Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Brouwer Brothers Steamatic

Phone: (708) 396-1444 Fax: (708) 396-1448 View Additional Phone Numbers 4120 W 123rd St, Alsip, IL 60803 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.brouwerbrothers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brouwer Brothers Steamatic meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brouwer Brothers Steamatic include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Brouwer Brothers Steamatic
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 24, 2003 Business started: 06/01/1969 Business started locally: 06/01/1969 Business incorporated 03/25/1974 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Brouwer, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Brouwer, President
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Furniture Cleaning Mold & Mildew Remediation Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation Grout Resurfacing & Repair Upholstery and Rug Cleaning Carpet & Rug Cleaners Drapery & Curtain Cleaners Duct Cleaning Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Alternate Business Names
Steamatic Chicago South & West Inc. Steamatic Chicago South West Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers Cleaning and Restoration


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brouwer Brothers Steamatic has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brouwer Brothers restored our house after a terrible house fire. If you can call what Brouwer Brothers did to restore our home. Brouwer Brothers did not know any of the building codes. Brouwer Brothers had a excuse for everything. If they where suppose to be working on rebuilding our home in a timely manner they would not do what they where suppose to do. There where several delays in everything they did through out the whole process. Our crawl space was suppose to be sealed before the rebuild of our house. Brouwer Brothers did not seal our crawl space and we now have a indoor swimming pool. we never had water in our crawl space before the fire. And now we have a in door pool. Brouwer Brothers stated to us that the crawl space was not included in the estimate for the rebuild of our home. And we are suppose to live with the water in the crawl space because they are not gonna fix the water problem because Brouwer thinks it was a pre existing problem from before. And it was not a problem before the fire. I have not ever heard of a restoration company that could not get rid of a water problem. Especially if they specialize in water restoration . I would not recommend this company to anybody.

Desired Settlement: WE want Brouwer Brothers Steamatic.to fix the damage that was done to the crawl space.Install the proper equipment to keep it dry.And any other damages that occurred from the water damage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/18) */ Contact Name and Title: *****/Operations Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@brouwerbrothers.com In response to the complaint: Brouwer Brothers has been in business for 46 Years providing a professional service. We did know all of the building codes,having passed all of our inspections in order for the home owner to gain occupancy.We are still in great standings with the village building department. The crawl space was not a part of the contracted work,from the start of the project there was standing water in the crawl space. Our contract was to build the client a new home which we did ; not to fix the crawl space water issues. There are countless other homes in this particular neighborhood which have standing water in their crawl space. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In response to Brouwer Brothers Statement.We never received a formal contract that we know of. Just the paperwork from the insurance company.On the costs of everything because we looked though all our paperwork. The insurance company.American Family has no copy of the contract nor does the mortgage company. Citi mortgage. No one seems to know anything about the original contract. We have made numerous attempts trying to locate the original contract. As far as damage caused by Brouwer Brothers goes . We feel they are responsible for these damages which are as follow. Our brand new gas dryer was damaged by a Brouwer Brothers employee. The dryer was damaged by one of there workers. The brand new dryer was dented. There was bran new plumbing installed from the house to the street. The crawl space was also insulated. And also visqueen was installed because of the plumbing that was installed because the crawl space was not sealed. We believe the plumbing from the house to the street was not sealed. We have pictures of before and after of the crawl space. We have other unresolved problems still pending from this company still ! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/01) */ We have submitted a Signed copy of the Contract as well as a Signed copy of the Certificate of Completion of Repairs Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/10/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There was a lot of things that were not in the contract. called freebies. Like the new plumbing that they installed. The clean out in front of the house .Replacing all the main plumbing to the street ' But how quickly we found out about Brouwer Brothers freebies. We where charged for all of these freebies and many others . we still have several repairs that need to be repaired by this company. As per the contract for the rebuild of this house some or most of the paper work processed was signed not by the legal mortgage . holder Which not makes the paper work legal and binding. Most of the contract was processed that way. The contract was signed under false pretenses And because of these conditions we cannot accept there proposal

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Brouwer Brothers Steamatic
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart