BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2010

Harley-Davidson Financial Services, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (888) 691-4337Fax: (800) 699-2785222 W Adams St Ste 2000, ChicagoIL 60606-5307 Send email to Harley-Davidson Financial Services, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2010

BBB has determined that Harley-Davidson Financial Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Harley-Davidson Financial Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 56 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

56 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues38
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service15
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 56

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Harley-Davidson Financial Services, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (56)BBB Closure Definitions
05/05/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been paying my Motorcycle Payment for 7yr's, I have been harassed, my wife, whom is not on the loan has been called. I made a payment of $812 on 3-3-2015, Made multiple attempts to get my online access unlocked to make payments to no prevail. I received a letter on Friday 4-24-2015 as an attempt to collect $625.25 and payment must be mailed and received by 4-27-2015 or they will start repossession. They offer no option to make payment, when contacted I was directed to Legal Dept. who only has a voice mail.

Desired Settlement
Allow me to make a payment. When I was redirected to Legal Harley Davidson collection dept refused to take my credit card for payment.

Business Response
HDFS acknowledges receipt of Mr. ********'s complaint. We anticipate mailing Mr. ******** a written correspondence to this matter within 15 business days. Should the matter take longer to investigate, we will notify Mr. ******** of the fact directly.
Thank you,
HDFS Customer Complaint Manager

04/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
HAVE CALLED THEM SEVERAL TIMES TO HAVE THE DATE CHANGED ON WHEN THE PAYMENT WAS DUS ,THE SAID I HAD TO FAX A LETTER OVER TO THEM WHICH I HAVE DONE SEVERAL TIMES. THE REASON FOR THIS CHANGE IS CAUSE I GOT HURT AND HAVE BEEN OUT ON DISIBALITY SO THAT I NEEDED TO HAVE THE PAYMENT CHANGED FOR THIS REASON AND I FAXED THE INFORMATION OVER AND IT FELL ON DEAF EARS,BUT EVERY MONTH THEY ADD A LATE FEE CHARGE OF 25.41 ADD THAT UP AND IT A LOT FOR A PERSON THAT IS DISABLED AND FOR A BIKE THA DOESENT EVEN GET USES
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
BILL ADJ AND DUE DATE CHANGED

Business Response
HDFS acknowledges receipt of Mr. ********'s complaint. We anticipate mailing Mr. ******** a written correspondence to this matter within 15 business days. Should the matter take longer to investigate, we will notify Mr. ******** of the fact directly.
Thank you,
HDFS Customer Complaint Manager

1-23-14 additional info from business:
HDFS has mailed its response letter to Mr. ******** on January 23, 2014. The letter contains account specific information and therefore cannot be copied to this site.
Thank you,
HDFS Customer Complaint Manager


Consumer Response
Info from duplicate complaint #XXXXXXXX:

EVERY MONTH THEY WOULD CHARGE A FEE I HAVE CALLED AND COMPLANED ABOUT II THE REASON THIS PAY NEEDED TO BE CHANGED WAS CAUSE I BECAME DISABLED AND THS DATE OF THE PAYMENT WASNT WHEN I RECEIVED MY DISABILITY PAYMENTS I CALLED ASKED TO CHANGE THE DATE AND THEY SAID I HAD TO SEND IT IN WRITING WHID I DID AND THEY STILL DID NOTHING ABOUT IT AND STILL KEEP CHARGING THE FEE SO I JUST STOPPED BOTHERING . THEN I WAS ABLE IN THE MONT OF NOVEMBER MAKE AN 850.00 PAYMENT WHICH SHOULD HAVE BROUGHT MY ACCOUNT CURRENT AND WITH PAYMENT AHEAD SO NO MORE FEES BUT THAT STILL DIDNT HAPPEN, THEN ON 1/8 MADE ANOTHER 750 PAYMENT AND STILL MORE FEES I JUST DONT UNDERSTAND WHY I KEEP GETTING FEES AND EVEN THOU I ALWAYS MAKE THE PAYMENT OF 375 A MONTH WHEN THE PAYMENT IS 363 I
ALWAYS MADE THIS PAYMENT THERE SHOULD BEE A SURPLUS IF YOU TAKE THE FEE OF 25.41 TIMES 12 THAT = 304.92 IN ONE YEAR IN FEES BY THE NUMBER OF YEARS I THINK THIS IS NOT RIGHT FOR A BIG CORPORATION

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I resubmitted a new complaint and it states I had made payment on dates 11/14 for 850 and 1/15 for 750 to make sure the payment were ahead and they still are charging me a fee for what reason now please see attached

Final Business Response
HDFS has mailed its response letter to Mr. ******** on April 16, 2015. The letter contains account specific information and therefore cannot be copied to this site.
Thank you,
HDFS Customer Complaint Manager

04/20/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In 2010 and 2011 I was deployed to Iraq. During that time, my now ex wife did not make payments on my bike. When i returned home I had late payments and collections noticed from HDFS. I contacted them and was told if I made my account current, I could keep my bike and they would remove the payment history. I ended up paying off the bike, and the payment histopry was removed from **********, but not ******** or *******. I have disputed this many times to no avail.

Desired Settlement
All late payments or payment history needs to be removed from all credit reports.

Business Response
HDFS acknowledges receipt of Mr. ******'s complaint. We anticipate mailing Mr. ****** a written correspondence to this matter within 15 business days. Should the matter take longer to investigate, we will notify Mr. ****** of the fact directly.
Thank you,
HDFS Customer Complaint Manager


03/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted Harley Credit services informing them that I never received the title for my motorcycle after paying it off. They told me they sent it out in a plain envelope using regular mail. They said that once it is mailed out, they are not responsible for what happens to it. I told them I could not believe an important document such as a vehicle title would not be sent out registered or certified mail. They then sent me a lien satisfaction letter and I had to go to NJ Div. of Motor Vehicles to obtain a duplicate title. I was told by DMV that Harley should be responsible for the $60.00 fee. After calling Harley back and informing them of what transpired at DMV, they asked for a letter containing this information so that a supervisor could make the determination of reimbursement. A month later, I received a denial letter. It contained inacurrate information, stating that I would have had to remove the lien from my title which would have cost $60.00, so no reimbursement was necessary. I checked with DMV and was told that this was not necessary. As long as my title had a lien satisfaction stamp on it, I could sell my motorcycle simply by signing over my title to complete a sale. The new owner would then incur the $60.00 charge for the title to be put in his/her name, which is normal proceedure in re-registering the motorcycle. I feel that due to Harley's negligence in not properly sending an importanat document such as a motor vehicle title containing my personal information, in a tracable package that should be signed for or tracked, that I should not be responsible for spending my time and money obtaining a new title. I will now need to explain to a future owner before signing my "duplicate" title as closure to a sale, why my title is a duplicate.

Desired Settlement
I wished to be reimburesed for the $60.00 expenditure after I spent my time traveling to and from NJ DMV 3 times to obtain a title after Harley Davidson's negligence.

Business Response
HDFS acknowledges receipt of Mr. ******'s complaint. We anticipate mailing Mr. ****** a written correspondence to this matter within 15 business days. Should the matter take longer to investigate, we will notify Mr. ****** of the fact directly.
Thank you,
HDFS Customer Complaint Manager


Consumer Response
Additional info taken from case #XXXXXXXX - X-XX-XX:

I received a return correspondence from Harley Davidson Financial Services dated January 28, 2015 on February 2, 2015. Their letter acknowledges receipt of my contact with the Better Business Bureau in early January. After reviewing this letter, it seems that although they acknowledge the fact that my information is accurate about me not having to pay to remove a lien stamped on my title they are still confused. In their letter they state, "First, please note that the information mentioned in your correspondence provided by the NJDMV is mostly accurate. A consumer would not necessarily have to take the title to the NJDMV. However, it is our understanding that the lien will remain on the title until it is removed by the NJDMV, which costs $60.00. Whether or not that $60.00 is paid by the customer or a future purchaser remains between the customer and the purchaser."
As I have previously quoted, "it is our understanding" indicates to me that they have failed to check directly with the NJDMV about the lien removal. In New Jersey, if a buyer purchases a vehicle with a lien stamped on its title, as long as there is proof that the lien has been satisfied, either on the title or by a documented letter from the lien holder stating the lien has been satisfied, the buyer would then be able to transfer this title in to his or her name. The cost of the title would be $60.00 for this transfer. The newly issued title, now in the purchaser's name, would not have any indication of a prior lien on the title unless the purchaser also needed a lien holder to assist him or her in the purchase of the vehicle. The new lien holder would then be indicated on his or her newly issued title. I would like to reiterate that in New Jersey, there is no need for an owner of a vehicle to remove a lien stamp from his or her title once the lien has been satisfied. In this case, I am the owner of a Harley Davison Motorcycle. On my original call to Harley Davidson, the representative claimed that my title was sent out, regular mail in a plain envelope. In the letter I just received, the information has changed. They now claim the title was sent out by First Class Mail. Since they cannot provide proof that the title has been sent, or was misplaced in their office, I feel that due to their negligence, I did not receive this important documentation. In the last paragraph of their letter they state, "We believe our process for mailing titles to customers upon satisfaction of a debt through the USPS by First Class Mail fulfills our obligation to mail the title to the customer." I "believe" that their process should be reconsidered for their proficiency. This may not be their first lost title.
When I went to the NJDMV office to obtain a duplicate title, due to this negligence, I was informed that a duplicate title would cost me $60.00. Harley Davidson is mistaken in their "understanding" that the lien marking would constitute a $60.00 charge for removal. If I purchased a Harley Davidson cash and sold it, it would still cost the purchaser $60.00 to have a new title put into his or her name. I would have no financial responsibility to the title at all. Harley seems to be stuck on the lien stamp which has no bearing on this situation. Harley Davidson lost my title and cannot prove it was sent out in the mail. I did not receive my title from Harley Davidson. Going through the trouble of obtaining a duplicate title caused me an undue cost of $60.00. Harley Davidson should at least reimburse me for this unnecessary expense. I hope that this information clears up their misunderstandings and beliefs. Thank you for your time regarding this matter.

I wish to be reimbursed for the expense of a duplicate motorcycle title of $60.00 in which Harley Davidson cannot prove was sent to me.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received a return correspondence from Harley Davidson Financial Services dated January 28, 2015 on February 2, 2015. Their letter acknowledges receipt of my contact with the Better Business Bureau in early January. After reviewing this letter, it seems that although they acknowledge the fact that my information is accurate about me not having to pay to remove a lien stamped on my title they are still confused. In their letter they state, "First, please note that the information mentioned in your correspondence provided by the NJDMV is mostly accurate. A consumer would not necessarily have to take the title to the NJDMV. However, it is our understanding that the lien will remain on the title until it is removed by the NJDMV, which costs $60.00. Whether or not that $60.00 is paid by the customer or a future purchaser remains between the customer and the purchaser."
As I have previously quoted, "it is our understanding" indicates to me that they have failed to check directly with the NJDMV about the lien removal. In New Jersey, if a buyer purchases a vehicle with a lien stamped on its title, as long as there is proof that the lien has been satisfied, either on the title or by a documented letter from the lien holder stating the lien has been satisfied, the buyer would then be able to transfer this title in to his or her name. The cost of the title would be $60.00 for this transfer. The newly issued title, now in the purchaser's name, would not have any indication of a prior lien on the title unless the purchaser also needed a lien holder to assist him or her in the purchase of the vehicle. The new lien holder would then be indicated on his or her newly issued title. I would like to reiterate that in New Jersey, there is no need for an owner of a vehicle to remove a lien stamp from his or her title once the lien has been satisfied. In this case, I am the owner of a Harley Davison Motorcycle. On my original call to Harley Davidson, the representative claimed that my title was sent out, regular mail in a plain envelope. In the letter I just received, the information has changed. They now claim the title was sent out by First Class Mail. Since they cannot provide proof that the title has been sent, or was misplaced in their office, I feel that due to their negligence, I did not receive this important documentation. In the last paragraph of their letter they state, "We believe our process for mailing titles to customers upon satisfaction of a debt through the USPS by First Class Mail fulfills our obligation to mail the title to the customer." I "believe" that their process should be reconsidered for their proficiency. This may not be their first lost title.
When I went to the NJDMV office to obtain a duplicate title, due to this negligence, I was informed that a duplicate title would cost me $60.00. Harley Davidson is mistaken in their "understanding" that the lien marking would constitute a $60.00 charge for removal. If I purchased a Harley Davidson cash and sold it, it would still cost the purchaser $60.00 to have a new title put into his or her name. I would have no financial responsibility to the title at all. Harley seems to be stuck on the lien stamp which has no bearing on this situation. Harley Davidson lost my title and cannot prove it was sent out in the mail. I did not receive my title from Harley Davidson. Going through the trouble of obtaining a duplicate title caused me an undue cost of $60.00. Harley Davidson should at least reimburse me for this unnecessary expense. I hope that this information clears up their misunderstandings and beliefs. Thank you for your time regarding this matter.


Final Business Response
HDFS has mailed its response letter to Mr. ****** on March 6, 2015. The letter contains account specific information and therefore cannot be copied to this site.
Thank you,
HDFS Customer Complaint Manager

01/21/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a motorcycle from ******** harley in villa park, iL in December. I have yet to receive an invoice for payment with an account number and now they are calling me that payment is past due both on my cell phone and place of employment. I requested 2 times now for my invoice which I have not received yet. I provided my fax, email and confirmed my physical address. I was told that invoices are sent as a courtesy and that it was a "different department" that handles the invoices and another request would be made. I asked who else I could speak with to get my invoice and was told No phone # or transfer could provided for additional assistance. I hung up on the "customer service" representative

Desired Settlement
0.00

Business Response
HDFS acknowledges receipt of Ms. *******'s complaint. We anticipate mailing Ms. ******* a written correspondence to this matter within 15 business days. Should the matter take longer to investigate, we will notify Ms. ******* of the fact directly.
Thank you,
HDFS Customer Complaint Manager

Page 1 of 10
11/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The collection department contacted my employer for payment via a phone number that was provided on the loan application for employment verification purposes only. Several times my supervisor was called by the collections department. During one of these calls my personal account information was disclosed. Not only is that illegal and unacceptable, but I experienced difficulty removing that phone number from the account. Each complaint call I have made has resulted in extremely long wait times for supervisors, lack of information of whom and where to take this complaint, and unprofessionalism from multiple departments.Even after all that, I set up a date for payment and was still called just hours after speaking to a supervisor, at which time I was hassled for a payment and informed that my employers phone number was still listed on the account and would be for at least 24 hours.

Desired Settlement
I would like assurance that this doesn't happen to another consumer, as well as confirmation from the President and COO ******** **** personally that he is aware of this issue. I also would like to discuss options for settling my account with this company as I do not feel comfortable with them handling my personal financial information. I feel strongly that this is a major infringement of my rights as a consumer, and I will not rest until this is resolved.

Business Response
HDFS acknowledges receipt of Mr. *******'s complaint. We anticipate mailing Mr. ******* a written correspondence to this matter within 15 business days. Should the matter take longer to investigate, we will notify Mr. ******* of the fact directly.
Thank you,
HDFS Customer Complaint Manager


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While I appreciate a response, and the omitting of account specifics this time, I am not satisfied. Receiving a letter from a customer complaint manager is not the same as a personal apology from the company president that would assure me that he is aware of how the company he is operating breaches it's consumer's privacy.

07/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I will re-submit this complaint when I have this info at hand.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking them to stop the practice, Initially they offered a skip payment, it never happened. I missed a payment in 2008, since then they have AUTO DEBITED MY ACCOUNT , every month, yet they claim I owed them a late charge each money, until they over billed me more than $3,000.00.
I am requesting a refund of my money, and for there to be some actions to stop these billing practices. they bugged me for more than a year with excessive calls, when EACH MONTH they debited my account, until the calls became so excessive I had to change my phone number. This is a terrible habit and practice they have and it should be sanctioned by a fine or something by the BBC.
How can you debit a person account monthly and then continue to claim some carry over late payment, just for the sake of profit gouging.
The list of Monthly Payments, demonstrate they billed my account each month.
I Called and Asked for my title, now they tell me I owe 800+ dollars. This is Criminal and I wish actions to be taken against Harley Davidson.

These companies and their habits are the driver of American's business decline. It is time the BBC take actions and stop giving these companies False and erronous ratings, when it is evident they have not earned it nor do they deserve it.

This activity needs to brought to a halt.

Business Response
HDFS acknowledges receipt of Mr. *****'s complaint. We anticipate mailing Mr. ***** a written correspondence to this matter within 15 business days. Should the matter take longer to investigate, we will notify Mr. ***** of the fact directly.
Thank you,
HDFS Customer Complaint Manager


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response time on this matter was 10 days, HARLEY Davidson, know the postal mail will not deliver a mail to me in time to respond to what it is they might say. They Mail it on the 27th and Today is the 28th. The Response Deadline is the 29th. They had this Request since May 19th.


The Contract for the Bike list Total Payment to be $29,940.12 Broken down that is $8728.23 Finance Charge on the Financed Amount of 21,211.68.
84 payments @ $356.43 / This bike was purchased August 31,2006 - It is "now" MAY 2014 and they are telling me I owe them $800 more dollars.
They have "OVERCHARGE" me.
I DEMAND A REFUND OF MY MONEY AND FOR THEM TO SEND MY TITLE TO ME.

See Attachment:

The payment list is the last info I received when I inquired in 2012, if you note, the payments to date were 25,002.92 at that point, the amount owed would be $4937.20 - Yet, they have the balance listed as $7498.14 - That is a difference of OVER CHARGE OF $2560.94, AND still they are trying to get $800 more dollars. That will be OVERCHARGE OF $3360.94

I am Requesting Harley Davidson, Send me My Title, and a Refund Check for the Above amount, and Stop Debiting My Account, at that exact point.

This is URGENT, because again they will Debit my Account in June 4th. I need this corrected, my Title mailed to me and My Refund, before they Debit My Account Again. This is URGENT.

Companies will not stop this practice until agencies such as this, Make public their criminal ripping off of Customers. I would think if someone Audited them for Fair Practices, They may find this to be systemic.

When companies do this, not only do they damage the security of employees jobs, but they damage the whole of the consumer environment. These are the habits that has damaged this country to the point people have less faith in companies to do business and respect its customers.

This is pure criminal activity, and I want the BBB to assist me in doing something about it.

When I called and ask for my Title, the Account Person tells, me, We have the title and you won't get it until you pay. This is EXTORTION to extract money from Customers while holding their Title hostage.

Something has to be done about these Business Taking these unfair advantages to overcharge customers. This is a prime example of the same things which exist in the Financial and Consumer Industry that continues to damage this country and destroy the peoples faith in doing business with these companies. "GREED", Pure GREED.

Employees, should speak up about the practices, because it jeopardize their jobs, they should not be a part to this kind of activity.

These companies do this because they don't count on customers challenging their mischief, because they hold the Title to the vehicle hostage.

I am appealing to the BBB to address this and if there is any means or method to issue reprimand, then I would like to see it forth coming to Harley Davidson, because if they did this to me, they are certainly doing it to other customers.

I do hope this agency has the power to act, and to do so decisively. Because we need Agencies such as the BBB to be strong and decisive advocates for the public consumer. If these companies want good rating, and claim to do fair business, then do fair business and treat customers with respect and stop taking unfair advantage and encroaching upon customers in these ways.

I will reserve my rights for additional comments

Thank you, very much for your assistance.


Final Business Response
HDFS has mailed its response letter to Mr. ***** on June 12, 2014. The letter contains account specific information and therefore cannot be copied to this site.

Thank you,
HDFS Customer Complaint Manager


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, Please review the ATTACHMENT - HARLEY DAVIDSON 06-02-2014

the bike has been paid off, and they are holding my title hostage, extorting money from me.
See attachment.
I request the help of the BBB to get MY money refunded to me and to have my title sent to me.

If they debit my account, I will send you information of that debit.

This criminal activity needs to cease.

Fw: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX)
1 message
A ***** <********@yahoo.com>Mon, Jun 2, 2014 at 8:32 PM
Reply-To: A ***** <********@yahoo.com>
To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org>
This company has been paid off: The Loan Total was $29,904.12
To Date they have charged me: $31,775.09 and telling me I owe them $895.00.
There is no justification for this.
Furthermore, they claim in their letter they afforded me a Skip Payment. They did not afford me a Skip Payment. If they had, there would not have been a late payment.
I'm attaching the payment record, They need to REFUND my money and Send me My Title.

Please take action before they Debit My Account again on June 4th.

They are harasser's and criminals who result to extort money from customers. No policy can be written to justify harassing people with multiple phone calls per day, and calling family members and ignoring the request to stop.
The only way I stopped their calls, was to change my number.

Harley Davidson is the type of company which their actions dictate they one should be skeptical to do business with them. I've read multiple items on the Internet, where they don't honor their warranty, and I have factual poor in my case they rip people off and then pretend to give skip payments which they never applied, they debited my account the very same month they claim they applied a skip payment. The result is it caused me to be short of funds for other planned expense.
The only way to fix this company is to lower their business rating, fine them, and put them on notice and make them Refund Customers.
Companies like this understand nothing, until penalty is assessed against them. When the BBB get the power to make them pay 10 times what they cost customers back to the customer. Only then will they awaken to do business fairly.
Each time the BBB send them a response, they send back a 'Canned Comment", which is basically saying they don't care what the BBB says. Then they send out a Canned Letter, trying to justify harassing people.
I can send the letter too if you want to read it. It is proof itself of their policy of harassing people.

Then when people don't accept their harassment with massive volumes of calls upon calls, THEN, they over charge them and hold the title hostage.

Read the attachment, and note where the last two payments, they have listed directly under "expenses",
They can't charge me Expense because they want to spend their time harassing people and then when people don't accept it, they go through these over charges.
Look at the billing list, EVERY MONTH they debit my account. Just because they have had to close up many shops and went to the brink of financial challenge, is no reason form them to devise means to steal. If they did good and fair business, people would never have slowed down on buying their product.


There are other vendors who provide good products without ripping off customers.

Thank you,
****** *****

04/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I made the last payment in Oct. 2013. After that the support from my husband became sporatic and sometimes non-existant. This was my dream, to own and pay for a motorcycle all on my own to establish my credit.

Desired Settlement
Let me finish purchasing my Harley. I realize it doesn't matter to you, but I am in the process of a divorce from a 40yr. marriage. The support has been irratic. I tried to discuss arrangements with ***, but He started getting nasty with me, so I put my 82yr old Dad on the line because he was trying to help me catch up payments. *** was very dis-respectful and made remarks uncalled for.

Business Response
HDFS acknowledges receipt of Ms. ****'s complaint. We anticipate mailing Ms. **** a written correspondence to this matter within 15 business days. Should the matter take longer to investigate, we will notify Ms. **** of the fact directly.
Thank you,
HDFS Customer Complaint Manager


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They notified her of re-possessing this AM 10 ET If that happens, I don't know how it will be handled. Someone should contact me as soon as possible @ XXX-XXX-XXXX cell #

Final Business Response
We believe our response to Ms. **** may have crossed in the mail with Ms. ****'s recent rebuttal. Please note that a response letter was mailed to Ms. **** on April 11, 2014, which we believe addresses the concerns outlined in Ms. ****'s original complaint and her rebuttal. Since the letter contained account specific information, the letter cannot be copied to this site.

Thank you,
HDFS Customer Complaint Manager


Final Consumer Response
My main concern about this repossession is the way in which I and my Father were treated. As if we did this on purpose. It happened yes, but *** would not wait even one day to get the payments up to date. He was disrespectful to me and my Dad. This was the first time in my life for this to happen, and it was humiliating to listen to a HD representative of the Company talk down to me as if this was an everyday incident. I had this Trike since 2010 and this is the first incident of missing any payments. As I explained before, I am in the process of divorce and my alimony has been erratic and non-existant at times. I tried to keep my obligations up to date as I could. This is not what I wanted to happen, I was doing the best I could. I realize you've heard it all, but this is the truth. Please reconsider!!
Thank you,
*****

12/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues
08/16/2013Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Financial Services, Motorcycle Sales - Consignments, Credit Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/06/2001Business started: 04/09/1992
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1992, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Hund (President)Customer Contact: Ms Stephania Germany (Complaint Manager)Mr. Greg Seaman (Vice President, Operations)
Business Category

Financial Services, Motorcycle Sales - Consignments, Credit Services

Alternate Business Names
Harley-Davidson Credit Corp., Harley Davidson Credit
Industry Tips
Debt Collection

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Harley-Davidson Financial Services, Inc.

222 W Adams St Ste 2000

Chicago, IL 60606-5307

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 222 W Adams St Ste 2000 

    Chicago, IL 60606-5307

  • 3850 Arrowhead Dr 

    Carson City, NV 89706-2016

  • PO Box 22048 

    Carson City, NV 89721-2048

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Harley-Davidson Financial Services, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Financial Services

Debt Collection
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.