Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Fence Store

Phone: (708) 410-1400 Fax: (708) 410-1404 View Additional Phone Numbers 5009 W Lake St, Melrose Park, IL 60160 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.thefencestore.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Fence Store meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Fence Store include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Fence Store
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 10, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1988 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1988 Business incorporated 12/30/1988 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Mary Lynn Kowalski, VP of Operations Mr. James T. Wall, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Mary Lynn Kowalski, VP of Operations
Business Category

Fence Contractors Gates All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)


Additional Locations

  • 5009 W Lake St

    Melrose Park, IL 60160 (800) 650-5857 (773) 792-3900 (708) 410-1400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired The Fence Store to install a fence. During installation of one of the post holes, the power line to the garage was cut. The two guys that cut the line said they would come back to following day. The next day they showed up as promised and fixed the line. This took place in the spring, as soon as winter came along, we noticed the power in the garage was not working. My husband replaced circuit breaker and ohmed the connection found the wire from the box to be shorted. Caused by damage from the repair of The Fence Company. I have called several times and was told by Mariane that she would send someone out to fix the connection. No one has ever showed up or called to resolve.

Desired Settlement: We just want the line fixed and we want them to fix it at no cost to us.

6/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $4,400.00 to The Fence Store, 5927 N. Milwaukee Avenue, Chicago 60646, to furnish and install PVC Fencing. I recall having to submit plans to Harwood Heights Village for a building permit and there were specifications as to the depth that the holes for the posts were dug and for the height of the fence. After the Village inspectors came out, approval was given for the installation. That was in October, 2005. I noticed over the last several years that the gap between the ground and the fencing was expanding. This year, the fence was over 2 feet high from the ground. I managed to decrease the gap by standing on top of the rails. The fence sunk back into the ground by at least a foot. It is still higher than the original installation. I can see a few inches of the cement above the ground. I have contacted the company several times for the last two months. Two weeks ago, I spoke with a woman from The Fence Store that said she was the co-owner. Even though I have received assurances that someone would come out and examine the situation, no one has. I understand that this is not a new installation however, I don't recall any previous fence that I owned posts rise up from the ground the way that this one has and my neighbors' fences that were installed about the same time don't seem to have this problem. I would like to know what to do to remedy the situation since the fence does not serve the purpose that it should. I don't understand why this company will not even explain what has happened and what needs to be done to rectify the situation. I hope that you can assist me in this matter.

Desired Settlement: I would like the fence store to do whatever they need to do so that the fence no longer has this huge gap. I have no idea why the posts rose up from the ground. I do know that fences are supposed to do that. I have two dogs that can easily walk right through the gap without any trouble. The fence needs to be lowered to the original height and something done to prevent the fence from rising again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/16) */ When we received the phone call this year the owner *** **** went out and looked at the fence. He couldn't see what the problem was so he left his business card and never heard from Ms. **** until the notice from The BBB. *** **** has since talked to her and she is suppose to send him pictures of the problem. We will take care of whatever the problem is. This is a 9 year old fence. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/06/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The repairs were made and the job was finished today.

5/27/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Work was completed around June 30, 2013. I called sales rep several times, no one came to see problem. I emailed VP Operations twice expressing my displeasure and emphasizing potential danger. Sales rep came out twice, saw another owner first time and said the company wanted to make me happy. Second time I saw him and he said problem would be fixed but nothing has been done to date.

Desired Settlement: We want gates fixed so that they can be opened with one hand and therefore handicap accessible. Emergency personnel should be able to enter premises quickly and with equipment needed, such as stretchers. At present, if someone is carrying something such as groceries or a baby, that person cannot open the gate until he or she puts groceries or baby down.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/15) */ Contact Name and Title: **** **** VP of Operation Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@thefencestore.com We thought this was taken care of. Our production manager spoke with the customer he was out of town and **** be back in town on Monday. We will call him on Monday to set up a time to fix the problem.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Fence Store
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)