Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

A Cozy Fireplace-Naperville

Phone: (630) 778-1781 Fax: (630) 778-1810 View Additional Phone Numbers 2124 Plainfield Rd, Crest Hill, IL 60403 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.acozyfireplace.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A Cozy Fireplace-Naperville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A Cozy Fireplace-Naperville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A Cozy Fireplace-Naperville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 04, 2003 Business started: 07/06/1995 in IL Business started locally: 07/06/1995 Business incorporated 07/05/1995 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Hopkins, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Hopkins, President
Business Category

Fireplace Equipment - Retail Fireplaces Stoves - Wood, Coal All Other Home Furnishings Stores (NAICS: 442299)

Alternate Business Names
A Cozy Fireplace, Inc. A Cozy Fireplace-Crest Hill

Additional Locations

  • 2124 Plainfield Rd

    Crest Hill, IL 60403 (815) 725-5556

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a fireplace 3 weeks ago. Discussed install during purchase. Told it would take 1 week for fireplace to arrive. 2 weeks later, i called as i had not heard back from Cozy Fireplace. I was told by****** that I would have install that week and he would arrange installer. Never heard back. Went into store to request refund. ****, owner, wanted to argue with me from the minute I asked for a refund. He refused to provide my sales slip back to me. He claimed that he owned it and bought it from me as part of the refund. This contained my personal information on it.**** proceeded to call me names and told me to screw off. I already initiated a credit card dispute on this transaction. I would like my original sales slip with credit card slip returned to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like my original sales slip and credit card receipt returned.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/23) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@aol.com Customer ******* ******* came into my store and requested a refund. His credit card was immediatly refunded no arguement from us at all. Customer ******* ******* signed for and was given a copy of this credit card refund. I then offered to install his merchandise myself (free of labor charge) at whatever time was convenient to him and he politley declined. He then asked for his original receipt and I politley declined as he is no longer entitled to a paid in full receipt for something he has returned. He then became agitated and left the store calling myself and my employee names and threatened to contact the BBB ? After this customer ******* ******* started to dispute his original credit card charge after already being given a full refund? This is Credit Card Fraud and I have already contacted the authorities regarding this matter. Should you have any further questions regarding this matter feel free to contact me at your earliest convience. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1) I declined ****'s offer to install the fireplace. I previously tried to have it installed on 3 other occasions with ***** at Cozy Fireplace, but ***** at the Cozy fireplace failed to follow up with me on 3 separate occasions as promised. This is what prompted my return of the fireplace. 2) An argument did take place. I tried to tell ***** about my installation experience. One would think a business owner would listen to feedback as a learning opportunity to improve their future customers experiences the next time around. A quality organization would graciously accept criticism to improve the quality experience for the next customers. **** kept interrupting me before I could tell him about my experience and told me "I already apologized, what more do you want?" 3) **** was the only employee present in the store. 4) **** stole my credit card receipt containing my personal information on it and refused to give it back. I did not trust that **** correctly credited my account because he refused to give me back my paperwork and they failed to follow through with the purchase process. This left me with no evidence for my records. I asked for a photo copy of the receipt. **** agreed to a photocopy and started to go make one, but seconds later, he oddly turned around and sarcastically said, "No. I will not make a photo copy. By returning the fireplace, you sold the receipt back to me. I *own* it now." I've had my credit card open for 15 years with the same bank. In all those years, I've never had a vendor experience like this. In order to protect my credit account, I contacted the bank to dispute the charge and also to requested a new credit card number. I did not trust that the process was correctly handled based upon the return experience and the failed follow up experiences from Cozy Fireplace. If the receipt information was provided to me as requested without altercation, the situation would have been more amicable.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on A Cozy Fireplace-Naperville
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)