BBB Accredited Business since

Greater Chicago Finance Company

Phone: (708) 488-8900 Fax: (708) 488-9498 View Additional Phone Numbers 8331 Roosevelt Rd, Forest Park, IL 60130

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Greater Chicago Finance Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Greater Chicago Finance Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Greater Chicago Finance Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 05, 2004 Business started: 05/21/1981 Business started locally: 05/21/1981
Business Management
Mr. Steven Jankelow, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Jankelow, President
Business Category

Financial Services Auto Dealers - New Cars Investment Advice (NAICS: 523930)

Alternate Business Names
Currie Motors - Greater Chicago Finance Greater Chicago Finance

Additional Locations

  • 8331 Roosevelt Rd

    Forest Park, IL 60130


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car was stolen and once it was retrieved there was damages to vehicle that needed repair. I became 2 payment past due because of this even tho I initially attempted to just trade car in but they refused to authorize loan change. After only being 2 months past due they repo car and when I went to retrieve my personal belongings there was over $500 worth of items missing. I attempted to work things out with company and pay past due amount to retrieve vehicle 1st but they refused and wanted total amount due on loan. I want to be refunded for the cost of repairs I made on vehicle these past 2 months along with belongings that were stolen from vehicle by repo company.

Desired Settlement: reimbursed for damages that I fixed on vehicle after theft as well as property missing from vehicle after it was taken by repo company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/24) */ As the customer stated in his complaint, he was behind in payments, though the default pre-dated the reported date of the vehicle being stolen. The vehicle was recovered the same day the theft was reported. The customer told us the radio was missing. The customer made a promise to pay, which promise was broken. After that, the customer stated he did not know when he could make any payment. He was advised that the company would exercise its rights if no payment was forthcoming. He did not make payment and the vehicle was repossessed per the terms of the contract and applicable law. Pursuant to the terms of the ******** ********** ******** Act, the licensed Repossession Agency which effectuated the repossession retained the personal property from the vehicle. We are not aware of any specifics with regard to the claimed missing property, but our staff advised him to raise it with the Agency. We note that our staff has had a great deal of difficulty communicating with the customer as the customer's contacts with our staff have been largely vulgar, abusive and threatening. The customer has a right to pay off the vehicle and redeem it before the vehicle is sold. Under the circumstances, we cannot provide any additional assistance.