This business is not BBB accredited.

Northwest Fence, Inc.

Phone: (815) 836-8731 Fax: (815) 836-8730 15537 Weber Rd, Romeoville, IL 60446 http://www.northwestcedar.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

On 3/2/2016 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Northwest Fence, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Northwest Fence, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Northwest Fence, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 30, 1996 Business started: 09/01/1993 Business started locally: 09/01/1993 Business incorporated 07/11/1995 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Keefe Jr., President Ms. Amalia Sloan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Keefe Jr., President
Business Category

Fence Contractors Fence Staining Fence Posts & Fittings Fence Material Gates Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Fences - Vinyl Fences - Wood Gazebos Patio & Deck Builders Deck Builders Vinyl Decking Swimming Pool Enclosures Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas Railings All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Alternate Business Names
Northwest Cedar Fence Northwest Cedar Products
Products & Services

This business offers: Fences, patio decks, and arbors.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Northwest Fence, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of D+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15537 Weber Rd

    Romeoville, IL 60446

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I RECEIVE A CONTRACT FROM THE CO. THEY OFFER ME THE FULL SERVICE OF NEW FENCE ON MY HOUSE WILL BE A TOTAL OF 5,000 DOLLARS THEY TOLL ME THAT I WILL NEED 1,000 DWN PYM. AND 4,000 WILL BE FINANCE BY THE CO. WITH NO CREDIT CHECK AND THEY OFFER ME 18 MONTHS TO PAID THE BALANCE WITHO NO INTEREST AND NO FINANCE CO. AFTER THEY CASHIER ME CHECK THEY CALL ME AND ASK HOW I WILL PAID THE BALANCE I TOLD THE LADY WHAT YOU MIND? AND I TOLD HER WHAT THE OWNER WHO WAS THE ONE WHO CAME DIRECTLY TO MY HOME WAS OFERED ME AND SHE TOLD ME THAT IS NOT TRUE YOU NEED TO PAID THE BALANCE ON FULL THE DAY WE FINISH THE JOB I TOLD HER THAT MY CREDIT IS NOT GOOD BUT EVEN LIKE THAT THEY TRY TO FINANCE ME THE BALANCE BUT THE CO. DIDN'T APROVE THE LOAN SO I TOLD THEM WHAT ELSE WE CAN DO THEY OFFER ME 12 MONTHS TO PAID THE BALANCE BUT THEY WANT MORE MONEY I TOLD THEM NO SO I CANCELL THE CONTRACT ON TIME BY FAX AND BY EMAIL AND SINCE THAT THEY THE CO. DIDNT CALL ME BACK AND EVERY DAY I CALL THEM AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THE COMPANY CAN'T DO ANYTHING THE ONLY PERSON WHO ARE ABLE TO DO REFUNDS IS DIRECTLY THE OWNER, AFTER SO MANY CALLS AND BAD TREAT TO MY SELF I SPOKE TODAY WITH GINA AND SHE FINALLY GIVE ME THE CELLULAR PHONE NUMBER FROM THE OWNER AND SHE TOLD ME TO DON'T CALL THE COMPANY NO MORE, AT THIS SITUACION I CALL HIM WITH NO ANSWER ALSO I SEND HIM A TEXT MESSAGE FROM MY PHONE BUT I'M SURE NO BODY WILL CONTACT ME. WHAT I WANT IS MY 1,000 DOLLAR BACK AND MAKE A COMPLAIN AGAINST THIS COMPANY THAT LIE TO COSTUMERS TO GET THE MONEY DOWNS AND AFTER THAT THEY ARE VERY UNPROFESSIONAL.

Business Response:

You were never told by anyone from our company that bad credit doesn't matter. You were denied by the finance company that you filled the application out for and we still offered you in house 12 month terms at 4%. We have done nothing wrong except for trying to help you. As you were told before your harassing calls, your check will be refunded. It is apparent the there is a communication gap and my it is not on our end. This is nothing more than a letter of experience. Thank you. 

 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I received a call from the owner only after making a complaint with the BBB and was told by him that I would receive my money when their company does their payroll. A refund has nothing to do with a company payroll and should not require over 2 weeks. Until I receive my refund I will not be satisfied with this business who needs to lie to potential customers in order to receive business. I have not made any harassing calls, I have simply called to try to get my refund and was answered by rude employees. The person who came to do the estimate passed their selves of to be the owner of the business and lied and stated no credit was needed for financing. It was only after receiving my deposit that the company changed their story. I did not accept their "financing" option because I was not satisfied with their customer service and they only offered it after I complained about being lied to.

Sincerely,

******** ******

6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had an estimate for a custom built on site fence. We were given a price in a contract and agreed to it. We gave them a $900 deposit towards the price to hold the date. We called a day before installation to ask a question about changing the top of the style and they told us the fence was already made so we could not change anything. When my husband told them we agreed to a built on site fence they said sometimes they do this to save time. They transferred us to our sales person *** he said that it was made and that's how they do things. My husband told him that is not something they agreed to and he said "unless I'm being recorded I did not say that". He then said obscenities to him. The owner called today to "make things work" saying he would put in fence on site now. My husband told him that he didn't want to deal with them anymore because they do not give what they promise; he would just like the deposit back. The owner laughed and said "That's not going to happen".

Desired Settlement: We expect the $900 deposit back that we paid to this company. We paid $900 to hold the date and did not get what we were promised.

4/5/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Per **** (dad of owner of Northwest ***** ********) He was to build me a deck that required an extra cost due to deck composite needed to be longer than average of 16 ft. I agreed to have the 20 ft deck boards at an additioanl cost and all deck boards were cut by his company upon installation. They were cut too short and not cut around certain areas as they should be. Composite deck material should all be cut at the same length and were not, they are uneven and looks cheaply done. There are areas they needed to trim around and they just cut the board shorter rather than trim. I complained to **** the owner of the deck company and he said he would come look at it and never did. I want the boards replaced and cut properly and evenly, I did not pay for a sloppy job. I'm tired of his excuses and promises. I want the deck to look like a professional did the work and I will find another company to correct his mistakes. The Village of Romeoville even failed their inspection and they had to correct it before continuing with the install. I had his son do my fence which was another disaster and **** promised to be there to make sure that was completed correctly and he never showed up as promised. Salespeople have trouble telling the truth!! I was also promised wider stairs and then was told I misunderstood, not true. He also promised to come back to redo the stairs and never did and just came out with more stories to tell.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of $3,500 so I can have my deck professionally redone and done the way I was told by ****....... I was well overly charged for a sad looking deck and promised wider stairs and did not receive them either.

11/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I talked to the owner John about the fence,(on 8/24) he said that was all normal, it does not effect the structure. When I agreed to their contract I was told that they use Grade 1 wood, better than Menards or Home Depot. Some of the splits are caused by workmanship by not pre-drilling the wood for brackets. The fence is a solid structure, but the material is rotting in less than a year! The customer service has been lacking, I talked to the owner because agent I was assigned to took off work for a month, he requested pictures of the fence they were sent July 29th, I understand that he had a personal emergency, but no one from the company contacted us, he has not contacted us since he has returned last week. I don't understand how rotting wood not be under warranty

Desired Settlement: I expected a high quality fence that would last years and years, and while the fence will stand, it does not look good. I would like the posts and boards that are split repaired

Business Response: Everything of concern is a natural characteristic of cedar. The quality is not poor and the splitting is a normal process any wood stucture will have. It is not a structural concern. I will make a note on your file giving you an additional 1 year warranty free of charge. Thank you for your business.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A few of the slats and missing end caps were replaced, I would like the post replaced too. I don't think that will happen.

Business Response: If the post needed to be replaced it would have been. All of the reason that I have listed already is why we will not replace the post. To replace it with one that will do the same thing makes no sense. If there is ever a structural problem we will gladly replace the component free of charge per the warranty agreement.
Thank you.

10/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had our fence installed at end of 10/2013 (after 2 reschedule dates by them with one excuse after another)They installed 3 posts on our underground sprinkler system!! We did not discover this until this month because we didn't use system last year or yet this year due to much rain. However we sold this home and new homeowners wanted to be sure sprinkler system was working and that is when it was discovered that they went right through the pipe!! The sprinkler guy who repaired said that the fence installer had to of known that they went right through it but guess what the fence guys NEVER said a word to me. How rotten is that!!! Now let me tell you that I told salesmen that gave us quote, lady in office AND the installers that we had an underground sprinkler system!! We were very worried knowing that there was this sprinkler underground. When I called Northwest Fence on 7-3-2015 and spoke with ? sorry don't recall her name and explained everything she said there's nothing they can do!! I nicely told her that I would be contacting BB and she then snapped that she had "proof" that this other lady in office went over a paper with me and said that if we had any "lines" (other than where ***** marks) we would have to mark them ourselves because they are not responsible so basically it's our fault and most likely nothing would be done but she would give message to owner. I told her that I wouldn't have known that other "lines" would mean a sprinkler system BUT I know for a fact that on 3 different occasions I told them that we had an underground sprinkler system!! I said to her what would I have to gain by NOT telling you about the sprinkler?? Nothing but aggravation and extra expenses!! VERY disappointed in this company!! Not a way to do business. We used them years ago with no problems but this time they were awful, deceitful and unprofessional!! It's to bad because we will need another much larger fence in a few months and guess who we WON'T be calling!! I will also let everyone know on Facebook and in our new subdivision about this issue, their lack of consideration, basically calling me a liar and not offering to pay for this repair THEY caused!! Fortunately it didn't cost us a lot but that's not the point and they should reimburse us. Thank you!!

Desired Settlement: Reimburse us the cost to repair what they damaged. Total cost $135.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/07/22) */ We are not liable for anything underground not located by J.U.L.I.E. This is an industry standard practice that not only every fence company follows but also any contractor preforming excavation on private property. Every customer is informed that we cannot be held liable for private lines that are not located. This includes sprinkler lines, sump pump lines, private gas lines and landscape drainage lines. The customer was informed of that and obviously didn't like our answer. This is not a BBB issue and is clearly a letter of experience. Please remove this from my record. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/07/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The damage in question was not to a sprinker line but to the sprinkler head itself which is clearly visible, We will not rescind our complaint. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2015/07/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) You have an excuse for everything. If there's no way to mark the sprinkler lines then why was I told by girl in your office that it should have been "marked?" The contractor who discovered this mishap and told me that the guys most definitely knew they hit the line has been in the business for over 30 years!! He had nothing to gain by telling me that. He did not do the repair. If you knew what you were talking about the pipe is not 18 inches down and further more we could and WOULD have changed where those posts would have been placed Mr. know it all!! I'm angry over the way this was handled, no return phone call from owner as I was told I would receive, being told I was a liar and now from you that I don't know what I'm talking about and you making excuses for error made by your company and not taking responsibility for it all over $135.00!! I was a second time customer of yours and would have been a third. So why are you so angry and adament about not refunding us the $135.00?? Sorry you're so bitter. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/07/24) */ There is no way to mark a sprinkler system so that would never be an option. A sprinkler line cuts very easy. You could go through it and never even know until the water from the line starts to fill the hole. If the system was off that didn't happen. It's a black hole with a black platic pipe 18" down. I disagree with your theory of knowing it was hit. If you had any idea of what you were talking about you would understand it was nothing more than an accident and could very easily be unknown. One that we would never be liable for. We do not have xray vision. The lines would not change the placement of the fence. The repair needed to be done regardless. Why are you so angry over this? $135 repair charge? I would gladly credit you on your next fence purchase from Northwest. My guess is that will never happen because your to bitter. Good luck in the future and I am sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Thank you.

9/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THEY INSTALLED THE FENCE ABOUT A YEAR AGO. THEY CAME ONTO MY PROPERTY WITHOUT MY PERMISSION WHICH IS TRESPASSING AND TOOK THE GATE WHICH IS THEFT. **** THERE OFFICE REPRESENTIVE SAID THEY TOOK IT DUE TO A OUTSTANDING BALANCE. I SAID IF THERE WAS A OUTSTANDING BALANCE HOW COME I HAVE NOT BEEN CONTACTED BY PHONE? IF I HAVE NOT BEEN RESPONDING BY PHONE WHY HAVE YOU NOT SENT A INVOICE "SHOWING" THIS BALANCE. I BELEIVE THIS IS BAD BUSINESS PRACTICES AND SHOULD BE LOOKED AT THOUROUGHLY.

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY GATE REPALACED AND SOME REFUND BACK DUE TO EMBARASSMENT AND TIME TAKING OUT OF MY DAY TO GET THIS RESOLVED...

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/07/24) */ The outstanding balance is $1500. You were fully aware of it when you agreed to make 3 monthly payments 6 months ago. Since your memory is lacking, I will remind you that was 6 months after the original date of install. Please stop selling us you didn't know there was an open balance. We heard that the first time you went 6 months overdue. Pay your bills! Shame on you for accusing us of being the thief. What a joke. Please remove this from my record. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 19, 2015/09/09) */ If there was a open balance why wasn't I contacted by mail or phone? Just like all other companies if there is a balance they try and contact you first through phone or mail then the next step is sending it to collections. Stepping foot onto my property without permission is trespassing, taking my gate is theft... Like you said your company contracts other people to install the fence which you told me that they took it. If these people that you contracted are "legal" I want there information. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 23, 2015/09/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Legal papers! Your company never came back to redo the papers on our agreement of price. You guys wanted the business and came out right away to install. If you want to talk legal, walking onto my property is trespassing and taking the gate is theft. So what do u have to say about that? If I owed the company money why wasn't it sent to a collections agency like all other creditors do or if you didn't reach me by phone why didn't you send out a letter to reach out to me? Final Business Response /* (4000, 25, 2015/09/10) */ This is going nowhere. I will mail you out your open balance invoice. After receiving payment from you we will build you a new gate at our expense.

12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had problems with my porch since it was built. I have water leaking from a gutter and water leaking on the inside of the porch. I have called and tried to have this resolved to no satisfaction. It takes months to get a call back from the company and all I get are excuses. The crew is on vacation and won't be back till the spring. Even then they are working on a project and we'll get to you when we are done. Product_Or_Service: Back porch

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like the porch fixed and the gutter too. If this was there money they would want the same. I am told because the gentleman who is running this operation is the brother of the owner not to expect results. If this is true I'd like financial compensation to get the problem fixed by a contractor who will do the job right.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1001, 16, 2014/11/20) */ From: **** ***** Sent: Thursday, November 20, XXXX X:XX PM To: ******** ******** Subject: Re: BBB complaint ********, Thank you for contacting me yesterday. MY reply: We have been in contact with the customer and the roofing company to try and resolve the issue. Thank you. Let me know if you need any further information. Thanks again, **** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 23, 2014/12/01) */ 11/29/14 I have been contacted by the business. I was told they were going to fix the problem and I still have the same problem cause IT HASN'T BEEN FIXED. Simple solution DON'T DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY!!!!! Final Business Response /* (4000, 27, 2014/12/15) */ 12/12/14 The roofing company talked to the client and it has been determined that the roof is not leaking. The only fix is an additional downspout that the customer did not originally want. Seeing as the job is over 3 years old any additional material and labor will need to be paid for. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 29, 2014/12/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First off there was no "Original" downspout offered. The gutters as I as shown by the roofer are positioned so that the water collects in one corner. The gutter leading away from the porch is 1/8th of an inch higher than the gutter leading to the house. That means Northwest Cedar doesn't know how to measure . The water is collecting in the corner because of this and the roofer also said the gutter flashing was not properly in stalled and that there are broken shingles in that area. The roofer also said that the run of a gutter doesn't matter it is the pitch of the gutter toward the downspout that does matter. I am not going to give this company anymore money to fix their incompetence for not having measured twice and cutting once. I am going to pay some else for a correct job. This company is not at all trust worthy and I have seen many reviews of customer complaints. I wish I hadn't done business with these people because you can't take them for there word. Make a promise to a customer and keep it. This company does not keep up to it's word and I will never recommend "ANYONE" do business with them unless you want to have a mess on your hands. I was also told by **** the sales guy that he was angry and that I had no business contacting the BBB about this matter. He said it was against his business and that he really didn't want to fix the problem but he would. Promise made, promise broke. I don't want them to touch my house I have already put into motion a fix and trust that this time the problem will be fixed. In my estimation this company gets an "-F" for service and quality. It should also be removed from the BBB. Many people just post complaints but forget to contact the BBB with there complaint for fear of what has happened to me. Thank you for your time but I am finished with this matter. I knew **** was lying to me when he said they would fix the problem after I filed my complaint.

11/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 10/24/14 A shadow board Western Red Cedar #1 Better Grade fence was to be installed replacing the existing fence in the same area. The installation was not done as discussed with the salesman, *** ******** wherein he assured that it would be placed in the same area, construction would be consistent. The cedar is not smooth, nor is the arch consistent, gaps along the ground which were not there prior. Caps not placed centered, double gate rough, placed inside property line, with a gap in between the to gates. The workmen did not clean up the yard before leaving, they were hard to communicate with and when asked to lower the side and make more even they were not happy with having to do that. I talked with the salesman on 10/25/14 and he came out on 10/27/14 to look at the work and argued the fact that there was nothing wrong and that in time the wood would look smooth. I asked why the neighbor whose cedar fence was installed by them was smoother and arched and flush with the ground and he indicated that theirs was built on premise. I asked that he contact me by 10/29/14 after talking with his supervisor and as of 10/30/14, I have had no response.

Desired Settlement: Either Northwest come out and put the fence in as previously discussed with *** ******* on 9/12/14 or they remove completely and refund the amount of the current deposit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/30) */ I am very familiar with this complaint. I have seem pictures, talked with the salesman and the foreman on job site. There is nothing wrong with the fence installation. The minor adjustments such as a few cracked boards and centering a couple posts caps are easily fixed. Pertaining to the 2-3" gaps under the fence there is no fix for. It is very common after taking down a fence that had been installed over 20 years ago that the new fence look higher than the last. It would be impossible to install it on or below ground like the old fence. The boards are the same 5" boards we have used for years and they are not rough at all. We install 3000 fences a year and this is the only complaint about them being rough I have ever encountered. Just the weather and a few rain storms remove the tiny splinters that are present on any fresh cut piece of lumber. Unreasonable is the only word to describe this customer. The fact that a bbb complaint is filed before a service man has even had a chance to respond is unreasonable. The assumption that the fence would have not one gap under the fence is unrealistic. The desired resolution is ridiculous and will never happen. We informed the customer that we are willing to address any issues that are in our control to fix. Even the statement about the crew not being happy as they lowered the portion of the fence. They did exactly as you asked them to do. They were not happy about it because it was not the right way to do it in their mind. The crew chief (Raul) has professionally installed around 4000 fences over the last 16 years with us. My guess would be he knew exactly what he was doing. Also, he is not hard to communicate with at all. His English is almost perfect and the manor in which he speaks always polite. At this point the balance of the project will need to be paid in full as per your contract. No service will be preformed ,also per the contract, until the balance is paid in full. If that is not an acceptable solution then we can remove the fence but the deposit will not be refunded. We have an excellent reputation for customer satisfaction. It starts with mutual respect between client and customer. I feel we are dealing with an unreasonable and possibly prejudice customer. Please help BBB. Thank you, **** *****

8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I met with **** *****, a sales rep for Northwest, and placed an order with him for a new cedar fence to be installed on my property in Chicago. I do not recall the date of our initial meeting. We agreed a cedar fence with five foot shadowbox and one foot spindles would be installed around the perimeter of my property for a grand total of $6000. A down payment of 20%, $1200, was given to Northwest using my wife's visa card. **** stated this install would be completed in one day. On 5/15 installation began. I was told by Northwest I did not need to be present for the install, so I went to work. At about 2pm I went home to check progress at which point I noticed the error in materials. Erroneously installed on my property was a 6 foot top to bottom shadow box fence. The discussion of how things would proceed began the following morning with ***, the production manager allegedly responsible for the error. At the time Northwest reluctantly offered to remove the fence to install the one I had ordered, but strongly cautioned and discouraged me from doing so by stating that removing the fence will severely damage the ground and could adversely affect the correct fence. It was also stated by Northwest that their crew was so far along that this would put their production off schedule. Negotiations began and included a discounted price, upgraded finishes (post cap style, type of wood, brass/copper post caps, etc), and compensation for the subsequent half day of work I would need to take off 5/16 since the job was not finished in one day as promised. *** sent me picture messages of possible upgraded post caps that morning. Since I am a *********************, I am not at liberty to take personal calls while at work. I told *** I was not comfortable making decision about finishes without seeing them on my property. I began the price negotiation with *** but since I did not have the time to complete the conversation, I had my mother-in-law, who was contributing to pay for the fence, continue the negotiations regarding price. My conversation with *** ended with him stating to me that he would be able to compensate me for my necessary time off from work to determine what finishes we would have. This needed to be done in order to complete the job on the second day of the install. My mother-in-law continued the price negotiations with *** in a subsequent phone call. It was agreed upon by *** and my mother-in-law that to reconcile this error, we would receive $800 off the original price as well as $200 in the form of a gift card from Northwest. On 5/16/2014 my wife's visa card was charged with the remaining balance minus the $800 discount, so $4000. Several follow up conversations were had with Northwest due to improper installation of some fence parts but those conversations were had with ****, the service manager. Once the fence was adjusted by ****, I expected to resolve the payment and compensation issues with ***. After leaving several messages that were not addressed, I contacted *** via text message on 6/3. This is the conversation verbatim. ME: *** this is **** **********, we had the wrong fence put in, remember? I left another message on Saturday but again still have not heard back from your company. I see our credit card is being hit with charges but we still have not received the gift card or compensation for the half day I had to take on that Friday to get the job completed. When Can I expect these to be processed and how will I receive my reimbursement? My half day cost me $207. ***: Per my conversation with your mother took money off fence and gift card will be sent end of June your time was included in that amount that it. ME: My mother-in-law was not aware that Northwest was reimbursing me for my time off so it could not have been part of your negotiations with her. You had that agreement with me. ***: She was paying for fence deal was with her your gift card will be sent end of month no more.

Desired Settlement: I would like the promises made by Northwest and *** upheld. We were promised an $800 discount and that has been granted and processed. I am still waiting for the $200 gift card (I realize it is still June so Northwest still has 6 days to fulfill that promise). *** promised to reimburse me for my half day off from work which amounts to $207. In summation, I am waiting for a grand total of $407 to be given to me by Northwest in monetary funds.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/07/28) */ Let me start by saying I am sorry for not responding to this complaint earlier. Although I was aware of the job I did not know they filed a BBB complaint until talking to the rep. For some reason emails from the BBB go into my spam. To my knowledge no gift card has ever been sent out. *** was terminated almost 6 weeks ago and the gift card was something he was doing out of his own pocket and did not inform myself or my partner ***. Needless to say, The Mother in Law has stopped payment on her purchase in the amount of $200. I would assume it was due to not receiving the gift card. That has not been disputed nor will it be from us. The facts are we did install the wrong fence but an agreement was made to keep the fence with a discount of $800. Your choice of words about how you came to the conclusion of keeping the erroneous fence is misleading at the very least. *** made a mistake and came to an agreement with the parties paying for the fence. Compensating you for time away from work was not and would never be an additional subject open for discussion. Even in ***'s response he clearly stated that included everything. I had even talked to you myself and this was not mentioned. You seemed to understand the situation and I am surprised that a complaint was even filed. We are sorry that the top line of the fence is not what you had originally purchased but in no way were you forced into keeping the erroneous fence. Two options were provided and a decision was made. All agreements have been met. In summary there will be no further compensation by Northwest. I will extend the warranty for an additional year at no charge. Please call our service department wilh any concerns you may have in the future. Thank you, **** ***** President

11/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted the business to install a vinyl fence on 6/10/13 and was told they could possibly start the work in 2 - 3 weeks. After we paid the 20% downpayment, we got a call 2 days later stating they could not start the job until the 2nd week of July. After they completed the job we complained to the workers about the inferior installation; workers stated this was the best they could do. On 7/19/13 they came out and straighten the north fence, but did not correct the problems with the gates, spacing in the fence, the locks,astestic and other issues. After business did not send anyone out to conduct a final inspection of the job, we called the office to complain about the inferior installation on 7/24/13 and was told some would call back. **** called on 7/25/13 and was very abrupt and stated he was not able to schedule anyone to come out; he stated we would have to speak with *** who would call us back. After *** or nobody else called us back; I contacted Discover card and disputed the charge around 7/26/13. On 8/2/13 accountant Amaria called because we disputed the charge. After some miss communications on 8/5,7,8,14/13. Finally on 8/15/13 a worker showed at our house around 10am - no prior contact to let us know he was coming. We discussed the problems and made an appointment for 8/21/13 to correct the problems. He asked if I would release the complain today, because today was the last day to respond to Discover card. I told him I would call Discover and give them an extension. When I called Discover they stated the business had until 8/27/13 to respond - they lied to get me to release the complain. On 8/22/13 the worker came out and lowered the gate on the northside, but was unable to straighten door & lock, all the spacing issues to make area completely private and he would have to come back to complete all the other inferior installation issues. He also put very unattractive screws in the gates to cover hole that were improperly drilled from gate being installed improperly; he did not have enough material to correct the southgate and stated he would have to comeback. The worker came back and corrected the fence installation to the best of his ability, but it is impossible to correct an installation involving fence post set into concrete. Discover reinstated the charge, but the fence is not as we would like it to be had it been properly installed in the beginning. Also they have not provided us with a copy of the warranty as we have requested on several occasions. They have poor customer service and are not consumer friendly after they get your business/money and would not have responded to our original complaint, if we had not contacted Discover. We had to interrupt our work schedule to get them to respond to us and had to be available for them to correct the initial improper installation. There are a lot of more issues, but these are the main issues, the workers (except for the repairman) and the office staff were not responsive to our issues.

Desired Settlement: After addressing the issues the business never offer any compensation for our inconvenience and time. They treated the whole issue like it was our fault. I don't know if they thought because we were an older black couple, they could treat us anyway they wanted. Well that is not the case, we know our rights and demand that we receive the same treatment as if we were a middle age white couple living in Winnetka of Hindsdale. Until this issue is resolved I will continue to file complaints and post their performance on any social/internet media available. We may not get full satisfaction, but by making this experience public, maybe we can stop another person/couple from being mistreated/taken advantage of in the future. The amount requested as a settlement id 25% of the total cost of the project.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/03) */ I have already responded to this. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Per your information provide on 10/1/2013 in this noticed 10/4/13, there was no response from the business to the first notice. The business has not contacted us regarding this complaint; since they have not responded to the BBB first notice and have not contacted us; how can they claim they have already responded to this. Our original complaint stands and our desired resolution stand as originally submitted. NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please note that the BBB has never received a response to this complaint. Please address the consumer's concerns so that we may move forward in resolving this complaint. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/10/31) */ I apologize for the delay in the response. This is my third attempt to reply but they do not seem to be making it to you. Let me start with the install date that we had given you. All year long we have had a 5-6 weeks wait time. When you were informed of the wait 2 days after you had purchased the fence at that time you could have cancelled the contract if that was not acceptable to you. You did not in fact you informed the office that it was fine. Next, the inferior installation remark could not be more exaggeration. The post in question was one inch out of square. I agree it was not square but we also attempted to fixed it for you even though the reason it was out of square was not our fault but due to a footing already existing in your ground. Vinyl gates have gaps by the hinges and the latch. There is nothing we or any fence company can do to change that. we did remake the gate all to close the gap a 1/4". That seems like pretty good service in my opinion. You had some issues with the fence and we addressed them all. You stopped payment on your card and then your husband authorized us to run it . It was not due to a lie. It was because the work was done and he was happy. Adam may have stated a wrong date but I do not know what difference it would have made anyways. He most certainly is not a liar. This brings me to my final and your most insulting point but I am sure you knew that. We have been in business for 20 years and I have never had a customer insinuate their treatment was due to race or gender. Your racial analogy is enough evidence to see exactly what kind of person I am dealing with. We have treated you with respect throughout the whole process. You wanted some issues addressed and we did just that. Your fence is beautiful and will last a very long time. Now you want a discount of 25%? It will never happen. It is not because of your racial comments or that I am trying to prevent you from slandering my name in the media. It is only because your not entitled to one. I will however with a non bias opinion gladly service any future problems you may have for the remainder of your warranty. Thank you.

10/10/2013 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Northwest Fence, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart