Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rainbow International of South & West Suburbs meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rainbow International of South & West Suburbs include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Rainbow International of South & West Suburbs
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 09, 2008 Business started: 03/01/2004 Business started locally: 03/01/2004
Business Management
Mr. John Gurtler, Owner Niki Ramirez, Business Development Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Gurtler, Owner
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Water Mitigation Mold & Mildew Inspection Smoke Odor Counteracting Service Mold & Mildew Remediation Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation Mold Consulting & Testing Cleaning Services Accident Reconstruction Service Deodorizing & Disinfecting Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rainbow International of South & West Suburbs has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 15313 S 70th Ct

    Orland Park, IL 60462

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2158 45th Ave. Unit 251.

    Highland, IN 46322

  • 9909 S 78th Ave

    Hickory Hills, IL 60457 (773) 938-9909 (708) 460-0911 (630) 282-6944

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired them to do property removal , formality on and water mitigation due to our house being damaged in a tornado on June 22,2015 . Rainbow employees disposed of a lot of our property on site without permission ( some antiques and family heirlooms. Once our property was back at their storage facilities we had difficulties getting files on what they had in their possession. At first only sent a few pictures and could not locate others . After a month they finally located the remainder of photos . At this time we realized items were missing and damaged that had not been damaged at house . Found that a 60 inch lg tv was missing . Mgr claimed did not know what happened to it . He also admitted to disposing of a lot of property . And damaging a screen door which he took to repair and not returned . The mgr claimed that my wife had signed a contract saying that they could dispose of whatever property they wanted . ( this did not appear until after my wife passed In October ) I have requested to see copies of these papers but have been denied .just prior to my wife passing ******** insurance recommended hiring a new company to take possession of property because they to had problems with rainbow not being able to locate property when the insurance went to inspect . ******** paid them for the demo portion aprox 34,000 and I disputed the remaining 13,000 for property removal . Rainbow received and cashed the ins check then hired a lawyer to Pursue a lien on wife's estate and my home . Have attempted several times to discuss the lost items and what can be done to solve problem . Spoke with ******** ins and was told they have extensive documentation of problems they had with rainbow.. I feel they do not deserve the amount asking .

Desired Settlement: I feel they should be responsible for the replacement cost of tv . And damaged and disposed items

Business Response: Mr. ******: “We hired them to do property removal , formality on and water mitigation due to our house being damaged in a tornado on June 22,2015 . Rainbow employees disposed of a lot of our property on site without permission ( some antiques and family heirlooms.”

Rainbow thoroughly explained to Mrs. ****** all aspects of how personal property is processed. Part of the process includes disposing of items that were damaged by the loss and cannot be cleaned or restored to a pre-loss condition. Signed authorization was given from Mrs. ****** to Rainbow to dispose of all items deemed non-restorable by Rainbow. The daughter of Mr. & Mrs. ****** was on site each day during the project and had every opportunity to view the items being thrown out. Mr. & Mrs. ****** had every opportunity to review the progress each day and what was thrown out.

Mr. ******: “Once our property was back at their storage facilities we had difficulties getting files on what they had in their possession. At first only sent a few pictures and could not locate others . After a month they finally located the remainder of photos .”

On July 24th 2015, Rainbow finished processing the personal property on site. On July 31st 2015, Rainbow sent a PDF photo inventory document that only showed the first two photos of a series. Files containing 100% of photos are too large to email. We acknowledge that this created confusion for Mr. & Mrs. ****** who thought that it represented 100% of their items which lead them to believe that items were missing.  Rainbow sent a link and log-in credentials to Mrs. ****** on August 18th 2015 which gave her access to the complete digital inventory through Rainbow’s iCAT software.

Mr. ******: “At this time we realized items were missing and damaged that had not been damaged at house.”

Items that Mr. and Mrs. ****** thought were missing were viewable by accessing Rainbow’s iCAT inventory software. Each item packed out was documented, wrapped and packed for moving. Rainbow’s Operations Manager, Kevin ******** asked Mr. ****** to provide a list of items he felt were missing or damaged by Rainbow on two different occasions in order to resolve his concerns. On the last occasion, November 3rd 2015, Mr. ****** agreed to provide a list which Rainbow has yet to receive.

Mr. ******: “Found that a 60 inch lg tv was missing .  Mgr claimed did not know what happened to it” 

Rainbow has no documented inventory of this television.  This includes pictures taken at the jobsite prior to Rainbow employees touching any of Mr. & Mrs. ******' personal property. Despite this fact and acting in good faith, Rainbow agreed to work out a fair resolution to the matter.

Mr. ******: “He also admitted to disposing of a lot of property .”

Yes, that is correct. Rainbow disposed of non-restorable property which was photo inventoried and documented through our iCAT software.

Mr. ******: “And damaging a screen door which he took to repair and not returned .”

Rainbow fully acknowledged from the beginning that a screen door was damaged which was immediately repaired. Rainbow emailed Mrs. ****** on September 2nd 2015 stating that the door is repaired and ready to be delivered. Mr. ****** was spoken to about this screen door as well. Mr. ****** explained that he would have to get back to Rainbow in regards to returning the door. Rainbow is willing and able to return the door as soon as possible.

Mr. ******: “The mgr claimed that my wife had signed a contract saying that they could dispose of whatever property they wanted . ( this did not appear until after my wife passed In October ) I have requested to see copies of these papers but have been denied.”

Mr. ****** has never been denied access to any documentation throughout the entire process. This is the first documented request by Mr. ****** to provide a signed copy of the “Disposal Authorization” form. Rainbow will send a copy to Mr. ****** immediately.

Mr. ******: “Just prior to my wife passing ******** insurance recommended hiring a new company to take possession of property because they to had problems with rainbow not being able to locate property when the insurance went to inspect .”

There were no concerns brought to the attention of Rainbow during the inspection by ********’s insurance adjuster as described by Mr. ******. The adjuster came to Rainbow's facility for purposes of evaluating the condition of contents as it related to the loss suffered. She was looking to see if there were additional items that she could deem non-restorable due to the loss at the request of Mr. & Mrs. ******. The adjuster put aside additional items from storage and instructed Rainbow to provide a list of these items as additional non-restorable items. It was the choice of Mr. & Mrs. ****** to take back possession of their personal property through another contractor, not ******** Insurance. From our experience, if an insured is not happy with a contractor and expresses this to their insurance adjuster, they sometimes recommend seeking another opinion or contractor which Mr. & Mrs. ****** chose to do so.

Mr. ******: “******** paid them for the demo portion aprox 34,000 and I disputed the remaining 13,000 for property removal . Rainbow received and cashed the ins check then hired a lawyer to Pursue a lien on wife's estate and my home .”

Rainbow’s lien rights were set to expire and in an effort to protect their interest, a mechanics lien was perfected on November 23rd 2015 for the outstanding balance. Since then, Rainbow received a check from ******** in the amount of $34,162.31 on December 2nd 2015. To date, Rainbow has an overdue balance for the personal property services in the amount of $13,709.08 and for emergency services in the amount of $4,395.31. During the last communication between Mr. ****** & Rainbow, Mr. ****** made the statement to Rainbow’s Operations Manager, Kevin ******** that he had no intentions of paying Rainbow any amount regarding the $13,709.08 for personal property services until we resolved his concerns.  Kevin ******** asked Mr. ****** to provide a list with all of his concerns and that Rainbow will work towards a resolution. This conversation took place on November 3rd 2015 and to date, Mr. ****** has not provided any type of list or documentation regarding his claims. Mr. ****** has received payment in the amount of $13,709.08 from ******** Insurance based on our invoice for personal property services rendered.


Mr. ******: “Have attempted several times to discuss the lost items and what can be done to solve problem . Spoke with ******** ins and was told they have extensive documentation of problems they had with rainbow.. I feel they do not deserve the amount asking .”

As stated above, Rainbow International has agreed from the beginning to thoroughly go through each and every concern. Rainbow has requested a list of items and any supporting documentation to Mr. ******’ claims. Despite a verbal agreement on November 3rd 2015 from Mr. ****** to provide a comprehensive list, Rainbow has never received one. Rainbow is unaware of any concerns that ******** has with Rainbow beyond the direct accusations that Mr. & Mrs. ****** have communicated to ********.

Desired Outcome/Settlement
Desired Settlement: Billing Adjustment
Mr. ******: “I feel they should be responsible for the replacement cost of tv . And damaged and disposed items.”

Rainbow takes full responsibility for damaged property of which has been fully documented. Rainbow is not responsible for non-restorable items that were disposed of due to the loss. As with all personal property losses, Rainbow provided an inventory of all non-restorable items so that Mr. ****** can seek recovery from ******** under the provisions of his insurance policy, not Rainbow International. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Rainbow International of South & West Suburbs
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart