Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

First Class Fence Company

Phone: (847) 906-3231 Fax: (847) 317-0364 1456 East Course Drive, Riverwoods, IL 60015 http://fcfence.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description



First Class Fence Company is a fence contractor which installs, maintains, and repairs fences for both residential and commercial customers. Located in Riverwoods, IL, this company serves the northern suburbs of Chicago, including Lincolnshire, Deerfield, Highland Park, Buffalo Grove, Wheeling, Northbrook, Bannockburn, Mettawa, Long Grove, Vernon Hills, and Highwood. The company is family owned and operated and was formed in 2004 by John Homan, who has over 35 years of experience in the fence and access control industry. The company is a member of the American Fence Association, the Illinois Landscape Contractors' Association, and several Chambers of Commerce.

Services that this company provides include access control, gate operators, telephone entry systems, gate card readers, custom wood fences, trap fences in wood or vinyl, decorative entry fences and gates, high-security fences and gates, tennis courts and athletic fields, temporary fences, electronic gate operators, interior cages and partitions, horse and farm fences, dog kennels and chain link dog runs, safety guard rails, bumper posts and square lattice fencing, arbors, trellises, pergolas, and dumpster enclosures. They also remove, relocate, and repair fences, including those that have been damaged by storms. Materials available for fences include wood, ornamental iron, aluminum, chain link, or polyvinyl. First Class Fence Company is also available for fence consultation and specification expertise should a customer need a custom-designed fence or access control system.

Visit the website for First Class Fence Company to learn more about the services they provide, view examples of their work, and request a consultation about a fence project or access control consultation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that First Class Fence Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for First Class Fence Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on First Class Fence Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 26, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1989 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 05/25/2007 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Mary Jo Homan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Mary Jo Homan, President
Business Category

Fence Contractors Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Fences - Vinyl Fences - Wood Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

This business offers: Residential & Commercial Fence Contractors install, repair, and replace maintenance-free wood, aluminum, chain link, iron, composite, and polyvinyl fences for high security, pet containment or decorative screening.


Additional Locations

  • 1456 East Course Drive

    Riverwoods, IL 60015 (847) 906-3231

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: in Dec. 2010 All American Fence now DBA First Class Fence installed a fence on our property. On *** 30, 2013 I noticed that one of the support posts on the fence was defective, split and cracked and no longer giving support to the 2 side fence panels. On that day I called **** ***** (the president of All American Fence) to report the problem. I was told he would send someone out to check on it. I heard nothing after that. a few weeks later I called back and left a message. then called back again a few days later and left another message and so on until I left a message threatening to fill a report with the BBB. I then recieved a call back apologizing and saying that MR. ***** would look into it. By the beginning of August 2013 nothing had been done and I had heard nothing from Mr. *****. I called again, threatening to file a report with BBB. I did receive a call back once again apologizing,saying that they had closed All American Fence and opened a new fence business under the name of First Class Fence and I had been calling on the old phone #. Mr. ***** said he would look into it but was about to take one of his children off to college and when he got back he would check into it. Again I heard nothing. A few weeks later I called again spoke to Mr. ***** who again apologized said her would come out and look at it. Which he eventually did and called me to let me know that yes the post was defective and that he would have someone come out and replace it. It is now Oct. 14, 2013, and nothing has been done. I did once again call Mr. ***** at First Class Fence the middle of last week and left a message that if the fence was not repaired by the next day I would file a report with the BBB. I have heard nothing since my last phone call so I am today filing a complaint. It seems to me that All American Fence which **** ***** was president of must of had some problems and so he and his wife closed the business and then started up a new fence business under the name of First Class Fence with his wife **** ** ***** as President. I think do diligence needs to be looked into here as to whether they are trying to pull a scam.

Desired Settlement: I would really like them to replace the post that is damaged. i still will have to arrange to have the post re stained to match the rest of the fence. In lieu of replacing the post I would request a $500 cashiers check so that I can have another fence company replace the damaged post and have it re stained to match the rest of the fence. I know that fence companies have minimum fees for work they do. So even a reasonably small job can be costly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/11/12) */ Complaint #XXXXXXXX 1 message John ***** <*******@gmail.com> Tue, Nov 12, 2013 at 11:47 AM To: *******@chicago.bbb.org Hi *****, We replaced Ms. *********'s post 2 weeks ago. It should never have been broken, I apologized to her for how long it took to replace. Best, **** ***** -- Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/11/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) First Class Fence did replace the broken post the last week of October. Again coming about 5 days after they said they would be there. The repair which took six months to do only took them about 30 minutes. I am grateful that the fence is finally fixed and I thank the BBB for stepping in with out them I am sure I would still be hearing excuses from Mr. *****. Thank you ****** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on First Class Fence Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)