BBB Accredited Business since

Disaster Solution, Inc.

Phone: (815) 464-5500 Fax: (815) 464-8738 9509 Gulfstream Rd., Frankfort, IL 60423 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Disaster Solution, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Disaster Solution, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Disaster Solution, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 2002 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated 12/22/2000 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Cynthia Rimkus, Executive VP Andrea Mr. Steve Vani, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cynthia Rimkus, Executive VP
Number of Employees


Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Additional Locations

  • 9509 Gulfstream Rd.

    Frankfort, IL 60423 (815) 464-5500


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Home was damaged by water due to sump pump failure. Company removed carpet and dry wall and provided dehumidifiers and fans to dry out basement. Payment was made and the check was cashed by Company. Check was issued as "payment in full" but Company representative crossed out those words. A reduction to the billed amount was made by consumer as the invoice was incorrect by claiming sanitization and equipment was used when in fact it was not and was unneccessary. Attempts to resolve dispute with Company have failed. Company continues to bill consumer for what they claim is remaining balance.

Desired Settlement: Consumer seeks to have company stop sending invoices seeking additional payment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/17) */ 7/8/2014 email sent to customer, ***** I adjusted estimate for equipment from 3 days down to 2 days per thier request. I gave customer benenfit. however, there are other charges that we did that they did not pay for. They are trying to get out of paying thier bill in full. They had a insurance policy limit of $10,000.00. They did not have enough insurance to pay for their repairs so they are trying to get out of paying us in full. The owe us in full for our services. Dear ****** ********** We are in receipt of your check in the amount of $2,772.00. I reviewed your adjustments on Our estimate. We do not charge by the hour, only by the day. However I gave you the benefit of the doubt and Changed all equipment charges from 3 days to 2 days. However, the hourly charges are per man hour, the length of hours it took To perform a particular task. For example line item 15 for 6.5 hours, that does not mean 6.5 hours it took, but 3 men at 2.15 hours each. It is averaged out by the amount of equipment used. Thanks ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The Company DID NOT perform the services nor was equipment utilized for which they have billed. Consumer has tried repeatedly to help the Company understand that there was no damage to the homeowners utility room, for which they have included in the attached invoice. They have also padded the invoice for man hours and have charged for overages on man hours and equipment for unneccesary work. The basement doors and jambs did not need replacement yet Company removed them. The Consumer has paid $2,772.00 for services and the Company has accepted and cashed the check. Therefore, the Consumer has not, as stated by the Company: "They are trying to get out of paying thier bill in full." Also, the statement by the Company about the Consumers insurance coverage is not based on fact: "They had a insurance policy limit of $10,000.00. They did not have enough insurance to pay for their repairs so they are trying to get out of paying us in full. The owe us in full for our services." In fact, that statement by the Company is irrelevant to the matter at hand. The Company is desparately attempting to shift focus and blame. How could this Company possibly know whteher or not the Consumer had enough coverage to repair all damages? These statements and the unprofessionalism of this entire transaction along with the grammatical and other errors in the Company's response is indicative of their business operations. Attached is a revised invoice with corrections made by the Consumer. The adjusted amount was provided with a check enclosed which the Company wiilingly accepted and cashed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/09/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Consumer has already paid for services. Check was marked as paid in full, accepted and cashed by Company. Consumer has no obligation to compensate for services not performed. Company charged for services and equipment that was not used. No sanitizing agent was applied nor equipment used in the utility room of the basement, for which the Consumer was charged. In addition, hourly charges billed was incorrect. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/10/14) */

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ongoing issues with shoddy construction after house fire in 2005.In 2009 major repairs were done to fix roofing problems which included but not limited to roof shingle, ventilation and insulation problems which resulted in severe mold contamination.Mold was remediated but roof, insulation and ventilation problems in the center section of the house were not. These problems became a major issue last winter. Several contractors, our insurance company and the city have all confirmed the issues. We have contacted ***** ****, President of Disaster Solutions and gave him a list of the ten companies who inspected the attic alone with a copy of the estimates of repair. He has responded but feel he continues to deflect and stonewall the issues. We must now initiate repairs immediately to insure they are completed by the winter. Mr. **** was first contacted on 2/05/2014. A copy of our 8/5/14 email to him which includes the estimates is available. Product_Or_Service: Reconstruction

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Fixing the roof. Install adequate ventilation. Replace deficient and damaged insulation in the roof and windows. Reimbursement for out of pocket costs including repair of a window the was damaged due to the mold. Consider damages for subsequent health issues.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/05) */ Case XXXXXXXX 1 message ***** **** <*****> Thu, Sep 4, 2014 at 11:09 AM To: ******* In response to Mr. *** ********** complaint...... In 2006 Mr. ********** had a house fire that included removing and replacing the roof and several ceiling joists on his house. They wanted a vaulted ceiling in the master bedroom as opposed to the original attic over the master bedroom. So we installed Larger roof rafters and insulated between the rafters with batt insulation. 3 years later, Mr. ********** had mold on His master bedroom ceiling. Disaster Solution removed the drywall and we discovered the insulation was touching the Top of the plywood under roof shingles. As a result, hot, moist air was getting trapped between the insulation and the plywood And not exiting thru the ridge vent at the peak of the roof. Moisture was building up and this caused mold to form. There was Never a problem outside on top of the roof. So we removed the drywall, attached baffles (creates a gap between insulation and plywood) on the plywood from the exterior wall up to the ridge vent. These baffles allow air to pass thru the gap from the soffit vents and exit thru the ridge vent at the top of the roof. We replaced the insulation and drywall and repaired the room. No other problems were reported in this room after the repair. 5 years later and 8 years after the fire repair I received a call from Mr. ********** in February 14' that he was having mold problems in his attic over The main part of the house. During my site inspection, Mrs. ********** who I met with told me they were in the attic in December and there was no mold at that time, so the mold just occurred. No problem over the master bedroom which we fixed in 2009. I discovered that his ridge vent on the roof was blocked with ice and snow, same concept as before. The moist hot air was not escaping his attic Which resulted in mold growth. This occurred a lot this year in many homes this past winter because the weather stayed below freezing for such a long period of time. Below is my investigation finding and report to Mr. ********** back in February.... ***, Your problem is not with the vents or insulation, if this were the case we would have seen a problem 9 years earlier during the first winter. The R-38 insulation is the correct R-Value per 2009 energy codes. The soffit vents and attic baffles are the original vents from 9 years ago and there was never a problem with air flow in the past. We could double the amount of soffit vents but you will still have the same problem. You do not have a problem with outside air getting inside the attic, the problem is the air cannot get out of the attic because your ridge vent is blocked with ice and Snow (see photos I sent you in previous email). This abnormal winter we are experiencing has caused your ridge vent to become obstructed. The only way that I can see to prevent this in the future is to add turtle vents or secondary vents so the air can escape if the ridge vent becomes obstructed again. If the air cannot get thru the ridge vent it has no place to go. As a result, the cold air mixes with the 82 degree air coming from your furnace flu chase hence condensing and changing into moist air, in your case attic humidity level of 66.2% . If it cannot escape the attic the ambient air changes into an atmosphere of ideal conditions for mold growth. All it needs is cellulose materials (food for mold) to feed on. In this case, the paper and wood materials. Mold Solutions said they cannot do anything until spring to kill the mold. They also have a guy that can install additional roof vents his name is **** ******, ph# XXX XXX-XXXX. Your solution is already been planned out for you by Mold Solutions. Please do not hesitate to call if you have any questions, office # XXX XXX-XXXX. Thanks ***** Hence, after my inspection the mold problem has been fixed by Mold Solutions for free, they covered under their warranty. Back in 2009 after the first incident we had mold solutions treat the entire attic And this is why it was under warranty. Mr ********** has since got a couple of estimates to upgrade his insulation from R-38 which was code at the time to R-60 among other upgrades. Attached is a breakdown of the estimates he submitted to me that he wants Disaster Solution to pay for.... Superior Insulation and Attic Inc. - $2,637.00 -exhaust bath fan $185.00 -install attic fan $545.00 -install 5 roof vents $375.00 -Insulate wall in attic $200.00 -Repair old insulation $125.00 -Uprade insulation To R-60 $978.00 -install insulated Attic tent $329.00 Total: $2,637.00 G&L Construction - $3,140.00 ($3,140.00 includes 1 soffit vent, add $60.00 per soffit vent) -Remove siding on chimney cap, reflash $1600.00 & counterflash chimney cut siding up at walls 1" install $700.00 4"x4"x8" tins -install soffit vents on house $69.00 per vent house -Remove existing ridge vent and install snow country II vents $780.00 $3,140.00 Originally before the fire, he had only 3 soffit vents. When we completed the repairs you can see in the photos that we installed a lot more than he originally had. He wants Disaster Solution to add additional soffit vents. I also included a photo of the house during my February inspection. You can see the exterior conditions At the time. With all due respect to Mr. **********, our repairs were completed with a Village of ********* Building permit, we passed *** rough and final building dept. inspections. Our position is his attic mold problem was a result of last years cold long winter, not a result of our workmanship. If there was a problem with the construction he would of had mold During the first winter, no 8 years later. Thank you for your time ***** ****

4/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3/16/14 on 2/20/14 my home has water storm damage to my roof, garage roof, & personal property. I called my insurance co., usaa/***** XXXXXXX-XXXX that night about 6pm asking for immediate help to stop water pouring into my home & garage from holes in my roof by storm. usaa rep' ***** at ext XXXXX said over the phone that a disaster response team would come to my home & put a temporary tarp & patch up any holes in my home/garage roof's but no one from usaa ever came. two days later on sat 2/22/14 after calling usaa several times. a guy-***** from disaster solutions called me & sent his worker about 10am to assist me at my home with the damage. *****'s worker used a bag of my salt to put on a section of my home roof to melt some snow then he said he would be back the next day sunday 2/23/14 to put up tarp's etc., on my roof where water had leaked in from the storm. but on sun 2/23/14-***** nor his worker came back to my house to finish the work/put any tarp's or board up on my house or garage roof's. I called ***** on sunday 2/23/14 about 3pm & he said he was out of town... no one else from disaster solutions, ***** or his worker came back to my home to finish the work. (3/13/14 by mail i received a bill from *****/disaster solutions for $275 to pay for board up & salt. well this is fraud!!!) i immediately called ***** & his worker about the fraudulent bill & ***** said I owed him this money. then I called & faxed usaa a copy of disaster solutions bill invoice #XX-XXXXwr & spoke to usaa rep' ******* ***** XXXXXXX-XXXX ext XXXXX, faxXXXXXXX-XXXX. i also told ******* the bill from ***** is fraud & ***** nor his worker never boarded up anything on or around my house. i have witnesses, my neighbors & child. *****'s worker with his ladder trying to get on my roof -also damaged my dryer vent exhaust duct outside of my house back wall. please see attached invoice/bill attached.***** XXXXXX-XXXX XXXXXX-XXXX worker XXXXXX-XXXXusaa corporate XXX-XXX-XXXX po box XXXXX tampa,fl XXXXX. Product_Or_Service: none Order_Number: none Account_Number: XX-XXXXwr

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund 3/16/17 i need for ***** and usaa to send me bill that says zero 0 balance so i won't be charged neither my usaa insurance usaa corporate office/insurance commissioner, insurance commissioner for the state of il,disabled veterans legal department- i am a disabled navy veteran.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/03) */ On Saturday, 2/22/14 we responded to Ms ****** ***** 's home after she said water was pouring into her house causing extensive damage. This was during heavy ice storm so we were very busy with calls. I contacted our board up company we sometimes use when we are overloaded, AAA board up. I called them on Saturday and told them Ms. ***** very concerned about water coming into her home, she told us she thinks there was a hole in her roof. AAA board up went to site asap that same day, he arrived and discovered roof section covered in ice, nothing we could do until ice melts. AAA called me back said nothing he could tarp at the moment because of the ice, I instructed him to go to store, purchase ice and put it on the roof so we can see what is going on after ice is melted. He told this to Ms. ***** and she signed a service order in the amount of $215.00 for weekend service call, see attached signed form which includes a 30lb bag of salt. We had to wait for the ice to melt so I told Ms. ***** my estimator would come out on Monday to inspect. I never told her someone would come out on Sunday, the ice would not melt that fast. She did call on Sunday but I was out of town and said someone would be there tomorrow to inspect. My estimator went to side, ice was melted enough to see there was no hole in the roof. Also, we discovered minor interior damage to structure. Damage did not exceed her $1,000.00 deductible. She had personal property damage but this was not covered by the insurance. Therefore, with damage under deductible insurance company was not going to pay out any money on this claim. As a result customer responsible for payment. Our company, Disaster Solution Inc. is allowed to charge a minimum of $275.00 on weekends for any service. Price is dictated to us by insurance software known as Xactimate. We invoiced Ms. ***** for our services in the amount of $275.00, out of this we have to pay our sub $215.00, The invoice stated "board up and salt on roof". Ms. ***** called me upset stating that we did not do any board up and she is not paying the bill. I explained the invoice wording was incorrect and agreed with her we did not do any board up. We just did the emergency service and salt. She would not listen to me and started yelling saying she is not paying, this is fraud and she is contacting her attorney and the BBB. She is doing this so she does not have to pay for services. This is what happened. See attached invoice that she signed approving services from AAA board up. I am willing to waive our fee if she would just pay $215.00 that she agreed to so we can pay AAA and conclude this. Thank you ***** **** President Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 4/9/14 i dont accept any response or charges from disaster solutions-again this is fraud on behalf of disaster solutions & usaa & I never signed any ticket "my name is a forged-signature." there wasn't any work or board up performed by disaster solutions. and my insurance company usaa I've reported them as well to the il insurance commissioner with legal action pending against them & disaster solutions. usaa can pay them if they want but not out of my homeowners insurance next door neighbor is a witness and was present at the time. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/04/15) */ I discussed claim with our insurance carrier client and Disaster Solution Inc. decided to credit the customer so we can conclude this complaint. The credit invoice was sent on April 9th, 2014. See attached form. Thank you for your time ***** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/04/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) please see usaa letter of a 0 balance for disaster solutions. thank u bbb