Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fence Masters, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (708) 758-5250 Fax: (708) 758-5251 View Additional Phone Numbers 20400 Cottage Grove Ave, Chicago Heights, IL 60411 http://www.fencemastersinc.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fence Masters, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fence Masters, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Fence Masters, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 03, 2005 Business started: 04/01/1982 in IL Business started locally: 04/01/1982 Business incorporated 03/14/1986 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Carol Popovich, Office Manager Mr. Steve Johnson, President Mr. Robert Mitziga, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carol Popovich, Office Manager
Business Category

Fence Contractors Gates Screen Enclosures Gazebos Patio & Deck Builders All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fence Masters, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1109 Morthland Dr # Us30

    Valparaiso, IN 46383

  • 20400 Cottage Grove Ave

    Chicago Heights, IL 60411 (708) 758-5250 (219) 465-5600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2014, **** (service rep.) from Fence Masters came to our home to give us an estimate on providing and installing a PVC style fence and gave us a quote of 7800.00 for the entire yard. During the next month our neighbors decided to go with Fence Masters as well and put up one side of our fence. I then called to have a new estimate done (now that we only needed to have 2 sides put up and the neighbor paid for the other side already). When **** returned he told me that the fence would cost 5694.00 for the remaining 2 sides (for 6 foot privacy PVC with basic caps). Although, I did not quite understand these figures because his first quote was 7800.00 and a large side that I was told would be 3800.00 was already up, I decided to go ahead and move forward with the fence. We decided to go the route of financing and we were approved so **** returned to our home on August 20th, 2014 to write up and discuss the contract. He took our information and ran the numbers with the bank for the financing. He looked over and wrote up the contract for 5694.00. We both signed the contract dated 8-20-14. I was told that they would be calling me shortly and work would be started on the fence in the next 3 weeks. On August 27th, 2014 I receive a phone call from **** saying that there was computer 'glitch' and he made a mistake and that the fence was going to be 7500.00 (AN INCREASE OF 2000.00!!) and that we would need to sign a new contract. When I explained to him that we already had a signed contract for a different amount and we had discussed that amount in detail after our neighbors had already paid for one side and it was already up, he said that it didn't matter....we were going to be paying 2000.00 more. I did speak to my neighbors only to find out that they did the same thing to them, charging them 1800.00 more after the contract was already signed and ready to go. I asked to speak to a manager after explaining to **** that I realize mistakes happen but that is a large mistake and not MY mistake. I then received a phone call from a Todd. He was extremely brash on the telephone and repeatedly told me that they made a mistake and mistakes happen and that he would NOT honor our signed contract even though he had ran our financing and we had signed over a full week earlier. At this point, I asked to speak to the owner of the company stating that I didn't care for the language and manner in which I was being spoken to. I thought that the owner of the company would be interested in knowing that the employees were speaking to customers this way, especially a customer who had not raised their voice and was being very patient. I said that I would give them a few days before I would contact the BBB for the owner to contact me. The next morning, got a phone call from the owner of Fence Masters, Inc. and I can't believe how I was spoken to from the beginning of the conversation. I 'tried' to explain what was happening but he just kept yelling that people make mistakes and when I pointed out that it had been 3 mistakes in a row with (****), our original estimate, our neighbor's estimate and contract and now OUR contract. I told him that we had a signed contract and I realize mistakes happen but it was not my mistake and that he should honor the amount on the contract. He then told me I was crazy if I thought he was going do my fence even though we had a contract. He also stated this, "Do you really want us to come out and do your fence when we don't want to do it now?" When I said yes, I would like you to honor your signed contract, he told me I was crazy and that he would not under any circumstances honor the signed contract. I reminded him that it was poor business practice to treat a customer in this manner and that his type of business is built on word of mouth and good quality work which I was not getting. They will no longer return my phone calls. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: I would like Fence Masters, Inc to honor our signed contract and put up the fence that was promised to us in that contract (a 6 foot PVC privacy fence) with chain link fence removal. This is all stated in the signed contract that I have, dated 8-20-2014. I would like the quality of work that was promised at the price that was promised. Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Res INst Mg Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************************ There were several quotes provided to Ms.****** due to the layout of the fence and the style of the fence being changed. The neighbor's fencing was installed and they had no pricing issues. The final quote was calculated on our computer. The quote program had deleted a calculation. Upon discovering this **** contacted the customer and informed her. **** attempted to explain what happened and told her we would install the fence for the adjusted price. The customer would not accept the corrected pricing and wanted to speak to the manager. The installation manager ***** called Ms. ****** and explained the situation. He told her that a mistake had been made and apologized for the error. At no point did he use any foul language or raise his voice with Ms. ******. **** told her that he could not approve the fence contract at that price and she would have to talk to the owner of the company. Mr. ******* called and spoke the Ms. ****** and told her that a mistake had been made and that Fence Masters count not honor the contract at that price. At no point did he use foul language with her or call her crazy. Ms. ****** has not tried to contact Fence Masters since this phone call. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not except this response as it is complete falsified information. We had a sign contract that is admissible in court by law. They chose not to honor that contract and say that they made a mistake. If that is so then they had made the mistake with the previous quote that they gave me (this one was not signed). After you have a signed contract with a price that both parties have agreed upon, it is the businesses responsibility to honor that contract. They should not come back and just say that it was a computer glitch and use the language and the tone of voice that they used to a customer. Indeed they did raise their voice to me including the owner of the company. I have never been treated by a company like this before in my life. Also in filing this complaint I did check with the neighbors who also did say that they filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. They did say that they were quoted a certain price and signed a contract and then they were also charged more. I do know that that has nothing to do with my contract I just also noticed that that does show that they have done this in the past. Bottom line, if you have a signed contract between both parties that has and agreed-upon then the company should honor that contract because it is their mistake. It is poor business practice to be rude to a customer when you as the company have made a mistake. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/27) */ Sorry, we are unable to do the job at that price. As we explained, there was a computer error with an incorrect price. We did contact Ms. ****** when the error was discovered. We stand by our statement that we were never rude, raised our voices or used foul language to Ms. ******. Ms. ****** neighbor's complaint had nothing to with pricing. They had an issue with the gate latch and it was promptly resolved. They also requested that warranty information be sent to both brothers, this was also resolved. Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2014/12/01) */ 11/30/14 I am very upset because I just saw this email for the first time and it says my complaint is closed, however there was no resolution. I am very unhappy with FenceMasters breaking their contract and not honoring a signed contract because of THEIR error. That is not a proper way to conduct business and in my opinion they were not kind in the way they treated me over the phone. At one point they even hung up on me when I was trying to talk through the issue with them.

10/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 9,2014 I put a down payment down on 6' x 107' ******* Fence, 6' x 12' Steel backed driveway gate with lock, 5' x 171' aluminum fence (pool 3 rung), and two 5' x 4' gates with locks with a 3 wk lead time. Sales Rep: **** I called Fence Masters around Aug 5, 2014 to ask when my fencing and gates were going to be installed since I haven't been contacted. I was informed by **** he just got back from vacation and he was putting on top of his list but I have to wait till Thursday because that is the day he does scheduling and he would give me a call. I had to call back on the next week because I did not receive a call. He finally contacted me and informed me that they were waiting for parts and it would be around another week before they would come and install my fences and gates. On August 25, they began the installation and finished the vinyl fence and aluminum fence and gates on the Aug 26. I paid in full for my fence on Aug 26, 2014. The driveway gate was still being welded and would be the next week. On 2nd or 3rd of September the gate was installed. On the Sept 8 the steel gate lock was malfunctioning and I still have not received the warranty paperwork I would have to mail in to the ******** ***** Products,Inc. I then contacted **** again and he contacted to let me know he would be out my way and check the gate lock out and bring me a my paperwork for the warranty. I contacted them again because no one showed up as stated. Left message on ******* answering machine on Sept 16, 2014.

Desired Settlement: To fix lock and get my paperwork for warranty so I could mail it in.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/25) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Ins Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@fencemastersinc.com I returned **** message on Sept 16th and set up a meeting with him on Thursday Sept 18th. At that meeting I gave him his warranty information and also looked at his issue with the gate lock. I told him I would have someone out the next week to get it fixed. I sent out an installer on Wednesday Sept 24th after work to look at lock and fix the problem. After looking at it it was concluded that we needed another trip to fix it. He is going back today, Sept 25th after work and lock will be fixed. He informed **** of that yesterday, and **** was OK with him coming back tonight. All issues should be fixed at end of the day, Sept 25th.

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Hired Fence Master to install a 6'foot high PVC fence around my backyard at my home XXXXX ******** ******** ill XXXXX. The installation was done on September 5,2013 and payment was paid in full also with a lifetime warranty. Since installation I have several issue with the fence, the lock on the gate has broken and the post to hold the gate is loose,one of the panels on fence is loose and out of place. I called on several occasion and left many messages to the person in charge of warranties starting in April of 2014. I finally spoke to someone in June and they sent somebody to come out to take a look and possibly fix my issues. The person they sent out only fix one issue and said they didn't know when they would be back out to fix remaining issues. I have called back and left several more messages to find out when my issues are going to be addressed. I yet have received any return calls back and I am becoming very frustrated because this company is showing a lack of concern for a paid customer!!!! Product_Or_Service: 07/15/2013

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would appreciate a return on my calls so that I can have my issues with this fence addressed and corrected.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/14) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Ins Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@fencemastersinc.com I left ***** a message on 8/14 to set up a meeting early next week at her convenience so I can go over the issues that were not corrected on our last trip out there. I assured her on the message that I will get someone on this as soon as possible after our meeting. I apologize for not getting back to her in time to get these issues resolved, but they will be resolved very quickly after I can meet with her.

5/27/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a fence in October of 2013 that same time I called a month later asking can somebody come out my fence is not done properly. I kept being transferred from person to person leaving message after message. No one ever called back. I purchased a wrought iron fence and my fence cannot lock anymore and you have to lift the fence door to close. When I put my key into the fence lock and turn it breaks the key. I have complained and fence master makes promises to call me back but never do. I am so disgusted with my purchase from Fence Masters. They sell terrible products and make promises they don't keep.

Desired Settlement: I would like a new fence door and lock one that can actually lock and not break keys and I can close my fence door without lifting it up. I want quality in which I pay a lot of money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Ins Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@fencemastersinc.com I tried calling Ms ***** with the phone number that we had on file from original order. That is no longer her number. I have just e-mailed her as well, asking her to contact me so I can set up a meeting with her, so I can look at the gate issues myself, and then proceed in getting her problem fixed.

5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I set aside time for my work place to have an estimate made for fencing my back yard and **** didn't have the respect for a customer to call to cancel or reschedule the appointment they selected. I ended up waiting my time and money to give them the job. What if I had warrenty work that needed to be honored? I would tell anyone to stay away from Fence Master Inc. at the Illinois location.

Desired Settlement: Please let other future customers know, Stay away from Fence Master Inc. Illinois location.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/01) */ Contact Name and Title: Todd Krueger, Res INst Mg Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@fencemastersinc.com Fence Masters was unaware that this had happened. I immediately called Mr. *****. I explained to him that his scheduled appointment for an estimate was accidentally not placed on the salesmen's schedule. Our scheduling program is new and we have already corrected the glitch that caused this issue. We are extremely sorry for inconvenience that this may have caused Mr. ***** and have resolved that it will not happen to any other customers. He did appreciate that he was contacted about this matter.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Fence Masters, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart