Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rock Valley Fence

Additional Locations

Phone: (815) 636-2095 Fax: (815) 636-8495 7975 Forest Hills Road, Loves Park, IL 61111

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rock Valley Fence meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rock Valley Fence
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 18, 1999 Business started: 08/01/1988 in IL Business started locally: 08/01/1988 Business incorporated 01/04/1996 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael Bengtson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Bengtson, President
Business Category

Fence Contractors All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Alternate Business Names
Quality Fence/Rock Valley Fence Rock Valley Fence, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 5328 Forest Hills Ct

    Loves Park, IL 61111

  • 7975 Forest Hills Road

    Loves Park, IL 61111


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales person for RVF Co. told me trees would not be an issue. They cut into the apartment complexes tree and have the tree leaning directly on this privacy fence. They took a huge notch out of this tree that is not mine. The fence looked horrible the manager had to come back out to make adjustments to the fence to make it acceptable. The way they were going to leave it was an embarrassment. I am not a picky person but in no way could I look at this fence the way they were planning on leaving it. The chain link gates did not close properly. When I informed the owner or manager at the shop he informed me how to fix this problem my using a hammer and knocking back the hinges and making other adjustments. A complete joke. I have pictures if I could possibly send them I would be glad to do so.

Desired Settlement: I need the fence moved inwards into the yard or build around the neighbors tree in a way that the fence will not be affected by the tree due to wind or future growth. Plus also have the chain link gates properly adjusted so the gates can latch like a normal gate should.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/11) */ Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2014/09/03) */ 9/2/14 I have my fence that they installed still leaning into my neighbors tree that they cut out like a Lincoln log. I will cut the tree down myself but I need rock valley fence to get the permission. I do not have the time to do so. I work two jobs and don't have time to clean up their mess. If they want to compensate me to do so other than 200 $in which it will cost at the very least for myself to take care of this tree and dispose of it. Let alone the damage it has probably already done to the fence due to high winds, tree growth etc. I was told trees would not be an issue when they mapped out my yard and showed me exactly where the fence would be. By the picture I will attach you will see that they are very much an issue. Poor and unprofessional work. All they would of had to do is ask me to come in one foot or any amount of distance would of been better. Again it's not my tree it is a apartment complex who I can not get ahold of to get permission. I have tried for two days and I said enough. This is the fence company's problem they can get this permission and I would need it in writing. This is still unsatisfactory work that has yet to be complete by RVF Co. In addition to that they are now trying to add finance charges to the remaining balance. In which I am still trying to settle through way of BBB. I have attempted to email ***** ****** two weeks ago but have gotten no reply.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rock Valley Fence
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)