BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2005

Kensington Research & Recovery-Chicago

Phone: (312) 220-0001Fax: (815) 464-9743

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
07/22/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** ******* of Kensington Research and Recovery called on July 2nd and left a message with my daughter. She stated that I had unpaid property taxes and the deadline for paying those property taxes was Monday July 7th.

After returning home I researched with my mortgage company and with the **** County Treasurer and discovered that I am fully current on my property taxes.

I find this scare tactic to elicit my business disgusting and reprehensible. I am not fully versed in the law but if it is not illegal, it should be.

The property referenced in this is **** W. ******* Dr. ***** ******** IL XXXXX.

Desired Settlement
I'm not searching for a settlement. I simply want to report this disgusting business practice.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********* Dir Oper
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@kensington-research.com
I attempted to contact Mr. ****** twice, via the telephone number he provided, to clarify the purpose of our phone call and attempt to resolve his concern. Unfortunately I was unable to reach Mr. ******. I left two messages and he never returned my calls. Below is my attempt to provide that clarification in writing.

Our company contacted Mr. ****** on July 2nd to inform him that we felt his property was overassessed and that we think it would be in his interest to appeal his property's assessment. Mr. ******' property is in ***** Township and the deadline to appeal at the Assessor's office for tax year 2014 was Monday, July 7, 2014. This was the information that we attempted to leave in a message for Mr. ******. All of our representatives are well trained on the property tax appeal process and we have a high level of quality control systems, and personnel, in place to ensure the accurate delivery of information. Our representatives have no reason to discuss the status of whether or not a property tax bill has been paid, nor do they have access to this information. Furthermore, the current tax bills issued by the Treasurer's office are for the 2nd installment of tax year 2013. Our phone call had to do with appealing for the 2014 tax year.

Although Mr. ****** missed the deadline to appeal at the Assessor's office I would like to inform him that he will have another opportunity to appeal his 2014 assessment at the Board of Review later this year. I would be happy to discuss this process with him in detail if he would like to contact me. If not, then I will take this opportunity to inform him that we feel a fair assessment of his property should be 28,676, not his current assessment of 34,344. Should his assessment be reduced to 28,676 his total 2014 property taxes (paid in 2015) would be reduced by approximately $1,200 based on the current equalization factor and tax rate for his property. It is our mission at Kensington to help ensure, either with information or the use of our service, that people pay no more than their fair share in property taxes and this was the purpose of our phone call.

Finally, I would like to add that what we have learned from Mr. ****** complaint is that our representatives should be more careful when leaving messages with minors. We have since made what I feel are appropriate adjustments to prevent this situation from happening again.

Respectfully,

06/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rep stated their were pr yr tax credit to offsets that would cover the tax fee for tax year 2014. when I call she (******* ******* left the company. ****** ***** caled and said they were able to get tax accessment lowered by 1,134 and i owed 50% of that amount which is $567.37. When i asked about ******* word that I should not have to pay because they would file old year where i was accessed incorretly, *** stated that she ******* was gone and they looked at it and there was nothing to recover. THAT IS NOT WHAT ******* SOLD ME. Infact she stated the reason she reach out tome is that Kensington saw that I have tax credit for older years they had not been filed and they they would file fo 2014 and prior year and Iwould not need to pay any thing. I am very disapoint in owing $567.37 on a 1132 property assessment reduction. This pure ripe off.

Desired Settlement
I will pay of the 567.27 billed 50% of that amount as which is $283.66 to settle this. It not fair that ******* can sale seniors on one thing and then we end up paying.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Dir of Oper
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@kensington-research.com
In accordance with Mr. ******' request, Kensington's Director of Operations, called Mr. ****** on Tuesday, June 10, 2014 to discuss this complaint. Kensington apologized for any confusion with regards to the terms of our service and agreed upon a settlement for the service performed. Our client expressed satisfaction with this course of action and we trust this situation is now resolved with regards to the BBB's role in this matter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/18/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
11/23/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
05/30/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** left frequent phone messages regarding her services to appeal real estate taxes. When I finally called back to get the messages to stop, she indicated it had not even occurred to her that her calls would violate Federal law and she made no attempt to check her calling list against the "Do Not Call" list. I'm sure many of the other people she called also had their Federal rights violated.

Desired Settlement
Kensington should follow all appropriate Federal and local laws in their sales solicitation calls.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********* Dir. Oper.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@kensington-research.com
In accordance with Ms. *********'s request, Kensington will cease all phone contact.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Kensington should not be calling any one on the national "Do Not Call" list. They should instruct employees to check numbers against the list before calling.

04/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 3/10/2014, 3/12/2014, 3/17/2014,and 3/20/2014 this company called to offer a reduction in my property taxes for a fee. I am registered on the Do Not Call List. I have no business relation with this company.

Desired Settlement
Stop calling me.
A check for $500.00 for each violation of the Do Not Call laws of ********.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Dir. Oper
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@kensington-research.com
In accordance with Mr. ******'s request, Kensington will cease all phone contact.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My complaint is about the four violations of the 815 ILCS 402 Restricted Call Registry Act (do not call). Did this company download the FTC's national "do-not-call" registry? For now I will stick to my $500.00 per violation request.

Final Business Response
We attempt to comply with the National Do Not Call List and have no prior history of non-compliance. After reviewing Mr. ******'s complaint we have made the adjustments we believe are necessary to prevent contacting him further. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused Mr. ******. However, we strongly recommend that Mr. ****** appeal his property taxes through the available appeal options. Our analysis has identified his property as being significantly over assessed by the **** County Assessor's Office. If no action is taken, the result will be that Mr. ****** will pay much more than his fair share in taxes. If he has any questions about that process, he is free to contact me and I am happy to advise him. We trust this is a satisfactory effort on our part with regards to the BBB's role in this matter.

02/04/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Financial Services, Unclaimed Funds Retrieval Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.