Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Preferred Fire & Flood Repair, Inc. is a fire and water damage restoration company which provides renovation and rebuilding services for residential and commercial customers. This company serves the northern suburbs of Chicago, including Skokie, Evanston, Niles, Park Ridge, Norridge, Harwood Heights, Morton Grove, Wilmette, Golf, Glenview, Des Plaines, Rosemont, Kenilworth, Winnetka, Glencoe, Northfield, Northbrook, Mt Prospect, Prospect Heights, Elk Grove Village, Deerfield, and Wheeling. Services available from this company include emergency water extraction, board-ups, roof tarping, temporary fencing, tree removal, debris removal, smoke deodorization, electronics restoration, emergency pack outs, furniture refinishing, clothes and fabric cleaning, computer refurbishing, odor removal, dehumidification, heating and air conditioning decontamination and cleaning, carpet and upholstery cleaning, and mold remediation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Preferred Fire & Flood Repair, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Preferred Fire & Flood Repair, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Preferred Fire & Flood Repair, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 07, 2008 Business started: 04/01/1991 in IL Business started locally: 04/01/1991 Business incorporated 04/04/2012 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
http://www.idph.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason Harris, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Harris, President
Related Businesses
Harris Claims Services, Inc. - Public Adjusters Association Midwest Public Insurance Adjusters - AMPIA
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Furniture Repair & Refinish Odor Neutralizer Smoke Odor Counteracting Service Mold & Mildew Remediation Stump Removal & Grinding Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning Contractors - General Flood assistance Fire & Flood Emergency Service Tarps Carpet & Rug Cleaners Dry Cleaners Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)


Additional Locations

  • 7161 N Cicero Ave

    Lincolnwood, IL 60712 (847) 674-7875

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: proper permit was not obtained to do repairs to my home the permit# ********* does not cover scope of work repair due to fire damage. none of the of the repairs were inspected I was told per this company everything was at to code. Repairs to my home are incomplete there is mold and deepness still in my basement This company also forged my signature on a check for over $7000.00 dollars the work provided is substandard. I have repeatly asked his company to repair my home properly without progress.

Desired Settlement: I want compensation for repairs the wall in my home should be replaced walls need to be repainted basement walls need to be removed plumbing and electrical issues electrical and plumbing work needs to be inspected The repairs were not done correctly per city inspection Changes to structure of my home made without my permission

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/25) */ 9-23-15 Response to BBB complaint # ******** Response to dispute: Our company takes great pride in our services, professionalism and responsibility of taking care of the client's needs. We have been a leader in the industry for years for a reason. We service over hundreds of clients on a yearly basis during disaster situations. We pride ourselves on the efficiency, craftsmanship and professionalism of all our employees. Unfortunately there are times when a client is not cooperative and try's for lack of better words to short change us. This is again one of the times. Addressing the complaint of Ms. ********. There is currently a balance due on the repairs performed to her home. The balance due to the company is in excess of $30,000.00. Ms. ******** has demanded over $10,000 in order to turn over our payment. She has made complaints which we disagreed with but were nevertheless for good will agreeable to perform. For example she signed off on paint colors and later has demanded that such be changed and repainted. We asked on several occasions when we could gain access to the property to perform such. She again demanded over $10,000 stating she would rather have the money. What is occurring is she is asking for things to be done, not allowing us to perform such and then demanding thousands of dollars instead. Again we stand behind our work. We will perform all the repairs as agreed to in the contract. Currently she is in breach of contract for failure to pay the $30,000. It most noted that her insurance carrier agreed to pay for the repairs in the sum of approximately $126,266. Therefore there clearly remains a large balance due. Further, Ms. ******** complains about basement walls. Those walls were inspected by this office on several occasions and documented and disagreed with her assesment. Recently we appeared at the home to do the work that she was demanding and she failed to allow us in. We have conveyed to her at all times all information. In fact we performed extras which were not paid for by the insurance company. She has not paid us for that work. In summary, there is a balance due of over $30,000 plus the value of the extras that we did. We would like her to turn over those monies. We will not be held hostage for the balance due. We will, as always, stand behind our work. We are prepared to allow the court system to resolve our issues. We have tried every effort to accommodate Ms. *******'s. But we will not be held up for the $30,000 which remains due. Upon request for payments for services completed/due under the terms of the contract, she has refused to make payments in a timely fashion. She has gone to such extremes as to make inappropriate comments relating to the scope and the work. She has breached the written contract, not us. Given her inappropriate actions and her refusal to let us back into her home, such clearly establishes her true intentions. To simply get over $10,000 and profit on her fire loss. This office was left with no alternative but to start the legal action to file suit against Ms. ********. Again we are open to resolving the issues and believe we have performed services entitling us to our fees. It is Ms. ******** who is being unfair, untruthful and trying to withhold the $30,000 that is due to this company. Thank You. Staff at Preferred Fire and Flood Inc.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Preferred Fire & Flood Repair, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)