This business is not BBB accredited.

Northern Illinois Fence, Inc.

Phone: (815) 756-3561 Fax: (815) 756-7920 320 W Lincoln Hwy, Cortland, IL 60112 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.cnifence.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northern Illinois Fence, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Northern Illinois Fence, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 26, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business started locally: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated 03/26/1996 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Hohe, Branch Manager Mr. Ray Hohe, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Hohe, Branch Manager
Business Category

Fence Contractors Fence Posts & Fittings Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Fences - Vinyl Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Alternate Business Names
C N I Fence Complete Northern Illinois Fence

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    320 W Lincoln Hwy

    Cortland, IL 60112

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed an agreement for a fence installation job with Northern Illinois Fence, Inc., (CNI Fence) which they have clearly not completed in accordance with the specifications in the written agreement. After several verbal conversations about the issue, on May 3rd, 2014 we notified the Registered Agent for Northern Illinois Fence that we did not accept the construction work they promised to deliver as complete. We also communicated that if they did not complete the work as promised in writing by May 9th, (they made a firm commitment to complete the work by May 7th) that we would file a fraud complaint with the Illinois Attorney General, a complaint with the Village of Arlington heights, a claim against their supplier for breach of warranty and last but not least, a Better Business Bureau complaint. As an owner with no construction experience, I was in no position to be able to thoroughly supervise and inspect Northern Illinois fences work and expected them to perform the work as we agreed in writing.. Furthermore, having paid quite a premium price for the service I did not feel that I would need to observe the construction, and it wasnt practical or possible for me to assure myself fully that the construction was being performed in a proper manner and in accordance with the design. Contractors warranties in construction contracts are designed to meet this need. Sometimes referred to as a guarantee, a warranty is an assurance by one party to an agreement of the truth of certain facts upon which the other party may rely and is intended precisely to relieve the other party of any duty to ascertain these facts for itself by promising to reimburse that party for any loss if the facts warranted prove to be untrue.Indeed, Northern Illinois fences installers who worked on the job at claimed the work could not be finished, since the installers wrongly stated that posts weren't available to finish the installation, when they had in fact, installed the fence in an unworkmanlike manner and not to specifications. First, instead of installing a rail end in conformance with the "end post by others" specification in writing, in the above-referenced agreement, CNI fence instead installed a post at one end of the fence; and then installed a board in the gap that would have been filled by the fence had it been installed correctly, marked "temporary build". While at the other end of the fence, CNI fence also didn't install a rail end as specified, but instead used aluminum wire to attach the fence to the neighbors fence and wooden posts where the first post should have been installed.We have contacted CNI fence over and over and over again regarding this breach and worked with both **** ****** and *** ****** to cure this default, but the issue has not been resolved. If the defects in workmanship are not resolved by May 9, 2014, we would pursue a Warranty claim with ***** Fence, since the Company is a dealer, file complaints with the Village of Arlington Heights and the Better Business Bureau, and a fraud complaint with the Illinois Attorney General. CNI promised to fix the issue on Wednesday May 7th, but once again there performance fell short.This company has demonstrated performance that is either dishonest or incompetent, or both. Frankly, if they had spent 1/3rd of the time simply completing the work that they have spent trying to get out of their contractual obligation, we would have all been far better off. Product_Or_Service: Fence Installation Order_Number: n/a Account_Number: April 3rd 2014

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Complete the project according to the specifications, or pay a contractor to complete the work as agreed in the written agreement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/06/10) */ FW: Bbb complaint 1 message ***** **** <*****@cnifence.com> Tue, Jun 10, 2014 at 1:50 PM To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Cc: *** ******* <********@cnifence.com>, **** ****** <*******@cnifence.com> Mrs. ******* I apologize I have not gotten any of the messages aside from your voicemail yesterday. As I'm sure you get this all the time, but this complaint is ridiculous. We are a fence dealer which means our customers buy fence from us and have us install it. The ****** felt they were better off buying their own material (for which we are a dealer) and wanted us to install it. Despite our strong recommendation that they allow us to purchase the material and they buy it from and hire us to install it (so we are sure we have what we need to finish the job) they refused and felt they could save themselves money by buying it individually and having us then install it. We always order extra material when we buy our material. However due to the ****** un-willingness to ask their neighbors to attach their fence we did not have the proper materials and were unable to finish the job. We told them what they needed and had it in stock but they were unwilling to pay for the post and said they would order it themselves. So the the job was left incomplete do to having insufficient materials on the job which was OUT of our control. They refused to order additional material and tried holding us responsible. Their reasoning being "*** approved their material list". We were unable to finish one fence line because Mrs. ***** refused to ask her niehgbors for permission to install rail ends on their fence (attach to their fence). For this we installed a 1' "baffle" in order to close the fence, this was done at no additional cost to the customer. We were and are unable to finish the job because Mrs. ***** refuses to pay $50 for the additional line post she needs of which she did not order. This is an overly fair price and does not even cover the $500 we have into trying to fix her fence numerous times. We have tried and tried again but Mrs. ***** refuses to solve her own issues amicably. ***** **** Northern Illinois Fence Complete Fence Cortland, IL West Chicago, IL P: XXX-XXX-XXXX C:XXX-XXX-XXXX *****@CNIFence.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/06/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) What is ridiculous is this unscrupulous vendor which we have asked repeatedly to finish the job as specified, that we contracted and paid for. If this vendor spent 10% of the time and effort doing what they agreed instead of making excuses about how it's the homeowners fault they didn't do the job, we would have been done and happy months ago. We have sent them a WRITTEN REJECTION OF COMPLETION as required under the agreement. We have filed this BBB complaint, reversed the credit card charges and will now file a complaint with the Illinois Attorney General's office of consumer fraud. This vendor has what we would describe politely as a vivid imagination, less politely, they are unprofessional and either incompetent or corrupt. BUYER BEWARE - YOU WILL GET THE SAME LEVEL OF SERVICE. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/06/19) */ I have spoken to Mr. ***** and we discussed his issues vs. our issues. Our company agreed that we would install the rail ends as per his request once he got us the proper approval and this online slander was removed.