Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Freeman Fence-Brookfield

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 495-0485 Fax: (800) 495-0475 3515 Cleveland Ave, Brookfield, IL 60513 http://www.freemanfence.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Freeman Fence-Brookfield meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Freeman Fence-Brookfield include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Freeman Fence-Brookfield
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 08, 2005 Business started: 05/01/2004 Business started locally: 05/01/2004
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Roger Freeman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Freeman, Owner
Business Category

Fence Contractors Fence Posts & Fittings Fence Material Gates Aluminum Aluminum Products Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Fences - Vinyl Fences - Wood Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors Iron Work Aluminum Fabricators Door & Gate Operating Devices All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Alternate Business Names
Freeman Fence-Chicago Freeman Fence-Palos Hts.

Additional Locations

  • 10101 S. Roberts Rd.

    Palos Hills, IL 60465

  • 3515 Cleveland Ave

    Brookfield, IL 60513 (800) 495-0485

  • 3515 Cleveland Ave.

    Brookfield, IL 60513

  • 4619 Armitage Ave.

    Chicago, IL 60639

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/18/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First of all, all i said below is true and i took full responbility on what i am writing here. Please feel free to contact me at ******************@gmail.com if you need more information because i believe what they did was unprofessional, illegal...I did not take them to court because i am really busy with work and do not want to waste time on them...they will be punished sooner or later if they do not change their way of doing business. Back in september 2014, we need to install about 300-ft soundproof ecostone fence in our newly purchased house. Got 4 proposals and their price of $21,000 is in the middle. The guy who gave us the proposal, *** ********** partner of the company seems a nice guy and know about fence, so we signed contract with him in Mid Oct and make a down-payment of $10,000 because he told me he needs to order material. Material will delivery in 2-3 weeks and installation would take less than 1 week. I told him we are flexible on time, but it has to be done by Thanksgiving because we will have party and i would like fence installed before that. He confirmed me this is not a problem at all and we also put this in the contract. About two weeks before thanksgiving, no one came install the fence, i called *** and left voice mail, no answer, i emailed him, no answer. After severall trials, finally, i got talk to someone from his office and i was told he is on vocation in Europe and will be back in a few days and they will make sure he will call me back when he is back. Nobody called me since and then it is after thanksgiving. Then i got a voice mail from Jim asking me to call him back. I called back and left voice mail, but never hear back from him again. Then i decide that is it, I emailed *** and told him to contact me before the next day, otherwise, i need my money back. No body contacted me. I contacted my credit company and request money back. Good that the credit company assured me that if i can prove the service not provided, they can get money back. Credit card company is quite efficient, i got my money back in a few weeks. I emailed *** and ask for explanation why this is happening, no one ever responded me...At one point, i wanted to bring them to the court for the interest on my down payment, all inconvenience caused, ...Then i decide not worth it, but i would like to share this experience with other people. I am lucky that i made payment using credit card and i finally got my money back....

Desired Settlement: Pay me interest on the downpayment i made,

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/05/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************@aol.com I am very sorry for the inconvenience to our customer. We placed an order for the material Ms. **** requested, but we had issues with our supplier getting the material. Unfortunately, there was a miscommunication with the cancellation of the job at the office. We had fully intended to deliver the job when the material came in, otherwise we would never have charged the deposit. We pay an average of 3% to the credit card company for each transaction (in this case around $300), regardless of whether or not the charge is later refunded. Ms. **** was credited her entire $10,000 on November 12th, one month later. We will be happy to refund the interest on that money for that month. We tried calling the customer regarding this, but have not received a call back. We regret that the material did not arrive from the manufacturer in a timely manner; there are some things beyond our control. We take great pride in our company and our customer service.

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Freeman installed a new backyard fence at my house in April of 2014 (contract #15832, price was $9520). In May, it was noticed that all corners showed gaps between posts and panels, with panels being able to be moved back and forth. The main gate did not swing closed and latch anymore. Multiple calls for service to Freeman during June and July were not returned. Last call was made today (06-Aug-2014) with no reply. Issue filed with BBB. ------------------------------------------------- 8/18/14 info from consumer: The business has adjusted the gate to my satisfaction. The business is supposedly coming out on Friday to replace the 7 missing U channels between the posts and the panels. I will update this record if this happens. Thanks

Desired Settlement: 1) Repair gate to close as originally installed (swing close and latch) 2) Repair all corners so that fence panels are tight and do not flex/move against posts

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/22) */ Dear BBB - We are in contact with the consumer and are in the process of resolving the issues. He is on schedule and the work should be completed within the next couple of days. Thank you, ***** Freeman

3/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Freeman Fence, November 5, 2012 to repair and replace my existing cedar fence with new posts that had rotted due to a previous fence company that did not properly cement the posts all the way through to the ground and used rocks and, most likely, only one bag of cement; just enough to hold the posts in the ground. In addition to replacing the posts, I requested a gate be installed in the exiting spot replacing the metal gate. The salesman, **** ************ was very devious, as had all other fence contractors, explaining that the entire fence had to come down then re-installed; its a lot of labor according to **** and the price reflected that. In addition, I spent a great deal of time explaining the details of the gate. I wanted the gate to close the same way in the existing direction, everything would be the same; the wooden gate would replace the metal gate. I asked for sample drawings and pictures of gates and received none of what I requested. Youll love it, he kept saying to me. I kept asking for design options up until the installers came, and still, no photos to choose my option. They did not bring a fence, they built a fence on the premises from scratch. The issues of my complaint are referenced below. ***** *******, the owner, had been playing games with dates for the last year. Setting up a date and cancelling many times over; weather, extreme cold, rain, cannot work on weekends, etc. I have initiated every call. My last call was my final attempt to find resolution before further action would be taken. October 17, 2013 ***** set another date to resolve the list of issues. We had rain during that particular day. The afternoon cleared up and I rushed home to meet the worker and no one showed up at the property and no attempt to call me to cancel or reschedule. Page 2: When I spoke with ***** *******, he said that it was raining so no one came. ***** wanted to send workers while I was not home, and I told him that would not be acceptable. Product_Or_Service: 10/27/2012

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) ***** *******, Freeman Fence, will not resolve the items detailed in my complaint. ***** *******'s offer was to have me pay for another gate and not to resolve any other items detailed in my complaint.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/01) */ After reading through this complaint about repairing the old fence that was installed by another company, we are at a loss. There are several claims in this complaint that are not true. I welcome a non-partial arbitrator to come evaluate what was performed at this home. To call our estimator, and all other fence companies, "devious" is shocking and slanderous. We will not be threatened by a home owner seeking to smear our fine reputation for not refunding money a year and a half later, due to buyer's remorse. We did, in fact, remove the fence in order to install the new posts. If we had not taken apart the fence, it would still be attached to the old posts. Removing only the posts with the fence still attached would be impossible. Also, the winter of 2013-2014 has been one of the most severe winters in years. The posts were properly installed, and after examining them, the posts are plum, straight, and without any heaving, through temperatures that hit below zero. If these posts were not properly installed, they would not have made it through the winter. We sent a crew back on different occasions to clean up small amounts of dirt, and unfortunately, we couldn't satisfy the customer. As for the gate that was damaged by the wind, that is not a warrantee issue. The swing of the gate was built to industry standards and her specifications. Please provide a drawing of what it is that you would like built. We would welcome your arbitrator to look into this matter and we will do what the arbitrator feels is correct, since we cannot come to a compromise with Ms. *********. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/03/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would encourage ***** ******* to read the complaint again. You are not answering any of the complaints listed. I will simplify so that you can understand more clearly. I never agreed to have a post installed in my cement patio; I had to stop your installers from drilling a 3 inch diameter hole; see photo attached. I never agreed to have the gate hung on that wall, that it hangs today; gate hung on wrong wall; that was your instructions to the installers; they did not have the proper hinges to install the gate on the other side of the house to make it swing the opposite way; the installers wanted to hang the gate and speak to you about different hinges; see photo. The gate is too low to the ground; improper; poor craftsmanship; the gate will have a shorter lifespan due to rain, snow, and ice that will eventually rot the wood; see photo. The gate is improperly attached to the opposite wall that hold the other part of the lock; according to a home inspection; poor craftsmanship; see photo. The lock only lasted a few months; lock is defective; see photo. The debris from the removal of the fence posts (dozen) has never been cleaned-up nor removed from the premises after the work was completed; I complained many times over the last year and you have yet to send anyone to complete the cleanup; see photo. I am only asking for you to remedy the issues I have listed above. If you cannot do so, then you can remove the gate and refund $350 for a gate that which I did not request, clean-up the property from all debris, and deliver several bags of pea gravel bags to restore the vegetable walking path to it's original look. You continue to disregard all questions for resolution and ignore all complaint issues. You are unprofessional and consumers should be aware of your business practices and be clearly informed before they make any decisions to hire any unprofessional unethical business, such as Freeman Fence, and consumers should be aware of how you treat women who hire you. In my response on 03/03/2014, if you clearly read the Consumer Rebuttal, I stated that I welcome any third party to come visit the work of Freeman Fence. As per the BBB, they will inform me if and when there is arbitration processes. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/03/06) */ Thanks for the pictures, as you can see everything was performed per the contract. Job looks great. Gate as stated was damaged by extreme winds and is not covered warnentee. This is the 3rd time that we have requested arbitration and she has yet to agree. She wants something extra that was not contracted for. Her harrassments of the installers, the salespeople, our interoffice, and myself the owner has been unreal. Again, your refusal to arbitration and your rambling 6 page complaint on a fence repair is so far over the top, we are at a loss.

12/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/22/2013, ******* Fence came to install a "#1 select clear western red cedar" fence and an 11' wide X 6' high "Ameristar Ornamental Steel Gate, Majestic Style" per contract #XXXXX. The total cost was $4,240 with 1/2 or $2,120 down. There was no allocation for the price of the fence and the price of the gate. There were numerous problems with this project. ******* did not follow the contract and began building the wrong style of fence. - Several posts are out of plumb and -the fence panel next to the garage was attached directly to the aluminum siding instead of to posts as shown in the contract. -All of the boards are not #1 select clear red western cedar. -Mr. ******* replaced some of the boards, but I've still got some that are chipped, split or warped. That being said, the primary dispute is with the gates. When ******* tried to install one leaf, it almost fell of the hinges. ******* stated that they had the wrong hinges. The Ameristar rep stated that the posts weren't plumb and needed to be reset. The ******* sales rep mentioned that the gate might be too heavy. At this point Mr. ******* agreed to pick up the gates and credit my account. He has since given me 2 different prices. One for $1,135 and one for $1,000. This didn't appear reasonable to me since I had gotten 2 other estimates for less costly aluminum gates which raged from $1200 to $1600. So I asked him for supporting documentation i.e. his purchase receipt for the gates, posts & hinges. He has ignored my requests. His story has also changed. At one point he stated that he used two 8 foot panels that he had on hand and four 6 foot uprights to make the gates. He attributed $300 to his labor to build, $180 for his labor to install and a 30% overhead. When I asked for clarification since the contract called for Ameristar Majestic gates, he changed his story and said that he purchased the gates and gate kit from Ameristar. I just want to pay Mr. ******* what he is owed which would be the total cost of the contract less the cost of the gates, posts, hinges & overhead. I tried to obtain this information directly from Ameristar, but they stated they are the manufacturer & I would have to get the info from *******. Please help me conclude this matter. Sincerely. ******* ********

Desired Settlement: I would like a reasonable allocation for the gates deducted from the total cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/16) */ I would be glad to personally meet with a BBB Arbrition Rep to resolve this. As Long as this customer agrees to accept the out come and put money in an escroe account. Boards are as speficied and any checking of movement of a board is normall. I will put the quality of this fence against any other with in a 10 mile radious. From day one she was even questioning if it was cedar, now she claims that it is not the proper grade. We even had the factory come out at there expense to look at the gates. When we could not satisfy her we removed the gates at our expense. We are in the process of spending more money to put a mechinics lein on the property to resolve this. She will not allow phone communication and only checks email once a week. Please help us. I Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 25, 2013/12/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This "quote" dated 10/18/2013 clearly is not for my supposedly custom Ameristar 11ft wide X 6 ft high gate. When Mr. ***********, the Ameristar rep came out to inspect why ******* was having difficulting installing the gates, he stated that the gates were purchased from Ameristar. He even said that they were under Ameristar's warranty. Why would the Ameristar rep even come out for something ******* fabricated? *******'s own salesman **** called me for clarification of the size before he ordered the gates from Ameristar. This is really upsetting, I agreed to pay a premium price of $4,240.00 for Ameristar custom gates and #1 select clear western red cedar per the contract and I didn't get either. Had I known this, I would have accepted the $3,500.00 estimate for regular cedar and fabricated gates. Why can't Mr. ******* provide a copy of the invoice for the materials he purchased for my contract in April. If he refuses, I would like to go to arbitration. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2013/11/27) */ Dear BBB- We received a letter from a ***** ******* (copy attached) requesting us to fax a reply, which we did. We faxed back a response and a copy of the Ameristar invoice to the number listed. I then notified ***** ****** just in case, assuming that the letter and invoice would be submitted to the ongoing file. I don't know why this was never forwarded to the customer. The invoice from Ameristar shows what we were charged from Ameristar. There are no pre-assembled gates availabe in steel from Ameristar, unless it's a standard size. We have to order the material in pieces and build it "custom" for non standard sizes, which is what we did. I'm attaching the documents that I faxed before. ***** *******

7/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/2/2013 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Freeman Fence-Brookfield
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)