Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Restore Construction, Inc.

Phone: (866) 929-2349 Fax: (866) 929-3371 View Additional Phone Numbers 11241 Melrose Ave Ste A, Franklin Park, IL 60131

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Restore Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Restore Construction, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 19, 1990 Business started: 09/26/1983 in IL Business started locally: 09/26/1983 Business incorporated 09/26/1983 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Patrick Santoro, Owner Ms. Sue Grasz, Office Manager Mr. Michael Santoro, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Sue Grasz, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Patrick Santoro, Owner
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Water Mitigation Fire Protection Consultants Smoke Odor Counteracting Service Data Recovery Drying Service Insurance - Fire & Flood Specialists Fire & Flood Emergency Service Carpet & Rug Cleaners Dry Cleaners Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Alternate Business Names
Restore Board-up Co., Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Restore Construction, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11241 Melrose Ave Ste A

    Franklin Park, IL 60131 (866) 929-2349


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Restore Reconstruction Inc. did work for us after the fire we had August 2013. They took all the checks and never completed the work. They stated that they wanted "to be done with us" and said we needed to get estimates and they would " write us a check" When we finally got all the estimates, (it took a while because it was hard to get people out to finish the work they didn't) Restore called us and said we wanted too much money. **** ******* called my husband and told him, " we will give you $5000, you have 1 hour to call us and let us know" He also stated that if we get a lawyer, it will cost us more then what our repairs are worth. I then texted him and said our custom blinds alone cost more then $5000. He then said that we better call their attorney. I was told after the fact by another reconstruction company that I should have received a brochure from **** ******* regarding my consumer rights. I never did. I also never received any receipts or detailed work they were doing. They also tell you to claim things from your fire and then they take them and clean them and resell the items. I now believe some items probably could have been kept.

Desired Settlement: I would like Restore Reconstruction not to receive an A+ BBB rating. I believe they do not have a good work ethic or are fair with their clients. They should not be able to camp out in front of your house after a fire and pressure you to pick them to be your contractor. I want my money back for the work not completed and the stress they caused us. I also want to know where all the money went, since I never received receipts or anything.

Business Response:

The basis of the complaint is that Restore Construction Inc. did not perform a substantial portion of the scope of work agreed upon between the parties.


We believe that the complaint made against our Company does not have any merit.  In support of our position we would like to call attention to the following facts:


-        The **** ** ******* passed the following rough inspections:

o   Electrical

o   Plumbing

o   Ventilation

-        The **** ** ******* inspected and passed the following final inspections:

o   Electrical

o   Plumbing

o   Ventilation

o   New Construction/Final General inspection

-        The homeowner’s mortgage company, which in accordance with the homeowner’s mortgage documents, acts as an escrowee for the funds and performs its own independent inspection verifies that the work is completed prior to releasing their funds performed an inspection at 50% completion, which passed and the bank released an additional draw, as well as a final inspection at the completion of the job.  This final inspection also passed and the bank released the final draw from the escrow.  Note that the mortgage company uses the insurance company’s scope of work as a basis to verify that the work was completed in order to release the funds.

-        Under the terms of the insurance policy, the final holdback of funds will not be released unless the repairs are complete and the value restored back to the pre-loss value.  The insurance company performed a final inspection and released all remaining funds because they assessed the work to be completed satisfactorily.

8/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repair work done on ceiling drywall was subpar, as admitted by contractor. The repair of the poor work was even worse. It was spotted, hatched and lumpy, as also admitted. But they just don't care to fix their terrible work, even though they have admitted they should.

Desired Settlement: I would rather have an adjustment. They've treated me terribly. I've had to chase after them with dozens and dozens of calls and messages. If I must have them fix it, I certainly don't want the terrible subcontractors back.

Business Response:

Restore Construction, Inc. (“Restore”) values the business of each of our customers.  We try to provide an exemplary level of customer service, and our number one priority is customer satisfaction.

In keeping with our goal of customer satisfaction, Restore has contacted Mr. ***** to resolve the issues with the ceiling drywall.  In construction, no project is completed as exactly as planned.  Sometimes, problems arise during the project and must be addressed and repaired afterwards.  Unfortunately, Mr* ******* property involves such a case, and Restore would like to rectify such issues.

To achieve our goal of outstanding customer service, Restore will work with Mr. ***** and come to an amicable resolution for the issues regarding his property.   

8/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I work for a subcontractor, Olde Towne Floors, Inc. We did a job for Restore Construction in July, 2015. We have a signed proposal and change order by restore. After sending an intent to lien letter, they paid the base contract, but not the change order. They refuse to answer my call or return my call. I went out there and they wouldn't even let me in their building to wait to talk to anyone. The owner, ***,is on the board of directors for the BBB, so I really hope this doesn't get "swept under the rug." Another subcontractor recently posted a YELP review that he wasn't paid either and they are refusing to pay him too. I have the signed change order and emails going back and forthe between us and Restore confirming the work is to be done. And the building said the floor is beautiful, so there is no reason these scam artists should pay us.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be paid in full and for Restore Construction to not be able to take advantage of other companies.

Business Response:

Restore Construction Inc. (“Restore”) signed a contract, with the subcontractor, Olde Towne Floors, Inc. (“Olde Towne”), in the amount of $4,900 for a specific scope of work.  That specific scope of work was performed, and Restore paid the amount in full to Olde Towne in accordance with the contract.  The contract that was signed specifically states that any and all change orders must be presented and signed by an authorized representative of Restore.    

The change order that Olde Towne presented to Restore was a simple, non-itemized document that totaled $4,100, almost double the original contract amount.  Additionally, the change order, which appears to be only a proposal as opposed to a formal change order request, was signed by an individual, who was working in the capacity of a 1099 contractor, and did not have authority to sign any such document.  As such, we do not feel Restore owes the amount nor can we verify the work was actually completed.   

Even if the change order was to be accepted after the fact, which Restore does not accept, the original contract signed clearly states in clause 15, “Contractor shall be obligated to pay Subcontractor final payment for the work and materials supplied upon architect and owner approving the work in writing and when the owner has paid the Contractor for such work.”  As of the date of this response, the owner has not paid the Contractor for such work and in fact has made a claim of defective work for several areas of construction including the floors.  

For the reasons stated above, Restore does not feel the complaint has merit, however, in an attempt to resolve this issue amicably, Restore has reached out to Olde Towne to discuss a reasonable resolution.

Business Response:

Restore Construction Inc. (“Restore”) and Olde Towne Floors, Inc. (“Olde Towne”) have resolved this matter as of March 22, 2016.  Restore has still not received final payment from the Owner of the property for work performed because of quality of work issues, regarding several areas of construction, including the floors.  In accordance with the original Subcontractor Agreement that Olde Towne signed with Restore, Restore is not required to pay Olde Towne until Restore has been paid in full by the Owner of the property.  Therefore, by demanding immediate payment, Olde Towne has breached its contract with Restore for the sole purpose of getting paid.  However, to facilitate an amicable resolution to this issue, Olde Towne has signed a Final Waiver for work performed, and Restore has paid Olde Towne in full for its services. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********.  To be clear, there may have been many issues on the project, but none of them were related to the flooring.  We were never contacted to perform any punch list items and we warranty our work.  When Restore signed our change order, they agreed to pay the balance due upon receipt of the invoice.   We did agree to take less than our contract price just to end this ordeal with Restore and agree to end this complaint.    

********* *****

10/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted Restore 8/4 to notify of water running in my home into basement from someplace. They came out a month later when I contacted them that it has gotten worst. They came out and I figured out what was wrong. They then came back four days later to fix. They didn't fixed correctly. We had to file another claim with insurance to make sure water damage is fixed right because they didn't!

Desired Settlement: Want the owner ****** out to my home with his workers to fix my home the right way this time.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2015/10/14) */ Three times now, I have gone into the link on the email regarding my complaint # ******** and stated that the company has responded to my complaint to my satisfaction. I am now writing to inform you that Restore Construction ****************************************************************************************** I would like to retract my complaint ASAP against this company with the BBB. *************************

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After the repairs the roof started to leak, I contacted restore, they sent someone out to replace the dry wall on the ceiling, they didn't address the leaky roof. In March 3, 2015, they sent someone out to look at the still leaking roof, they put a tarp over it and said they would have someone to repair it after the rainy season. It is now August 12 2015 no one has repaired the leak yet. As per the contractor, they would have to remove the roof top deck to address the issues and I have not heard from them yet. I called *** the warrantee service person as man as six times, each time the secretary said she would leave a message for her to call me back and she never does. When I spoke to *** on8/3/15 she said she was going to call me 8/4/15, no call, I called again on 8/6/15, the Jillian, said *** was out of the office until 8/10/15;again, no call. Today, 8/12/15 @ 9:00am I spoke to ***, she said she was going to talk to "*****" and get back to me within the hour or at 9:00am. no call, I called back the secretary said she was in a meeting. I have played phone tag with this company for months, while time is running out on my warranty. I need my roof fixed, the my deck replaced, the down spout needs to be placed back in the ground drainage; and the ceiling repaired on the inside where the leak is; also as a result of the leaking roof, the tile on the kitchen floor is peeling up and cracking I need all of these things repaired. As this is very frustrating and depressing. I would like to speak to someone as soon as possible. I have lost my patience, winter is on it's way, and they cannot work in wet rainy weather; at least that's what they told me. as to why they wanted to wait until the summer to replace the roof.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the business to repair and replace all necessary roof, ceiling, floor tile, decking and any other necessary repairs to make my apartment livable, with no worries of leaking ceilings.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2015/08/24) */ To whom It may concern; I, *************** just wanted to inform you that Restore Construction has repaired the leaks in the roof, and they have repaired the ceiling in the first floor apartment. Thank you ***************

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I followed their procedures to get warranty repairs done on my home. I received a call it was excepted but they never call to schedule. When I call I get voice mail that is full from the contact Jim or he tells me he will get back to me next week and he doesn't. I have been trying to get repairs under the warranty for three months.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to contact me with available dates to come make all repairs to my home that fits my schedule. I would like them to honor the written warranty contract I have with them. If they can't honor the contract with me then contact me about setting up a meeting. So we can talk about how much it will cost them to pay me to buy out the written warranty contract. Would like repairs done 100% correct so they don't have to keep coming back to repair one of the same issues over again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/09) */ We sent our flooring expert to the property on Wednesday, July 8, 2015 @9:00am to take a look at the homeowner's concerns. The flooring company will be contacting us within the next few business days to provide their professional opinion. We will contact the homeowner as soon as we receive a response in regards to how we should proceed with addressing the open warranty item. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Still WAs not given start and finish date like I was promised when I talked on the phone with company. They have come out two more times to look at the floor. I have not been given a solution to the floors or when they will start and finish. ------------------------------------------------ ---------- Forwarded message ---------- From: Todd ********** ***********************> Date: Thu, Jul 16, 2015 at 4:56 PM Subject: case #********* To: To whom it may concern, I would like to take down my claim with the above case number #********. The company has contacted me and is completing repairs this week. I would like to remove the complaint as that is something I agreed to with them on the phone for them to rush my repairs. Thank you, Margaret ********** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2015/07/20) */

12/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a signed warranty contract with Restore Construction for five years on work performed on my home. I have been trying from March 2014 to have repairs made under contract. Some have been done but there are still issues needing repair from March when I notified them. The office people and workers reschedule and/or are no shows when they make appointments. I always get the run around when calling office.

Desired Settlement: Honor written contract and show up to make repairs. Void five year contract and be paid on an agreed amount by both parties. To cover future repair work on voided warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/02) */ We met at the property yesterday morning with the homeowners son to address any concerns they still have. The homeowners son is going to speak with his mom and get back to us with regards to relocating of the smoke detector. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Additional work needs to be done on home under warranty that was discussed with the company's representative and not completed. All windows need to be caulked still and grout in shower wasn't repaired. All was discussed with company's representative on 11/26/2014 in home with photos taken by company representative. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/12/12) */ On December 5th our company was out at the property with Ms. ********** to complete her warranty concerns. We of course will continue to honor her 5 year warranty for the work that we performed which is depicted in the original Fire Repair Specifications that was signed on March 28, 2013. Thank you.

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told by tenant roof was leaking down into the apartment. They had guy come out and he said he fixed leak but called him right back as he left to look to show him it was still leaking. He said he does not know what to do. Then I also reported to Restore that the electrical was having problems and tripping fuse box and flickering lights. Keep getting the run around about somebody will come and I think this is just to keep me at bay until the my warranty runs out. The guy they sent out to do roof was told to look into electrical. And he is not certified to do electrical.


Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/28) */ We have been in touch with the homeowner, and have completed the electrical issue she was having. As for the roof, we did go out gone out on March 10th and performed repairs. The homeowner called stating that the roof is leaking again. We have placed a temporary trap on the affected area today and told the insured that we will come back out as soon as the weather breaks. We need to have a few dry days in order to property repair this area. I have spoken with the homeowner today again to inform her of our intentions. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept because I have been getting the run around and still do definite day as to when it would be completed. Also the inside ceiling has not been mentioned in this or when it will be addressed. I just do not want to say yes and then it goes back to being ignored. I also contacted them in regards to the flickering of the bathroom light still happening and was told they would get back in touch with electrician and still I AM WAITING for them to contact me on when he would com back and check it out. So I waiting as long as I could before responding to this response allowing them time. I also told them tenant says its been dry as well so I would like to know what's the holdup and when will they honor their end of the warranty. I am aware as well as they are aware my warranty is at the ending stage this month as well. Thank you in advance for all that you can and will do in helps with my plight. Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/05/23) */ We have completed the original items that the homeowner stated previously. The items that she is referring to from what I understand are new items that were brought up to our crew when they were out there repairing the roof, ceiling.... We will need to contact the homeowner to review the additional items she is requesting to have done. we will contact her later next week. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Hello to this day I have not been contacted by the company in regards to finishing up the repairs as stated above. I plan to call them today to see if I hear anything different than the usual. It sis 2 days till my response is needed and I have held off as long as I could I do not want this matter prolonged any longer.

1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Restore Construction was hired to repaired fire damages to my property which occurred in July 15, 2011. It took them over 6 month to get started on the project starting in Feb.2012; After which, it took them until Feb 2013 to completion. But this was not until I had gone back and forth with them concerning rebuilding the garage, and other various repairs inside the main building. There was a leak in the kitchen ceiling, they were supposed to have fixed, and the ceiling is still leaking. The Closet door has fallen off the hinge. There are no window screens in the brand new windows they installed. Most importantly the heating on my second floor is not working, the Gas pipes going to the furnace on the second floor are not connected. I do not know if the vents have heat flowing Thur them as the heat does not work on the second floor. I have called Restore, I have called the Representative, which serviced my repairs and have not heard any responses.I contacted the project manager, ****, which he has informed me that he is no longer with the company. I have also submitted warrentee repair work list three times and no one has contacted me or responded to the faxed complaints I submitted. I have spoken to ***, in the office January 3, 2014 and she stated that the paper work had not even been opened or nobody had responded to it. I have also spoken to *****, one of the senior managers, who told me to contact *** about my complaints. I also have other issues which are too many to list; such as there was no pea trap in the bathroom sink, loose pipes in the kitchen. The carpet in the livingroom and dinning room was never cleaned after the fire, I have removed the carpet, but has not replaced it. The windows were supposed to be capped all around the building, which that never happened. Door bells do not work. in-fact there is not a wired doorbell on any of the apartments since the fire occurred. I have called several times and have not had any results. I need your help in addressing these problems.

Desired Settlement: The only settlement I am seeking is to have these issues repaired correctly or replaced. I would rather have an actual heating/HVAC company to repair the heating system as I no longer have faith in them or trust their judgment to do the right thing. Although, I have lost 1 years rent due to these problems I want my home restored to an operating living condition. Is that too much to ask for? Please Help! Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/16) */ We have spoken with Ms. ******** on January 13th. and have made arrangements to be at her house to review the items she has concerns with on January 17th. @ 1:00pm

12/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract date 8/03/2013 - claim#XXX-XXX-XXX with Restore Construction. My house caught on fire on 07/25/2013. When the fire crew came out, Restore Construction came out. I did not call Restore Construction to come out. I was repeatedly pursue to sign with their company and was never given an upfront price as to how much the repairs and emergency services would be. I was assured that the insurance company would pay out and that they would agree to fix what my insurance company agreed to pay for. First it took 5 weeks before, they initiated any work, it was approximately 7 to 8 weeks after the fire did they order special patio doors that take two months to be delivered. I had special type of roof, and the company replaced with substandard roofing. I have a burnt out deck that now according to the company will only be partially replaced even though they agreed to replace the whole deck. I was assured by the company that I would be able to return to the proerty in late September, the other subcontractor they used, broke the patio door locked and my property can no longer be secured. The flooring job is only partially fixed. The company contractors painted over picture hooks and failed to do a quality job. The company has not cleaned the closets or painted the closets or cleaned the house for fire damage as indicated in the contract. For the last 3 and half months I have been repeatedly ignored and the company refuses to correct the issues. I have repeatedly asked for a list of what repairs have been addressed, the company has refused to provide this. The company refuses to give an estimated completion date. The company has overcharged for services that have not been done. The company uses deceptive tactics to get homeowners to sign after a traumatic event and the re-victimizes the homeowner by failing to do the job correctly and completely. The company uses substandard products and does not hire licensed professionals.

Desired Settlement: I want the contract cancelled and the work that has been done to be correct with an itemized list of what work has been done and a copy of all applicable licenses subcontracted out (roofing, etc so I can give payment for what has been done and go with another company to do what has not been outlined via the insurance company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/14) */ The owners of Restore Construction Inc. met with the insured on Friday November 8th. at the property to address the homeowners concerns. We have come to a mutual agreement on the completion date and Restore has ordered all materials needed to complete this job. The homeowner also expressed other concerns, which are not a part of our scope of work. During this discussion it was agreed that Restore was not responsible for any further items that were not included on the original repair specifications. We will keep in contact with the homeowner as the repairs are being completed. Final Consumer Response /* (450, 15, 2013/12/09) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: I no longer wish to re-open my complaint, as I met with ******* *******, one of the owners of the company on December 7th who resolved the issue. The credits agreed upon on and the lien waiver were issued. The project is complete and the billing issues have now been resolved. The owners of the company have now made good on their word.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Restore Construction, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart