Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Accurate Biometrics, Inc.

Phone: (773) 685-5805 Fax: (773) 205-4020 View Additional Phone Numbers 4849 N Milwaukee Ave  Ste 101, Chicago, IL 60630 http://www.accuratebiometrics.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Accurate Biometrics, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Accurate Biometrics, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Accurate Biometrics, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 17, 2006 Business started: 09/01/1999 in IL Business started locally: 09/01/1999 Business incorporated 07/17/2000 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Peggy Critchfield, President/Owner Mr. James Critchfield, Executive Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Peggy Critchfield, President/Owner
Business Category

Fingerprinting Management Consultants Business Services - General Investigation Services (NAICS: 561611)


Additional Locations

  • 4849 N Milwaukee Ave
    Ste 101

    Chicago, IL 60630 (866) 361-9944 (773) 685-5805

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unfortunately I was given the news today that instead of receiving our Broker's License this week - we would have to wait another 4 - 6 weeks because my fingerprints were rejected twice due to the quality of the fingerprints taken by Accurate Biometrics. Here are the series of notable events: May 6, 2015: Passed Life, Accident & Health Insurance Test and took fingerprints on-sight with Accurate Biometrics vendor. Vendor was rude and rushed. I could see that the fingerprints taken by the system was rejecting them constantly but the individual would override the system and accept them. May 20, 2015: Went back to the same location in downtown Los Angeles to retake my fingerprints after receiving a notice through the mail that they were rejected. Again - the same individual that took my original fingerprints displayed the same attitude (rushed and rude) and again would override the system that clearly would state on the screen that the quality was not good enough. June 3, 2015: Absolute latest day we should've received our license - but have been told we will have to wait another 4 - 6 weeks because the fingerprints taken by the vendor was not clear and rules state that fingerprints are no longer accepted after 2 attempts. They would be combing through the entire database using names which can take a very long time. I have been more than cooperative by taking time out of my day of running 2 companies to go back to downtown LA (where I do not live nor work) and followed all procedures and rules. I have lost valuable time and money to just be denied again. It is clear that Accurate Biometrics was not able to fulfill their duties - and all I wanted was a refund of the $68.95 to record my fingerprints. I reached out to ****** ***** as instructed by the operator at Accurate Biometrics. She was not helpful and only said that I wouldn't receive a refund - even though it is the fault of the person working the machine that my fingerprints were improperly taken and therefore rejected. Because of Accurate Biometrics' negligence, our work suffers and our revenue will take a setback. I have tried to work this issue out with Accurate Biometrics directly - but as they did not want to do so, I am going through all channels to submit complaints via this site, the Feneral Trade Commission and to the California Department of Insurance directly. I strongly feel that Accurate Biometrics was in the wrong and instead of trying to work with me - instead they choose to just walk away. Really unfortunate.

Desired Settlement: Only the fees that I had to pay to get my fingerprints: $68.95

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/10) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************@accuratebiometrics.com I am writing to respond to Complaint #XXXXXXXX, and to thank the consumer for letting us know of their disappointment with their fingerprints being rejected a second time by the FBI, their concern over how the fingerprint technician and our customer service supervisor handled the fingerprinting process on the phone or in person, and the additional wait times for a final disposition of the fingerprint inquiry for their fingerprints. We will certainly address the customer service concerns with the fingerprint technician and the customer service supervisor; we do not tolerate poor customer service from any of our staff. Additionally, I will address the amount paid for the service and some confusion in that actual cost. Fingerprints reject for a number of reasons, not the least of which is a fingerprint technician error. Both the ********** Department of Justice and the FBI have specific procedures for handling fingerprints that reject, and we have no choice but to follow their procedure which is: to capture the fingerprint by obtaining the best possible quality on the Livescan scanner. If the fingerprint rejects, then the fingerprint must be taken again. If the second set of fingerprints rejects, then the FBI defaults to a NAME CHECK and no additional fingerprinting is required. Our technicians do everything possible to take the best possible electronic fingerprints. And, our equipment is certified by the ********** Department of Justice and the FBI for fingerprint capture. However, if there are inherent quality issues with the person's fingerprints (cracks in the fingerprints, scars on the fingerprints, or the print quality is just not easily read by the livescan fingerprint machine), then the fingerprints will reject. For example, if a person worked in certain trades where their fingerprint ridges were "worn" due to repeated handling of certain materials (bricks, for example), then their fingerprints wouldn't be as readable as someone who didn't use their hands to lift similar materials. Fingerprint technicians are trained to try and capture the best possible quality of fingerprints, but some fingerprints just can't be electronically captured and readable when submitted to an AFIS system (Automated Fingerprint Identification System). But, at the time of fingerprinting, since they were captured using Livescan fingerprinting processes, the technician must take the best quality prints they can and even if the prints appear to be of poor readable quality, they will default and submit the fingerprints to the ********** Department of Justice, who then also sends them to the FBI. Like I mentioned earlier, the FBI has a procedure for handling the reprint process: the first time the fingerprints reject, a notice is sent indicating the person would need to come back and get re-fingerprinted (just like you described); once re-fingerprinted, if those fingerprint reject the second time then rather than coming in to get fingerprinted a second time, the notice indicates (words to the effect) there will be no more fingerprints taken and instead a "name check" will be used in lieu of a fingerprint. The logic is if a fingerprint rejects 2 times, it would reject if done a 3rd, 4th, or 5 time. So, after the second rejection, there is no more fingerprints and your name would be checked by the FBI. What I have just described is the FBI reject process; in your case, the processed worked just as designed. We have less than 2% of our fingerprints reject and need to be reprintedwell within compliance with the Department of Insurance requirements. Like you, I wouldn't want my fingerprints to reject and have to go through this processplease understand this isn't our process; it's the FBI's process that we must follow. Not being involved in the actual service experience with both our technician and Ms. ****** I can't say what exactly took place. But I can tell you I will be very involved to make sure the customer service requirements we have for working with our customers on the phone or in person are followed and reinforce the requirements that they never to be compromised. Let me talk about your request for a refund of $68.95. I'm really not sure where this figure came from; hence the delay in not getting back to you the same day as receiving this notice. Our price in California is $58.30 for the first set of fingerprints, and there is NO CHARGE for the second set of fingerprinting. Could you be mistaken about even coming to Accurate Biometrics? It is our understanding another fingerprint company processes fingerprints for $68.95 (a company called PSI). I can confirm that Accurate Biometrics did fingerprint you twice, but not at the price of $68.95. Because the FBI process worked exactly as designed when your fingerprints, we are not able to refund your $68.95maybe it was another company that you paid for the fingerprints; but our records show that only $58.30 was paid to us for the fingerprints we took. I hope this explanation is helpful in explaining the confusion on whether or not the fingerprints rejected belonged to Accurate Biometrics and the reasons why we cannot refund any money paid when the systems that were put in place by the FBI and the ********** Department of Insurance worked exactly as designed. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have provided our fingerprinting services to you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I appreciate your response - and you are correct that the expense was $58.30. I am requesting that I receive my $58.30 back as a refund for services that were not delivered as expected. Our company had expected to receive our license at a certain time and due to the fingerprinting failing, our business suffered. We are not seeking any other action - only to receive our payment to Accurate Biometrics back. I have not worked with materials, like you mentioned, that would alter or scar my fingerprints. In fact, I have taken fingerprints before with other companies and have never run into an issue like this. At the end of the day, it doesn't matter if I am part of the 2% of failure that you expect. I also strongly believe that the blame shouldn't be placed on the FBI department nor the ********** Department of Insurance. What I believe is part of good customer service is: if the services you are meant to provide somehow falls through more than once, you should do all that you can to refund the customer - it is as you say less than 2% of your entire business. We too run a nationwide business and are 100% focused on the satisfaction of our customers. I would expect that Accurate Biometrics would do the right thing and provide good customer service by looking out for every one of the individuals that they service. At this point every interaction I have had with your company consists of excuses and blaming outside entities like the FBI processes, CDI's processes, and even my fingers themselves, which I find incredibly unfortunate. I sincerely hope Accurate Biometrics does the right thing in this case as well as any future cases like this that may happen again.

7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Accurate Biometrics location in Palatine to have my fingerprinting done for a FBI/State background check in order to receive a professional license on 1/5/15, original prints were taken and submitted by technician AJ. On 2/21/15 I received a letter from the state saying my prints were rejected by the FBI for code L0118- Erroneous or incomplete fingerprint(s) on images; fingers or hands out of sequence, printed twice, missing, and no reason given. The letter went on to say in detail that L2/L3 out of place, L2 missing roll print and duplicate prints received regarding Transaction Control Number: LSXXXXXLXXXXXXXX. Original payment was $62.00 and I was charged a reprinting fee of $10.00 for the company to fix their mistake, more importantly it has resulted in a delay obtaining my registered nursing license from the state causing me to remain at my current position at least one month longer. The financial difference between the two positions is roughly $1800 monthly. Accurate Biometrics uses a "live scan" computerized fingerprinting technology that will automatically give warning and rejection prompts when a fingerprint scan has been rejected so I'm not really sure how or why I wasn't re-printed at the time of my original transaction.

Desired Settlement: I don't need a statement from Accurate Biometrics. I would like them to fix whatever issue that caused my prints to be accepted by their system but rejected by the FBIs. Whether it be a programing issue or a staff training issue. The service they provide has major impacts on peoples lives and their business practice should mirror that.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/24) */ Contact Name and Title:***************** EVP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email:************************************ Thank you, Mr. ******, for letting us know about this issue. We went back and reviewed this transaction and have determined that your fingerprints were of good quality, but our fingerprint technician duplicated the middle finger. Our equipment, made by CrossMatch Technologies, does give a warning that there is a sequencing problem; however, it doesn't prohibit further fingerprinting capture and going forward we are going to work with the manufacturer to see if they can have a "lock out" feature programmed that would prevent a fingerprinting technician from continuing to capture fingerprint images if they are out of sequence. We will certainly make sure our training materials are revised to require all of our technicians to stop and go no further IF an error message indicates there is a sequencing problem with the fingerprints. You should have not been charged the $10 for a reprint, even though a different technician captured your second set of fingerprints. We will gladly refund the $10 you were charged and will send you a check immediately. Please advise if your second set of prints were cleared with no problems. You may call me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have worked for safe passage the previous two years so I was expecting the process to go as usual I get my background check and it would be sent to my employer before school starts so that I would be able to work.school started september 2nd I had my background check done on august 12th which I paid $58 dollars for.I continued to go to a paid training and got a call from the safe passage vendor that the week before school start I have to come get my work vest and phone.The day of the phone and vest pick up I called to see what time I could come and I was told my background check hasnt come back and as of today school has been going on for two weeks and I have got passed up on my position and was told that they hired everyone for the school year now I'm out of work not to mention I have been working this job the past 2 years .I find it a waste of my money that I did a background check for a job and since accurate biometrics still hasnt delivered my results I don't even get that job. Now I need my $58 dollars back more than ever I have a baby due in december and because I didnt get the safe passage position I'm all messed up. Accurate biometrics reuined my life.

Desired Settlement: As of now I just won't my refund of $58 that I paid and since the background check still has not been sent to the employer they can keep it I didnt get the job and they did their hiring already.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/10) */ Contact Name and Title:**************** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********************************** ******** ******* was fingerprinted on 8/12/14 for the Safe Passage ******* within The Chicago Public Schools, and we transmitted the fingerprints the same day. We received an acknowledgment from the Illinois State Police confirming that they received the fingerprint submission August 12with a time stamp of 16:55 PM, and then the Illinois State Police sent the fingerprint responses back to Chicago Public Schools. Upon receipt of this complaint, we emailed Chicato Public Schools security to check to be sure they did receive the results. Ms. ************, at Chicago Public Schools, confirmed that they had received the results of the background check and that they (CPS) sent a notification was to the employer of Mr. ******* on August 15th letting them know that they had received a response for Mr ******* but that he needed to contact CPS regarding the submission. We cannot refund any money paid as the job we were paid to do was performed as contracted, and the responses received by CPS well before the school year started. We suggest Mr ******* contact his employer/Safe Passage ****** as recommended by Ms. ****** of Chicago Public Schools as they have the results, and have had them for some time. I apologize; I forgot to put my title next to my name: ***** ***********, Executive VP

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I has my fingerprintes taken on December 13, 2013 at 9:30 a.m. at ************************ as part of an application with the Illinois State Police. ********* is a subcontractor with Accurate Biometrics. After having the prints taken, I was given a transaction control number (TCN) that I was to include with my application with the Illinois State Police. I attempted to complete my application on January 3, 2014 at 4:30 p.m. because my fingerprints were not transferred to the Illinois State Police. At 5:00 p.m., I called ************************ to inform them of this situation. I told them that I expected the fingerprints would have been delivered by now. The told me to contact Accurate Biometrics via e-mail, as they were the firm charged with delivering the fingerprints to the Illinois State Police. I e-mailed Accurate Biometrics at 5:30 p.m. with the information that I was requested to supply. At 7:00 p.m., I followed my e-mail up with a Facebook message to Accurate Biometrics to ensure that this matter would be handled promptly. As part of my message, I told them that I felt as if I paid for a service that was not fully delivered. I received a Facebook message at 7:10 p.m., stating that I would be contacted once my issue is fixed. I received an e-mail at 9:30 a.m. this morning (January 4) stating that my fingerprints were delivered to the Illinois State Police at 7:43 p.m. on January 3. I was also told that I was to take up any additional issues with the Illinois State Police. In sum, my issues with Accurate Biometrics are as follows: 1) I paid for the service on December 13, but it was not fully delivered until January 3 (or three weeks later); 2) At the time of service delivery, I left with the understanding that my fingerprints would be immediately delivered to the Illinois State Police. This did not occur; 3) I did not fully receive my service until I e-mailed and Facebooked them to follow up with the issues that I was facing. This indicates less than stellar customer service; and 4) I still cannot apply with the Illinois State Police to complete my application, as they have not acknowledged receipt of my fingerprints. Thus, my original issue remains.

Desired Settlement: More than a refund, I want this matter to be made right.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/07) */ Contact Name and Title: *****************, Pres. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ext.228 Contact Email: ************@accuratebiometrics.com Hello Mr. *******, I am writing to respond to your complaint and want to thank you for letting us know about the problem you are experiencing with your concealed carry application. Accurate Biometrics received notification from the Illinois State Police that they would start to process on line concealed carry license applications earlier than the targeted date of January 5, 2014, and instead would be accepting applications for process January 2, 2014. Prior to this notification, Accurate Biometrics had successfully completed testing of this type of fingerprint record with the Illinois State Police and was therefore confident that fingerprint records transmitted after December 12, 2013 would successfully process at the Illinois State Police. We, along with other fingerprint vendors using certain types of livescan equipment, encountered an unforeseen, and not previously identified problem, with the formatting of the fingerprint records and had been working with the Illinois State Police to resolve the problem. The problem was resolved, however there was a backlog of records queued for transmission to the Illinois State Police. The early release of the on line application (originally targeted for January 5, 2014) resulted in some records not being within the Illinois State Police system when the online application was released early on January 2, 2014 (please visit our website to view the television special featuring ******************, of the Illinois State Police, and announcing the application process would begin on January 5, 2014). Our company worked very hard, bringing in extra resources, to resolve this backlog as quickly as possible. In addition to our staffed, toll free, customer service phone line, we initiated a dedicated email address and monitored and responded to inquiries as they were received. We have a direct submission line to the Illinois State Police, and have confirmed that your record was successfully received into the Illinois State Police system on January 3, 2014, at 7:43 pm. We have called the Illinois State Police on your behalf and have been told your records are still in process; the next step would be for the Illinois State Police to send the records to the Firearms Services Bureau after the fingerprint records process. The final process of having your Transaction Control Number (TCN) available to match the on line application is internal to the Illinos State Police and Accurate Biometrics has no control over the concealed carry application process once the fingerprint records are transmitted by us to the Illinois State Police. We certainly apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during the early stages of this roll-out of the application process. And, we certainly understand you paid for your service on December 13, 2013; however, the service, including the transmission of your fingerprint record, wasn't scheduled to begin until January 5, 2014--it subsequently began earlier than planned on January 2, 2014. But, please know that your fingerprint records are in the hands of the Illinois State Police and are in process. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to be of service to you, and thank you for bringing this to our attention. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thanks for providing a much fuller explanation of the circumstances surrounding fingerprinting and the Illinois State Police, as it is much appreciated.

9/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had an account with Accurate Biometrics (statement #XXXXXXXXX) which involved a $500 escrow account we sent to them in December-2012. We only used their services twice (final use approximately February-2013). On 6/26/2013 I spoke to ************ on their staff to close our account and requested a refund of our account balance. Julie told me that we would receive a refund of our $500 account balance shortly. A month later we had not received anything from Accurate Biometrics. On 7/25/2013 I called to inquire about the status and received a call back from "*****" who informed me she talked to Julie about our account. ***** said my information was sent to the controller who had mailed my check which should arrive within two weeks. On 8/7/2013 I called ***** and left a voicemail inquiring about the status of the check since two weeks had passed and we had not yet received any check. I did not receive a reply to this voicemail. On 8/13 I called ***** again to inquire about an update on the status of our check. This time ***** said she would look into it and promised to provide me with an update by the next day. On 8/14 I received a call from *************** who informed me that the check was mailed on the previous Monday (8/12/2013) and I should expect to receive it within a week. We never received any check. On 8/22/2013 I left a voicemail on ***** extension and have not yet received a response or more importantly a check. Every time we talk to somebody at Accurate Biometrics there is a new claim of "the check's in the mail" but nothing has ever arrived despite their numerous excuses and different claims that it is en-route. Personally, our business was sold earlier this year and we are merely waiting on this one check to close out the business' accounts - unfortunately the two month delay to receive this check has now cost us more than the check's value in maintaining the business accounts.

Desired Settlement: I merely want the $500 account balance refund that I have been repeatedly told has been sent to me. Since I have been given incorrect information (or no response) from my previous five conversations with Accurate Biometrics, I am merely seeking some assistance for them to fulfill their commitment to our business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/27) */ Contact Name and Title: **************** Esec. VP Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX ext. 225 Contact Email: ************@accuratebiometrics.com I connected, by phone, with Mr. ******* on Friday, August 23, 2013. The confirmed the check was sent to Mr. ******* on August 5, 2013 (copy attached). However, while the check was sent to the correct address, it seems the problem was the check did not indicate the office number. Because the individual office unit number was missing (in the address field) the check never got to Mr. *******. It should be noted that all previous correspondence went to the same address, without the office number, and delivered; in this case, delivery failed. In the case number XXXXXXXX, Mr. ******* had a different address, so when I spoke with him I wanted to make sure that any replacement check went to the correct address. Mr. ******* indicated that sending it to the address given in the case number would be fine. I asked Mr. ******* if he would like for me to cut a new check and personally deliver it to him; he indicated that would not be necessary--so we sent a new check to Mr. ******* on Friday, August 23, 2013 via UPS Overnight service (tracking number IZ EXX XXX XX XXXX-XXXX) and I am pleased to say Mr. ******* received his check on Monday, August 26, 2013. Sincerely, *** *********** ACCURATE BIOMETRICS Final Consumer Response /* (450, 9, 2013/09/04) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Accurate Biometrics, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)