Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Illinois Building Contractors

Phone: (847) 421-5522 Fax: (847) 515-3263 2 Georgetown Ct, Algonquin, IL 60102


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Illinois Building Contractors include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Illinois Building Contractors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 30, 2010 Business started: 02/01/2008 Business started locally: 02/01/2008 Business incorporated 02/08/2008 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Lin, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Lin, Owner
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2 Georgetown Ct

    Algonquin, IL 60102 (847) 421-5522

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/26/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 2014 I phoned **** **** of *** Contracting requesting a quote to replace/rebuild my entire front outdoor porch,including joists, excluding the roof, and using tongue and groove materials to restore the historic character of the original porch. I specified the work to begin no earlier than August 2014. Shortly thereafter, *** **** of *** Contracting arrived to evaluate the project. *** **** later phoned me a proposal of $2550 to complete the requested work to include two persons for two full days of labor, not to include painting which we agreed I would perform the painting myself.I accepted and we further agreed I would be notified when they had a firm date to begin the project. On the evening of July 6, 2014 *** **** phoned me to state he intended to begin the project the following morning. I immediately advised him I was not prepared to move the start date up for several reasons including I would be out of state for several weeks beginning July 9 and therefore unable to immediately paint the porch, additionally I stated I needed to have work performed on the porch roof prior to rebuilding the supporting joists and floor. *** **** stated the porch should be done before replacing the roof and stated he would include patching any leaks prior to rebuilding the porch. He further stated delaying painting the porch due to my out of state trip not interfere with the project's outcome whatsoever. Based on his professional advise, I agreed to allow him to change the schedule for the work to be done.*** **** and another laborer arrived the following morning and began the project. Upon arrival, *** **** asked how I wanted the tongue and groove fastened and I expressed to nail the tongue into the joists. When they left my premises for their lunch break, I inspected the progress of the project and noticed the tear off was complete and the almost half of the new tongue and groove boards were already installed. Additionally, I noted the original joists had not been replaced, the original joists were still in place and being covered by the tongue and groove flooring. The tongue and groove that had already been fastened was riddled with splits preventing secure fastening to the old joists. When *** **** returned I addressed my observations with him and he assured me the joists didn't need to be replaced and he would give me a credit for not using new wood. He further stated he would fill in the wood splits and they would not cause any future issues. The following morning, *** **** returned by himself and performed 2 hours of work before declaring the project complete and absent an invoice verbally requested immediate payment of $2500.00, a reduction of $50.00 off the original quote for not utilizing new joists. I requested a receipt which he reluctantly provided, however, itemization of products and labor was not included on the receipt.Upon return from my trip I immediately began preparing the porch to paint, however painting was impossible due to constant rain the first weeks of August. On August 25, following extreme humid conditions, the boards on the porch buckled and warped severely due to poor fastening and lack of spacing for moisture expansion. I immediately contacted *** **** requesting he resolve the issues which he assured he would. *** **** arrived on August 28 and tore out two boards, replacing one of those with an end board in attempt to remedy the most severe buckle. He then vacated the premise without further discussion and without remedying the remaining buckling. *** **** mailed an additional bill to me, attempting to collect additional charges for the August 28 repair of one set of the buckled boards. He did not return to correct the remaining issues.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of $1000.00 reflective of 14 hours labor not provided as agreed, substandard material used and substandard workmanship provided. Actual labor was reduced by 14 hours from what was agreed upon. The full scope of the work was not completed. Contractor used the old joists without first consulting with me and receiving my authorization. Contractor used substandard untreated pine wood in an outdoor environment subject to extreme humidity and failed to space the boards appropriately to allow for expansion,failed to adequately fasten the boards and damaged the boards by improper fastener placement. Contractor did not fulfill the scope of work which was to rebuild/restore the porch to it's original historical quality.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Illinois Building Contractors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)