BBB Accredited Business since

The Cedar Mill, Inc.

Phone: (815) 744-9390 Fax: (815) 941-1029 1805 Ashley Rd, Morris, IL 60450 http://www.thecedarmillfencecompany.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Cedar Mill, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Cedar Mill, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Cedar Mill, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 17, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated 04/02/2003 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Keefe, President Deborah Pearcy, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Keefe, President
Business Category

Fence Contractors Aluminum Products Patio & Deck Builders Deck Builders All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a fence installed on 6-20-13. On X-XX-XX I noticed the gate on the north side of my house that the boards are bowing and my gate won't shut right. Every time a truck goes by it pops open. I have to keep checking because I have a dog. I called on X-XX-XX and they said someone would be out and no one showed. I called on X-XX-XX again they told me the same thing. On X-XX-XX some one showed up and never let me know they were here. My wife was home. All they did was put some nails in diagonally which looks terrible. They also put nails in my post for no reason at all. Half of the boards are still bowed. (6 ) I called again on X-XX-XX X-X-XX X-XX-XX X-XX-XX X-X-XX XXX-XX and again on 9-30-13. After all these calls I never even received a call back. They are just ignoring the problem. I talked to the owner **** ***** on 8-5-13 and all he keeps saying is don't worry about it I'll fix it. It's been ten weeks and I think that is long enough to wait. Especially with out even a call back.

Desired Settlement: I would like Cedar Mill to replace my gate. Because it does not close right and every time a truck goes by the vibration knock my gate open. I have to keep my dog on a leach so she does not run away.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/11/25) */ Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2013/12/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) **** is lying the pictures show the problem with the gate. I can not afford a arbitrator. there must be another solution. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2013/12/17) */ In looking at the pictures, I see nothing wrong with the gate. Everything was done correctly. In looking at the pictures, I don't see any reason for any complaints. The nails being in a diagonal fashion is normal for support. The gap by the hinge is normal. My crew has been out there a few times and the customer is being unrealistic as to what the gate is supposed to look like. I think the only way to solve this is to meet someone at the jobsite, preferably an arbitrator, sometime in March. Our offices are closed for the holiday season and **** will be out of the country in Costa Rica until the end of February. If we can set up a time for ****, the customer and an arbitrator to meet at the property, that would be greatly appreciated. NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please note that the BBB cannot send an arbitrator to any outside location. We recommend that you provide photos of the gate (hinges and lock as well)for our review. The photos provided previously do not illustrate the issues mentioned in your complaint. We also recommend that you keep the number of photos a minimum. You may attach those photos to your next response or fax them to XXX-XXX-XXXX. ************ Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service