BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2001

Musick Loss Management, Inc.

Phone: (773) 529-9500Fax: (773) 529-96003101 N Western Ave, ChicagoIL 60618-6409 Send email to Musick Loss Management, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2001

BBB has determined that Musick Loss Management, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Musick Loss Management, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Musick Loss Management, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/15/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They befriended us to get the owners approval, once they found out where a majority of the claim dollars were, they abandoned our portion of the claim and stalled the repairs, it has been 4 months, and they still haven't finished the work. They are very rude and manipulative. In the beginning, they seemed professional and presented themselves as an emergency response team. But once we signed the contract with them, we have been at their mercy, and they have delayed the repairs of our store for months now. They told us they could be finished in a few short weeks. 1 month tops. No insurance info, no plan, hardly any communication. You can never get a hold of the people that can make decisions.

Desired Settlement
They promised us 3% kickback from our building owners claim. (we own a laundromat and pay rent)A majority of the claim falls under the building owners policy.

Business Response


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The documents they sent you were recovered by Minute Wash Chicago and the effort of the business. Musich Loss Management had nothing to do with the settlement paperwork received.

This is thier more of thier manipulative tactics. ***** ****** at west bend mutual can confirm that Musich Loss Management recovered nothing for minute wash and have confused and delayd tthe process if anything.
Please have them show you what paperwork confirms involvement with the Chicago Police. This is another false statement.
There have been no charges filed nor have we been contacted by the police. Nor have we received any form of compensation for the referral. Please have them show you paperwork confirming thier statements.
They didnt show you the contract we signed with them because it will prove through the dates that is was impossible for them to have recovered those funds.

Final Business Response
As previously outlined in our last response MLM agrees that we owe **** ******/Minute Wash a referral fee. Again, he will be paid once we receive the settlement funds from the building owner/insurance company. The building owner has yet to endorse the insurance company check over to us but will anticipate having these funds within 30 days. Upon receipt of funds the 3% referral fee will be given to the complainant. Please be advised that we will no longer respond to this complaint unless and until the 30 days as passed. At that point Mr. ******/Minute Wash the complainant can then follow up with his complaint. Our position remains the same until then.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We will believe it when we see a check in our mailbox. Until then, they have once again lied upon lied. In their first comments they used verbiage that gave us all the idea that the CPD were actively involved in an investigation. Now they magically removed themselves from any filings. ***THIS IS THE MANIPULATIONS AND WORDPLAY THEY USE!!!!*** They also noted that we received all of our money that's why they didn't need to proceed? THEY GOT INVOLVED IN JANUARY!!!! THEY SAT ON THE CLAIM FOR MONTHS HOLDING UP THE PROCESS FOR THEIR OWN SO-CALLED "profit" THEY WRAPPED INTO THE CLAIM!!! THIS IS ALL GARBAGE!! WE DO NOT BELIEVE THEY HAVE ANY INTENTION OF MAKING GOOD WITH US OR ANYONE INVOLVED!!!

NOTE FROM THE BBB:
Please advise when the check will be or was mailed.

***** ******
Assistant Manager-Home Services
BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

04/09/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Water Damage Restoration, Fire Damage Restoration, Adjusters, Building Restoration & Preservation

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/2001Business started: 08/01/1998
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Musick (President)
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Water Damage Restoration, Fire Damage Restoration, Adjusters, Building Restoration & Preservation

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Musick Loss Management, Inc.

3101 N Western Ave

Chicago, IL 60618-6409

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3101 N Western Ave 

    Chicago, IL 60618-6409(773) 529-9500

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Musick Loss Management, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Fire & Water Damage Restoration

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.