and fixed right. I have lived up to my part of the contract. X pert has not. I am 68 years old and I live in fear of every heavy rain. I have to stand by with a trash pump to pump out the valve pit to lessen the flooding. This is no way to live at my age. I am sick of this valve and x perts failure to do any thing about it. I vant the valve replaced with something that works. As i said it is very cheaply made. -------------------------------------------------- [SPAM] Re: BBB Complaint Case#94469411(Ref#36-6485-94469411-11-4100) 1 message **** <**********@sbcglobal.net> Tue, Jul 1, 2014 at 9:10 AM To: "Better Business Bureau (Do Not Reply To This Email Address)" On 10/25/2013 ******* ****** owner of x-pert flood control stated he would replace the gates in this failed valve. He did not.As a result the valve failed again 7/1/2014. Why did you close out complaint? Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/07/01) */ I spoke with john this morning , we will be meeting with him this week NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please hold off on your response pending the meeting that is to take place this week. Please update us on the outcome of the visit. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2014/07/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Meeting never happened. I went down in pit; removed cover of valve . Found street side gate wedged into pipe and not functional. Found house side gate eroded away and leaking. Put water on house side pipe ;held gate closed and water passed freely by it. *** told you back in october he was going to replace gates as I have repeatedly requested as per warrenty. He did not These are the original gates which have been failing over and over again. I now have the impression that the BB is not here for the comsumer. I have done all the homework and supplied all the proof these gates are shot and xpert does nothing. Whos side are you on? -------------------------------------------------- 7/5/14 info from consumer: **** <**********@sbcglobal.net> Sat, Jul 5, 2014 at 2:57 PM To: "******, *****" Its 3 pm sat 5th july. No xpert. Took cover off went down in pit. Took cover off valve. Found gate on street side stuck in pipe thus making it ineffective. Found gate on house side with eroded away foam gasket. Thus making it useless. Put water in pipe on house side and it passed through valve un restricted with me holding valve closed. Back in october pat stated he would replace gates. That was his reply to you. Gates were not replaced. They are the original. What more proof do I need to show the valve doors not work and xpert will not abide by the warrenty. Case closed;end of story; its crystal clear they do not want to fix valve.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on XPert Flood Control, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart