Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Peerless Fence

Additional Locations

Phone: (630) 584-7710 Fax: (630) 584-7746 View Additional Phone Numbers 33 W 401 Roosevelt Rd, West Chicago, IL 60185 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.peerlessfence.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Peerless Fence meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Peerless Fence include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Peerless Fence
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 19, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1961 Business started locally: 01/01/1961
Business Management
Mr. Dean White, Vice President Mr. Lee Lochmann, CEO Mr. John Shogren, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dean White, Vice President
Business Category

Fence Contractors Fence Staining Fence Posts & Fittings Fence Material Gates Real Estate Services Aluminum Aluminum Products Closures - Industrial - Protective Metal Specialties Steel Fabricators Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Fences - Vinyl Fences - Wood Metal Fabricators Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors Iron Work Swimming Pool Enclosures Aluminum Fabricators Art Metal Work Ornamental Metal Work Contractor - Ornamental Iron Railings Door & Gate Operating Devices All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Alternate Business Names
Shogren Fence Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers Fence & Electrical Operators.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Peerless Fence has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 33 W 401 Roosevelt Rd

    West Chicago, IL 60185 (800) 543-6511 (847) 584-7710 (847) 740-9111 (847) 740-9501

  • 34305 N. Fairfield Rd.

    Round Lake, IL 60073

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Peerless Fence in early March of 2015 regarding purchasing a fence to keep in my new dog. ***** was the salesman who came to my home. I introduced him to my very large Husky and informed ***** that I needed a fence to contain the dog. We decided that I needed a 5-foot fence(I have the original paperwork to prove this). He left me with two quotes for the 5-foot fence, one in cedar and one in Copperwood. I called ***** back 5 days later and made an appointment for him to stop and pick up a deposit for the fence as I was ready to proceed. When he came over He asked me if I wanted the cedar or Cooperwood product. I indicated that I would like the cooperwood, but could only afford the cedar, so I would order the fence in cedar. he then suggested I go down to a 4 foot fence because it would be cheaper. I voiced my concern about my dog potential escaping. He then took out his tape measure and measured the height of my dog. I do not know why he thought the height of my dog could indicate how high he could jump, but as I am a new pet owner and ***** assured me he had 19 years in the business and had contained hundreds of pets, I went on his advice and changed my order. The fence was installed 1 week later. My dog has since then jumped over multiple times. I called Peerless on April 14, 2015 and spoke with *** the production manager. I told him how unhappy I was with the way the salesman had handle my order and asked if anything could be done. He asked me for a few days so he could speak with the owner. That was 3 weeks ago and I have not been contacted by Peerless since. I feel my salesman was grossly neglectful and irresponsible with the way he handled my order. I paid $3,650.00 for a fence that is worthless to me. In fact I have since had to incur the cost of a invisible fence to contain my dog. Which by the way - ***** also told me the The Invisible Fence would not work for my dog breed (it works perfectly). If he was such an expect on my dog's breed than he surely should have known they are notorious jumpers and escape artists. Even if he didn't know - I did tell him so when I repeatedly asked for assurance that the 4 foot would be high enough.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of some sort as I already have corrected my problem by purchasing another product. I had originally hoped to work something out with Peerless on a replacement product but they neglected to call me back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/05) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *****, owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@peerlessfence.com **** *****, sales manager and owner, contacted this customer today. The customer will be reimbursed $1,000 for all stated issues with her installation experience. She agreed this is an acceptable amount. We also apologized to her for any lacking in customer service she experienced. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The owner was sensitive to my concerns and resolved the matter to my complete satisfaction. Thank you.

11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We found this company to have very unprofessional business practices. We have two significant complaints. Firstly, they only completed the work on 2 of the 3 sides that we had agreed to. The initial proposal that ***** provided us with was unclear as to what exactly was covered. Upon asking for confirmation that the proposal included installation of new posts and fence panels on the East side of the yard, ***** did respond and confirm. He then came over a second time to look over the yard for potential issues with trees, etc. At that time we discussed, in detail, the installation of the fence on the West, North, and East sides. Everything seemed fine. On the day the work crew arrived, they told me that they were only there to install the fence on the West and North side. When I contacted ***** to discuss, he tried to tell me that the proposal did not cover the East side. When I reminded him that the last time he came to my house we had spoken, in detail, about replacing all three sides he said that he did not recall that. He then expected me to pay an additional $800 to complete the work that was agreed to. The second complaint I have regarding Peerless Fence is that ***** initially told me the work could be completed without obtaining a building permit. After waiting for nearly 3 weeks to schedule the work, someone else from Peerless called to tell me that a permit was in fact necessary. In the end, this ended up delaying the work an additional 4 weeks.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to complete the installation of the new fence on the East side of my backyard.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/19) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *****, owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@peerlessfence.com This issue is resolved, and as far as we know the customer is satisfied. The additional fencing was installed as requested by the customer at no additional cost.

8/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fence was purchased on 4/17 through home depot card. We were charged immediately. Fence was installed May19th. That next week we complained because we noticed a support board that was splitting, that a board was partially cut then used on fence and the gate doen't line up and is hung wrong. They came back out and assessed the problems and said yes we will fix it but offered no refund or credit. We scheduled repair for july 18th after numerous unaswered calls. They never showed up on the 18th and never called.

Desired Settlement: We would like partial or full refund. Its been 2 months since install and we still do not have a proper fence. We were forgiving until they didnt show!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/31) */ ****** ***** signed a contract for this fence project with Home Depot, for which we are a contractor. We did attempt to contact Ms. ***** in the days prior to July 18th to let her know we needed to reschedule her appointment. We regret she did not receive the message we left at the provided contact phone number. We were able to connect with her on 7/21 and perform the repairs on 7/23. We would be happy to discuss any outstanding issues with Ms. ***** if any remain at this time.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Peerless Fence
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart