BBB Accredited Business since

Universal Restoration Services

Phone: (877) 505-6699 Fax: (888) 596-4996 View Additional Phone Numbers 390 Holbrook Dr, Wheeling, IL 60090 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Universal Restoration Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Universal Restoration Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Universal Restoration Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 20, 1992 Business started: 10/01/1989 Business started locally: 10/01/1989 Business incorporated 01/09/1990 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Daniel O'Brien, Exeutive VP Mr. Steve Goldstein, President Ms. Laura Peterson, Corporate Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel O'Brien, Exeutive VP
Customer Contact: Ms. Laura Peterson, Corporate Marketing
Number of Employees


Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Water Mitigation Project Management Structural Integration Mold & Mildew Remediation Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Upholstery and Rug Cleaning Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning Interior Finishing Contractors-Drywall / Plastering Building Construction Consultants Building Restoration & Preservation Building Envelope Restoration Construction Estimates Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Floor Coverings & Installation Glass Board - Up Service Construction & Remodeling Services Remodeling Services Insurance - Fire & Flood Specialists Fire & Flood Emergency Service Insurance Claim Processing Services Tarps Building Inspection - Commercial Carpet & Rug Cleaners Construction Management Construction Administration Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Service Area
Chicago, Northern Illinois and Indiana
Products & Services

This company offers fire, water, flood restoration.

Additional Locations

  • 390 Holbrook Dr

    Wheeling, IL 60090 (877) 505-6699


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 3, 2014 our next door neighbor water line froze. We called ****** from Universal Restoration services. He came over to our house and they cleaned the damage out. by removing all of my floors because they were damaged, they broke the kitchen cabinets that were not ruined at all. Their team took my two couches, a fire place and kitchen table out to my garage. They had several people come in and out of my town home in the process they had someone remove my kitchen sink and countertop that was not damaged at all, but in order for them to claim more stuff they broke it. Universal placed a de-humidifier and several fans to dry everything up. they only left them for 1.5 day, but they claim they left them for 3 days. Monday January 6 we had a power outrage through the entire subdivision. Power came on after 7pm Monday night. On Tuesday Morning one of the workers called me to notify me that they were going to pick up their equipment, I then told her about the outage she said let me call ****** and will call you back. She called me and said that was fine were going to pick up our stuff. On the bill they sent they still charged for the days their equipment was off even though I had told them it was off. Universal called me and said I need to pay over $7,000 for their service or they will put a lien on my home, I told them that the insurance company was working on it (Allstate), they did not care I received a letter on the mail today 4/25/14 that theres a lien on my house.

Desired Settlement: I want them to be responsible for the damage done to my kitchen it was not necessary for them to demolish my counter top. Settle for a lower amount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/06/02) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ********* GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********* I was initially contacted by Mrs. ****** after the estimator initially working on her file was terminated and her correspondence was forwarded to me as the General Manager of our office. I was out on leave at the time she contacted my office and not able to respond to her. Last week on 5-28 we connected and I was able to address her concerns. She was asking for a billing review and claimed that she had been over charged for some equipment used in conjunction with our services. I performed a review of the file and the estimate. As it turns out, she was denied coverage for the loss through her carrier and was in the process of making payments to us out of pocket. Since her original estimator was no longer working on the file, she was not given any explanation as to why these charges were on the bill. Upon review I found that there was an overcharge and made some additional corrections and discussed them with the insured. She was over joyed at our response and agreed to remit payment in full on Thursday instead of continuing on her bi-weekly payment plan. A revised copy of the estimate was saved to the file and sent to Mrs. ****** via email. She did receive it and remit payment of the new balance in full. The matter has been closed internally. Thank you.

8/23/2013 Delivery Issues