Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kensington Research & Recovery-Chicago

Additional Locations

Phone: (312) 220-0001 Fax: (815) 464-9743 View Additional Phone Numbers 209 W Jackson, Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60606 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.kensington-research.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kensington Research & Recovery-Chicago meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kensington Research & Recovery-Chicago include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kensington Research & Recovery-Chicago
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2002 Business started: 12/26/1999 Business started locally: 12/26/1999 Business incorporated 08/01/2002 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frank Dal Bello, Director Mr. E. J. DalBello, President Mr. Douglas Fournier, General Counsel
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Dal Bello, Director
Business Category

Financial Services Unclaimed Funds Retrieval Services Investment Advice (NAICS: 523930)

Alternate Business Names
Kensington Research & Recovery-Frankfort Kensington Research and Recovery, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 209 W Jackson, Suite 800

    Chicago, IL 60606

  • P.O. Box 405

    Frankfort, IL 60423

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ******* of Kensington Research and Recovery called on July 2nd and left a message with my daughter. She stated that I had unpaid property taxes and the deadline for paying those property taxes was Monday July 7th. After returning home I researched with my mortgage company and with the **** County Treasurer and discovered that I am fully current on my property taxes. I find this scare tactic to elicit my business disgusting and reprehensible. I am not fully versed in the law but if it is not illegal, it should be. The property referenced in this is **** W. ******* Dr. ***** ******** IL XXXXX.

Desired Settlement: I'm not searching for a settlement. I simply want to report this disgusting business practice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/11) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* Dir Oper Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@kensington-research.com I attempted to contact Mr. ****** twice, via the telephone number he provided, to clarify the purpose of our phone call and attempt to resolve his concern. Unfortunately I was unable to reach Mr. ******. I left two messages and he never returned my calls. Below is my attempt to provide that clarification in writing. Our company contacted Mr. ****** on July 2nd to inform him that we felt his property was overassessed and that we think it would be in his interest to appeal his property's assessment. Mr. ******' property is in ***** Township and the deadline to appeal at the Assessor's office for tax year 2014 was Monday, July 7, 2014. This was the information that we attempted to leave in a message for Mr. ******. All of our representatives are well trained on the property tax appeal process and we have a high level of quality control systems, and personnel, in place to ensure the accurate delivery of information. Our representatives have no reason to discuss the status of whether or not a property tax bill has been paid, nor do they have access to this information. Furthermore, the current tax bills issued by the Treasurer's office are for the 2nd installment of tax year 2013. Our phone call had to do with appealing for the 2014 tax year. Although Mr. ****** missed the deadline to appeal at the Assessor's office I would like to inform him that he will have another opportunity to appeal his 2014 assessment at the Board of Review later this year. I would be happy to discuss this process with him in detail if he would like to contact me. If not, then I will take this opportunity to inform him that we feel a fair assessment of his property should be 28,676, not his current assessment of 34,344. Should his assessment be reduced to 28,676 his total 2014 property taxes (paid in 2015) would be reduced by approximately $1,200 based on the current equalization factor and tax rate for his property. It is our mission at Kensington to help ensure, either with information or the use of our service, that people pay no more than their fair share in property taxes and this was the purpose of our phone call. Finally, I would like to add that what we have learned from Mr. ****** complaint is that our representatives should be more careful when leaving messages with minors. We have since made what I feel are appropriate adjustments to prevent this situation from happening again. Respectfully,

6/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rep stated their were pr yr tax credit to offsets that would cover the tax fee for tax year 2014. when I call she (******* ******* left the company. ****** ***** caled and said they were able to get tax accessment lowered by 1,134 and i owed 50% of that amount which is $567.37. When i asked about ******* word that I should not have to pay because they would file old year where i was accessed incorretly, *** stated that she ******* was gone and they looked at it and there was nothing to recover. THAT IS NOT WHAT ******* SOLD ME. Infact she stated the reason she reach out tome is that Kensington saw that I have tax credit for older years they had not been filed and they they would file fo 2014 and prior year and Iwould not need to pay any thing. I am very disapoint in owing $567.37 on a 1132 property assessment reduction. This pure ripe off.

Desired Settlement: I will pay of the 567.27 billed 50% of that amount as which is $283.66 to settle this. It not fair that ******* can sale seniors on one thing and then we end up paying.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/10) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Dir of Oper Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@kensington-research.com In accordance with Mr. ******' request, Kensington's Director of Operations, called Mr. ****** on Tuesday, June 10, 2014 to discuss this complaint. Kensington apologized for any confusion with regards to the terms of our service and agreed upon a settlement for the service performed. Our client expressed satisfaction with this course of action and we trust this situation is now resolved with regards to the BBB's role in this matter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** left frequent phone messages regarding her services to appeal real estate taxes. When I finally called back to get the messages to stop, she indicated it had not even occurred to her that her calls would violate Federal law and she made no attempt to check her calling list against the "Do Not Call" list. I'm sure many of the other people she called also had their Federal rights violated.

Desired Settlement: Kensington should follow all appropriate Federal and local laws in their sales solicitation calls.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/23) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* Dir. Oper. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@kensington-research.com In accordance with Ms. *********'s request, Kensington will cease all phone contact. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Kensington should not be calling any one on the national "Do Not Call" list. They should instruct employees to check numbers against the list before calling.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/10/2014, 3/12/2014, 3/17/2014,and 3/20/2014 this company called to offer a reduction in my property taxes for a fee. I am registered on the Do Not Call List. I have no business relation with this company.

Desired Settlement: Stop calling me. A check for $500.00 for each violation of the Do Not Call laws of ********.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/28) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Dir. Oper Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@kensington-research.com In accordance with Mr. ******'s request, Kensington will cease all phone contact. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My complaint is about the four violations of the 815 ILCS 402 Restricted Call Registry Act (do not call). Did this company download the FTC's national "do-not-call" registry? For now I will stick to my $500.00 per violation request. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/11) */ We attempt to comply with the National Do Not Call List and have no prior history of non-compliance. After reviewing Mr. ******'s complaint we have made the adjustments we believe are necessary to prevent contacting him further. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused Mr. ******. However, we strongly recommend that Mr. ****** appeal his property taxes through the available appeal options. Our analysis has identified his property as being significantly over assessed by the **** County Assessor's Office. If no action is taken, the result will be that Mr. ****** will pay much more than his fair share in taxes. If he has any questions about that process, he is free to contact me and I am happy to advise him. We trust this is a satisfactory effort on our part with regards to the BBB's role in this matter.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kensington Research & Recovery-Chicago
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)